Right to Know Seminar – Open and transparent government for all

Introductory remarks by Suzanne Legault, Information Commissioner

Ottawa, ON
September 26, 2016

Check against delivery.

Thank you Dean Plourde.

I am very pleased to kick off Right to Know Week here at Carleton University. This afternoon’s event is the result of a great collaboration between my office, the School of Journalism and Communication, and the School of Public Policy and Administration.

I am extremely grateful to Professors Harada, Francoli and Shepherd for their help in creating an exciting agenda for today’s event. Also, my sincere thanks to Mary Giles, Natalie Hall and Cynthia Sakellarides for their help in managing all the details that make an event like this a success.

What is Right to Know Week about?

It is about raising awareness about our right to access government information. In Canada, this is a quasi-constitutional right. That means that it takes precedence over other legislation. Our Supreme Court has also recognized that our right to know is included in our fundamental freedoms which are protected by section 2(b) of the Charter which protects our freedom of thought, our freedom of belief, our freedom of opinion and our freedom of expression, this includes freedom of the press.

Access to information rights are key to a healthy democracy.

The promotion and the protection of this right take many forms and involves many actors.

It is fitting then that this year’s Right to Know Week starts here at Carleton with an audience made up of students, scholars, journalists, politicians, IM and IT specialists, policy experts and many others. It is fitting that we start the week with a diverse group of expert speakers who will share their thoughts and experiences. They will speak about access to information and journalism, about open government and about a variety of public policy issues, such as indigenous rights, national security, accessing historical records and access to information at universities. I, for one, am looking forward to learning from their ideas and perspectives.

Our afternoon starts with a very special guest, the Honourable Scott Brison. As the President of the Treasury Board, Minister Brison has a wide range of responsibilities, but he plays a key role in delivering on the Government's transparency agenda. He is really the Champion for Transparency in the Government.

He is responsible for the administration of the Access to Information regime across the government and he is also responsible for the Government's Open Government initiative.

I am truly delighted that Minister Brison has agreed to join us today. Although Minister Brison would have liked to stay for the afternoon, please note that the Minister cannot stay for the entire afternoon as he needs to return to Parliament Hill.

Please join me in welcoming Minister Scott Brison to the podium.

Séminaire du droit à l’information – Un gouvernement ouvert et transparent pour tous
Mot d’introduction de Suzanne Legault, commissaire à l’information

Ottawa, Ontario
Le 26 septembre 2016

La version prononcée fait foi.

Je vous remercie, monsieur le doyen Plourde.

C’est avec grand plaisir que je lance la Semaine du droit à l'information ici à l’Université Carleton. L’activité de cet après-midi est le résultat d’une merveilleuse collaboration entre mon bureau et l’École de journalisme et de communications et l’École des politiques publiques et d’administration.

J’aimerais adresser ma gratitude aux professeurs Harada, Francoli et Shepherd pour l’aide qu’ils ont apportée à la création du programme palpitant de l’activité d’aujourd’hui. Je remercie également Mary Giles, Natalie Hall et Cynthia Sakellarides pour leur contribution à la gestion de tous les détails qui assurent le succès d’une telle entreprise.

En quoi consiste la Semaine du droit à l’information?

C’est l’occasion d’accroître la sensibilisation à notre droit d’accès à l’information gouvernementale. Au Canada, c’est un droit quasi constitutionnel ce qui veut dire qu’il a préséance sur toute autre loi. La Cour suprême du Canada a aussi reconnu que ce droit fait partie de nos droits fondamentaux qui sont protégés par l’article 2b) de la Charte qui protège notre liberté de pensée, notre liberté de croyance, notre liberté d’opinion ainsi que notre liberté d’expression qui comprend la liberté de la presse.

Les droits d’accès à l’information sont essentiels à une démocratie saine.

La promotion et la protection de ce droit prennent de nombreuses formes et mettent en jeux de nombreux acteurs.

Il est alors approprié que la Semaine du droit à l’information de cette année commence ici à Carleton avec un auditoire composé d’étudiants, d’universitaires, de journalistes, de politiciens, de spécialistes en GI et en TI, d’experts en politique et plusieurs autres. Il est également approprié que cette semaine débute avec un groupe diversifié, formé de conférenciers experts, qui partageront avec vous leurs réflexions et leur expérience. Ils discuteront de l’accès à l’information dans la pratique du journalisme, dans le contexte d’un gouvernement ouvert et d’une variété d’autres enjeux politiques, tels que les droits autochtones, la sécurité nationale, l’accès à l’information historique et l’accès à l’information au sein des universités. J’ai hâte d’en apprendre plus suite à leurs idées et perspectives.

Notre après-midi commence avec un invité spécial, l’honorable Scott Brison. En tant que président du Conseil du Trésor, le ministre Brison a une vaste gamme de responsabilités, mais il joue un rôle clé dans la mise en œuvre de l’agenda de transparence du gouvernement.

Il est responsable de l’administration du régime de l’accès à l’information à travers le gouvernement et il est aussi responsable de l’initiative du gouvernement ouvert du gouvernement.

Je suis ravie que le ministre Brison ait accepté de se joindre à nous aujourd’hui. Je sais que le ministre Brison se réjouit à l’idée d’être parmi nous cet après-midi, mais il ne pourra pas rester tout l’après-midi, car il doit retourner à la Colline du Parlement.

Veuillez vous joindre à moi pour accueillir le ministre Scott Brison au podium.