Speaking notes for Suzanne Legault, Information Commissioner of Canada, at the 2015 Grace-Pépin Access to Information Awards Ceremony

Indigenous Awareness Week
Celebrating Living Traditions
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
30 Victoria, Gatineau, Québec

Introductory Notes – Commissioner Suzanne Legault
To the winners of the 2015 Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award:
Ken Rubin and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC)

Welcome everyone. What a wonderful prelude to our ceremony today. Thank you to Métis elder Monique Renaud for this morning’s smudge and to the Indigenous drummers.

I am very honoured to be here today during Indigenous Awareness Week.  I would like to thank the organizers and the tenants of our building at 30 Victoria for their hard work in planning this year’s series of activities around the theme of “Celebrating Living Traditions.”

We are here today to present the 2015 Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award.

The Grace-Pépin Award was established in 2011 by all information commissioners and ombudspersons in Canada, to recognize outstanding contributions by individuals and groups in the field of access to information. It was created in memory of former Information Commissioner John Grace and Marcel Pépin, who was the founding president of Québec’s Commission d’accès à l’information du Québec. Both of these individuals made significant contributions to the promotion of access to information in Canada. It is in their memory that each year my colleagues and I honour an outstanding contributor to the field of access to information in this country.

We had many excellent nominees this year. It was not easy for the selection committee to choose a winner, as all the nominees have contributed significantly to the promotion of access to information.

I am proud to say that the Canadian access to information community is dynamic and strong. And this strength is apparent in the work of this year’s recipients.

I would like to thank the selection committee for their commitment, due diligence and hard work. They had a difficult task this year reviewing all of the nominations. This year’s selection committee was comprised of:

  • Brian Beamish, the Information and Privacy Commissioner for Ontario
  • Lise Millette, Presidente de la Fédération professionelle des journalistes du Québec
  • Charlene Paquin, the Manitoba Ombudsman
  • Teresa Scassa, Canada Research Chair in Information Law at the University of Ottawa, and
  • Catherine Tully, Information and Privacy Commissioner for Nova Scotia

It is therefore a great honour and a privilege for me to present the 2015 Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award to Ken Rubin and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada.

It is now my honour and privilege to present the 2015 Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award to both Ken Rubin and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada.

Mr. Ken Rubin is one of Canada’s most resilient access to information advocates. Over the past several decades, his work in access to information has brought to light numerous issues of significance to Canadians. He is a well-known commentator on information practices in Canada and has filed thousands of access to information requests since the law was enacted. He has uncovered many records related to matters of public interest. These include: improper spending by government officials, the involvement of the federal government in the arrest and imprisonment of Maher Arar, and government support of the asbestos industry.

Mr. Rubin has consistently demonstrated a steadfast commitment to the democratic principles of openness and transparency in government.

In its nomination letter, the Canadian Association of Journalists stated that through his work, Mr. Rubin has:

“…not only laudably and repeatedly demonstrated his commitment to freedom of information but also his commitment to the responsibilities of Canadian citizenship.”

The mandate of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada was to acknowledge the impact and consequences of what happened in the Indian Residential Schools. A key goal for the TRC was to report and document the history, the purpose, the operation and the supervision of the Indian Residential School system, including its impact on human dignity and the ongoing legacy of the residential schools.

On December 15, 2015, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada published its final report on the residential school tragedy in Canada. The Commission’s perseverance in obtaining historical information and its determination in documenting the story of the survivors opened the door to frank discussions about this sad chapter in the history of our nation.

Without their work in reaching out to communities and survivors, documenting their stories and fighting for the release of historical records, a lasting and important legacy might have been lost, and with it, the opportunity for a renewed relationship with Indigenous peoples based on mutual respect and understanding.

In its nomination of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, the Canadian Library Association wrote, “The Commission’s work to support reconciliation is perhaps the most socially significant national work we have seen in decades – for all of us living in Canada, whether our families arrived in the last few decades or have been here for centuries.”

The leadership of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission was composed of:

  • Senator Murray Sinclair
  • Dr. Marie Wilson, and  
  • Chief Wilton Littlechild. Unfortunately, Chief Littlechild was unable to attend today’s ceremony.

In conclusion, I would like to thank each one of you, including Mike De Souza, Stéphanie Perrin and Debbie Rubin, for joining me and our recipients today. Ken Rubin and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada have done an extraordinary job in making the government more open and transparent.

Please join me in congratulating Mr. Rubin and the members of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Their commitment and passion have, and continue to, contribute to the pursuit of truth.

Notes d'allocution de Suzanne Legault, commissaire à l'information du Canada, lors de la cérémonie de remise des Prix Grace-Pépin de l'accès à l'information de 2015

Semaine de sensibilisation aux cultures autochtones
Célébration des traditions vivantes
Le mercredi 25 mai 2016
30, rue Victoria, Gatineau (Québec)

Mot de bienvenue – commissaire Suzanne Legault
Au lauréat de 2015 du prix Grace-Pépin de l’accès à l’information.
Il s’agit de Ken Rubin et la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation (CVR) du Canada

Bienvenue à tous. Quelle magnifique introduction à la cérémonie d’aujourd’hui. Merci à l’ancienne Métisse Monique Renaud et aux joueurs de tambour autochtones pour la cérémonie de purification de ce matin.

C’est un grand honneur pour moi d’être ici dans le cadre de la Semaine de sensibilisation aux cultures autochtones. Je tiens à remercier les organisateurs et nos hôtes du 30, rue Victoria, pour avoir planifié la série d’activités de cette année autour du thème « Célébration des traditions vivantes ».

Nous sommes ici aujourd’hui pour décerner le Prix Grace-Pépin de l’accès à l’information de 2015.

Établi en 2011 par tous les commissaires à l’information et protecteurs des employés au Canada, le prix Grace-Pépin vise à souligner la contribution remarquable de personnes ou de groupes dans le domaine de l’accès à l’information. Ce prix a été nommé en mémoire de John Grace, ancien commissaire à l’information, et de Marcel Pépin, président-fondateur de la Commission d’accès à l’information du Québec. Ces deux personnalités ont contribué de façon considérable à la promotion de l’accès à l’information au Canada. C’est en leur mémoire que, chaque année, mes collègues et moi honorons la contribution remarquable d’une personne ou d’un groupe dans le domaine de l’accès à l’information au pays.

Cette année, nous avons reçu un grand nombre d’excellentes candidatures. Il n’a pas été facile pour le comité de sélection de choisir un gagnant, car tous les nominés ont contribué de façon significative à la promotion du droit à l’information.

C’est donc avec fierté que je constate que la communauté de l’accès à l’information du Canada est dynamique et forte, et cette force se traduit dans le travail des lauréats de cette année.

Je souhaite remercier les membres du comité de sélection pour leur engagement, leur diligence et leur travail acharné. Il n’a pas été facile de passer en revue toutes les nominations de cette année. Voici les membres du comité de sélection :

  • Brian Beamish, commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de l’Ontario
  • Lise Millette, présidente de la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec
  • Charlene Paquin, ombudsman du Manitoba
  • Teresa Scassa, chaire de recherche du Canada en droit de l’information à l’Université d’Ottawa
  • Catherine Tully, Commissariat à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de la Nouvelle­Écosse

C’est donc un grand honneur pour moi et un privilège de remettre le Prix Grace-Pépin de l’accès à l’information 2015 à M. Ken Rubin ainsi qu’à la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada

J’ai maintenant l’honneur et le privilège de remettre le Prix Grace-Pépin de l’accès à l’information 2015 à Ken Rubin et à la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation du Canada.

M. Ken Rubin est l’un des plus ardents défenseurs de l’accès à l’information au Canada. Au cours des dernières décennies, ses travaux dans le domaine de l’accès à l’information ont mis en lumière de nombreux enjeux d’importance pour les Canadiens. Commentateur reconnu concernant les pratiques en matière d’information au Canada, M. Rubin a déposé des milliers de demandes d’accès à l’information depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la loi. Il a mis au jour de nombreux dossiers d’intérêt public, notamment les dépenses inappropriées par des représentants du gouvernement, la participation du gouvernement dans l’arrestation et l’emprisonnement de Maher Arar, et l’appui du gouvernement concernant l’industrie de l’amiante.

M. Rubin a toujours fait preuve d’un engagement rigoureux envers les principes démocratiques que sont l’ouverture et la transparence au gouvernement.

Dans sa lettre de mise en candidature, l’Association canadienne des journalistes (ACJ) affirme que par ses efforts, M. Rubin :

« […] a non seulement démontré de façon louable et répétée son engagement concernant l’accès à l’information, mais également son engagement quant aux responsabilités de la citoyenneté canadienne. »

Le mandat de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation du Canada était de reconnaître les effets et les conséquences de ce qui s’est produit dans les pensionnats indiens. L’un des principaux objectifs de la CVR était de documenter l’histoire, l’objet, le fonctionnement et le modèle de supervision du système des pensionnats indiens, y compris ses effets sur la dignité humaine et l’héritage permanent qui en est resté.

Le 15 décembre 2015, la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada a publié son rapport final sur la tragédie des pensionnats indiens au Canada. C’est grâce à la persévérance et la détermination de la Commission pour obtenir des données historiques, et de sa volonté de documenter l’histoire des survivants, qu’une porte s’est ouverte sur des discussions franches à propos d’un triste chapitre de l’histoire de notre nation.

Sans son travail de communication avec les collectivités et les survivants, de documentation de leurs récits et de lutte pour la publication des dossiers historiques, un héritage important aurait pu être perdu, et avec lui la possibilité d’une relation renouvelée avec les peuples autochtones fondée sur le respect mutuel et la compréhension.

Dans sa lettre de candidature de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation, l’Association canadienne des bibliothèques a écrit ce qui suit : « Les travaux de la Commission pour appuyer la réconciliation est peut-être l’effort d’envergure nationale le plus important socialement dont nous avons été témoins depuis des dizaines d’années – pour nous tous qui vivons au Canada, que nos familles soient arrivées depuis quelques décennies ou soient ici depuis des siècles. »

Voici les membres de l’équipe de direction de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation :

  • Le Sénateur Murray Sinclair
  • La docteure Marie Wilson
  • Le chef Wilton Littlechild. Malheureusement, le chef Littlechild n’a pas pu assister à la cérémonie d’aujourd’hui.

Pour conclure, je désire remercier chacun d’entre vous incluant Mike De Souza, Stéphanie Perrin et madame Debbie Rubin de vous être joint à moi ainsi qu’à nos gagnants. Mr. Ken Rubin et la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada ont fait un travail extraordinaire pour faire avancer le gouvernement sur le plan de l’ouverture et de la transparence.

Veuillez vous joindre à moi pour féliciter M. Rubin ainsi que les membres de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation. Leur engagement et leur passion ont contribué et continueront de contribuer à la recherche de la vérité.