Background Note
Standing Committee On Access To Information, Privacy And Ethics

Bill C-461, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act
(disclosure of information)

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

This background note is intended to assist members of the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics in their review of Bill C-461.

Limitations on the general right of access

The Access to Information Act(Act) recognizes a right of access to all records under the control of government institutions that are subject to the Act, save for where an exception to the right of access set out in the Act applies. At the federal level, exceptions to the right of access come in the form of exemptions and exclusions.

Exclusions

The exclusions provide that the Act does not apply to certain records or information. For example, there are exclusions for cabinet confidences, some information from the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), as well as published materials, and library or museum material preserved solely for public reference or exhibition purposes.

Exemptions

The exemptions can be broken down into different categories:

  1. Mandatory and discretionary exemptions. With mandatory exemptions, heads are bound to refuse to disclose the information once it has been determined that the exemption applies. With discretionary exemptions, there is a two-step process. First, the head must determine if the exemption applies and then the head must exercise discretion, as to whether the exemption should apply.  Therefore, the head has the option of disclosing the information upon considering all relevant factors.
  2. Class-based exemptions and injury test exemptions.  Class-based exemptions require heads to determine whether information fits within certain categories of information capable of being exempted, whereas injury test exemptions require heads to determine whether the disclosure of information could reasonably be expected to be injurious to a specified interest.

In addition, some exemptions can be relied upon by any institution, whereas others can only be relied upon by specific institutions. For example, section 16 protects certain types of information relating to investigations and can be invoked by any government institution, whereas subsection 16.1 protects certain types of information relating to investigations but can only be relied upon by certain Agents of Parliament listed in this section.

In some cases, information falling within the scope of an exemption may be disclosed if a given condition is met, for example, in the case of personal information, by obtaining the person’s consent. The Act also provides public-interest override provisions, which permit the disclosure of certain exempted information where disclosure is in the public interest (see, for example, subsection 20(6)).

Furthermore, the application of some exemption provisions is time-limited (for example, advice and recommendations are only protected for a period of twenty years – section 21).

It is also important to note that exemptions apply to information contained in records and not necessarily records in their entirety. The head of a government institution is required to disclose any portion of a requested record that does not contain exempted information that can reasonably be severed from the part that does.

The Act provides that:

36. (1) The Information Commissioner has, in relation to the carrying out of the investigation of any complaint under this Act, power:

a) to summon and enforce the appearance of persons before the Information Commissioner and compel them to give oral or written evidence on oath and to produce such documents and things as the Commissioner deems requisite to the full investigation and consideration of the complaint, in the same manner and to the same extent as a superiorcourt of record;
[...]

36(2) Notwithstanding any other Act of Parliament or any privilege under the law of evidence, the Information Commissioner may, during the investigation of any complaint under this Act, examine any record to which this Act applies that is under the control of a government institution, and no such record may be withheld from the Commissioner on any grounds. (Emphasis added)

When an exemption is invoked, it is clear that the Commissioner has access to all records pursuant to paragraph 36(1)(a) and subsection 36(2).

When it comes to exclusions, the situation is more complex. Exclusions differ from one to another. No two exclusions have the same wording or produce the same effects. Determining what the Commissioner may obtain must be assessed on a case-by-case basis.

For example, the Commissioner does not have access to cabinet confidences because they are subject to an exclusion and the CanadaEvidence Act provides for the issuance of a certificate (excluding disclosure for 20 years).

Published materials and library or museum material are subject to an exclusion because they are publicly available.

In addition, in accordance with the Federal Court of Appeal’s decision in Canadian Broadcasting Corporation v. Information Commissioner of Canada,Footnote 1 the Commissioner has access to CBC records that are claimed to be excluded in order to determine whether the exception to the exclusion applies; however, in the case of a record that would reveal a journalistic source, the Appeal Court explained that:

74 [...] The identity of journalistic sources cannot clash with the exception relating to general administration, regardless of the scope attributed to this exception. In these circumstances, the only conclusion possible if one gives effect to the Federal Court judge’s reasoning is that the exclusion for journalistic sources, like the exclusions provided in Sections 69 and 69.1, is absolute. It follows that in the event that a request seeking the disclosure of journalistic sources was made, a record – or part thereof – revealing this type of information would be exempt from the Commissioner’s power of examination.

Relevant decision

As a result of the Federal Accountability Act,Footnote 2 a number of additional government institutions became subject to the Act, including the CBC in September 2007.

We have investigated numerous complaints about the application by the CBC of section 68.1 of the Act. This section provides that the Act does not apply to CBC information that relates to its journalistic, creative or programming activities, other than information that relates to its general administration.

During our investigations, following the CBC’s refusal to provide us with the records that were claimed to be excluded, the Commissioner ordered that these records be produced. The CBC then requested a judicial review, challenging the Commissioner’s power to compel these records’ production.

Issue

Does the Commissioner have the power to order the CBC to produce records that, in the CBC’s opinion, relates to its journalistic, creative or programming activities within the meaning of section 68.1 of the Act?

Federal Court decision (Canadian Broadcasting Corporationv. Information Commissioner of Canada, 2010 FC 954):

The Federal Court found that the Commissioner had the authority to order the CBC to produce these records for the purposes of her investigation.

The CBC appealed this decision.

Federal Court of Appeal decision (Canadian Broadcasting Corporationv. Information Commissioner of Canada, 2011 FCA 326):

The Court dismissed the CBC’s appeal, noting that the exclusion for information related to journalistic, creative or programming activities found in section 68.1 of the Act is subject to an exception for information that relates to CBC’s general administration. As a result, the Commissioner must be able to review records subject to a complaint in order to determine whether the exception applies and the information can be disclosed. It is the Commissioner’s responsibility to make a finding on the application of the exception and exercise her recommendation power.

The Court also indicated that it did not share CBC’s concern about the injury that would result to the CBC if the Commissioner were to review the records.
 
However, according to the Court, the identity of journalistic sources could not fit within the scope of the exception. The Court stated that, in the case of records containing a journalistic source, the record, or a part thereof that would reveal a source, would not be subject to the Commissioner’s power of examination.

The decision of the Federal Court of Appeal confirms the Commissioner's power to view the records exempted under section 68.1, except for information that would reveal a journalistic source. The Court did not rule on the following matters, which could give rise to litigation:

  • what is the scope of the exception
  • what is encompassed by “information that is related to general administration”
  • is the “absolute exclusion” for journalistic sources limited to the identity of the source, details that could identify the source or something broader still (it is possible that the Commissioner and the CBC will disagree regarding the scope of the exclusion).

General remarks

Powers/investigations

The Commissioner’s powers enable her to obtain and review all the records required for her investigation (with some exceptions, as explained above).

The Commissioner obtains records for the sole purpose of her investigations. The Commissioner does not have the power to order disclosure; she only has the power to make recommendations at the end of her investigation. Meanwhile, the Act imposes strict confidentiality obligations on the Commissioner and does not permit her to disclose information that she obtains during an investigation. Thus, the production of records to the Commissioner during an investigation conducted under the Act does not amount to disclosure. Only the Court may order the disclosure of records under the Act.

Pursuant to the current legislative scheme, the Commissioner is entrusted with access to very sensitive information.  This includes information related to national security and Canada's involvement in armed conflict.  It also includes access to information about the identity of human sources recruited by CSIS, the identity of police informants and information about the Witness Protection Program. None of these types of information are subject to exclusion provisions. Instead, these types of information are protected by a discretionary injury-based exemption, as well as the mandatory exemption for personal information (section 19).

The Act has specific provisions for investigations involving information about international affairs and defence. Only a small group of appointed investigators (in total, eight (8)) may investigate these complaints. Furthermore, when investigating some of these complaints, investigators go to the institution’s premises to review records and no copies are provided or kept at the Commissioner’s office.

Exemption versus exclusion

In general, the Commissioner, like previous Commissioners, favours discretionary exemptions with an injury test. Furthermore, an independent review must be possible in all cases.

It may be that journalistic sources are sufficiently protected by the exemption under section 19. However, if additional protection is required, anexemption provision would be sufficient.

The Supreme Court has pointed out that there is no constitutional or quasi-constitutional “class” privilege for the confidentiality of journalistic sources. Instead, the Wigmore test must be used to assess privilege on a case-by-case basis.

The Wigmore test involves the following four criteria:

  1. “First, the communication must originate in a confidence that the identity of the   informant will not be disclosed.
  2. Second, the confidence must be essential to the relationship in which the   communication arises.
  3. Third, the relationship must be one which should be "sedulously fostered" in the public good, (...)
  4. Finally, if all of these requirements are met, the court must consider whether in the instant case the public interest served by protecting the identity of the   informant from disclosure outweighs the public interest in getting at the truth [...]”.Footnote 3

According to the Supreme Court, the fourth criterion “…does most of the work”Footnote 4 and the “[p]ublic interest in free expression will always weigh heavily in the balance.”Footnote 5 Further, “[The] Court ultimately concluded that every claim to journalist-source privilege – be it in the face of testimonial compulsion or the production of documents – is situation specific, with the public’s interest in the freedom of expression always weighing heavily in the court’s balancing exercise.”Footnote 6

This possibility of privilege does not justify the creation of an exclusion. Under the Act, even records subject to solicitor-client privilege, which the Supreme Court of Canada has recognized as a privilege that is quasi-absolute, are protected by a discretionary exemption (section 23), as opposed to an exclusion provision.

Since there is no general or “class” privilege for journalistic sources and since privilegemust be determined on a case-by-case basis by a court, journalists are never able to provide their sources with assurances of absolute protection.

Transitory issues for ongoing cases

We have to consider what happens to pending requests and ongoing investigations if there is a modification to the protection afforded to CBC information.

The Commissioner is currently investigating more than 200 files that involve the application of the exclusion set out in section 68.1. If section 68.1 were to be repealed and replaced by a new provision, it would be less than ideal for the repealed provision to continue to apply to current requests and complaints subject to ongoing investigations.  The disclosure of different information in response to requests for the same records, based on the timing of the requests, should be avoided. A requester would need to file a new request to benefit from a new provision, unless the Act provides otherwise.  This would result in more work and expense to everyone involved.

It would be preferable for a new provision to apply to pending requests and complaints currently under investigation.

Conclusion

The challenges related to access to information are complex. They demand thoughtful, unified action and are not amenable to a "piecemeal" solution.

The Commissioner and her predecessors have more than once observed that the Act requires modernization to bring it in line with more progressive national and international models.  While it is true that the Act was considered state of the art legislation when it received Royal Assent in 1982, it is now significantly outdated.

The Act should not be amended in a disjointed manner since this would result in a fragmented scheme and would erode the Act’s status as a law of general application.

At the very least, the structure of the Act as a whole must be considered when amendments are proposed. We must examine not only the specific interests to be protected by changes or additions to the law but also the spirit of the law, the way in which it is structured and its general framework. The chosen approach must preserve the law’s character as one of general application.

The amendments proposed by Bill C-461 in relation to the CBC reflect what the Commissioner suggested when she appeared before this committee in October 2011.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

2011 FCA 326.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

S.C. 2006, ch. 9.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

R. v. National Post, 2010 SCC 16, para. 53.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Ibid., para. 58

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Ibid., para. 64

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

Globe and Mail v. Canada (Attorney General), 2010 SCC 41, para. 24

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Note documentaire
Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique

Projet de loi C-461, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (communication de renseignements)

Le mercredi 29 mai 2013

La présente note documentaire vise à aider les membres du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique (ETHI) lors de l’examen du projet de loi C-461.

Limitation du droit d’accès général

Au niveau fédéral, il existe des exceptions et des exclusions. Le droit d’accès reconnu par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (Loi) s’applique à tous les documents qui relèvent d’une institution assujettie, mais sous réserve des exceptions et des exclusions prévues à la Loi.

Exclusions

Les exclusions prévoient que la Loi ne s’applique pas à certains documents ou renseignements.  Par exemple, certaines exclusions concernent notamment les documents confidentiels du Cabinet, certains renseignements de la Société Radio-Canada (SRC) et comprennent aussi les documents publiés et les documents de bibliothèque conservés à des fins de référence, aussi bien que ceux des musées conservés à des fins d’expositions.

Exceptions

Les exceptions peuvent être divisées en différentes catégories:

  1. Exceptions obligatoires et exceptions discrétionnaires.  Pour les exceptions obligatoires, le responsable est tenu de refuser la divulgation de l’information dès qu’elle est visée par l’exception.  Pour les exceptions discrétionnaires, le responsable doit faire l’exercice en deux temps, d’abord déterminer si l’exception s’applique, ensuite, exercer sa discrétion pour déterminer si elle devrait ou non être appliquée.  Le responsable a l’option de divulguer l’information en considérant tous les facteurs pertinents.
  2. Exceptions de catégorie et celles comportant un critère de préjudice; pour celles de catégorie, il est question de cerner les catégories d’information auxquelles certaines exceptions peuvent s’appliquer alors que pour celles comportant un critère de préjudice, il  doit être déterminé si un document contient des renseignements dont la divulgation risquerait vraisemblablement de porter préjudice à un intérêt déterminé.

Aussi, certaines exceptions sont d’application plus générale alors que d’autres visent des institutions spécifiques.  Par exemple, l’article 16 de la Loi protège les renseignements concernant les enquêtes et peut être invoqué par toutes les institutions fédérales alors que l’article 16.1 vise certains documents relatifs à des enquêtes et ne peut être utilisé que par les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement énumérés à l’article.

Dans certains cas, des informations visées par une exception peuvent toutefois être communiquées dans la mesure où une certaine condition est remplie, par exemple, en obtenant le consentement de la personne en matière de renseignements personnels.  Également, la Loi prévoit des dispositions dérogatoires relatives à l’intérêt public, c’est-à-dire permettant la divulgation lorsque la communication est d’intérêt public (voir par exemple l’article 20(6)).

Aussi, certaines dispositions limitant la communication peuvent avoir une application limitée dans le temps. (par exemple, les avis et recommandations ne sont protégés que pour une période de vingt ans : article 21)

Aussi, il convient de noter que les exceptions s’appliquent aux renseignements et pas nécessairement au document en entier.  Le responsable doit appliquer les exceptions et communiquer les portions de document qui ne sont pas visées par une ou des exceptions dans la mesure ou le prélèvement ne pose pas de problème sérieux.

La Loi prévoit que :

36. (1) Le Commissaire à l’information a, pour l’instruction des plaintes déposées en vertu de la présente loi, le pouvoir :

a) d’assigner et de contraindre des témoins à comparaître devant lui, à déposer verbalement ou par écrit sous la foi du serment et à produire les pièces qu’il juge indispensables pour instruire et examiner à fond les plaintes dont il est saisi, de la même façon et dans la même mesure qu’une cour supérieure d’archives;
(...)

36(2) Nonobstant toute autre loi fédérale et toute immunité reconnue par le droit de la preuve, le Commissaire à l’information a, pour les enquêtes qu’il mène en vertu de la présente loi, accès à tous les documents qui relèvent d’une institution fédérale et auxquels la présente loi s’applique; aucun de ces documents ne peut, pour quelque motif que ce soit, lui être refusé. (nous soulignons)

Lorsqu’une exception est invoquée, il est clair que la commissaire a accès à tous les documents en vertu de 36(1)a) et 36(2).

Pour ce qui est des exclusions, la situation est plus complexe.  D’abord, les exclusions sont toutes très différentes et spécifiques.  Aucune n’est rédigée de la même façon et ne produit les mêmes effets.  C’est du cas par cas pour déterminer ce que la commissaire peut obtenir.

Par exemple, la commissaire n’a pas accès aux documents confidentiels du Cabinet puisqu’ils sont visés par une exclusion et que la Loi sur la Preuve au Canada prévoit l’émission d’un certificat (exclusion d’une durée limitée à 20 ans).

Pour ce qui est des documents publics et ceux des archives et des musées, ces documents sont visés par une exclusion, car ils sont disponibles au public.

Aussi, en vertu de la décision de la Cour d’appel fédérale dans Société Radio-Canada c. Commissaire à l’information du CanadaNote de bas de page 1, la commissaire a accès aux documents visés par l’exclusion afin de déterminer si l’exception à l’exclusion s’applique. Dans le cas de document qui révèlerait une source journalistique, la Cour d’appel a expliqué que :

74 (...) L’identité de sources journalistiques et l’exception portant sur l’administration ne peuvent s’entrechoquer quelle que soit l’étendue que l’on donne à cette exception. Dans ces circonstances, la seule conclusion possible si l’on donne effet au raisonnement du juge de la Cour fédérale, est que l’exclusion visant les sources journalistiques, comme celles prévues aux articles 69 et 69.1, est absolue. Il s’ensuit que dans l’éventualité d’une demande visant le dévoilement d’une source journalistique, un document - ou la partie d’un document - qui révèle ce type de renseignement échapperait au pouvoir d’examen de la Commissaire.

Décision pertinente

Suite à l’adoption de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilitéNote de bas de page 2, des institutions fédérales ont été ajoutées à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, dont la SRC en septembre 2007.

Nous avons enquêté sur de nombreuses plaintes ayant trait à l’utilisation que la SRC fait de l’article 68.1 de la Loi.  Cet article prévoit que la Loi ne s’applique pas aux renseignements de la SRC  qui se rapportent à ses activités de journalisme, de création ou de programmation, à l’exception de ceux qui ont trait à son administration.

Au cours de nos enquêtes, suite au refus de la SRC de nous communiquer les documents associés à ces plaintes, la commissaire a ordonné à la SRC de lui communiquer les documents visés par les demandes d’accès.  Par la suite, la SRC a demandé un contrôle judiciaire en contestant notre pouvoir de contraindre la production de documents.

Question en litige

Est-ce que la commissaire détient le pouvoir d’ordonner à la SRC de communiquer des documents y compris ceux qui, de l’avis de la SRC, se rapportent à des activités de journalisme, de création ou de programmation au sens de l’article 68.1 de la Loi?

Décision de la Cour fédérale (Société Radio Canada c. Commissaire à l’information du Canada, 2010 CF 954)

La Cour fédérale a conclu que la commissaire détenait la compétence d’ordonner à la SRC de produire ces documents aux fins d’enquête.

Cette décision a été portée en appel par la SRC.

Décision de la Cour d’appel fédérale (Société Radio-Canada c. Commissaire à l’information du Canada, 2011 CAF 326)

La Cour a rejeté l’appel de la SRC, en indiquant que l’exclusion concernant l’information se rapportant à des activités de journalisme, de création ou de programmation énoncée à l’article 68.1 de la Loi était assujettie à une exception quant aux renseignements qui ont trait à l’administration de la SRC. Par conséquent, la commissaire doit être en mesure d’examiner les documents faisant l’objet d’une plainte/ afin de déterminer si l’exception s’applique aux renseignements et si ces derniers pourraient être divulgués; il appartient à la commissaire de se prononcer sur l’application de l’exception et d’exercer son pouvoir de recommandation.

Également, la Cour a spécifié qu’elle ne partageait pas les craintes de la SRC quant au préjudice qui pourrait lui être causé si la commissaire prenait connaissance des documents.
 
Toutefois, selon la Cour, peu importe la portée de l’exception à l’exclusion, cette exception et l’identité des sources journalistiques ne peuvent s’entremêler.  Ainsi, la Cour a précisé que pour ce qui est des documents contenant une source journalistique, le document, ou partie de document qui révèlerait une source, serait exempté du pouvoir d’examen de la commissaire.

La décision de la Cour d’appel fédérale confirme le pouvoir de la commissaire de voir les documents exclus en vertu de 68.1, sauf pour ce qui est des renseignements qui révèleraient une source journalistique.  La Cour ne s’est pas prononcée sur les éléments suivants, qui pourraient faire l’objet d’un litige :

  • quelle est la portée de l’exception
  • ce que comprend la notion de « renseignements qui ont trait à l’administration »
  • quelle est la portée de l’exclusion relative aux sources journalistiques ? Est-ce limité à l’identité de la source et aux éléments qui pourraient l’identifier? Est-ce que la portée de cette exclusion est plus large? Il est possible que la commissaire   et la SRC ne s’entendent pas sur la portée de cette l’exclusion.

Remarques générales

Pouvoirs/enquêtes

Les pouvoirs de la commissaire lui permettent d’obtenir et de réviser tous les documents nécessaires à son enquête (sauf certains, tel qu’expliqué plus haut).

Les renseignements et documents obtenus le sont aux fins de l’enquête seulement.  La commissaire n’a pas le pouvoir d’ordonner la divulgation, elle ne dispose que du pouvoir de faire des recommandations à la fin de son enquête.  Également, les obligations de confidentialité prévues à la Loi sont très strictes et ne permettent pas la divulgation de l’information ainsi obtenue. La production de documents à la CI lors d’une enquête menée en vertu de la Loi n’équivaut pas à la divulgation.  Seule la Cour peut ordonner la divulgation de documents.

En vertu du régime actuel, la commissaire a accès à de l’information très sensible, notamment à celle en matière de sécurité nationale et toutes les informations concernant l’implication du Canada dans des conflits armés.  Par exemple, le Commissariat a accès aux renseignements concernant l’identité des sources humaines recrutées par le SCRS, l’identité des indicateurs de police ainsi que l’information sur le programme de protection des témoins.  Aucun de ces renseignements n’est exclu de la Loi. Ces renseignements sont protégés par des exceptions discrétionnaires avec critère de préjudice et par l’exception obligatoire prévue pour la protection des renseignements personnels.

Également, des dispositions spécifiques sont prévues à la Loi pour les enquêtes impliquant les affaires internationales et la défense. Seul un petit groupe d’enquêteurs désignés (8 personnes) peuvent travailler sur ces enquêtes. Aussi, dans certains cas, notre personnel se déplace dans les locaux de l’institution pour effectuer la révision des documents.  Aucune copie n’est remise au Commissariat ni conservée dans nos bureaux.

Exception versus exclusion

En général, tout comme les commissaires précédents, la commissaire favorise les exceptions discrétionnaires comportant un critère de préjudice.  De plus, une révision indépendante doit être possible dans tous les cas.

Il est possible que les sources journalistiques soient protégées suffisamment par l’exception prévue à l’article 19, par contre, si une protection supplémentaire est requise, une exception serait suffisante.

La Cour suprême a précisé qu’il n’existe pas de privilège générique, constitutionnel ou quasi-constitutionnel pour le secret des sources journalistiques.  On doit utiliser le cadre d’analyse établi par le test de Wigmore pour faire reconnaître le privilège au cas par cas.

Le test de Wigmore comporte les 4 volets suivants :

  1. « Premièrement, les communications doivent avoir été transmises confidentiellement avec l’assurance que l’identité de l’informateur ne serait pas   divulguée.
  2. Deuxièmement, le caractère confidentiel doit être essentiel aux rapports dans le cadre desquels la communication est transmise.
  3. Troisièmement, les rapports doivent être des rapports qui, dans l’intérêt public, devraient être "entretenus assidûment",(...)
  4. Enfin, si toutes ces exigences sont remplies, le tribunal doit déterminer si, dans l’affaire qui lui est soumise, l’intérêt public que l’on sert en soustrayant l’identité à la divulgation l’emporte sur l’intérêt public à la découverte de la vérité. (...) »Note de bas de page 3

Selon la Cour suprême, le quatrième volet « sera le plus déterminant »Note de bas de page 4 et « [l]’intérêt public à la liberté d’expression joue toujours un grand rôle dans la pondération »Note de bas de page 5.  Aussi, « [L]a Cour a finalement conclu que chaque revendication du privilège du secret des sources des journalistes -- que ce soit au sujet d’une obligation de témoigner ou de la production de documents -- est liée aux faits de l’espèce, et que l’intérêt du public à l’égard de la liberté d’expression pèse toujours lourd dans l’exercice de mise en balance du tribunal. » Note de bas de page 6

Cette possibilité de privilège ne justifie pas la création d’une exclusion.  Surtout si l’on regarde la situation des documents protégés par le secret professionnel de l’avocat.  Malgré que ce privilège soit reconnu par la Cour suprême et qu’il soit quasi-absolu, il est protégé par une exception discrétionnaire (article 23) et non par une exclusion.

Puisqu’il n’existe pas de privilège générique et qu’il doit être établi au cas par cas par une cour, aucun journaliste n’est en mesure d’offrir une protection absolue à ses sources.

Problèmes transitoires touchant les plaintes en cours

Si la disposition visant les renseignements relevant de la SRC est modifiée, cela pose la question des demandes d’accès et des plaintes en cours.

La commissaire enquête présentement sur plus de 200 dossiers impliquant l’article 68.1.  Dans la mesure où l’article 68.1 serait abrogé et remplacé par une autre disposition, il ne serait pas souhaitable d’appliquer une ancienne disposition dans les demandes et les dossiers d’enquête en cours. Nous devons éviter qu’une demande d’accès portant sur les mêmes documents, mais demandés à un moment différent ait un résultat différent.  Un demandeur devrait alors déposer une nouvelle demande d’accès afin de bénéficier de l’application de la nouvelle disposition à moins que la Loi ne prévoie une application différente. Cette façon de faire créerait plus de travail et plus de coûts pour toutes les parties impliquées dans le processus d’accès.

Il serait préférable qu’une nouvelle disposition s’applique aux dossiers en cours.

Conclusion

Les défis qui touchent l'accès à l'information sont complexes. Ils exigent une intervention réfléchie et complète et non pas une solution « à la pièce ».

D’ailleurs, la commissaire et ses prédécesseurs ont, à plusieurs reprises, indiqué la nécessité d’une modernisation de la Loi, et ce, afin de l’harmoniser avec des normes nationales et internationales progressistes.  Alors que la Loi était qualifiée d’avant-gardiste lors de son édiction en 1982, elle est maintenant dépassée.

Il n’est pas souhaitable que la Loi soit modifiée de façon fragmentaire puisque le régime qui en résulte est décousu et ces modifications érodent le statut de la Loi comme loi d’application générale.

À tout le moins, la Loi dans son ensemble doit être considérée lorsque des modifications sont envisagées.  Il ne faut pas seulement examiner les intérêts spécifiques que nous cherchons à protéger dans un cas précis, mais aussi l’esprit de la Loi, la façon dont elle est structurée et son régime général.  L’approche choisie doit s’harmoniser avec la Loi tout en conservant le régime d’application générale.

Pour ce qui est de la proposition mise de l’avant par le projet de loi C-461 relativement à la SRC, elle reflète ce que la commissaire avait suggéré lors de sa comparution devant ce comité en octobre 2011.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

2011 CAF 326

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

L. C. 2006, ch. 9

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

R. c. National Post,  2010 CSC 16, para. 53

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Précité note 4, para. 58

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Précité note 4, para. 64

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Globe and Mail c. Canada (Procureur général), 2010 CSC 41, para. 24

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6