World Press Freedom Day Luncheon

Speaking notes for Suzanne Legault, Information Commissioner of Canada

Ottawa, Ontario
May 3, 2016

Check against delivery

I am tremendously honoured to be here with you today on World Press Freedom Day, particularly since this year, it coincides with the 250th anniversary of the world's first freedom of information law in Sweden and Finland. World Press Freedom Day celebrations give us all an opportunity to highlight the links between freedom of the press and the right to access government information.

I thank the organizers, the Canadian Committee of World Press Freedom, for having invited me. I thank you all for the great honour you have bestowed upon me with the Spencer Moore Lifetime Achievement Award. This award I share with my trusted colleagues at the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada, and more particularly with Nancy Bélanger, Layla Michaud, Josée Villeneuve, Adam Zanna, and Christian Picard who are here with me today.

As I was preparing for this presentation however, I started getting quite anxious. What could I possibly say to this illustrious group of professional writers, professional storytellers, professional freedom of expression defenders?

After a few hours of hand wringing over the keyboard of my computer, I decided that the most obvious thing to do was to tell you a story of my own.

I grew up in East Montreal. My parents were of modest means. Like most of their peers, they stopped school early and started their working life when they were quite young. We did not have a lot of books in our house. This was unfortunate for me as I became an avid reader very early on. When I was about 14, I had a tremendous stroke of luck. We moved to a new neighbourhood and I had to change school. This school happened to be an old convent and it had the most amazing library.

I started reading everything indiscriminately from Balzac to Molière to Zola to Sartre. Eventually, I encountered George Orwell's 1984.

And so Winston Smith is the first hero of my story today. As you may recall, Winston worked at the Ministry of Truth, in the Records Department, which, as Orwell described, was concerned with news. Winston's job was to rectify the news so that it conformed to the Party's wishes.

He spent his days rewriting history and sending the revised versions into memory holes. He erased the past and created the perpetual truth of the Party.

I remember being so impressed by the foresight and the intelligence of Orwell's rendition of the Big Brother totalitarian state and how lucky I was to be living in a healthy democracy. The world of the Party controlled state was at a safe distance from Canada, or so I thought at the time.

A little while later, actually in 1984, I started law school. This was just after the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and, fittingly, the Access to Information Act came into effect. I did not realize at the time how important these laws would become in my professional life.

And law school is where the second hero of my story enters the scene, Mr. Roncarelli.

Mr. Roncarelli was a restaurant owner in Montreal's west end. He was a Jehovah's Witness and he had a habit of posting bail for Jehovah's Witnesses who had been arrested for distributing religious literature contrary to a municipal by-law. The then Premier of Quebec, Maurice Duplessis, did not like what Mr. Roncarelli was doing.

He decided that he would speak with the head of the Liquor Commission at the time and instruct him to revoke Mr. Roncarelli's liquor licence for his restaurant. As a result, Mr. Roncarelli lost his business and he sued Maurice Duplessis for damages. The case went all the way to the Supreme Court of Canada. The Court found in favour of Mr. Roncarelli and awarded him damages. The Court, in its famous decision, stated that this was a gross abuse of legal power expressly intended to punish Mr. Roncarelli from an act wholly irrelevant to the issuance of a liquor licence. A punishment which inflicted on him, the destruction of his economic life. Mr. Duplessis interfered with the administration of the Liquor Commission by causing the cancellation of the liquor permit. This involved the exercise of powers which, in law, he did not possess at all. This case is still taught in law schools all over Canada today as the example of the use of arbitrary power by the state against its citizens and for the concept of the rule of law in Canada. To me, Mr. Roncarelli embodied the courage that we must all have in denouncing what is simply wrong.

Why, you may wonder by now, am I telling you these stories.

I am telling you these stories because they form the foundation of our final chapter and because last year I found myself rereading Orwell's 1984 and the Roncarelli case.

Enter our third hero, Mr. Bill Clennett.

Mr. Clennett is a social and political activist who is concerned about gun violence and, particularly, violence against women. In 2012, shortly before the previous government's bill to End the Long Gun Registy became law, Mr. Clennett made an access to information request for the data contained in the long gun registry hosted at the RCMP.

As soon as I became aware that ELRA had passed I became concerned about the rights of requesters as I knew that requests had been made for the data. I wrote to then Minister of Public Safety to remind him of the rights of access and the obligation to retain all information until all proceedings under the ATIA would be concluded. The Minister assured me that requesters' rights would be preserved – twice.

In October 2012, all data in the registry was destroyed, but for the Quebec data, which was the subject of a parallel court challenge.

In February 2013, Mr. Clennett received some information but, being unsatisfied with the records he obtained, complained to my office. After a lengthy investigation, I concluded that the RCMP had not provided all responsive records and that they should provide the additional responsive records contained in the Quebec registry. I also referred the matter to the Attorney General of Canada for a criminal investigation under section 67.1 of the ATIA dealing with the wilful destruction of records subject to an access request.

The dates here are really important to understand the events that followed.

I sent my letter of recommendations to the Minister of Public Safety and my referral to the AG on March 26, 2015. The government at the time, asked for an extension of time to respond. On April 30, the Minister of Public Safety responded that he did not accept my recommendations. I did not hear anything at that time about the referral to the AG.

On May 7, 2015, the government tabled Bill C-59, the Economic Action Plan, the budget bill. This budget bill, unbeknownst to me at the time, contained two provisions of interest to our case. Sections 230 and 231 of Bill C-59 did not have much to do with the budget exercise. In fact, it had to do with the ELRA and the access to information act. These two provisions rendered the Access to Information Act retroactively non applicable to the long gun registry. It also provided retroactive immunity to the Crown for any administrative, civil or criminal proceedings relating to the destruction of the long gun registry.

I later learned that the matter of the wilful destruction of the data was referred to the Director of Public Prosecution on May 6, 2015.

On May 8, the matter was referred from the Director of Public Prosecutions to the OPP.

What followed in the next few days is a story that no Information Commissioner should ever have to tell.

We tabled a Special Report to Parliament to inform parliamentarians of the underlying story behind sections 230 and 231 of the budget bill. I remember testifying in the House of Commons and looking at the ceiling with the fresco of the scales of justice. I could not believe that parliamentarians would allow this to pass, but they did, in both the House of Commons and the Senate.

Before the bill became law, we enlisted the help of two learned counsels, Marlys Edward and Rick Dearden. We started working on preserving Mr. Clennett's rights of access in the Federal Court, seeking and obtaining a preservation order for the remaining records. Just before the law passed we applied to the Ontario Superior Court for an order:

Declaring that these provisions infringe or deny section 2(b) of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms which guarantees freedom of expression and,

an order declaring that the retroactive expungement of vested rights of access to government information and to access a Court to enforce those rights violate the constitutional principles of the rule of law and judicial independence, and

an order that the retroactive immunization from all administrative, civil or criminal proceedings for the conduct of government officials that interferes with vested rights of access to government information violates the constitutional principle of the rule of law.

In September of 2015, the OPP advised us that they would not conduct an investigation as there existed no criminal offence.

Both court actions are pending. Negotiations with the newly elected government are ongoing. I am hopeful that this story will come to a happy ending.

World Press Freedom Day 2016 is entitled: Access to Information and Fundamental Freedoms: This is your Right!

In Canada, we are fortunate to have Charter protection for our fundamental freedoms, freedom of thought, belief, opinion and expression, including freedom of the press. As one can read from the Library of Parliament website, the rule of law means that everyone is subject to the law; that no one, no matter how important or powerful, is above the law – not the government; not the prime minister, or any other minister. If anyone were above the law, none of our liberties would be safe.

Last year, we witnessed an attempt by the government to nullify requesters quasi constitutional right of access to information, to nullify this person's rights to freedom of expression, to nullify our fundamental right to live in a state governed by the rule of law. The government at the time stated that it was merely fixing a loophole. I testified before the parliamentary committees of both the House of Commons and the Senate that in fact the government was creating a black hole.

More fundamentally, what we witnessed was the government attempting to send all this history down the Memory Holes of the Records Department of the Ministry of Truth.

Lets just all make sure that nothing like this ever happens again in Canada. These are our rights and we must protect and defend them vigorously.

There are indeed some stories I would prefer never to have to tell again.

Date modified:

Dîner de la Journée mondiale de la liberté de la presse

Notes d'allocution de Suzanne Legault, commissaire à l'information du Canada

Ottawa, Ontario
3 mai 2016

La version prononcée fait foi.

Je suis extrêmement honorée d’être ici avec vous aujourd’hui en cette Journée mondiale de la liberté de la presse, particulièrement puisque cette année, cette journée coïncide avec le 250e anniversaire de l’adoption de la première loi sur l’accès à l’information au monde en Suède et en Finlande. Les célébrations de la Journée mondiale de la liberté de la presse nous donnent tous une occasion de mettre en lumière les relations entre la liberté de presse et le droit d’accès à l’information.

Je remercie les organisateurs, le Comité canadien pour la liberté de la presse, de leur invitation. Je vous remercie tous pour le grand honneur que vous m’accordez en me décernant le prix Spencer Moore. Je partage ce prix avec mes fidèles collègues du Commissariat à l’information du Canada, Nancy Bélanger, Layla Michaud, Josée Villeneuve, Adam Zanna et Christian Picard.

Alors que je me préparais pour cette présentation, j’ai commencé à me sentir plutôt anxieuse. Que puis-je possiblement raconter à cet illustre groupe d’auteurs professionnels, de conteurs professionnels, de défendeurs professionnels de la liberté d’expression?

Après quelques heures à me tortiller les mains devant mon ordinateur, j’ai décidé que la chose la plus évidente à faire était de raconter une histoire de mon cru.

J’ai grandi dans l’Est de Montréal. Mes parents avaient de modestes moyens. Comme la plupart de leurs pairs, ils ont abandonné tôt l’école et ils étaient encore assez jeunes quand ils se sont lancés sur le marché du travail. Nous n’avions pas beaucoup de livres à la maison, ce qui était malheureux pour moi, qui suis devenue très tôt une avide lectrice. À environ 14 ans, j’ai eu un énorme coup de chance. Nous sommes déménagés dans un nouveau quartier, et j’ai dû changer d’école. Cette école était en fait un vieux couvent qui cachait la plus extraordinaire des bibliothèques.

J’ai commencé à lire tout, sans discrimination, de Balzac à Molière en passant par Zola et Sartre. Un jour, je suis tombée sur 1984 d’Orwell.

C’est ainsi que Winston Smith est devenu le premier héros de mon histoire aujourd’hui. Comme vous vous en souvenez peut-être, Winston travaillait au ministère de la Vérité, dans le département de la documentation, qui, comme le décrit Orwell, s’occupe des nouvelles. Winston avait pour tâche de rectifier les nouvelles afin qu’elles cadrent avec les souhaits du Parti.

Il réécrivait l’histoire et envoyait les versions révisées dans des trous de mémoire. Il effaçait le passé et créait une vérité en accord avec la volonté du Parti.

Je me souviens à quel point j’avais été impressionnée par la clairvoyance et l’intelligence d’Orwell dans la façon dont il présentait l’état totalitaire de Big Brother, et je me trouvais chanceuse de vivre dans une saine démocratie. Je croyais à l’époque que le Canada était préservé de l’univers de Big Brother.

Quelques années plus tard, en 1984 pour être exacte, je suis entrée à la Faculté de droit. Ce n’était que quelque temps après l’entrée en vigueur de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et, avec, la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

C’est ici qu’entre en scène le deuxième héros de mon histoire, M. Roncarelli.

M. Roncarelli était le propriétaire d’un restaurant dans l’Ouest de Montréal. M. Roncarelli était un Témoin de Jéhovah et il avait l’habitude de payer la caution d’autres Témoins de Jéhovah qui avaient été arrêtés pour distribution d’écrits religieux, contrevenant ainsi à un règlement municipal. Le premier ministre du Québec de l’époque, Maurice Duplessis, n’aimait pas ce que M. Roncarelli faisait.

Il a alors décidé de s’adresser au directeur de la Régie des alcools et de lui ordonner de ne pas renouveler la licence pour débit de boisson du restaurant de M. Roncarelli. Du coup, M. Roncarelli a perdu son entreprise et a poursuivi Maurice Duplessis pour dommages financiers. L’affaire s’est rendue jusque devant la Cour suprême du Canada. Le tribunal a tranché en faveur de M. Roncarelli et lui a accordé une compensation. Dans cette célèbre décision, le tribunal a affirmé qu’il s’agissait d’un abus grave de pouvoir légal expressément destiné à punir M. Roncarelli pour un acte qui n’avait absolument aucun lien avec l’émission d’une licence pour débit de boisson. Il s’était vu imposer une sanction qui avait entraîné la destruction de sa vie économique. M. Duplessis s’était immiscé dans l’administration de la Régie des alcools en provoquant l’annulation de la licence pour débit de boisson. Cette mesure nécessitait un exercice de pouvoir qu’il ne possédait tout simplement pas légalement. Cette affaire est encore aujourd’hui présentée dans les facultés de droit à l’échelle du pays comme un exemple de l’utilisation d’un pouvoir arbitraire par l’État contre ses citoyens et du concept de primauté du droit au Canada. Selon moi, M. Roncarelli incarne le courage que nous devrions tous avoir pour dénoncer ce qui est tout simplement inacceptable.

Vous vous demandez peut-être maintenant pourquoi je vous raconte ces histoires.

Je vous raconte ces histoires parce qu’elles forment la base de notre dernier chapitre et parce que l’an dernier, je me suis trouvé lire à nouveau Orwell 1984 et l’affaire Roncarelli.

Voici maintenant notre troisième héros, M. Bill Clennett.

M. Clennett est un activiste social et politique qui s’intéresse à la violence armée et, particulièrement, à la violence faite aux femmes.  En 2012, peu avant que le projet de loi visant à abolir le registre canadien des armes à feu de l’ancien gouvernement devienne une loi, M. Clennett a présenté une demande d’accès à l’information pour obtenir les données figurant dans le registre des armes à feu tenu par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC).

Dès que j’ai appris que la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule avait été adoptée, je me suis inquiété des droits des demandeurs, puisque je savais que des demandes avaient été déposées pour obtenir les données. J’ai écrit au ministre de la Sécurité publique de l’époque pour lui rappeler les droits d’accès et l’obligation de conserver toute l’information jusqu’à ce que toutes les instances visées par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information soient closes. Le ministre m’a assuré – à deux reprises – que les droits des demandeurs seraient préservés.

En octobre 2012, toutes les données du registre ont été détruites, à l’exception de celles du Québec, qui faisaient l’objet d’une contestation judiciaire parallèle.

En février 2013, M. Clennett a reçu quelques renseignements, mais comme il n’était pas satisfait des documents qu’il avait obtenus, il a déposé une plainte auprès de mon bureau. Après une longue enquête, j’ai conclu que la GRC n’avait pas fourni tous les documents pertinents et qu’elle devrait fournir les documents pertinents supplémentaires contenus dans le registre du Québec. J’ai également renvoyé l’instance au procureur général du Canada aux fins d’une enquête criminelle en vertu de l’article 67.1 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, qui porte sur la destruction de documents visés par une demande d’accès.

Les dates ici sont très importantes pour comprendre la suite des événements.

J’ai envoyé une lettre avec mes recommandations au ministre de la Sécurité publique et mon renvoi au procureur général le 26 mars 2015. À l’époque, le gouvernement a demandé une prorogation de délai pour répondre. Le 30 avril, le ministre de la Sécurité publique a répondu qu’il n’acceptait pas mes recommandations. À ce moment, je n’avais eu aucune nouvelle de mon renvoi au procureur général. Par contre, j’ai découvert plus tard que l’affaire avait été renvoyée au directeur des poursuites publiques le 6 mai 2015.

Le 7 mai 2015, le gouvernement déposait le projet de loi C-59 sur le plan d’action économique, soit la loi budgétaire. Cette loi budgétaire contenait deux dispositions d’intérêt dans notre affaire, ce que je ne savais pas à l’époque. Les articles 230 et 231 du projet de loi C-59 n’avaient pas grand-chose à voir avec l’exécution du budget. En fait, ces articles portaient sur la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule. Ces deux dispositions faisaient en sorte que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ne s’appliquait pas au registre des armes à feu. Elles accordaient également à l’État une immunité rétroactive contre toute poursuite administrative, civile ou criminelle en lien avec la destruction du registre des armes à feu.

J’ai ensuite appris que la question de la destruction délibérée des données du registre serait référée au directeur des poursuites pénales, le 6 mai 2016.

Le 8 mai, le directeur des poursuites publiques a renvoyé l’instance à la Police provinciale de l’Ontario.

Aucun commissaire à l’information ne devrait avoir à raconter les événements survenus au cours des quelques jours qui ont suivi.

Nous avons déposé un rapport spécial au Parlement dans lequel nous informions les membres du Parlement de l’histoire cachée derrière les articles 230 et 231 du projet de loi. Je me rappelle mon témoignage à la Chambre des communes. Je regardais les fresques de la balance de la justice qui ornent le plafond, et je ne pouvais pas croire que les membres du Parlement laisseraient une telle chose passer, mais c’est ce qui est arrivé, à la Chambre des communes comme au Sénat.  Avant que le projet de loi ne devienne une loi, nous avons préservé les droits d’accès de M. Clennett auprès de la Cour fédérale. En effet, nous avons demandé et obtenu une ordonnance de conservation pour les documents restants. Avant que la loi ne soit adoptée, nous avons déposé devant la Cour suprême de l’Ontario une demande d’ordonnance :

qui stipulait que ces dispositions contrevenaient au paragraphe 2b) de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, qui garantit la liberté d’expression;

une ordonnance qui stipulait que la radiation rétroactive du droit acquis d’accès à l’information du gouvernement et d’accès à un tribunal pour faire valoir ces droits allait à l’encontre des principes constitutionnels de la primauté du droit et de l’indépendance judiciaire;

et enfin une ordonnance selon laquelle l’immunité rétroactive contre toute poursuite administrative, civile ou criminelle visant la conduite d’agents du gouvernement portant atteinte aux droits acquis d’accès à l’information du gouvernement allait à l’encontre du principe constitutionnel de primauté du droit.

En septembre 2015, la Police provinciale de l’Ontario nous a informés qu’elle ne mènerait aucune enquête puisqu’aucun acte criminel n’avait été commis.

Les deux poursuites en justice sont en suspens. Des négociations s’effectuent actuellement avec le nouveau gouvernement élu. J’ai espoir que cette histoire se terminera bien.

La Journée mondiale de la liberté de la presse 2016 est intitulée Accès à l’information et aux libertés fondamentales : c’est votre droit!

Au Canada, nous sommes chanceux de compter parmi nos libertés fondamentales la liberté de pensée, de croyance, d’opinion et d’expression, y compris la liberté de la presse. Comme vous pouvez le lire sur le site Web de la Bibliothèque du Parlement, le principe de primauté du droit veut que tous soient soumis à la loi. En effet, nul, si important ou puissant soit-il, n’échappe à la loi : ni le gouvernement, ni le premier ministre, ni quelque autre ministre. Aucune de nos libertés ne serait vraiment protégée si quiconque était au-dessus des lois.

L’an dernier, nous avons été témoins d’une tentative de la part du gouvernement d’invalider le droit quasi constitutionnel d’accès à l’information de demandeurs, d’invalider le droit à la liberté d’expression d’une personne, d’invalider notre droit fondamental de vivre dans un pays régi par la primauté du droit. Le gouvernement de l’époque a affirmé qu’il devait boucler des failles dans le système. J’ai cependant témoigné devant des comités parlementaires de la Chambre des communes et le Sénat que le gouvernement était en train de créer un trou noir.

Plus important encore, nous avons été témoins d’une tentative de la part du gouvernement d’envoyer toute cette histoire dans les trous de mémoire du département de la documentation du ministère de la Vérité.

Faisons en sorte qu’une telle situation ne se reproduise plus jamais au Canada. Ce sont nos droits et nous devons les protéger et les défendre.

Il y a certaines histoires que je préfère ne plus raconter.