Presentation by the Information Commissioner of Canada

Independent Statutory Review Committee Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act

Newfoundland and Labrador

Monday, August 18, 2014

Check against delivery

Good morning Mr. Chair and panel members.

Thank you for the opportunity to present my perspective on freedom of information issues to the Independent Statutory Review Committee. I am accompanied this morning by my colleague Jacqueline Strandberg. Jacqueline has diligently prepared some comparative research material which we have presented to the Committee this morning to assist in your review.

To start I should state that I have reviewed Commissioner Ring’s recommendations and I support them fully. Hence my remarks will be brief and focus on three key issues: the exceptions regime and the Commissioner’s ability to review decisions on disclosure, proactive disclosure and the duty to document. This will allow more time for detailed questions of interest to the Committee.

At the onset, I congratulate the government of Newfoundland and Labrador for having given the Committee the broad mandate to conduct this independent review of the Access to Information and Privacy Act (ATIPPA)Footnote 1 and for moving forward with its Open Government Initiative.

The Supreme Court of Canada has recently recognised again the important role of access to information legislation: “Access to information legislation serves an important public interest: accountability of government to the citizenry. An open and democratic society requires public access to government information to enable public debate on the conduct of government institutions.

However, as with all rights recognized in law, the right of access to information is not unbounded. All Canadian access to information statutes balance access to government information with the protection of other interests that would be adversely affected by otherwise unbridled disclosure of such information.”Footnote 2

Hence in reviewing any freedom of information legislation, the key issue is: does the legislation achieve the right balance between the confidentiality required to conduct the business of government, while ensuring citizens have access to information under the control of the government so they can hold their governments to account. In 2014, this balancing exercise must be conducted in the context of open government initiatives which are developing not only in Newfoundland and Labrador, but across Canada and many other countries.

My review of the current ATIPPA leads me to conclude that it does not achieve this balance. Let me explain.

Exceptions and the Commissioner’s ability to review decisions on disclosure

In section 3 the ATIPPA recognizes the right of the public to access government records, subject to limited exceptions to this right of access.  Model access to information laws endorse this principle and generally provide that limitations to the right of access should be constructed as discretionary, injury based exemptions. These exemptions should also be of general application and be time limited.Footnote 3

It is important to understand that discretionary exemptions do not result in all information being disclosed at all times. Discretionary exemptions are considered the progressive standard because they require decision makers to make an informed, fair and reasonable decision about disclosure.

Injury based exemptions are favoured because they take into account that the level of sensitivity attached to information changes with circumstances, time and perspectives.

An additional tool used to balance exemptions with the right of access is a public interest override. Public interest overrides are favoured because decision-makers must ask themselves whether the general public interest in disclosure outweighs the specific interest the exemption is intended to protect. If the answer is yes, the information must be disclosed. Recent model laws,Footnote 4 and some provinces include a public interest override.Footnote 5

Section 3 of the ATIPPA also provides for an independent review of disclosure decisions made by public bodies. Independent oversight is also consistent with international norms.Footnote 6

The changes brought forward by Bill 29 have expanded the scope of key exceptions to disclosure under the Act such as the exceptions for Cabinet confidences, policy advice and recommendations and business interests of a third party. In conjunction it has, in some circumstances, curtailed the ability of the Commissioner to review disclosure decisions.

In addition, exclusions under the Act do not allow for consideration of any of the factors that must be taken into account under discretionary exemptions and, in most instances, decisions on the application of exclusions are not independently reviewable by the Commissioner.

The ATIPPA, in its current form, excludes from its application a broad range of records: all records listed at section 5 and records listed in subsection 7(4) – records created solely for the purpose of briefing a member of the Executive Council with respect to assuming responsibility for a department, secretariat or agency or a record created solely for the purpose of briefing a member of the Executive Council in preparation for a sitting of the House of Assembly.

The issue of whether the Commissioner is able to review disclosure decisions made pursuant to the application of section 5 is currently before the appeal court.Footnote 7 Further, section 43 prevents the Commissioner from reviewing decisions made under section 18, that a record is an official cabinet record, or reviewing decisions made under section 21, that information needs to be protected by reason of solicitor client privilege.

Although I did not review all of the various provisions of the acts or regulations that have been designated to prevail over the ATIPPA, I did review the Energy Corporation ActFootnote 8 provisions that govern access to information held by Nalcor and its subsidiaries, given the importance of this corporation’s activities. Section 5.4 of the Energy Corporation Act essentially precludes the Commissioner from reviewing decisions on disclosure by the CEO of Nalcor, if the latter certifies that the information qualifies for non-disclosure and the CEO’s certification is confirmed by the board of directors of the corporation.

In my view, the expansion of the exceptions regime, the exclusions and the curtailment of the Commissioner’s ability to review decisions on disclosure has tipped the balance in the ATIPPA excessively in favour of non-disclosure of government information to the detriment of Newfoundlanders and Labradorians’ ability to hold their government to account.

It is also inconsistent with the principles of the Government’s open government initiative, which are transparency, accountability, participation and collaboration.Footnote 9

Proactive disclosure

Section 69 of the ATIPPA provides for the creation and publication of a directory of information to assist people in identifying and locating records held by public bodies. Commissioner Ring has pointed out in his brief that the directory has not been established yet and he recommends that it be commenced and maintained.

I support this recommendation but I would also recommend that the Government amend the Act to include provisions for publication schemes. Publication schemes are mandatory requirements within access laws to disclose on a routine basis certain classes of information, such as policies and procedures, minutes of meetings, annual reports and financial information. Usually, this information must be made available to the public via an institution’s website and is updated on an ongoing basis. Comparable jurisdictions, as well as model laws use publication schemes.Footnote 10

The benefits of implementing a comprehensive publication scheme are numerous. Publication schemes can promote a pro-disclosure culture; transform the access framework from a reactive to a proactive system; limit government costs because it results in decreases in access requests and reduces delays for the public looking for information. Embedding publication schemes in the ATIPPA would also be consistent with the government’s open government initiative.

Duty to Document

The ATIPPA currently does not include a provision that requires the documentation of decisions, including information and processes that form the rationale for that decision. The access to information regime relies on recorded information. Without an explicit duty to document in the Act it is possible that not all information related to the decision-making process is being recorded. This risk is compounded by the advent of new technologies used in government institutions such as instant messaging.Footnote 11 A legal duty to document the decision-making process protects information rights but also leads to better governance and ensures that the historical legacy of government decisions is preserved.

Thank you and I will be pleased to answer your questions.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

S.N.L. 2002, c A-1.1.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

John Doe v. Ontario (Finance), 2014 SCC 36 at paras. 1-2.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

See Article 19, A Model Freedom of Information Law (London: Article 19, 2006) at Part IV: Exceptions, online: Article 19 [Article 19 Model Law]; Organization of American States, Model Inter-American Law on Access to Public Information and its Implementation Guidelines (Washington: Organization of American States, Secretariat of Legal Affairs, 2012) at art. 40, online: Organization of American States [OAS Model Law]; Open Society Foundations, The Tshwane Principles on National Security and the Right to Information (New York: Open Society Foundations, 2013) at principle 1(c)  and principle 3, online: Open Society Foundations [Tshwane Principles]; and the Open Government Guide, Open Government Guide: Right to Information(New York: Open Government Guide, 2013) at recommendation 4, online: Open Government Guide [Open Government Guide].

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

OAS Model Law at arts. 43 and 44 and Tshwane Principles at principle 3(b)(ii).

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (British Columbia), R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 165 at s. 25 and Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (Ontario), R.S.O. 1990, c. F.31 at s. 23 [ON FIPPA].

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

See OAS Model Law at p. 51 of Implementation Guidelines.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

Ring v. Memorial University of Newfoundland, 2014 CanLII 12849 (NL SCTD).

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Footnote 8

S.N.L. 2007, c. E-11.01.

Return to footnote 8 referrer

Footnote 9

Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, Office of Public Engagement, Open Government Initiative Framework (St. John’s: Office of Public Engagement, 2014) at p. 1, online: Open Government.

Return to footnote 9 referrer

Footnote 10

The following access laws all include publication schemes: ON FIPPA at s. 33; An Act respecting access to documents held by public bodies and the Protection of personal information (Quebec), CQLR c A-2.1 at division III: Distribution of Documents or Information, Federal Transparency and Access to Governmental Public Information Act (Mexico) 2002 at art. 7; Freedom of Information Act 2000 (the United Kingdom) ch. 36 at s. 19; and the Freedom of Information Act (United States), 5 U.S.C. § 552 at s. (a). The following model laws also all include publication schemes: Open Government Guide; OAS Model Law at art. 8; and Article 19 Model Law at s. 17.

Return to footnote 10 referrer

Footnote 11

Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada, Instant messaging putting access to information at risk(Special Report) (Ottawa: Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada, 2013), online: Information Commissioner.

Return to footnote 11 referrer

Présentation de la commissaire à l’information du Canada

Independent Statutory Review Committee Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Le lundi 18 août 2014

L'allocution prononcée fait foi

Monsieur le président, chers membres du comité, bonjour.

Je vous remercie de me donner la possibilité de présenter au Independent Statutory Review Committee mon point de vue sur les questions relatives à l'accès à l'information. Ma collègue, Jacqueline Strandberg, m'accompagne ce matin. Mme Strandberg a pris soin de préparer des documents de recherches comparatives, que nous avons remis ce matin aux membres du Comité afin de les aider dans leur examen.

Tout d'abord, je dois mentionner que j'ai pris connaissance des recommandations du commissaire Ring, avec lesquelles je suis entièrement d'accord. Mes commentaires seront donc brefs et axés sur trois points importants : le régime d'exceptions et la capacité du commissaire d'examiner les décisions relatives à la communication des renseignements, la divulgation proactive et l'obligation de documenter. Ainsi, nous pourrons consacrer plus de temps aux questions que souhaite approfondir le Comité.

Pour commencer, je tiens à féliciter le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador d'avoir accordé au Comité le vaste mandat qui consiste à mener cet examen indépendant de la Access to Information and Privacy Act (ATIPPA) [Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels]Note de bas de page 1 et d'aller de l'avant avec son initiative pour un gouvernement ouvert.

La Cour suprême du Canada a récemment reconnu une fois de plus le rôle crucial de la législation sur l'accès à l'information : « Les lois sur l’accès à l’information servent un intérêt public important, à savoir, faire en sorte que l’État rende des comptes aux citoyens. Une société ouverte et démocratique commande l’accès des citoyens aux documents de l’État afin de permettre le débat public sur la conduite des institutions gouvernementales.

Toutefois, comme tous les droits reconnus, le droit d’accès à l’information n’est pas illimité. Toutes les lois canadiennes sur l’accès à l’information établissent un équilibre entre l’accès aux documents de l’État et la protection d’autres droits auxquels la communication inconditionnelle de ces documents risquerait de porter atteinteNote de bas de page 2. »

Par conséquent, l'examen de toute loi sur l'accès à l'information gravite autour de la question clé suivante : la loi permet-elle d'atteindre un juste équilibre entre la confidentialité exigée pour mener les affaires de l'État et la garantie que les citoyens ont accès à l'information relevant de l'administration afin qu'ils puissent demander des comptes au gouvernement? En 2014, cet exercice de pondération doit être mené dans le contexte des initiatives pour un gouvernement ouvert qui ont été amorcées non seulement à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, mais également partout au Canada et dans beaucoup d'autres pays.

Je conclus, d'après mon examen de l'ATIPPA actuelle, que cette loi n'atteint pas cet équilibre. Permettez-moi de vous expliquer.

Exceptions et capacité du commissaire d'examiner les décisions relatives à la communication des renseignements

L'article 3 de l'ATIPPA reconnaît le droit du public d'accéder aux documents gouvernementaux, sous réserve d'exceptions dans certains cas limités.  Les lois types sur l'accès à l'information reconnaissent ce principe et prévoient généralement que les restrictions au droit d’accès doivent être basées sur des exceptions discrétionnaires, assorties d'un critère de détermination du préjudice. L’application de ces exceptions doivent également être générale et limitée dans le tempsNote de bas de page 3.

Il est important de comprendre que les exceptions discrétionnaires ne signifient pas que tous les renseignements doivent être communiqués en tout temps. On considère les exceptions discrétionnaires comme une norme progressive, car elles exigent de la part des décideurs de prendre une décision raisonnable, juste et éclairée quant à la communication des renseignements.

On privilégie les exceptions fondées sur un critère de préjudice, car elles tiennent compte du fait que le caractère délicat des renseignements change selon les circonstances, le temps et les points de vue.

On utilise également un autre outil pour atteindre l'équilibre entre les exceptions et le droit à l'accès à l'information, à savoir la primauté de l'intérêt public. La primauté de l'intérêt public est à privilégier, car les décideurs doivent se demander si l’intérêt public général l’emporte sur l’intérêt particulier que l’exception vise à protéger. Si la réponse est oui, les renseignements doivent être communiqués. Des lois types récentesNote de bas de page 4 ainsi que certaines lois provinciales prévoient la primauté de l'intérêt publicNote de bas de page 5.

L'article 3 de l'ATIPPA prévoit également un examen indépendant des décisions sur la communication des renseignements prises par les organismes publics. Une telle surveillance indépendante est aussi conforme aux normes internationalesNote de bas de page 6.

Les changements mis de l'avant dans le projet de loi 29 élargissent la portée des principales exceptions à la divulgation en vertu de la Loi, telles que les exceptions visant les renseignements confidentiels du Cabinet, les recommandations et les conseils stratégiques ainsi que les intérêts commerciaux d'un tiers. Qui plus est, dans certains cas, ils limitent la capacité du commissaire d'examiner des décisions relatives à la communication des renseignements.

En outre, les exclusions en vertu de la Loi ne permettent la prise en compte d'aucun des facteurs que l'on doit considérer lorsqu'on invoque des exceptions discrétionnaires et, dans la plupart des cas, les décisions concernant l'application des exclusions ne peuvent faire l'objet d'un examen indépendant par le commissaire.

Sous sa forme actuelle, l'ATIPPA exclut de son application un large éventail de documents : tous les documents énumérés à l'article 5 et les documents énumérés au paragraphe 7(4), à savoir les documents d'information préparés exclusivement à l'intention d'un membre du Conseil exécutif en ce qui a trait aux responsabilités à assumer pour un ministère, un secrétariat ou un organisme et les documents d'information préparés exclusivement à l'intention du membre du Conseil exécutif en vue d'une séance à la Chambre d'assemblée.

Actuellement, la cour d'appel tranche la question visant à déterminer si le commissaire peut examiner les décisions prises relativement à la communication des renseignements en vertu de l'article 5Note de bas de page 7. De plus, l'article 43 empêche le commissaire d'examiner les décisions prises en vertu de l'article 18 (dans le cas où le document est un document officiel du Cabinet) et d'examiner les décisions prises en vertu de l'article 21 (dans le cas où les renseignements doivent être protégés par le secret professionnel de l’avocat).

Je n'ai pas examiné l'ensemble des dispositions des lois et des règlements qui sont considérées comme l'emportant sur l'ATIPPA, mais j'ai examiné les dispositions de la Energy Corporation ActNote de bas de page 8 qui régissent l'accès à l'information détenue par Nalcor et ses filiales, vu l'importance des activités de cette société. L'article 5.4 de la Energy Corporation Act empêche le commissaire d'examiner les décisions relatives à la communication des renseignements prises par le président-directeur général de Nalcor, dans le cas où ce dernier atteste que l'information remplit les conditions de non-divulgation et que cette attestation est confirmée par le conseil d'administration de la société.

Selon moi, l'élargissement du régime d'exceptions, les exclusions et la restriction de la capacité du commissaire d'examiner les décisions relatives à la communication des renseignements font pencher la balance de l'ATIPPA excessivement en faveur de la non-divulgation des renseignements du gouvernement, et ce, au détriment de la capacité des Téneliens de demander des comptes au gouvernement.

Ces facteurs vont également à l'encontre des principes de l'initiative pour un gouvernement ouvert amorcée par l'administration provinciale, à savoir la transparence, la reddition de comptes, la participation et la collaborationNote de bas de page 9.

Divulgation proactive

L'article 69 de l'ATIPPA prévoit la création et la publication d'un registre visant à aider les citoyens à trouver les documents détenus par les organismes publics. Le commissaire Ring a souligné dans son document d'information que ce registre n'a pas encore été créé et il recommande qu'il soit mis sur pied et tenu à jour.

Je donne mon aval à cette recommandation, mais je recommande également que le gouvernement modifie la Loi afin d'y inclure des dispositions relatives à des systèmes de publication. Les lois sur l'accès à l'information doivent comprendre des systèmes de publication afin de divulguer de façon périodique certaines catégories de documents, comme les politiques et les procédures, les procès-verbaux de réunions, les rapports annuels et les renseignements financiers. En général, ces documents doivent être accessibles au public par l'intermédiaire du site Web de l'institution et mis à jour de façon périodique. D'autres provinces et pays, de même que les lois types, utilisent des systèmes de publicationNote de bas de page 10.

L'établissement d'un système de publication comporte de nombreux avantages. Ils peuvent préconiser une culture propice à la communication, favoriser la transition d’un cadre d'accès réactif à proactif, et réduire les coûts pour le gouvernement grâce à la diminution du nombre de demandes d'accès et à la réduction des délais pour l'obtention des renseignements que cherche le public. L'intégration de systèmes de publication à l'ATIPPA s'inscrirait également dans le cadre de l'initiative pour un gouvernement ouvert de l'administration provinciale.

Obligation de documenter

Actuellement, l'ATIPPA n'a pas de disposition qui oblige à documenter les décisions, y compris les renseignements et les processus utilisés pour motiver les décisions. Le régime d'accès à l'information repose sur l’enregistrement de l’information. Si la Loi ne précise pas explicitement l'obligation de documenter, il se peut que les renseignements liés au processus décisionnel ne soient pas tous consignés. Ce risque est accentué par l'avènement des nouvelles technologies utilisées au sein des institutions gouvernementales, telles que la messagerie instantanéeNote de bas de page 11. L'obligation légale de documenter le processus décisionnel permet non seulement de protéger le droit à l'information, mais aussi d'améliorer la gouvernance et de préserver l'héritage historique des décisions du gouvernement.

Merci de votre attention. Je serai heureuse de répondre à vos questions.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

S.N.L. 2002, chapitre A-1.1.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Untel c. Ontario (Finances), 2014 CSC 36, paragraphes 1-2.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Voir : Article 19, A Model Freedom of Information Law, Londres, Article 19, 2006, Part IV: Exceptions, Internet : Article 19 [Loi type d'Article 19]; Organisation des États Américains, Model Inter-American Law on Access to Public Information and its Implementation Guidelines, Washington, Organisation des États Américains, Secrétariat aux questions juridiques, 2012, article 40, Internet : Organisation des États Américains [Loi type de l'OEA]; Open Society Foundations, The Tshwane Principles on National Security and the Right to Information, New York, Open Society Foundations, 2013, principe 1(c) et principe 3, Internet : Open Society Foundations [Principes de Tshwane]; Open Government Guide, Open Government Guide: Right to Information, New York, Open Government Guide, 2013, recommandation 4, Internet : Open Government Guide [Open Government Guide].

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Loi type de l'OEA, articles 43 et 44; Principes de Tshwane, principe 3b)(ii).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (Colombie-Britannique), R.S.B.C. 1996, chapitre 165, article 25; Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée (Ontario), L.R.O. 1990, chapitre F.31, article 23 [LAIPVP ON].

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Se reporter à la Loi type de l'OEA, Implementation Guidelines, p. 51.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Ring c. Memorial University of Newfoundland, 2014 CanLII 12849 (NL SCTD).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7

Note de bas de page 8

S.N.L. 2007, chapitre E-11.01.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 8

Note de bas de page 9

Gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Bureau de l’engagement du public, Open Government Initiative Framework, St. John’s, Bureau de l’engagement du public, 2014, p. 1, Internet : Open Government.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 9

Note de bas de page 10

Toutes les lois sur l'accès à l'information qui suivent comprennent des systèmes de publication : LAIPVP ON, article 33; Loi sur l'accès aux documents des organismes publics et sur la protection des renseignements personnels, Québec, RLRQ chapitre A-2.1, section III : diffusion de documents ou de renseignements; loi fédérale sur la transparence et l'accès à l'information publique gouvernementale (Federal Transparency and Access to Governmental Public Information Act), Mexique, 2002, article 7; Freedom of Information Act 2000, Royaume-Uni, chapitre 36, article 19; Freedom of Information Act, États-Unis, 5 U.S.C. § 552(a). Les lois types suivantes comprennent également des systèmes de publication : Open Government Guide; Loi type de l'OEA, article 8; Loi type d'Article 19, article 17.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 10

Note de bas de page 11

Commissariat à l’information du Canada, La messagerie instantanée : un risque pour l’accès à l’information(Rapport spécial), Ottawa, Commissariat à l’information du Canada, 2013, Internet : Commissariat à l’information du Canada.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 11