Remarks by the Information Commissioner of Canada
Standing Senate Committee on National Finance

Subject matter of Bill C-59, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on April 21, 2015 and other measures

June 3, 2015

Check against delivery

Honourable Senators,

I have been invited to discuss Division 18 of Bill C-59, specifically clauses 230 and 231. This Division amends the Ending the Long-gun Registry Act, or the ELRA, to exclude the operation of the Access to Information Act retroactive to October 25, 2011, the date on which ELRA was first introduced in Parliament.

To assist parliamentarians in understanding the impact of these provisions, I tabled a special report on May 14 entitled Investigation into an access to information request for the Long-gun Registry. I have also outlined the relevant facts in the timeline you have in front of you.

In October 2011, the government introduced Bill C-19, the ELRA before Parliament. The Bill made no mention of the Access to Information Act.

In March 2012, an individual made an access to information request to the RCMP to obtain a copy of all the information contained in the Long-gun Registry.

In April 2012, ELRA becomes law. ELRA does not oust the application of the Access to Information Act. Pursuant to Section 4 of the Access to Information Act, the Act applies notwithstanding any other Act of Parliament.

In April 2012, I wrote to the Minister of Public Safety, the Honourable Vic Toews, to inform him that “any records under the control of the Commissioner of Firearms and/or the Canadian Firearms Program, for which a request has been received under the Act before the coming into force of subsection 29(1) of the new Act are subject to the right of access and cannot be destroyed until a response has been provided under the Act and any related investigation and court proceedings are completed.” In May 2012, Minister Toews responded, and I quote, that “the RCMP will abide by the right of access described in section 4 of the Act and its obligations in that regard”.

Between October 25 and October 29, 2012, the RCMP destroyed all electronic records of non-restricted firearms, with the exception of those belonging to Quebec residents.

In January 2013, the RCMP responds to the access request made in March 2012. In February 2013, the requester complains to my Office on the basis of three allegations:

  1. That the information provided is incomplete (missing both columns and registrations);
  2. That the RCMP did not justify the incomplete response;
  3. That by destroying the responsive records, the RCMP obstructed the complainant’s right of access, pursuant to section 67.1 of the Act.

I conducted an investigation, and I concluded that the response was incomplete.

In March 2015, I wrote to the Minister of Public Safety, the Honourable Steven Blaney, to report the results of my investigation and to make the following recommendations:

  • To process the information relating to the registration of non-restricted firearms in the province of Quebec (64 fields identified in the course of my investigation) and include this information, subject to applicable exemptions, in a new response to the requester.
  • To process all images of the registration and transfer applications that still exist within the Canadian Firearm Information System (CFIS) pertaining to non-restricted firearms and include this information in a new response, subject to applicable exemptions, to the requester; and
  • To preserve these records until the conclusion of my investigation and any related proceedings.

On the same day, I also referred to the Attorney General of Canada, the Honourable Peter Mackay, evidence of the possible commission of an offence under section 67.1 of the Access to Information Act, which deals with the destruction of a record with the intent to deny a right of access under the Act.

In April 2015, the Minister of Public Safety, the Honourable Steven Blaney, informed me that he would not implement the first two recommendations of my investigation report. With respect to the third recommendation, the Minister acknowledged that the RCMP had already provided me with assurances that a backup copy of the records would not be destroyed.

Since then, I learned through media reports that the Attorney General referred the matter to the Director of Public Prosecutions, who in turn referred it to the Ontario Provincial Police for investigation.

On May 7th, 2015, Bill C-59 was tabled in Parliament. As you know, I have serious concerns with Division 18 of this Bill.

First, this Division will effectively make the Access to Information Act non-applicable, retroactive to October 25, 2011, even before the coming into force of ELRA. You must ask yourself why?

Second, Division 18 shields from the application of the Access to Information Act a broader scope of records than ELRA ever did. It covers not just the records in the Long-gun Registry as ELRA did, but any records with respect to the destruction of those records.

This probably means that no one will be able to request information about whether the RCMP has really deleted his or her information from the Registry or about how much the destruction of the Registry cost Canadian taxpayers. Indeed, no one will be able to find out what transpired in relation to the destruction of the records at issue in my investigation. This is above and beyond what was ever considered by Parliament in 2012. You must ask yourself why?

Third, if Division 18 is adopted, it would potentially

  • nullify the request at issue in my investigation;
  • nullify the complaint made to my Office;
  • nullify my entire investigation, including production orders‒some 30,000 records‒and examinations of witnesses under Oath;
  • nullify my recommendations to the Minister of Public Safety and my referral to the Attorney General;
  • nullify my application to the Federal Court;
  • nullify the police investigation referred to the OPP;
  • nullify all potential administrative, civil or criminal liability of any of the actors involved; and
  • essentially nullify the requester’s right in this case.

You must ask yourself why?

These proposed changes, Mr. Chair, would retroactively quash Canadians’ right of access and the government’s obligations under the Access to Information Act. It will effectively erase history.

Mr. Chair, Division 18 of Bill C-59 is not an attempt to close a loophole; but rather it is an attempt to create a black hole.

Given the fundamental importance of the right of access and the rule of law in Canadian democracy, I would urge this committee to remove Division 18 (clauses 230 and 231) from this Bill.

With that I would be pleased to answer your questions.

Related document:

Remarques de la commissaire à l’information du Canada
Comité sénatorial permanent des finances nationales

La teneur de projet de loi C-59, Loi portant exécution de certaines dispositions du budget déposé au Parlement le 21 avril 2015 et mettant en œuvre d'autres mesures

3 juin 2015

L'allocution prononcée fait foi

Mesdames et messieurs les sénateurs,

J'ai été invitée à comparaître devant le comité afin de discuter de la section 18 du projet de loi C-59, spécifiquement les articles 230 et 231. Cette section propose de modifier la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule, la LARA, en vue d'empêcher l'application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et ce, rétroactivement à compter du 25 octobre 2011, date du dépôt de la LARA au Parlement.

Afin d'aider les parlementaires à comprendre l'impact de ce projet de loi, j’ai déposé, le 14 mai, un rapport spécial au Parlement intitulé Enquête sur une demande d’accès à l’information concernant le registre des armes d’épaule. J’ai aussi exposé les faits pertinents dans la chronologie qui est devant vous.

En octobre 2011, le gouvernement a déposé le projet de loi C-19, la LARA, au Parlement. Ce projet de loi ne mentionnait pas la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

En mars 2012, un individu a soumis une demande d'accès à l’information à la GRC afin d'obtenir une copie de toute l'information contenue dans le Registre des armes d'épaule.

En avril 2012, la LARA est devenue loi. La LARA n’évince pas l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. En vertu de l’article 4 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, la Loi s’applique nonobstant toute autre loi fédérale.

En avril 2012, j’ai écrit au ministre de la Sécurité publique, l’honorable Vic Toews, afin de l’informer que « tous les documents relevant du commissaire aux armes à feu ou du Programme canadien des armes à feu, pour lesquels une demande a été reçue en vertu de la Loi avant l’entrée en vigueur du paragraphe 29(1) de la nouvelle Loi, sont assujettis au droit d’accès et ne peuvent être détruits avant qu’une réponse ait été fournie en vertu de la Loi et que toute enquête ou action en justice ait été terminée. » En mai 2012, le ministre Toews a répondu et je cite, « la GRC respectera le droit d’accès décrit à l’article 4 de la Loi et ses obligations en la matière. »

Entre le 25 et le 29 octobre 2012, la GRC a détruit tous ses dossiers électroniques d’armes à feu sans restrictions, à l’exception de ceux concernant les résidents du Québec.

En janvier 2013, la GRC a donné suite à la demande d'accès à l'information dont elle avait été saisie en mars 2012. En février 2013, le demandeur a déposé une plainte au Commissariat, en se fondant sur les trois allégations suivantes :

  1. Les renseignements fournis sont incomplets (manque des champs et d’enregistrements).
  2. La GRC n’a pas justifié la réponse incomplète.
  3. La GRC a entravé le droit d’accès du plaignant, en vertu de l’article 67.1 de la Loi, en détruisant les données répondant à la demande.

J’ai mené une enquête et j’ai conclu que la réponse était incomplète.

En mars 2015, j’ai écrit au ministre de la Sécurité publique, l’honorable Steven Blaney, afin de lui faire rapport des conclusions de mon enquête et de lui formuler les recommandations suivantes :

  • traiter l’information relative à l’enregistrement d’armes à feu sans restrictions dans la province de Québec (64 champs recensés dans son enquête), sous réserve des exceptions applicables, et l’inclure dans une nouvelle réponse à l’intention du plaignant;
  • traiter toutes les images des demandes d’enregistrement et de transfert qui existent encore dans le SCIRAF et qui sont relatives aux armes à feu sans restrictions, sous réserve des exceptions applicables, et les inclure dans une nouvelle réponse à l’intention du plaignant; et
  • préserver ces documents jusqu’à la conclusion de mon enquête et de toute procédure connexe.

Le même jour, j'ai également transmis au procureur général du Canada, l’honorable Peter Mackay, la preuve d'une possible infraction en vertu de l’article 67.1 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information qui vise la destruction de documents dans le but d’entraver le droit d’accès prévu par la Loi.

En avril 2015, le ministre de la Sécurité publique, l’honorable Steven Blaney, m'a informée qu'il ne mettrait pas en œuvre les deux premières recommandations que j’ai formulées dans mon rapport d'enquête. En ce qui concerne la troisième recommandation, le ministre a reconnu que la GRC m’avait déjà donné l'assurance qu'une copie de sauvegarde des documents ne serait pas détruite.

Depuis, j’ai appris dans les médias que le procureur général du Canada a transmis le dossier au Directeur des poursuites pénales, qui à son tour l’a référé à la Police provinciale de l’Ontario pour mener une enquête.

Le 7 mai 2015, le projet de loi C-59 est déposé au Parlement. Comme vous le savez, j'ai de très sérieuses réserves à l'égard de la section 18 de ce projet de loi.

Premièrement, cette section empêchera l'application de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, rétroactivement à compter du 25 octobre 2011, avant l’entrée en vigueur de la LARA. Vous devez vous demander pourquoi.

Deuxièmement, la section 18 a une portée plus large que la LARA en empêchant l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information sur un plus grand nombre de documents. Elle ne vise pas uniquement les documents contenus dans le Registre des armes d’épaule tel que prévu dans la LARA mais aussi tous les documents relativement à leur destruction.

Il en découlera probablement que plus personne ne pourra soumettre de demande d'accès afin de savoir si la GRC a véritablement détruit l'information le ou la concernant dans le Registre ou pour savoir combien la destruction du Registre a coûté aux contribuables canadiens. D’ailleurs, personne ne pourra savoir ce qui s’est passé au sujet de la destruction des documents en cause dans mon enquête. Ces conséquences vont bien au-delà de celles qu'avait envisagées le Parlement en 2012. Vous devez vous demander pourquoi.

Troisièmement, si la section 18 est adoptée, elle pourra potentiellement :

  • annuler la demande qui a fait l’objet de mon enquête;
  • annuler la plainte faite à mon bureau;
  • annuler mon enquête, incluant les ordonnances pour la production de documents pour quelques 30 000 documents et les interrogatoires de témoins sous serment;
  • annuler mes recommandations au ministre de la Sécurité publique et le renvoi au procureur général du Canada;
  • annuler la demande dont j'ai saisi la Cour fédérale;
  • annuler l’enquête policière référée à la Police provinciale de l’Ontario;
  • annuler la responsabilité administrative, civile ou pénale potentielle pour toutes les parties concernées, et ;
  • essentiellement annuler le droit du demandeur dans cette affaire.

Vous devez vous demander pourquoi.

Ces changements proposés, monsieur le président, pourraient rétroactivement éliminer le droit d’accès des Canadiens et les obligations du gouvernement en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. L’histoire sera, à toutes fins pratiques, effacée.

Monsieur le président, le projet de loi C-59 ne tente pas de réparer une faille, il crée un véritable trou noir.

Compte tenu de l'importance fondamentale du droit d'accès à l'information et de la règle de droit dans la démocratie canadienne, j'exhorte le comité à supprimer la section 18 (les articles 230 et 231) de ce projet de loi.

Je serai heureuse de répondre à vos questions.

Document connexe :