Timeline in relation to an access to information request for the Long-gun Registry

   •  PDF (0.2 MB)

        

 
Text version

Timeline Description

The image represents a timeline pointing from left to right, covering the period from 2011 to 2015. The timeline is split between the period prior to the adoption of the Ending the Long-gun Registry Act (ELRA) and the period after the ELRA came into force, during which time the ATIA has also been in force.

Boxes both above and below the timeline at specific dates outline the sequence of events described in the Information Commissioner’s Investigation into an access to information request for the Long-gun Registry Investigation Report. The events are as follows:

Oct. 25, 2011 – The Ending the Long-gun Registry Act (ELRA) is introduced in Parliament. It makes no mention of the Access to Information Act.

Mar. 27, 2012 – Requester makes access to information request to the RCMP.

Apr. 5, 2012 – The ELRA receives royal assent. It does not oust the application of the Access to Information Act.

April 13, 2012 – Information Commissioner writes to the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness informing him that “any records under the control of the Commissioner of Firearms and/or the Canadian Firearms Program, for which a request has been received under the Act before the coming into force of subsection 29(1) of the new Act are subject to the right of access and cannot be destroyed until a response has been provided under the Act and any related investigation and court proceedings are completed.”

May 2, 2012 – In response to the Commissioner’s letter of April 13, the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness assures the Information Commissioner “that the RCMP will abide by the right of access described in section 4 of the Act and its obligations in that regard.”

Oct. 25-29, 2012 – the RCMP destroys all electronic records of non-restricted firearms, with the exception of those belonging to Quebec residents.

Jan. 11, 2013 – RCMP responds to ATI request with a copy of records that had been provided in response to a previous request.

Feb. 1, 2013 – Requester complains to Information Commissioner alleging, among other things, the receipt of an incomplete response.

Feb. 5, 2013 – In response to a second letter from the Commissioner, the Minister of Public Safety reaffirms that “the RCMP will abide by the right of access.”

July 2014 – Commissioner issues production orders for records related to the access request.

Dec. 2014 – Office of the Information Commissioner conducts examination of witnesses under oath.

Feb. 3, 2015 – RCMP legal counsel provides Information Commissioner with assurances that the RCMP will preserve all records identified as being responsive to the access to information request.

Mar. 26, 2015 – Information Commissioner writes to the Minister pursuant to subsection 37(1) of the Act to report the results of her investigation and to make recommendations to him as the head of the RCMP for the purposes of the Act.

The same day, pursuant to subsection 63(2) of the Act, the Information Commissioner refers to the Attorney General of Canada evidence of the possible commission of an offence under section 67.1 of the Act, which carries with it possible criminal sanction.

Apr. 30, 2015 – The Minister of Public Safety informs the Information Commissioner that he has no intention of pursuing the Commissioner’s first two recommendations. With regard to the third, the Minister acknowledges that the RCMP had already provided the Commissioner with assurances that a backup copy of the records would not be destroyed.

May 7, 2015 – The Economic Action Plan 2015 Act, No. 1 (Bill C-59) is introduced to Parliament. It contains provisions that make the Access to Information Act “non-applicable” to Long-gun registry records, effective retroactively to the date that the Ending the Long-gun Registry Act (ELRA) was introduced to Parliament (before it received royal assent).

Furthermore, Division 18 of Bill C-59 shields from the application of the Access to Information Act a broader scope of records than ELRA ever did. It covers not just the records in the Long-gun Registry as ELRA did, but any records with respect to the destruction of those records.

Division 18 provides immunity for any “administrative, civil or criminal proceedings” against the Crown in relation to the destruction of said records.

Chronologie en ce qui a trait à une demande d’accès à l’information pour le registre des armes d’épaule

   •  PDF (0.2 MB)

        

 
Version texte

Description de la chronologie

L’image représente une ligne du temps allant de gauche à droite pour les années 2011 à 2015. La ligne est séparée en deux grandes périodes, soit la période précédant l’adoption de la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule (LARA) et la période suivant son entrée en vigueur, pendant lesquelles la Loi sur l’accès à l’information était toujours également en vigueur.

Des boîtes de texte placées à des dates précises sur la ligne du temps décrivent les évènements importants concernant l’Enquête sur une demande d’accès à l’information concernant le registre des armes d’épaule de la commissaire à l’information. Ces évènements sont :

25 octobre 2011 – La Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule (LARA) est déposée au Parlement. Elle ne mentionne pas la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

27 mars 2012 – Le demandeur présente une demande d’accès à l’information à la GRC.

5 avril 2012 – La LARA reçoit la sanction royale. Ceci n’empêche pas l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

13 avril 2012 – La commissaire à l’information écrit au ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile pour l’informer que « tous les documents relevant du commissaire aux armes à feu ou du Programme canadien des armes à feu, pour lesquels une demande a été reçue en vertu de la Loi avant l’entrée en vigueur du paragraphe 29(1) de la nouvelle Loi, sont assujettis au droit d’accès et ne peuvent être détruits avant qu’une réponse ait été fournie en vertu de la Loi et que toute enquête ou action en justice ait été terminée. » [traduction]

2 mai 2012 – En réponse à la lettre de la commissaire du 13 avril, le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile assure à cette dernière que « la GRC respectera le droit d’accès décrit à l’article 4 de la Loi et ses obligations en la matière ». [traduction]

25 au 29 octobre 2012 – La GRC détruit tous les dossiers électroniques d’armes à feu sans restrictions, à l’exception des dossiers sur les résidants du Québec.

11 janvier 2013 – La GRC répond à la demande d’accès à l’information avec une copie des dossiers qui ont été fournis en réponse à une demande antérieure.

1er février 2013 – Le demandeur se plaint auprès de la commissaire à l’information et allègue, entre autres, avoir reçu une réponse incomplète.

5 février 2013 – En réponse à une deuxième lettre de la commissaire, le ministre de la Sécurité publique affirme de nouveau que « la GRC respectera le droit d’accès ».

Juillet 2014 – La commissaire remet des ordonnances pour la production de documents liés à la demande d’accès.

Décembre 2014 – Le Commissariat à l’information interroge des témoins sous serment.

3 février 2015 – L’avocat de la GRC assure la commissaire à l’information que la GRC conservera tous les dossiers désignés comme étant visés par la demande d’accès à l’information.

26 mars 2015 – La commissaire à l’information écrit au ministre en vertu du paragraphe 37(1) de la Loi afin de faire état des résultats de son enquête et de lui présenter des recommandations en tant que responsable de la GRC au sens de la Loi.

Le même jour, en vertu du paragraphe 63(2) de la Loi, la commissaire à l’information transfère au procureur général du Canada la preuve de perpétration d’une possible infraction en vertu de l’article 67.1 de la Loi, qui pourrait faire l’objet de sanctions criminelles.

30 avril 2015 – Le ministre de la Sécurité publique informe la commissaire à l’information qu’il n’a pas l’intention de prendre en compte les deux premières recommandations de la commissaire. En ce qui a trait à la troisième, le ministre souligne que la GRC a déjà assuré la commissaire qu’une copie de sauvegarde des dossiers ne serait pas détruite.

7 mai 2015 – La Loi no 1 sur le plan d’action économique de 2015 (projet de loi C-59) est déposée au Parlement. Elle comprend des dispositions qui rendent la Loi sur l’accès à l’information non applicable aux dossiers du Registre, applicable rétroactivement à la date où la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule (LARA) a été déposée au Parlement (avant la sanction royale).

De plus, la section 18 du projet de loi C-59 a une portée plus large que la LARA en empêchant l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information sur un plus grand nombre de documents. Elle ne vise pas uniquement les documents contenus dans le Registre des armes d’épaule tel que prévu dans la LARA mais aussi tous les dossiers relativement à leur destruction.

Section 18 octroie une immunité à la Couronne en matière « administrative, civile ou pénale » en lien avec la destruction des dossiers mentionnés.