Annual Reports 2010-2011 and 2011-2012

Remarks by the Information Commissioner of Canada
Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Check against delivery

Good afternoon and thank you for your invitation to appear in relation to your study on my Annual Reports for the years 2010-2011 and 2011-2012. These two years represent the first two years following my official nomination as Information Commissioner, on the heels of having served in the position for an interim year in 2009-2010.

Preparing for this appearance caused me to reflect on the work the OIC team has accomplished under my leadership. It also caused me to review the conditions that existed at the time I took the helm of the office, conditions which have informed and guided my actions since. Let me review these briefly.

First, when I took over as interim Commissioner in 2009, the OIC was literally crippled by an unprecedented inventory of old cases dating as far back as 2002-2003. The number of cases in the inventory at the beginning of that year stood at 2, 514 cases. This is compounded by the fact that the OIC received, in the last four years, an average of 1600 additional cases a year. The average turnaround time for a case was 449 days.

Second, the Federal Accountability Act had recently come into effect bringing under the purview of the Access to Information Act sixty-nine new institutions, most notably a number of Crown corporations along with new exclusions and exemptions, adding a new level of complexity.

Third, there had been a steady decline in two key performance measures in accessing federal government information. In terms of timeliness, only slightly more than half of all access requests made to federal institutions were completed within thirty days. In terms of disclosure, less than one fifth of all requests resulted in all information being disclosed.

Fourth, the Open Government Movement was developing rapidly in countries like the United States, the United Kingdom and Australia, and

Fifth, the office's corporate governance was in need of a serious makeover.

Given these challenges, I set out a clear direction in 2010-2011 in the OIC Strategic Plan, which has three key results areas: an exemplary service to Canadians, a leading access to information regime, and an exceptional workplace.

The Annual reports of 2010-2011 and 2011-2012, as well as the upcoming 2012-2013 Annual Report, highlight our achievements in addressing these key results areas.

Exemplary Service to Canadians

When I first took on the role of Information Commissioner, I made a commitment to maximize the effectiveness and timeliness of my office to meet the needs and expectations of Canadians. As the annual reports show, we have made great strides towards the achievement of this objective through sustained and ongoing efforts.  Let me give you some of the key numbers.

Our inventory now stands at 1, 796 files - a reduction of 28.5 percent. We have closed about 7300 complaints since April 2009 including some of our oldest and most complex cases that had accumulated at the Office over the years. Our average turnaround time is now 380 days. More importantly, our median turnaround time now stands at 215 days and our median turnaround time once a case is assigned is 86 days.

One of the challenges we now face is the changing composition of our complaints. Our caseload is almost exclusively composed of complex refusal files, a large proportion of which (46% ) deal with issues of national security and international affairs, complaints against the Canada Revenue Agency and complaints against the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.

During the period of time under review we dealt with some key investigations, such as the first referral to the Attorney General under section 67.1 and the Special report dealing with interference in the processing of access requests.

We also had some key court decisions such as the Bronskill decision, clarifying cases dealing with national security, the Federal Court of Appeal’s decision confirming the Commissioner's authority to compel the production of documents under the control of the CBC, and the Supreme Court of Canada decision stating that Ministers offices are not part of the government institutions for which they are responsible. These decisions are now being applied through our investigations and our upcoming annual reports will shed light on their implications for requesters' rights.

A leading access to information regime

On the key result area of a leading access to information regime we have been active on several fronts. It is of course not a secret that I am a strong believer in the need for legislative reform but the focus of our activities for the period under review was on the overall performance of the access regime and on Open Government.

During this period I completed the Three Year Plan on Report Cards which specifically looked at timeliness. In the course of this project we reviewed 32 institutions among those that receive the most requests. We made a number of recommendations both at the institutional level and at the Treasury Board Secretariat, as the body responsible for the administration of the Act. Most of these recommendations have been implemented and have achieved positive results. The most noteworthy being the collection of detailed statistics with a view to better diagnosing the problems in the system and the various modifications to Treasury Board policies dealing with delegation of authority and mandatory consultations.

The scrutiny of this committee over the years has also played an important role in prompting institutions on to better compliance with the Act. I have asked institutions in the most recent Report Cards to report their progress in implementing our recommendations in their mandatory annual reporting to Parliament under the Access Act. It is my hope that this committee will review these reports and follow up on them as you see fit, to ensure ongoing scrutiny of the performance of institutions in meeting their access to information obligations under the Act.

We also completed the investigation into the Coordination of Access to Information Requests System called CAIRS where I recommended to the President of the Treasury Board that all federal institutions post the summaries of completed requests on their websites and that a central search feature is enabled to allow the public to search the lists of requests. Since January 2012, all federal institutions have to post this information on their websites. The government is planning to have searchable summaries by next year.

During the two years under review I spent considerable effort on promoting the benefits of the Open Government Movement, in speeches, before this committee in 2010, and through a joint resolution of all information and privacy commissioners in 2010, which called on all government to embrace open government principles for greater transparency and accountability. I was happy to see that the Government adopted an Open Government Platform in the spring of 2011. On behalf of all the information and privacy commissioners of Canada, I also sent a letter to the President of the Treasury Board last year to provide recommendations for the government's action plan for its work as a member of the Open Government Partnership. The key recommendation was to update the Access to Information Act.

In the fall of 2011 I hosted the 7th International Conference of Information Commissioners in collaboration with the Canadian Bar Association. This was the first time that this conference was held in Canada. This event brought together more than 250 participants, including 36 international, provincial and territorial commissioners. The conference culminated in the release of a joint resolution signed by commissioners of 23 countries that call on governments to enshrine the right to information in national laws.

Exceptional Workplace

On the key result area of an exceptional workplace we focused on developing an integrated human resources plan and modernizing the corporate governance of the office with the leading initiative of modernising our IM/IT systems. This five year strategy started in 2009 and is slated to finish in 2013-14. So far we are on time, on target and on budget.

This is but a snapshot of the work conducted at the OIC during that period of time and, as you can see by now, I am very proud of all we have accomplished.

However, as you will see in my upcoming annual report for the year 2012-2013, which will be published in June, much remains to be done. Especially since the modest gains at the system level, which I reported upon in my 2011-2012 Annual Report, appear to have mostly disappeared.

After all, 2013 marks the 30th anniversary of the coming into force of the Access to Information Act, a key driver of democracy, transparency and accountability. Lets make sure we have cause to celebrate.

You will find in the package that was distributed a number of documents that provide additional information on the work of my office.

Thank you and I am ready to answer your questions.

Rapports annuels 2010-2011 et 2011-2012

Allocution de la commissaire à l’information du Canada
Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique

Le mercredi 24 avril 2013

L'allocution prononcée fait foi

Bonjour, et merci de m’avoir invitée à prendre la parole dans le cadre de votre étude sur mes rapports annuels pour les années 2010-2011 et 2011-2012. Ces deux années sont les deux premières qui suivent ma nomination officielle en tant que commissaire à l’information du Canada, après avoir occupé ce poste un an à titre intérimaire en 2009-2010.

La préparation de cette allocution m’a amenée à réfléchir au travail que l’équipe du Commissariat à l’information du Canada a accompli sous ma direction. Ce travail de préparation m’a aussi fait repenser au contexte qui prévalait au moment où j’ai pris la tête du Bureau, un contexte qui a éclairé et guidé mes actions depuis lors. Si vous me le permettez, je vais dire quelques mots sur ce contexte.

Premièrement, lorsque j’ai pris la relève à titre de commissaire par intérim en 2009, le Commissariat était littéralement paralysé par un nombre jamais atteint de vieux dossiers qui remontaient jusqu’à 2002-2003. Au début de cette année-là, il y avait 2 514 dossiers en inventaire. À cela s’ajoute le fait que le Commissariat a reçu, au cours des quatre dernières années, une moyenne de 1 600 dossiers supplémentaires par année. Le délai moyen de traitement d’un dossier était de 449 jours.

Deuxièmement, la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité était récemment entrée en vigueur, assujettissant à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information quelque 69 nouvelles institutions, notamment un certain nombre de sociétés d’État, avec de nouvelles exceptions et exclusions, ajoutant un nouveau niveau de complexité.

Troisièmement, on avait observé une baisse régulière de deux mesures du rendement clés en matière d’accès à l’information du gouvernement fédéral. Du point de vue des délais, à peine plus de la moitié de l’ensemble des demandes d’accès présentées aux institutions fédérales était traitée dans un délai de 30 jours. Du point de vue de la divulgation, moins de un cinquième de l’ensemble des demandes donnait lieu à une divulgation complète de l’information.

Quatrièmement, le mouvement vers un gouvernement ouvert prenait rapidement de l’ampleur dans des pays comme les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni et l’Australie.

Cinquièmement, il était nécessaire de réformer en profondeur la gouvernance organisationnelle.

Compte tenu de ces défis, j’ai défini une orientation claire en 2010-2011 dans le Plan stratégique du Commissariat, qui comportait trois domaines de résultat clé : un service exemplaire aux Canadiens, un régime d’accès à l’information de premier plan, et un milieu de travail exceptionnel.

Les rapports annuels de 2010-2011 et de 2011-2012, ainsi que le rapport annuel de 2012-2013 à venir, soulignent nos réussites à l’égard de ces domaines de résultat clé.

Service exemplaire aux Canadiens

Lorsque j’ai endossé le rôle de commissaire à l’information pour la première fois, j’ai pris l’engagement d’améliorer l’efficacité et les délais du Commissariat, afin de répondre aux besoins et aux attentes des Canadiens. Comme le montrent les rapports annuels, nous avons accompli des progrès considérables à l’égard de la réalisation de cet objectif grâce à nos efforts soutenus. Je vais vous donner quelques chiffres essentiels à ce sujet.

Nous avons maintenant 1 796 dossiers en attente de traitement, ce qui représente une baisse de 28,5 %. Nous avons réglé 7 300 plaintes depuis avril 2009, dont certains de nos dossiers les plus vieux et les plus complexes, que le Commissariat avait accumulés au fil des ans. Désormais, notre délai moyen de traitement est de 380 jours. Plus important encore, notre délai de traitement médian est de 215, et notre délai de traitement médian une fois le dossier attribué est de 86 jours.

L’un des défis auxquels nous devons maintenant faire face, c’est l’évolution de la nature des plaintes. Notre charge de travail est presque exclusivement composée de dossiers complexes liés à un refus d’accès, dont une forte proportion (46%) concerne des questions de sécurité nationale et d’affaires internationales, des plaintes contre l’Agence du revenu du Canada et des plaintes contre la Société Radio-Canada.

Pendant la période examinée, nous avons achevé plusieurs enquêtes majeures, comme le premier renvoi au procureur général en vertu de l’article 67.1 et le rapport spécial sur l’ingérence dans le traitement des demandes d’accès.

Il y a également eu des décisions judiciaires clés, comme la décision dans l’affaire Bronskill, qui a clarifié les dossiers ayant trait à la sécurité nationale, la décision de la Cour fédérale d’appel confirmant que le commissaire a le pouvoir d’ordonner la production de documents sous le contrôle de la Société Radio-Canada, et la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada, énonçant que les bureaux des ministres ne font pas partie de l’institution fédérale dont ils sont responsables. Nous appliquons maintenant ces décisions dans le cadre de nos enquêtes, et nos rapports annuels à venir décriront les répercussions de ces décisions sur les droits du demandeur.

Régime d’accès à l’information de premier plan

Pour ce qui est du domaine de résultat clé sur un régime d'accès à l'information de premier plan, nous avons été actifs sur plusieurs fronts. Ce n’est évidemment un secret pour personne que je suis profondément convaincue de la nécessité d’une réforme législative, mais pendant la période dont nous parlons, nos efforts ont porté sur le rendement global du régime d’accès et sur l’ouverture du gouvernement.

Au cours de cette période, j’ai terminé le plan triennal concernant les fiches de rendement, qui portait principalement sur les délais. Pendant ce projet, nous avons examiné 32 institutions parmi celles recevant le plus de demandes. Nous avons adressé un certain nombre de recommandations à la fois à ces institutions et au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, étant donné que c’est l’organisme responsable de l’administration de la Loi. La majorité de ces recommandations ont été mises en œuvre et ont donné des résultats positifs. Les plus importantes étaient la collecte de statistiques détaillées en vue de mieux diagnostiquer les problèmes du système, et diverses modifications des politiques du Conseil du Trésor concernant la délégation de pouvoir et les consultations obligatoires.

La surveillance exercée par votre comité au fil des ans a également fortement incité les institutions à mieux respecter la Loi. Dans les toutes dernières fiches de rendement, j’ai demandé aux institutions d’indiquer leurs progrès par rapport à la mise en œuvre de nos recommandations dans le rapport annuel qu’elles ont obligation de remettre au Parlement en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. J’espère que votre comité examinera ces rapports et assurera le suivi qu’il juge à propos, afin de garantir une surveillance constante des résultats des institutions pour ce qui est de respecter leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi.

Nous avons également terminé une enquête sur le Système de coordination des demandes d’accès à l’information, également appelé SCDAI, dans le cadre de laquelle j’ai recommandé au président du Conseil du Trésor que toutes les institutions fédérales affichent le résumé des demandes traitées sur leur site Web et qu’un moteur de recherche central soit créé pour permettre au public d’effectuer une recherche dans la liste des demandes. Depuis janvier 2012, l’ensemble des institutions fédérales doit afficher ces renseignements sur leur site Web. Le gouvernement planifie des résumés interrogeables  d’ici l’an prochain.

Au cours des deux années examinées, je me suis efforcée de promouvoir le mouvement vers un gouvernement ouvert dans mes discours, auprès de votre comité en 2010, et par l’intermédiaire d’une résolution conjointe de l’ensemble des commissaires à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée en 2010, qui appelait le gouvernement à adopter les principes d’ouverture gouvernementale afin d’améliorer la transparence et la responsabilisation. J’ai été heureuse de voir le gouvernement adopter une plate-forme de gouvernement ouvert au printemps 2011. L’année dernière, j’ai également envoyé une lettre au président du Conseil du Trésor au nom de tous les commissaires à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée pour formuler des recommandations à l’égard du plan d’action du gouvernement, et plus particulièrement de son travail en tant que membre du Partenariat pour un gouvernement transparent. L’une des principales recommandations adressées était d’actualiser la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

À l’automne 2011, j’ai organisé la 7e Conférence internationale des commissaires à l’information, en collaboration avec l’Association du Barreau canadien. C’était la première fois que cette conférence avait lieu au Canada. Cet événement a rassemblé plus de 250 participants, dont 36 commissaires internationaux, provinciaux et territoriaux. La conférence a abouti à la communication d’une résolution conjointe signée par les commissaires à l’information de 23 pays qui appellent les gouvernements à inscrire le droit à l’information dans les lois nationales.

Milieu de travail exceptionnel

Quant au résultat clé d’un milieu de travail exceptionnel, nous nous sommes efforcés d’élaborer un plan intégré des ressources humaines et de moderniser la gouvernance du Commissariat grâce au projet phare de modernisation de nos systèmes de GI-TI. Cette stratégie quinquennale a été lancée en 2009 et devrait prendre fin en 2013-2014. Jusqu’à présent, nous respectons les délais et le budget, et atteignons les objectifs.

Il ne s’agit là que d’un aperçu du travail réalisé au Commissariat pendant cette période, et comme vous avez pu le constater, je suis très fière de tout ce que nous avons accompli.

Cependant, comme vous le verrez dans le rapport annuel à venir pour l’année 2012­2013, qui sera publié en juin, il reste beaucoup à faire. C’est particulièrement vrai du fait que les modestes avancées réalisées au niveau du système, dont j’avais parlé dans mon rapport annuel 2011-2012, semblent avoir disparu pour la plus grande part.

 Après tout, l’année 2013 marque le trentième anniversaire de l’entrée de vigueur de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, un élément clé de la démocratie, de la transparence et de la responsabilisation. Assurons-nous d’avoir une bonne raison de célébrer cet anniversaire.

Dans la trousse d’information qui vous a été distribuée, vous trouverez un certain nombre de documents donnant des renseignements supplémentaires sur le travail du Commissariat.

Merci de votre attention. Je serai heureuse de répondre à toute question.