Remarks by the Information Commissioner of Canada
Standing Committee On Access To Information, Privacy And Ethics

Bill C-461, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act
(disclosure of information)

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Check against delivery

Good afternoon.

Let me begin by thanking you for inviting me to speak to you today in relation to your study of Bill C-461: An Act to amend the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act (disclosure of information).

This Bill proposes the repeal of section 68.1 of the Access to Information Act (Act) which excludes information relating to the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) “journalistic, creative or programming activities” subject to an exception for information relating to its general administration.  The Bill would replace that exclusion with a new exemption which will allow CBC to withhold records which could reasonably be expected to prejudice the “journalistic, creative or programming independence” of the CBC.

At the outset, I would like to describe briefly the general structure of the Act, the limits to the right of access and the powers given to my office.

The Access to Information Act creates a right to access information under the control of government institutions, subject to specific and limited exceptions. The Act limits access by way of exemptions and exclusions.

Exclusions provide that the Act does not apply to certain records or information.  The Act also includes various exemptions which permit or require institutions to withhold a range of records and information.

The Act gives the Commissioner broad investigatory powers including access to all the documents under the control of a federal institution to which the Act applies. The Commissioner has a broad power to require production of these records.

Thus, when an exemption is invoked by an institution, the Commissioner has access to the documents in their entirety. However, where an institution invokes an exclusion, access to the underlying information or records depends on the nature of the exclusion relied on by the institution.

The Commissioner’s access to records and information which have been identified by the CBC as falling within the exclusion found in section 68.1 was at issue before the Federal Court of Appeal at the time of my appearance in October 2011.  In November 2011, the Federal Court of Appeal rendered its decision.

The extent of the Commissioner’s power to review records over which CBC had applied the exclusion in s. 68.1 arose in the context of a number of investigations into complaints about the application of the exclusion by the CBC.

CBC challenged the Commissioner’s power to compel the production of documents that it claimed were excluded by s. 68.1 of the Act.  On appeal, the Court of Appeal confirmed that the Commissioner is allowed access to the records to determine whether or not the information fell within the exception for information relating to the general administration of the CBC.  With respect to information about a journalistic source, the Federal Court of Appeal observed:

74 (...) The identity of journalistic sources cannot clash with the exception relating to general administration, regardless of the scope attributed to this exception. In these circumstances, the only conclusion possible if one gives effect to the Federal Court judge’s reasoning is that the exclusion for journalistic sources, like the exclusions provided in sections 69 and 69.1, is absolute. It follows that in the event that a request seeking the disclosure of journalistic sources was made, a record – or the part thereof – revealing this type of information would be exempt from the Commissioner’s power of examination.

In its decision, the Court of Appeal resolved the scope of the Commissioner’s power to compel the production of the records to which CBC has applied section 68.1. What the decision does not resolve is the scope of the exception to the exclusion and the meaning of terms used in section 68.1, such as the "journalistic, creative or programming activities". Subsequent litigation on these issues cannot, therefore, be excluded.

Before I discuss the specific modifications proposed by Bill C-461, I think it is important to emphasize that the challenges related to access to information are complex. They demand thoughtful, unified action and are  not amenable to a "piecemeal" solution.

Like my predecessors, I have more than once observed that the Act requires modernization to bring it in line with more progressive national and international models.  While it is true that the Act was considered state of the art legislation when it received Royal Assent in 1982, it is now significantly outdated.

While acknowledging the need to amend the law, I maintain that it should not be done in a disjointed way since this leads to issue-specific amendments which erode the Act’s status as a law of general application.

At the very least, the structure of the Act as a whole must be considered when amendments are proposed. We must examine not only the specific interests to be protected by changes or additions to the law but also the spirit of the law, the way in which it is structured and its general framework. The chosen approach must in my view preserve the law’s character as one of general application.

The amendments proposed by Bill C-461 in relation to the CBC reflect what I suggested when I appeared before this committee in October 2011.

At this time, Bill C-461 proposes the repeal of section 68.1 and the insertion of a discretionary injury-based exemption that would permit CBC to withhold information that could reasonably be expected to prejudice the Corporation's journalistic, creative or programming independence.

There is no reason to believe such an exemption would not adequately protect journalistic sources.  A discretionary injury-based exemption will ensure requesters’ rights to an independent review process.  

To be clear, any information or records obtained by my Office are reviewed solely for investigative purposes. Indeed, the ATIA confidentiality requirements are very strict and do not allow the disclosure of any information during the performance of my duties or functions.

Other legislative measures could be taken to further protect specific types of information held by the CBC. The document entitled “Background Note” refers to other legislative options.

One possibility would be the inclusion of an injury-based discretionary exemption with a mandatory exemption for journalistic sources. My Office could also implement additional administrative measures, including limiting the number of employees delegated to work on the investigations pertaining to possible journalistic sources.

In concluding, I ask the Committee to consider how these proposed amendments to the Act will apply to the more than 200 complaints currently under investigation. Will it be applicable to ongoing files (requests and complaints) or only to new requests?

In my view, it would be better that the new provisions be applicable to existing complaints and requests since a requester may simply make a new request thereby benefitting from the application of the new provisions.

I would be pleased to answer your questions.

Allocution de la Commissaire à l’information du Canada
Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique

Projet de loi C-461, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (communication de renseignements)

Le mercredi 29 mai 2013

L'allocution prononcée fait foi

Bonjour,

Je vous remercie de m’avoir invitée à prendre la parole dans le cadre de votre étude sur le projet de loi C-461 : Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (communication de renseignements).

Ce projet de loi propose, en partie, l’abrogation de l’article 68.1 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (LAI) qui prévoit l’exclusion des renseignements qui se rapportent aux activités de journalisme, de création ou de programmation de la Société Radio-Canada (SRC).  Cette exclusion est assujettie à une exception pour les renseignements qui ont trait à son administration.  Le projet de loi propose le remplacement de cette exclusion par une nouvelle exception  permettant à la SRC de refuser de communiquer des documents demandés si leur divulgation risquait vraisemblablement de nuire à l’indépendance de la Société en matière de journalisme, de création ou de programmation.

D’abord, permettez-moi de vous expliquer brièvement la structure générale et les limites au droit d’accès contenues à la loi ainsi que mes pouvoirs.

L’objet de la LAI prévoit le droit du public à la communication de documents d’institutions fédérales, sous réserve d’exceptions précises et limitées.  Les limites prévues à la LAI le sont sous forme d’exceptions et d‘exclusions.

Les exclusions prévoient que la loi ne s’applique pas à certains documents ou  renseignements.  La loi comporte aussi des exceptions diverses qui permettent ou obligent l’institution à refuser la communication d’un éventail de documents et de renseignements.

Pour ce qui est des pouvoirs de la commissaire, la loi prévoit qu’elle détient, dans le cadre de ses enquêtes, de larges pouvoirs, incluant l’accès à tous les documents qui relèvent d'une institution fédérale et auxquels la loi s'applique.  La commissaire détient un large pouvoir d’ordonner la production de ces documents.

Lorsqu’une exception est invoquée par une institution, la commissaire a accès intégralement à tous les documents.  Par contre, pour ce qui est des exclusions, l’accès aux documents ou renseignements visés varie en fonction de la nature de l’exclusion invoquée.

En ce qui concerne l’accès de la commissaire aux documents et renseignements pour lesquels la SRC réclamait l’exclusion prévue à l’article 68.1, cette question était devant la Cour d’appel fédérale lors de ma comparution en octobre 2011.  Depuis, la décision de la Cour a été rendue en novembre 2011.

Cette question de la portée des pouvoirs de la commissaire de revoir les documents pour lesquels l’exclusion est invoquée s’est manifestée lors des enquêtes sur de nombreuses plaintes ayant trait à l’utilisation que la Société Radio-Canada (SRC) avait fait de l’article 68.1 de la LAI.

Suite à une contestation de la SRC du pouvoir de la commissaire de contraindre la production de documents visés à cet article, la Cour d’appel a confirmé que la commissaire a accès aux documents visés par l’exclusion afin de déterminer si l’exception  visant les renseignements ayant trait à l’administration de la SRC s’applique. Pour ce qui est des renseignements qui révèleraient une source journalistique, la Cour fédérale d’appel a expliqué que :

74 (...) L'identité de sources journalistiques et l'exception portant sur l'administration ne peuvent s'entrechoquer quelle que soit l'étendue que l'on donne à cette exception. Dans ces circonstances, la seule conclusion possible si l'on donne effet au raisonnement du juge de la Cour fédérale, est que l'exclusion visant les sources journalistiques, comme celles prévues aux articles 69 et 69.1, est absolue. Il s'ensuit que dans l'éventualité d'une demande visant le dévoilement d'une source journalistique, un document - ou la partie d'un document - qui révèle ce type de renseignement échapperait au pouvoir d'examen de la Commissaire.

Cette décision a résolu la question du pouvoir de la commissaire de contraindre la production de documents visés par l’article 68.1.  Par ailleurs, la portée de l’exception à l’exclusion et la signification des termes employés à l’article 68.1, tel que les « activités de journalisme, de création ou de programmation » n’a pas été déterminée par la cour.  Des litiges subséquents sur la portée de l’exception et de l’exclusion ne sont donc pas exclus.

Avant de m’exprimer sur les modifications spécifiques proposées par le projet de loi C-461, je crois qu’il est important de souligner que les défis qui touchent l'accès à l'information sont complexes. Ils exigent une intervention réfléchie et complète et non pas une solution « à la pièce ».

D’ailleurs, et tout comme mes prédécesseurs l’ont fait avant moi, j’ai, à plusieurs reprises, indiqué la nécessité d’une modernisation de la Loi, et ce, afin de l’harmoniser avec des normes nationales et internationales progressistes.  Alors que la loi était qualifiée d’avant-gardiste lors de son édiction en 1982, elle est maintenant considérablement dépassée.

Tout en reconnaissant le besoin de modifier la loi, il n’est pas souhaitable qu’elle le soit de façon fragmentaire puisque le régime qui en résulte est décousu et ces modifications érodent le statut de la loi comme loi d’application générale.

À tout le moins, la loi dans son ensemble doit être considérée lorsque des modifications sont envisagées.  Il ne faut pas seulement examiner les intérêts spécifiques que nous cherchons à protéger dans un cas précis, mais aussi l’esprit de la loi, la façon dont elle est structurée et son régime général.  À mon avis, l’approche choisie doit s’harmoniser avec la Loi tout en conservant le régime d’application générale.

Pour ce qui est de la proposition mise de l’avant par le projet de loi C-461 relativement à la SRC, elle reflète ce que j’avais suggéré lors de ma comparution devant ce comité en octobre 2011.

À l’heure actuelle, le projet de loi C-461 propose l’abrogation de la disposition  prévue à 68.1 et son remplacement par une exception discrétionnaire assortie d’un test de préjudice visant à protéger les renseignements qui risquerait vraisemblablement de nuire à l’indépendance de la SRC en matière de journalisme, de création ou de programmation.  Une exception discrétionnaire assortie d’un critère de préjudice protège les droits des demandeurs à un processus d’examen indépendant.

Il convient de préciser que tous les renseignements et documents obtenus par le Commissariat le sont aux fins de l’enquête seulement.  Également, les obligations de confidentialité prévues à la LAI sont très strictes et ne permettent pas la divulgation d’aucune information obtenue dans l’exercice de mes pouvoirs et fonctions.

Finalement, j’invite le Comité à considérer de quelle façon toute modification à la Loi sera appliquée étant donné l’existence de plus de 200 plaintes sous enquête présentement. Sera-t-elle appliquée aux dossiers en cours (demandes et plaintes) ou seulement aux nouvelles demandes?

À mon avis, dans la mesure où un demandeur peut déposer à nouveau la même demande d’accès pour bénéficier de l’application d’une nouvelle disposition, il serait préférable qu’une nouvelle disposition s’applique aux dossiers en cours.

Il me fera plaisir de répondre à vos questions.