Modernizing the Access to Information Act: An Opportune Time

Canada School of Public Service, Armchair Discussion

Presentation by Suzanne Legault

September 24, 2012

Canada’s Access to Information Act

In 2013, Canada will celebrate the 30th anniversary of the coming in to force of the federal Access to Information Act and the creation of the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada.  The Office of the Information Commissioner will also turn 30 next year.

The Act, at the time of its Royal Assent, was characterized as groundbreaking. Canada was one of a handful of countries to enact freedom of information legislation. It was also one of the first to enact such a law in a Westminster style parliamentary model of government.

The adoption of the Act was the result of decades of discussion and attempts, going back to 1960s, when a private member’s bill seeking to recognize the public’s right to access government records was read a first time.  This bill never went beyond its first reading. But it provided the catalyst for further passionate debates that ultimately led to the adoption of the Access to Information Act almost two decades later.

The legislation passed with great promise. As in other pioneering jurisdictions, Canada’s Act was premised on the notion that transparency would make government more accountable and responsive to the needs of citizens. The Honourable Francis Fox, the then-Minister sponsoring the bill, said that the Act will make changes in our parliamentary institutions, changes which will have long-term consequences for our democracy.

The Act has provided a legal and policy framework for:

  • confirming the right of citizens to access government information;
  • establishing a presumption in favour of disclosure;
  • defining limitations or exceptions to these rights;
  • imposing a duty on government to process requests in a timely, responsible and complete fashion; and
  • clarifying the recourse available to individuals and organizations when they believe their information rights have not been respected.

Changing Expectations

Flash-forward three decades and it is clear that the early architects of access to information laws were onto something.  The Act has been characterized as an essential component of a vibrant democratic society.  It allows citizens to participate meaningfully in the democratic process, to hold government to account and exercise their right to know.  Access to information underpins many of our most cherished rights and freedoms: freedom of expression, freedom of the press, right to vote are amongst some of the most apparent.

As the pervasiveness and sophistication of access to information laws has grown, so too has awareness of its benefits.  While the original foundation for access to information laws remains intact—the right to information promotes accountability and keeps governments honest—a number of important new narratives have emerged and gained traction.

For example, most international human rights bodies now characterize access to information as a fundamental human right.  Business associations often stress that robust access to information laws can enhance competitiveness, efficiency and innovation by facilitating the flow of information between government and industry.  And a growing number of advocates for participative democracy argue that effective access to information laws are essential because they empower ordinary citizens to influence the activities of public bodies for the public good.

Indeed, in his article published in 2002, The World’s Right to Know”, Thomas Blanton, Director of the National Security Archive at George Washington University, observes:

“Making good use of both moral and efficiency claims, the international freedom-of-information movement stands on the verge of changing the definition of democratic governance. . .The movement is creating a new norm, a new expectation and a new threshold requirement for any government to be considered a democracy.”

The need to debate the Act

In the debates leading up to the adoption of the Act, not all thought that the Act was enacted on strong foundations. Many deemed it flawed, because it:

  • included a long list of exemptions. Some of these relate to personal and third party information, national security, commercial interest of Canada, advice to government and international relations;
  • allowed certain classes of documents to be protected such as investigative records, advice to government, and records containing solicitor-client privilege;
  • required those making information requests to pay fees to access public information;
  • ignored public interest considerations; and
  • excluded policy advice to Cabinet (i.e. Cabinet Confidences) from its coverage.

Calls for reform came almost immediately and continued persistently ever since. While there has been much thoughtful discussion and debate, more often than not, changes to our access laws have been driven by other imperatives.

For example, the 1997 Krever Commission into the tainted blood scandal found that certain government documents had been deliberately destroyed in violation of the public’s right to access.  That same year, the Commission of Inquiry into the Deployment of Canadian Forces in Somalia, confirmed that essential information requested by a journalists had been held back or falsified.  The findings of these two inquiries led to the addition of sanctions under the Act.

In 2005, the Gomery Commission found that senior officials and Ministers failed to respect the spirit of the access to information, were late responding to information request and failed to document decisions.  The Federal Accountability Act was part of the federal government’s response to these findings. It amended the Access to Information Act by increasing the number of institutions subject to the Act, by introducing a legislated duty to assist applicants and added a number of institution-specific exemptions and exclusions.

Over the past several years, the annual reports of the current and previous Information Commissioners documented a number of ongoing challenges with the Act. Our investigations increasingly demonstrate the deficiencies in the law.  It is therefore not surprising that each Information Commissioner, in the 30 year history of the Office, has made recommendations for legislative reform.  Information Commissioners have also underscored the need to ensure the OIC has the 21st century tools and resources it requires to stay abreast of technological advances while meeting current and evolving obligations under the Act.

Recurring issues

Many recurring issues have been raised by previous information commissioners in their annual reports and special reports. A sample of the top issues are:

  1. Delays in the release of records by federal institutions

                   In the 2009-2010 Annual Report, we reported on a case against Industry Canada. In that case, Industry Canada took a 150-day extension to respond to the request. However, in order to take such an extension, Industry Canada had to claim it within the first 30 days after receiving the request, which it didn’t. The department missed that first deadline. Moreover, even with the extra 5 months, it failed to provide the requester with the records by the extended date. By the time we got involved a year and a half later, we discovered that little had been done to process the request. We learned that Industry Canada also put the request on hold for short periods of time over holidays. 

                   The Act allows institutions to claim time extensions under specific circumstances, but the extensions must be reasonable. In this case, it took two years for the requester to obtain the records from the department. Currently, there are no substantive consequences for federal institutions that fail to provide requested information within the prescribed timelines.

  1. Fees used as barriers to access requests

The Access to Information Act allows institutions to charge fees for every hour (after the first five hours) they reasonably need to search for records and prepare them for release. In one case, the CBC received 68 requests and assessed that the resulting processing fees would total several thousand dollars. The requester complained to us, stating that he considered the fees to be excessive. The requester also suggested that the CBC might be using the large fees as a general deterrent to requesters. We found that most of the fees were, in fact, unjustifiably high, in some instances due to mistakes made by inexperienced access staff.

Although in this case we did not find evidence that the CBC was using excessive fees as a way to deter requesters, they can become barriers for requesters. Further, given the state of record-keeping in the government, it is difficult to make the case for fees charged to search for records. The fee scheme in the Access to Information Regulations, which dates back to the 1980s, needs to be revisited to reflect the electronic-based environment in which all institutions work.

  1. Broad interpretation of certain exemptions

                   In 2011–2012, we investigated two complaints into whether institutions had properly withheld information under the law enforcement and investigations exemption about the costs of certain security operations. Both institutions—the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) and the Canadian Air Transport Security Authority (CATSA)— claimed that releasing information about the aggregate costs of security operations could compromise their objectives by making it possible to determine human resource levels and deployment strategies, thus revealing gaps in security. In neither case, however, was the institution able to provide a cogent and evidence-based explanation that this was a probable outcome.

                   Institutions must provide evidence of a reasonable expectation of harm that would result from disclosure. Speculating about possible harm that may occur due to information derived from the released records is insufficient.

  1. Resources shortfalls:

                  In July 2009, Transport Canada received a request for information about the investigation of an accident that had occurred the previous year. The requester complained to us 18 months later when she still had not received a response. Our investigation found that Transport Canada had neglected the request for extended periods of time. We learned that this had happened because the institution did not have enough staff to handle the volume of requests it had to process. Indeed, the analyst handling this request had more than 60 other requests assigned to her. In the end, Transport Canada met its commitment date but it had to reassign the file to a consultant to be able to do so.

                  This investigation shows that institutions must devote adequate resources to fulfilling their duties under the Act. When an access to information office is understaffed, the right of requesters to a timely response is likely to be violated—in this case, severely.

Past reform proposals

It has become apparent that the once state of the art legislation enacted by Canada in the 80s has fallen behind the legislative innovations at both the provincial, territorial and international levels. In the absence of any legislatively mandated review, the law has remained static because most calls for reform have not borne fruit. The Act is a quasi-constitutional piece of legislation that confers duties on government and ascribes rights to citizens.  Legislation of this nature, that expresses the core values of citizens, cannot remain static; it must continue to evolve. 

The last two significant calls for reforms came from the last two former Information Commissioners, John Reid and Robert Marleau.

Commissioner Reid, at the request of Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics (ETHI), tabled a draft reform bill called Open Government Act in Committee in October 2005. The proposed bill rewrote the Access to Information Act, including changing its name. The proposal expanded the number of institutions to be covered by the act; it reduced the scope of limitations permitted by the act and it expanded the powers of oversight by the commissioner. In November 2005, ETHI recommended “that the Justice Minister consider the advisability of introducing before the end of the Session legislation in the House of Commons based on the provisions of the “Open Government Act” presented by Information Commissioner John Reid, with the assistance of the Legislative Counsel of the House of Commons.” Only a few proposals contained in the bill were adopted in 2006 under the Federal Accountability Act.

In March 2009, Commissioner Marleau made twelve recommendations that were urgently needed to modernize the access to information regime and catch up with more progressive regimes both nationally and internationally. The changes addressed the general themes of the right of access to all, the coverage of the Act, the compliance model, the mandates of public education, research and advice for the Information Commissioner and timeliness. The recommendations only tackled the most pressing matters. Although ETHI, in its June 2009 Report, agreed to most recommendations, none were subsequently legislated.

Today’s imperative

We also need to continue the discussion because rapidly evolving technologies and recent developments at the international level pose a new set of questions and parameters.  New forms of communication, such as pin-to-pin and SMS text messages, among others, create new challenges which must be addressed in order to protect requesters’ rights.

In the last five years, about 20 countries have enacted access to information laws. These laws take the approach that information is a natural resource. Theses legislative frameworks also allow for more information to be accessible through proactive disclosure practices.

Challenges facing access to information are complex. They require a thoughtful and comprehensive response, not a piecemeal one.  Ideally, a process of consultation, review and reflection would inform this response.

Consultations

Any citizen can play a role in the ongoing dialogue about how to keep Canada’s access to information regime relevant and effective. They can do so by sharing their views on issues of concern. Later this week, I will initiate an open dialogue with access to information experts, key stakeholders and with Canadians. Drawing on comparative research, past reform efforts and our own in-house expertise, we will solicit input and advice on many recurring issues which raise a fair share of questions. These issues deal with all aspects of access to information, such as coverage of the Act, exemptions and exclusions, and so on.

In closing, in the words of Barack Obama “change will not come if we wait for some other person or some other time. We are the ones we've been waiting for. We are the change that we seek”.  It is the role of the Information Commissioner to serve as a catalyst for informed discussion of the strengths and weaknesses of the access to information system.  I hope that you will join in the discussion.

Modernisation de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information,

École de la fonction publique du Canada, discussion informelle

Présentation par Suzanne Legault

24 septembre 2012

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information

En 2013, le Canada célébrera le 30e anniversaire de l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information adoptée par le gouvernement fédéral et la création du Commissariat à l'information du Canada (le Commissariat). 

Au moment de l'octroi de la sanction royale, cette loi se démarquait par son caractère novateur. Le Canada était l'un des rares pays dans le monde entier à adopter une loi sur l'accès à l'information. Il a aussi été le premier pays à adopter une telle loi au sein d'un gouvernement suivant le modèle de Westminster, où traditionnellement le Cabinet délibère en secret sur les questions de politique.

L'adoption de la loi était l'aboutissement de décennies de discussions et de tentatives remontant aux années 1960, années où était déposé au Parlement un projet de loi d'initiative parlementaire visant à reconnaître le droit du public à accéder aux documents du gouvernement. Même si le projet de loi n'a jamais passé l'étape de la première lecture, il a servi de catalyseur à d'autres débats passionnés qui ont mené ultimement à l'adoption de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information presque vingt ans plus tard.

La loi a été adoptée en laissant poindre de grandes promesses. Tout comme dans d'autres pays précurseurs à cet égard, la loi adoptée au Canada se fondait sur le principe de transparence qui allait permettre une meilleure imputabilité et une plus grande réceptivité de la part du gouvernement aux besoins des citoyens. L'Honorable Francis Fox, le ministre de l'époque qui parrainait le projet de loi, déclarait que la loi apporterait des changements à nos institutions parlementaires, lesquels auraient des conséquences à long terme sur notre démocratie.

La loi a fourni un cadre juridique et un plan d’action :

  • confirmant le droit des citoyens à accéder à l'information gouvernementale;
  • établissant une présomption en faveur de la divulgation;
  • définissant les limites de ces droits, ainsi que les exceptions;
  • imposant au gouvernement le devoir de traiter les demandes d'une façon opportune, responsable et complète;
  • clarifiant le recours offert aux personnes et aux organismes lorsqu'ils croient que leur droit d'accès à l'information n'a pas été respecté.

Attentes en évolution

Trois décennies plus tard, il est évident que les premiers architectes des lois sur l'accès à l'information avaient visé juste. La loi s'est démarquée en tant qu'élément essentiel d'une société démocratique dynamique. Elle permet aux citoyens de participer de manière utile au processus démocratique, d'exercer leur droit de savoir et d'exiger que le gouvernement rende des comptes. L'accès à l'information sous-tend bon nombre des droits et libertés qui nous tiennent le plus à coeur et qui sont parmi les plus notoires, soit la liberté d'expression, la liberté de presse, le droit de vote et les droits procéduraux en matière criminelle.

L'omniprésence et la subtilité des lois sur l'accès à l'information ont progressé parallèlement à la prise de conscience de leurs avantages. Le fondement initial des lois sur l'accès à l'information demeure le même – le droit à l'information favorise la responsabilisation et l'honnêteté des gouvernements – mais un certain nombre de nouvelles explications d'importance sont apparues et ont gagné des adeptes.

Par exemple, la plupart des organismes internationaux de défense des droits humains considèrent aujourd'hui l'accès à l'information comme un droit humain fondamental. Les associations commerciales font souvent ressortir que les lois robustes sur l'accès à l'information peuvent stimuler la concurrence, l'efficacité et l'innovation en facilitant la circulation de l'information entre le gouvernement et l'industrie. Selon un nombre croissant de défenseurs de la démocratie participative, les lois efficaces sur l'accès à l'information sont essentielles parce qu'elles permettent au citoyen ordinaire d'influer sur les activités des organismes publics, et ce, dans l'intérêt public.

Dans un article publié en 2002 intitulé « le droit à l’information au monde », Thomas Blanton, Directeur des Archives de sécurité nationale de l’Université George Washington a dit :

« Le mouvement international de l’accès à l’information est à l’aube de redéfinir les paramètres de la gouvernance démocratique. Le mouvement créé une nouvelle norme, une nouvelle anticipation et un nouveau seuil requis pour qu’un gouvernement soit jugé démocratique. » [traduction] 

La Loi critiquée

Dans le cadre des débats qui ont mené à l'adoption de la loi, ce n'est pas tout le monde qui croyait que son adoption s'appuyait sur des fondations solides. De nombreuses personnes considéraient la loi boiteuse pour les raisons suivantes :

  • la loi ne s’appliquait uniquement à l’exécutif;
  • la longue liste d'exceptions qu'elle comportait dont certaines avaient trait à l'information personnelle et à celle de tiers, à la sécurité nationale, à l'intérêt commercial du Canada, aux avis donnés au gouvernement et aux relations internationales;
  • les clauses de confidentialité dans d’autres lois ont préséance sur l’application de la LAI;
  • elle assurait la protection de certaines catégories de documents tels que les dossiers d'enquête, les avis au gouvernement et les documents contenant des renseignements liés par le secret professionnel des avocats;
  • elle exigeait que les personnes soumettant des demandes d'information versent des frais d'accès à l'information publique;
  • elle ne tenait pas compte de l'intérêt public dans la plupart des exceptions; et
  • elle excluait de sa portée les conseils stratégiques donnés au Cabinet (c.-à-d. documents confidentiels du Cabinet);
  • Elle ne comportait pas d’un mandat d’éducation et de recherche pour la commissaire.

Il y a eu des demandes de réforme presque immédiatement, et elles n'ont pas cessé depuis. Un grand nombre de sérieux débats et discussions réfléchis ont eu lieu, mais la plupart du temps, ce sont d'autres facteurs qui ont été à l'origine des changements apportés à nos lois sur l'accès à l'information.

Par exemple, la Commission Krever de 1997 qui enquêtait sur le scandale du sang contaminé a découvert que certains documents du gouvernement avaient été délibérément détruits, ce qui venait à l'encontre du droit d'accès du public. La même année, la commission d'enquête sur le déploiement des Forces canadiennes en Somalie confirmait que de l'information essentielle demandée par un journaliste avait été retenue ou falsifiée. Les conclusions de ces deux enquêtes ont mené à l'ajout de sanctions à la loi.

En 2005, la commission Gomery a constaté que des hauts fonctionnaires et ministres avaient omis de respecter l'esprit de l'accès à l'information, tardaient à répondre aux demandes d'information et omettaient de consigner les décisions. La Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité a fait partie des mesures prises par le gouvernement fédéral à la suite de ces conclusions. Elle modifiait la Loi sur l'accès à l'information en accroissant le nombre d'institutions assujetties à la loi et en mettant en application une obligation d'assistance visant à aider les demandeurs. Cependant, elle ajoutait également un certain nombre d'exceptions et d'exclusions propres à certaines institutions.

Au cours des dernières années, les rapports annuels du commissaire à l'information actuel et des commissaires précédents faisaient état d'un certain nombre de problèmes que continue à poser la loi. Ces enquêtes font ressortir certaines lacunes de la loi. Il n'est donc pas étonnant que depuis les trente années d'existence du Commissariat, chacun des commissaires à l'information a mis de l'avant des propositions de réforme législative. Les commissaires à l'information ont également souligné la nécessité de s'assurer que le Commissariat dispose des outils et ressources du XXIe siècle dont il a besoin pour suivre l'évolution technologique afin de répondre aux obligations actuelles et changeantes qui sont prévues dans la loi.

Problèmes courants

Dans leurs rapports annuels et leurs rapports spéciaux, les commissaires à l'information ont soulevé de nombreux problèmes récurrents importants, notamment :

  1. Délais dans la divulgation des documents par les institutions fédérales

Dans le rapport annuel 2009-2010, nous avons rapporté un cas contre Industrie Canada. Dans ce cas, le Ministère a prorogé le délai à 150 jours pour répondre. Cependant, cette demande de prorogation devait être faite dans les premiers trente jours après la réception de la demande, ce qui n’a pas été fait. Par ailleurs, le Ministère a raté la première échéance. Et malgré le délai supplémentaire de cinq mois, il n’a pas fourni les documents demandés.  Au moment où nous sommes intervenus, soit un an et demi
plus tard, nous avons découvert que les responsables de l’accès à Industrie Canada avaient fait très peu pour donner suite à la demande. Nous avons appris qu’Industrie Canada avait également suspendu la demande par deux fois pendant de courtes périodes de congé.

La Loi prévoit que les institutions fédérales peuvent demander des prorogations selon des circonstances spécifiques, mais la prorogation doit être raisonnable. Dans ce ca, plus de deux ans ont passé avant que le demandeur reçoive les documents du Ministère. Il n’y a pas de conséquence à l’heure actuelle dans la Loi pour les institutions qui ne répondent pas dans les délais impartis.

  1. Les frais utilisés comme barrière aux demandes d’accès

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information autorise les institutions à facturer des frais pour chaque heure (en sus des cinq premières heures) dont elles ont raisonnablement besoin pour faire des recherches et préparer les documents à communiquer. La SRC a reçu 68 demandes et calculé que les frais de traitement s’élèveraient à plusieurs milliers de dollars au total. Le demandeur nous a adressé une plainte, estimant ces frais trop élevés. Il a également laissé entendre que la Société se servait peut-être de ce moyen pour décourager les demandeurs. Nous avons constaté que, le plus souvent, ces frais étaient élevés sans raison, parfois à cause des erreurs commises par un personnel d’accès manquant d’expérience.

Bien que nous n’avons pas trouvé de motif de conclure que la SRC employait ce moyen pour décourager les demandeurs dans ce cas-ci, les frais peuvent devenir des barrières à l’accès. De plus, compte tenu de l’état de la gestion de documents au gouvernement, il est difficile de défendre l’imposition de frais pour la recherche de documents. Le Règlement sur l’accès à l’information, qui remonte aux années 1980, doit être repensé en fonction des moyens électroniques dont disposent toutes les institutions.

  1. Interprétation libérale de certaines exceptions

En 2011-2012, nous avons enquêté sur deux plaintes afin de déterminer si les institutions concernées ont eu raison de ne pas communiquer des renseignements sur les coûts de certaines opérations de sécurité en vertu du paragraphe 16(2) de la Loi (enquêtes). Les deux institutions, soit la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) et l’Administration canadienne de la sûreté du transport aérien (ACSTA), ont déclaré que la communication de renseignements sur les coûts totaux des opérations de sécurité pouvait compromettre leurs objectifs en permettant de déterminer le niveau de ressources humaines et les stratégies de déploiement, révélant ainsi les lacunes en matière de sécurité. Toutefois, l’institution n’a pas été en mesure de fournir une explication convaincante et fondée sur des preuves irréfutables de la probabilité du résultat ni dans un cas ni dans l’autre.

Les institutions doivent fournir des données probantes pour expliquer le risque vraisemblable de préjudice pouvant découler de la communication des coûts totaux. Il n’est pas suffisant d’émettre l’hypothèse d’un préjudice possible en raison des renseignements provenant des documents communiqués.

  1. Insuffisance des ressources

En juillet 2009, Transports Canada a reçu une demande de renseignements concernant l’enquête sur un accident qui a eu lieu l’année précédente. La demanderesse a porté plainte auprès du Commissariat 18 mois plus tard lorsqu’elle n’avait pas encore obtenu de réponse. Notre enquête a permis de révéler que Transports Canada avait négligé la demande pendant une longue période. Nous avons appris que cette situation était due à un manque d’effectifs pour traiter le volume des demandes reçues par l’institution. En réalité, l’analyste responsable de la demande en cause devait traiter plus de 60 autres demandes qui lui avaient été attribuées. En fin de compte, l’institution a respecté sa date d’engagement, mais elle a dû réattribuer le dossier à un consultant pour y arriver.

L’enquête démontre que les institutions doivent affecter suffisamment de ressources pour accomplir leurs tâches en vertu de la Loi. Lorsqu’un bureau d’accès à l’information manque d’effectifs, il est possible que l’on porte atteinte au droit des demandeurs à une réponse en temps opportun. Dans le cas présent, on a gravement porté atteinte à ce droit.

Projets de réforme précédents

Il est manifeste que la loi, qui était avant-gardiste au moment de son adoption au Canada dans les années 1980, est maintenant dépassée sur le plan de l'innovation législative, tant à l'échelle provinciale et territoriale qu'à l'échelle internationale. À défaut d'examen prescrit par la loi, la loi est demeurée statique, la plupart des demandes de réforme n'ayant pas porté leurs fruits. La loi est un élément du corpus législatif à caractère quasi constitutionnel qui confère des obligations au gouvernement et attribue des droits aux citoyens. Une loi de cette nature, qui exprime les principales valeurs des citoyens, ne peut demeurer statique; elle doit continuer à évoluer.

Les deux dernières demandes importantes de réforme provenaient de deux anciens commissaires à l'information, MM. John Reid et Robert Marleau.

Le commissaire Reid, à la demande du Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique (ETHI), déposait en comité, en octobre 2005, une ébauche de projet de réforme de la loi intitulée Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement. Le projet de loi proposé consistait à réécrire la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, y compris changer son nom. La proposition visait à accroître le nombre d'institutions visées par la loi, à réduire la portée des limites autorisées par la loi et à étendre les pouvoirs de supervision du commissaire. En novembre 2005, l'ETHI a recommandé que le ministre de la Justice étudie « l’opportunité de présenter avant la fin de la session à la Chambre des communes un projet de loi s’inspirant des dispositions de la « Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement » présentée par le Commissaire à l’information, M. John Reid, avec le concours du conseiller législatif de la Chambre des communes ». Seules quelques propositions contenues dans la « Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement » proposée ont été adoptées en 2006 dans le cadre de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité.

En mars 2009, le commissaire Marleau a relevé 12 recommandations qu'il était urgent d'appliquer pour moderniser le régime d'accès à l'information et se mettre au niveau des régimes plus progressistes à l'échelle nationale et internationale. Les changements portaient sur les thèmes généraux du droit d'accès à tous, la portée de la loi, le modèle de conformité, les mandats d'enseignement public, de recherche et d'avis pour le commissaire à l'information et la nécessité de répondre avec diligence aux demandes. Dans son rapport de juin 2009, l'ETHI se disait d'accord avec la plupart des recommandations, mais aucune n'a été ultérieurement adoptée dans le cadre de la loi.

Réalités d’aujourd’hui

Aujourd'hui, les technologies en rapide évolution et les récents progrès à l'échelle internationale soulèvent toute une nouvelle série de questions et de paramètres. Les nouvelles formes de communication, comme les messages NIP à NIP et les messages texte SMS, entre autres, posent de nouveaux défis qui doivent être relevés de façon à protéger le droit des demandeurs.

Au cours des cinq dernières années, au moins 20 pays ont adopté des lois sur l’accès à l’information. Ces lois prennent une approche que l’information est une ressource naturelle. Ces cadres législatifs permettent également à divulguer plus d’information de façon proactive.

Disons simplement que les défis qui touchent l'accès à l'information sont complexes. Ils exigent une intervention réfléchie et complète et non pas une solution « à la pièce ». Idéalement, un processus de consultation, d'examen et de réflexion aiderait à orienter cette intervention.

Consultations

En tant que citoyens, vous pouvez jouer un rôle dans le dialogue continu sur la manière de maintenir la pertinence et l'efficacité du régime d'accès à l'information au Canada. Vous pouvez le faire en vous exprimant sur certaines questions ci-dessous, ou sur d'autres aspects qui vous préoccupent, en vous adressant à l'actuel commissaire à l'information du Canada. Plus tard cette semaine, je vais entamer un dialogue ouvert avec des experts en accès à l’information, des intervenants clés et les Canadiens. S'inspirant de recherches comparatives existantes, des efforts déjà consacrés à la réforme et de notre propre expertise, nous solliciterons vos commentaires et votre avis sur de nombreux problèmes récurrents qui soulèvent leur juste part de questions. Ces problèmes concernent tous les aspects de l'accès à l'information, notamment la portée de la loi, les exemptions et les exclusions, ainsi de suite.

Pour terminer, comme l’a dit Barack Obama, le changement ne viendra pas si nous attendons qu’une autre personne s’en occupe ou qu’une autre occasion se présente. Nous sommes là — qu’attendons-nous? Nous sommes à l’image du changement que nous visons.