Search and Preparation Fees: Electronic Records

Effects of the Federal Court Reference on Investigations under the Access to Information Act (the Act)

CAPA Annual Conference 2015 – Ottawa Conference Centre
November 30, 2015

Megan Regnier (Investigator) and Diane Therrien (Legal Counsel)
Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada

PowerPoint version of the presentation

Check against delivery

Authorized fees for search and preparation

The Act:

  • 11(2) The head of a government institution to which a request for access to a record is made under this Act may require, in addition to the fee payable under paragraph (1)(a), payment of an amount, calculated in the manner prescribed by regulation, for every hour in excess of five hours that is reasonably required to search for the record or prepare any part of it for disclosure, and may require that the payment be made before access to the record is given.
  • 77(1)(d) authorizes the Governor in Council (i.e. Cabinet) to make regulations prescribing the manner of calculating these fees

The Regulations:

  • 7(2) Where the record requested...is a non-computerized record, the head of the government institution may ... require payment in the amount of $2.50 per person per quarter hour for every hour in excess of five hours that is spent by any person on search and preparation.

A brief history of the application of fees to computerized records

  • The Act and its regulations relating to search and preparation fees were drafted in the early 1980s, at a time when personal computers were not used generally in government institutions. Since then, there has been a shift from paper-based to electronic records. Personal computers, laptops and tablets are now widely used in the federal government.
  • Previous Information Commissioners had not distinguished between computerized and non-computerized records in the investigation of search and preparation fees.
  • For example, in an investigation described in the 2006-2007 Annual Report, the then-Commissioner concluded that a government institution could assess search fees, per subsection 7(2) of the Regulations, in relation to the retrieval of archived e-mails.

Genesis of the Commissioner’s interpretation

  • The current Information Commissioner came to her view about which records are computerized following an investigation into a complaint which she reported in her 2011-2012 Annual Report. The investigation involved the application of search and preparation fees to electronic records, such as emails and word-processing files, by DFAIT.
  • DFAIT took the position that the fees could be charged for electronic records.
  • The Commissioner reported her finding to the Minister of  Foreign Affairs and International Trade in November 2011: In her view, the term “non-computerized” applied to records which were not stored in a computer or in electronic format. She recommended that DFAIT cease charging fees for search and preparation of electronic records.
  • DFAIT indicated that until the fee regime was modernized, it would maintain the current practice to assess and charge search and preparation fees when processing voluminous records as authorized by regulation.

The investigation that gave rise to the Court reference

  • The same question arose in a complaint about a search fee of over $4000 assessed by Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC) to search for records responding to a request for system user manuals concerning a database, a user interface, as well as developer’s “changelogs” in relation to the database system.
  • The Commissioner found that the complaint was well-founded and recommended that HRSDC cease charging fees for the search and preparation of electronic records.
  • HRSDC maintained its view that, given a contextual analysis reflecting the intent of Parliament at the time of enacting the legislation, search fees should be chargeable for the records, which would be considered non-computerized.
  • The Commissioner opted to pursue the matter in Federal Court, by way of a reference, before reporting the results of the investigation to the complainant.

 

The reference

Application filed in Federal Court on February 27, 2013 by the Information Commissioner

  • A reference is a type of proceeding where an administrative decision-maker asks the Court to determine a question of law, jurisdiction or procedure.
  • The Commissioner had advised the Minister in the HRSDC investigation that if HRSDC did not implement her recommendations, she intended to seek guidance on the interpretation of the Regulations before the Federal Court.
  • On February 27, 2013, the Commissioner filed a reference application pursuant to section 18.3 of the Federal Courts Act, the provision which allows for such a mechanism. The respondent was the Attorney General of Canada.
  • This was the first time that an Information Commissioner had used the Reference process.
  • At issue in this case was whether electronic records such as email or Word documents could be considered “non-computerized.”
  • The reference question was framed as follows:
    • ​Are electronic records non-computerized records for the purpose of the search and preparation fees authorized by subsection 11(2) of the Access to Information Act (the Act) and subsection 7(2) of the Access to Information Regulations (the Regulations)?

The motion to strike the Commissioner’s reference application

  • The Attorney General argued that one of the conditions for the Court to hear the reference had not been met: that the issue must be one for which the solution can put an end to the dispute before the Commissioner.
  • On February 6, 2014, the Court dismissed the motion to strike the reference (2014 FC 133).
  • The Court found that the Attorney General’s argument did not take into account the final step of the Commissioner’s statutory duty—that is, to report to the complainant, which the Commissioner had yet to do.
  • In addition, the Court noted that if it were to accept the Attorney General’s argument that the Commissioner’s role is not to resolve disputes, this would mean that the Commissioner would never be able to bring a reference.
  • The Court concluded that it was certainly arguable that Parliament had intended for advisory bodies such as the Commissioner to have the right to refer to the Court issues of law arising in the performance of their duties.

Positions on the reference application

  • The Commissioner’s view was that electronically stored records are indeed computerized and therefore not subject to search and preparation fees.
  • The Attorney General argued that a contextual analysis should be applied, which would take into account that most records are now in electronic form and that Word documents or emails “can be produced without the need to program a computer to create the record.”
  • VIA Rail Canada, the Canadian Air Transport Security Authority (CATSA) and the Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC) intervened in the reference as a group. They noted that charging such fees is useful because they can serve as a deterrent to requesters and can be used to help the financial situation within institutions that may be under budgetary and other constraints when responding to requests.

 

The decision

2015 FC 405, March 31, 2015

In the Court’s words

  • The Court accepted the Information Commissioner’s position that the ordinary meaning of the words “non-computerized records” is the correct interpretation of that expression:
“In ordinary parlance, emails, Word documents and other records in electronic format are computerized records.”
  • Records in electronic format are computerized and therefore not subject to search and preparation fees under the Regulations.
  • Where there is no regulation authorizing it, no fee can be charged.

The Federal Court noted that “[t]here is a hint of Lewis Carroll in the position of those who oppose the Information Commissioner:

“[w]hen I use a word,’ Humpty Dumpty said, in rather a scornful tone, ‘it means just what I choose it to mean -- neither more nor less.’

‘The question is,’ said Alice, ‘whether you can make words mean so many different things.’

‘The question is,’ said Humpty Dumpty, ‘which is to be master – that’s all.’” 

 

Following the Court's decision

Outcome for the OIC's existing complaint files

Inventory of fee complaints

Fee Complaint Inventory in June of 2015

Text version

This pie chart presents the fee complaints inventory in June 2015. Three types of complaints, with the numbers for each one, are represented in the chart as follows:

  • Largely electronic records (27)
  • Mix of electronic and paper records (12)
  • Complex (9)

 

Questions from institutions regarding our investigations, interpretation and findings

  • What to do with a file that has effectively been closed by the institution?
  • Does the Court’s decision apply to both search and preparation of records?
  • We have printed and electronic copies of the same records. Can we charge for search and preparation of the paper copies?
  • Is there any flexibility regarding the finding?

Currently

To date 42 files have been resolved: Forty (40) were well-founded; Two (2) were discontinued.

  • Many were concluded swiftly with agreements to process the requests without assessing further fees or requiring payment of any fees
  • In the few instances where fees had been paid, complainants were reimbursed
  • Some complainants amended their requests to receive only electronic records, resolving the question of whether any fees should be assessed

 

Impact of the decision: Moving forward

  • The Information Commissioner will be issuing an advisory notice on fees. The ATIP community was consulted for comments on a draft of this notice and we thank you for your input.
  • Fees charged for searching and preparing electronic records are not permitted under the Act and will result in well-founded complaints.
  • Subsection 7(3) cannot be used to justify charging fees for what are, for all intents and purposes, fees for searching and preparing electronic records.
  • Fees cannot be charged to deter requesters or for cost recovery. Such use of subsection 7(3) – or any other provision – is not permitted under the Act and will result in well-founded complaints.

Reminder

Fees can be waived or reimbursed

  • Subsection 11(6) of the Act allows for fees to be waived or reimbursed by the head of an institution (or delegated authority). This provision gives the head of an institution (or properly delegated authority) broad discretion to waive or reimburse fees in any circumstances considered appropriate.

Les droits de recherche et de préparation pour les documents électroniques

Effets du renvoi à la Cour fédérale sur les enquêtes en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi)

Conférence annuelle de l’ACAP 2015 – Centre de conférences d’Ottawa
30 novembre 2015

Megan Regnier (enquêteure) et Diane Therrien (avocate)
Commissariat à l’information du Canada

Version PowerPoint de la présentation

La version prononcée fait foi

Droits de recherche et de préparation autorisés

La Loi :

  • 11(2) Le responsable de l’institution fédérale à qui la demande est faite peut en outre exiger, avant de donner communication ou par la suite, le versement d’un montant déterminé par règlement, s’il faut plus de cinq heures pour rechercher le document ou pour en prélever la partie communicable.
  • L’alinéa 77(1)d) donne au gouverneur en conseil (c.-à-d., le Cabinet) le pouvoir de prendre un règlement déterminant le mode de calcul de ces droits.

Le Règlement :

  • 7(2) Lorsque le document demandén’est pas informatisé, le responsable de l’institution fédérale en cause peut … exiger le versement d’un montant de 2,50 $ la personne par quart d’heure pour chaque heure en sus de cinq passée à la recherche et à la préparation.

Un bref aperçu de l’application des droits aux documents informatisés

  • La Loi et son règlement relatif aux droits de recherche et de préparation ont été rédigés au début des années 1980, à un moment où les ordinateurs personnels n’étaient pas généralement utilisés au sein des institutions fédérales. Depuis ce temps, les documents papier ont cédé la place aux documents électroniques. Les ordinateurs personnels, les ordinateurs portatifs et les tablettes sont maintenant utilisés à grande échelle au sein du gouvernement fédéral.
  • Les commissaires à l’information précédents n’ont pas établi de distinction entre les documents informatisés et les documents qui ne le sont pas dans leurs enquêtes sur les droits de recherche et de préparation.
  • Par exemple, dans le cadre d’une enquête décrite dans le rapport annuel de 2006-2007, le commissaire de l’époque a conclu qu’une institution fédérale pouvait facturer des droits de recherche, conformément au paragraphe 7(2) du Règlement, relativement à la récupération de courriels archivés.

Genèse de l’interprétation de la commissaire

  • L’actuelle commissaire à l’information en est arrivée à son opinion quant à savoir quels documents sont informatisés à la suite d’une enquête concernant une plainte dont elle a fait mention dans son rapport annuel de 2011-2012. L’enquête portait sur l’application de droits de recherche et de préparation relativement à des documents électroniques, comme des courriels et des fichiers de traitement de texte, par le MAÉCI.
  • Au cours de cette enquête, le MAÉCI a fait valoir que les droits pouvaient être facturés pour des documents électroniques.
  • La commissaire a rendu compte de ses conclusions au ministre des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international en novembre 2011 : À son avis, en se fondant sur le sens ordinaire de celle-ci, l’expression « qui ne sont pas informatisés » s’appliquait aux documents qui n’étaient pas stockés dans un ordinateur ou en format électronique. Elle a recommandé au MAÉCI de cesser d’exiger des droits pour la recherche et la préparation de documents électroniques.
  • Le MAÉCI a indiqué que tant que le régime des droits ne serait pas modernisé, il maintiendrait l’application du Règlement actuel qui, de l’avis du ministre, autorisait la pratique courante consistant à évaluer et à facturer les droits de recherche et de préparation en cas de traitement de documents volumineux.

L’enquête qui a donné lieu au renvoi devant la Cour

  • La même question a été soulevée relativement à une plainte au sujet de droits de recherche de plus de 4 000 $ facturés par Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC) pour rechercher des documents en réponse à une demande de manuels de l’utilisateur concernant une base de données et l’interface utilisateur-ordinateur utilisé de même que le contenu du journal des changements du réalisateur relativement au système de base de données.
  • La commissaire a conclu que la plainte concernant l’application par RHDCC de droits de recherche relativement à des documents informatisés était fondée et elle a recommandé à RHDCC de cesser de facturer des droits pour la recherche et la préparation de documents électroniques.
  • RHDCC est resté d’avis qu’en se fondant sur une analyse contextuelle reflétant l’intention du législateur au moment de l’adoption de la loi, des droits de recherche devraient être facturables pour les documents en question, lesquels seraient considérés comme n’étant pas informatisés.
  • La commissaire a choisi de saisir la Cour fédérale de l’affaire, au moyen d’un renvoi, avant de transmettre les résultats de l’enquête au plaignant.

 

Le renvoi

Demande déposée devant la Cour fédérale le 27 février 2013 par la commissaire à l’information

  • Un renvoi est un type d’instance dans lequel un décideur administratif demande à la Cour de se prononcer sur une question de droit, de juridiction ou de procédure.
  • La commissaire avait indiqué au ministre, dans le cadre de l’enquête visant RHDCC, que si elle ne mettait pas en œuvre ses recommandations, elle avait l’intention de demander à la Cour fédérale des orientations quant à l’interprétation du Règlement.
  • Le 27 février 2013, la commissaire a présenté une demande de renvoi conformément à l’article 18.3 de la Loi sur les Cours fédérales, disposition qui permet un tel mécanisme. La partie défenderesse était le procureur général du Canada.
  • C’était la première fois qu’un commissaire à l’information utilisait le processus de renvoi.
  • Dans cette affaire, il s’agissait de savoir si les documents électroniques comme les courriels ou les documents Word pouvaient être considérés comme des documents qui « ne sont pas informatisés »
  • La question faisant l’objet du renvoi a été formulée en ces termes :
    • [traduction] Les documents électroniques sont-ils des documents qui ne sont pas informatisés en vue de l’application des droits de recherche et de préparation qu’autorisent le paragraphe 11(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi) et le paragraphe 7(2) du Règlement sur l’accès à l’information (le Règlement)?

La requête en radiation de la demande de renvoi de la commissaire

  • Le procureur général a fait valoir que l’une des conditions pour que la Cour puisse entendre le renvoi n’avait pas été respectée : il doit s’agir d’une question pour laquelle la solution pourrait mettre fin au différend dont a été saisi la commissaire.
  • Le 6 février 2014, la Cour a rejeté la requête en radiation (2014 CF 133).
  • La Cour a conclu que l’argument du procureur général ne tenait pas compte de la dernière étape de l’obligation prévue par la loi de la commissaire – à savoir, rendre compte au plaignant, ce que celle-ci n’avait pas encore fait.
  • La Cour a de plus souligné que si elle devait accepter l’argument du procureur général selon lequel la commissaire n’exerce pas une fonction qui consiste à trancher des litiges ou à en disposer, celle-ci ne pourrait jamais présenter de renvoi.
  • La Cour a conclu que l’on pouvait certainement avancer que le législateur avait l’intention de conférer aux organismes dont les fonctions sont de nature consultative, comme la commissaire à l’information, le droit de renvoyer à la Cour pour qu’elle les tranche, des questions de droit soulevées dans le cours de l’accomplissement de leurs tâches.

Positions dans la demande de renvoi

  • Selon la commissaire, les documents sous forme électronique sont effectivement informatisés et, par conséquent, ne sont pas visés par l’application des droits de recherche et de préparation.
  • Le procureur général a fait valoir qu’il faudrait effectuer une analyse contextuelle qui tiendrait compte du fait que la plupart des documents sont maintenant sous forme électronique et que les documents Word et les courriels sont des documents « qu’il est possible de produire sans devoir programmer un ordinateur pour les créer ».
  • VIA Rail Canada, l’Administration canadienne de la sûreté du transport (ACST) et la Banque de développement du Canada (BDC) sont intervenus dans le renvoi en tant que groupe. Ils ont souligné que l’application de droits est utile, car ceux-ci peuvent servir de mesure dissuasive pour les demandeurs et peuvent aider à alléger la situation financière des institutions, dont certaines sont soumises à des contraintes budgétaires ou autres et n’ont pas les moyens nécessaires pour répondre aux demandes d’accès.

 

La décision

2015 CF 405, 31 mars 2015

Comme la Cour l’a dit

  • La Cour partage l’avis de la commissaire à l’information selon lequel le sens ordinaire de « document qui n’est pas informatisé » est la juste interprétation à donner à l’expression :
« En langage ordinaire, les messages électroniques, les documents Word et les autres documents produits sous forme électronique sont des documents informatisés. »
  • Les documents produits sous forme électronique sont des documents informatisés et, par conséquent, ils ne sont pas visés par l’application des droits de recherche et de préparation en vertu du Règlement.
  • S’il n’y a pas de règlement les autorisant, des droits ne peuvent pas être exigés.

La Cour fédérale a constaté qu’« [i]l y a un peu de Lewis Carroll dans la position de ceux qui s’opposent à la commissaire à l’information :

Quand j’emploie un mot dit Humpty Dumpty avec un certain mépris, il signifie ce que je veux qu’il signifie, ni plus ni moins.

La question est de savoir, dit Alice, si vous pouvez faire que les mots signifient tant de choses différentes.

La question est de savoir, dit Humpty Dumpty, qui est le maître – c’est tout. »

 

À la suite de la décision de la Cour

Résultat pour les dossiers de plainte existants du CIC

Plan d’enquête

Inventaire des plaintes relatives aux droits en juin 2015

Version texte

Ce diagramme circulaire représente l'inventaire des plaintes relatives aux droits en juin 2015. Trois types de plaintes, avec le nombre de plaintes pour chacun, sont représentés dans le graphique comme suit :

  • En grande partie des documents électroniques (27)
  • Un mélange de documents électroniques et papier (12)
  • Complexe (9)

Questions relatives au traitement des plaintes, à l’interprétation et aux conclusions

  • Que faire dans le cas d’un dossier qui a été officiellement fermé par l’institution?
  • La décision de la Cour s’applique-t-elle à la fois à la recherche et à la préparation de documents?
  • Nous avons des copies imprimées et électroniques des mêmes documents. Pouvons-nous facturer des droits pour la recherche et la préparation des copies papier?
  • Le classement de la plainte est-il flexible?

Actuellement

Jusqu’à maintenant, 42 dossiers ont été réglés : Quarante (40) étaient fondés; Deux (2) ont été abandonnés.

  • Bon nombre d’entre eux ont été réglés rapidement, avec des ententes de traitement des demandes sans facturation de droits supplémentaires ou sans que l’on exige le paiement de droits
  • Dans les rares cas où des droits ont été payés, les plaignants ont été remboursés
  • Certains plaignants ont modifié leurs demandes afin de recevoir uniquement les documents électroniques, tranchant ainsi la question de savoir si des droits devraient être perçus

 

Répercussions de la décision : Prochaines étapes

  • La commissaire à l’information diffusera un avis sur les droits exigés. On a consulté la collectivité de l’AIPRP pour obtenir des commentaires sur une ébauche de cet avis et nous vous remercions de votre contribution.
  • Les droits exigés pour la recherche et la préparation de documents électroniques ne sont pas permis en vertu de la Loi, entraînant le dépôt d’une plainte fondée.
  • Le paragraphe 7(3) ne peut être utilisé pour justifier la facturation de droits qui sont, tout compte fait, des droits de recherche et de préparation de documents électroniques.
  • Des droits ne peuvent être exigés pour dissuader les demandeurs ou à des fins de recouvrement de coûts. Un tel recours au paragraphe 7(3) – ou à tout autre article – est interdit en vertu de la Loi et entraînera le dépôt d’une plainte fondée.

Rappel

Les droits peuvent être supprimés ou remboursés

  • Le paragraphe 11(6) de la Loi prévoit que les droits peuvent être supprimés ou remboursés par le responsable d’une institution (ou la personne à laquelle le pouvoir est délégué). Cette disposition confère au responsable d’une institution (ou à la personne à laquelle le pouvoir est dûment délégué) un large pouvoir discrétionnaire en matière de suppression ou de remboursement des droits en toute circonstance jugée appropriée.