2017 Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award Presentation

Speaking notes for Suzanne Legault, Information Commissioner of Canada

Ottawa, Ontario
September 26, 2017

Check against delivery


Welcome everyone to our Right to Know Conference.

International Right to Know Day is celebrated every year on September 28th to promote our right to access government information. There are activities all over the world and across Canada this week to inform Canadians about their right and to engage them to actively use and protect it. This conference aims to do exactly this by examining access to information as a fundamental human right.

We are also celebrating the right to information by highlighting the achievements of a person or an organization which advances access to information in Canada through the Grace-Pépin Award. I created this award in 2011 with my provincial and territorial counterparts to commemorate the former Information Commissioner, John Grace, and Marcel Pépin, the founding president of Quebec’s Commission d’accès à l’information du Québec. The purpose of the award is to celebrate those who have made significant contributions to access to information rights and whose work had positive impacts on access to information in Canada. Past recipients include:

  • Elizabeth Denham, UK Information Commissioner
  • Ken Rubin and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada
  • Professor Alasdair Roberts, leading researcher in the field of access to information
  • Laurence Kearley, Chair of the Canadian Access and Privacy Association
  • Darrell Evans, President and Executive Director, Canadian Institute for Information and Privacy Studies Society
  • The Information Access and Protection of Privacy Certificate Program, Faculty of Extension, University of Alberta

We received five fantastic nominations for the award this year. I would like to thank the members of this year’s selection committee for their time and for carefully reviewing each nomination. A special thank you to:

  • Guy Berthiaume, Librarian and Archivist of Canada
  • Sean Holman, Journalism Professor, Mont Royal University
  • Peter Di Gangi, Research Director, Algonquin Nations Secretariat
  • Toby Mendel, Executive Director, Centre for Law and Democracy

The 2017 award is very special to me. This is the last time I will present the award as Information Commissioner of Canada. By a strange twist of faith, I am presenting this award to someone I encountered very early in my access to information journey in Lima, Peru during an international workshop organized by the Carter Center. It is there that I first met this year's recipient, Mr. Darce Fardy. I, the neophyte, and he, the ATI expert. I immediately bonded with Darce for many reasons that will soon become apparent to all of you.

Darce’s dedication to access to information has spanned six decades. His work as a journalist for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, as the Review Officer for Nova Scotia and as the founder and president of the Nova Scotia Right to Know Coalition is marked by dedicated years of advocacy for government transparency and accountability.

Darce was a champion of access to information throughout his 43-year career at the CBC. This included being responsible for The Fifth Estate, Marketplace, Venture, The Journal and Man Alive where he and his team shone a light on government activities from coast to coast to coast.

From the CBC, Darce was appointed as the first full-time Review Officer of Nova Scotia, a position we now know as the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Nova Scotia. As Darce wrote in the Chronicle-Herald: “My business was journalism. I was with the CBC for 40 years in four provinces. When I retired I was offered the opportunity to become Nova Scotia’s first freedom of information review officer. For a journalist this was like striking gold. I was to receive applications from people asking me to review government decisions made in response to their requests for information.”

I know first-hand the successes and challenges of the job, but Darce had it tough: launching the Office with no office space, no computer, no government support, no staff and little money – although Darce says that he would have done the job for “lunch money.” He was more than successful at starting this office. Over 10 years, he wrote 150 reports, travelled the province to promote the right of access, and supported the work of coordinators by providing them with ongoing training. He truly is an access to information champion.

Darce left the information commissioner job when he was in his prime at the age of 72. Instead of retiring, he founded the Nova Scotia Right to Know Coalition and became its president until 2012. The Coalition actively helped users make access requests and promoted the right of access. Michael Karanicolas, the current president of the Right to Know Coalition, stated in his letter of support for this nomination: “Throughout his work with the Coalition, Darce was a tireless champion for the little guy, assisting requesters from every walk of life, and in particular helping those who were unfamiliar navigate the system.” The Coalition received a Queen’s Jubilee Medal in 2012.

Some of you may know that Darce was diagnosed with dementia shortly after he stepped down from the Right to Know Coalition. True to his calling, he has decided to share with others his experience in these challenging times. Always a storyteller, Darce has been documenting this journey with columns in the Halifax Chronicle-Herald. As he wrote: “I’m gearing up for another round.” I encourage you to read his columns as they reflect Darce’s wit and his skill at documenting the world.

Darce has had an incredible career but it could not have been possible without the contributions of his wonderful wife, Dorothea. Dorothea has supported Darce throughout his career as a staunch defender of the right of access.

Darce and Dorothea join us this afternoon by phone. Darce, I am really thrilled to present this award to you on behalf of my provincial and territorial colleagues.  A well deserved honour for an honourable man.

Remise du Prix Grace-Pépin de l’accès à l’information 2017

Notes d’allocution de Suzanne Legault, Commissaire à l’information du Canada

Ottawa (Ontario)
Le 26 septembre 2017

La version prononcée fait foi


Bienvenue à la Conférence du droit à l’information.

La Journée internationale du droit à l’information est célébrée chaque année le 28 septembre pour promouvoir notre droit d’accès à l’information gouvernementale. Il y a des activités partout dans le monde et au Canada cette semaine pour informer les Canadiens et les Canadiennes de notre droit d’accès et pour l’inciter à s’en prévaloir et à le protéger. C’est exactement ce que cette conférence se propose de faire en examinant l’accès à l’information sous l’angle d’un droit fondamental de la personne.

Nous célébrons également le droit à l’information en soulignant les réalisations d’une personne ou d’une organisation qui fait progresser l’accès à l’information au Canada grâce au Prix Grace-Pépin. J’ai créé ce prix en 2011 avec mes homologues provinciaux et territoriaux pour commémorer l’ancien commissaire à l’information John Grace, et Marcel Pépin, le président fondateur de la Commission d’accès à l’information du Québec. Le prix vise à célébrer ceux qui ont contribué de manière considérable au droit à l’accès à l’information et dont le travail a eu des répercussions positives sur l’accès à l’information au Canada. Les lauréats des années précédentes comprennent :

  • Elizabeth Denham, commissaire à l’information pour le Royaume-Uni
  • Ken Rubin et la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation du Canada
  • Le professeur Alasdair Roberts, chercheur de file dans le domaine de l’accès à l’information
  • Laurence Kearley, président de l’Association canadienne d’accès et de protection des renseignements personnels
  • Darrell Evans, président et directeur exécutif du Canadian Institute for Information and Privacy Studies Society
  • Le Programme de certificat en accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels, du département de l’éducation permanente à l’Université de l’Alberta

Pour le prix de cette année, nous avons reçu cinq nominations formidables. Je remercie le comité de sélection de cette année pour leur temps et pour avoir pris soin d’examiner attentivement chacune des candidatures. Un merci particulier à :

  • Guy Berthiaume, bibliothécaire et archiviste du Canada
  • Sean Holman, professeur de journalisme à l’Université Mount Royal
  • Peter Di Gangi, directeur de recherche au Algonquin Nations Secretariat
  • Toby Mendel, directeur exécutif au Centre for Law and Democracy

Le prix de 2017 est très spécial pour moi. C’est la dernière fois que je le remettrai en tant que commissaire à l’information du Canada. Par un curieux hasard du destin, je le remets à quelqu’un que j’ai rencontré très tôt dans mon parcours sur la voie de l’accès à l’information, à Lima, au Pérou, lors d’un atelier international organisé par le Centre Carter. C’est là que j’ai rencontré pour la première fois le lauréat de cette année, M. Darce Fardy. Moi, la néophyte, et lui, le spécialiste de l’accès à l’information. J’ai immédiatement tissé des liens avec Darce pour de nombreuses raisons qui vous paraîtront bientôt évidentes.

L’attachement de Darce à la cause de l’accès à l’information s’étend sur six décennies. Son travail en tant que journaliste à la Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, qu’agent d’examen pour la Nouvelle-Écosse ainsi que fondateur et président de la Nova Scotia Right to Know Coalition est marqué par des années de défense acharnée de la transparence et de la responsabilité gouvernementales.

Darce a été un champion de l’accès à l’information tout au long de ses 43 années de carrière à la CBC. Il a notamment été responsable des émissions The Fifth Estate, Marketplace, Venture, The Journal et Man Alive, dans lesquelles lui et son équipe faisaient la lumière sur les activités du gouvernement d’un océan à l’autre.

Après sa carrière à la CBC, Darce est devenu le premier agent d’examen à plein temps de la Nouvelle-Écosse, un poste que nous connaissons maintenant sous le nom de commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Comme Darce l’écrivait dans le Chronicle Herald : « Mon métier, c’était le journalisme. J’ai travaillé pour la CBC pendant 40 ans dans quatre provinces. Quand j’ai pris ma retraite, on m’a offert la possibilité de devenir le premier agent d’examen de l’accès à l’information de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Pour un journaliste, c’était comme trouver un filon d’or. J’allais recevoir des demandes de gens qui voudraient que j’examine les réponses du gouvernement à leurs demandes d’accès à l’information. » (traduction)

Je connais très bien les bons côtés et les défis du poste, mais Darce a eu du fil à retordre : il a dû mettre sur pied le bureau sans disposer d’espace, sans ordinateur, sans soutien gouvernemental, sans personnel et avec peu de moyens financiers – même s’il dit qu’il aurait fait le travail pour le prix de son dîner. Il a plus que réussi à créer ce bureau. En 10 ans, il a rédigé 150 rapports, parcouru la province pour faire la promotion du droit d’accès à l’information et soutenu le travail des coordonnateurs en leur offrant une formation continue. Il est un véritable champion de l’accès à l’information.

Darce a quitté le poste de commissaire à l’information quand il était dans la fleur de l’âge, à 72 ans. Plutôt que de prendre sa retraite, il a fondé la Nova Scotia Right to Know Coalition, et il en a été le président jusqu’en 2012. La Coalition aidait activement les utilisateurs à présenter des demandes d’accès à l’information et faisait la promotion du droit d’accès. Dans sa lettre d’appui à la candidature de Darce, le président actuel de la Right to Know Coalition, Michael Karanicolas, disait : « Pendant tout le temps où il a travaillé à la Coalition, Darce s’est fait le champion infatigable des petites gens, aidant les demandeurs de toutes conditions, et en particulier ceux qui ne savaient pas comment s’y retrouver dans le système. » (traduction) La Coalition a reçu une Médaille du jubilé de la Reine en 2012.

Certains d’entre vous savent peut-être que Darce a reçu un diagnostic de démence peu après avoir quitté ses fonctions à la Right to Know Coalition. Fidèle à sa mission, il a décidé de partager son expérience avec les autres en ces temps difficiles. Formidable raconteur, Darce relate son expérience dans les colonnes du Chronicle Herald d’Halifax. Comme il l’écrit : « Je me prépare pour une autre ronde. » (traduction) Je vous encourage à lire ses articles parce qu’ils témoignent de son esprit et de son talent pour décrire le monde.

Darce a eu une carrière extraordinaire, mais cela n’aurait pas été possible sans la contribution de sa merveilleuse épouse, Dorothea. Dorothea a soutenu Darce tout au long de sa carrière d’ardent défenseur de droit d’accès à l’information.

Darce et Dorothea se joignent à nous cet après-midi par téléphone. Darce, je suis vraiment ravie de vous remettre ce prix au nom de mes collègues des provinces et des territoires. C’est un honneur bien mérité pour un homme honorable.