Address by Suzanne Legault, Information Commissioner of Canada Congress of the Association sur l’accès et la protection de l’information (AAPI)

Quebec City, Quebec
April 25, 2012

CHECK AGAINST DELIVERY

 

Good day to you all. It is always a great pleasure to come to Quebec City. Mesdames Corriveau, David and Girard, allow me to extend to you my sincere thanks for your invitation. I have a great deal of admiration for the work done by the Association sur l’accès et la protection de l’information. Mr. Gautrin and Ms. Dussault, I will be following the report’s recommendations closely, as well as the repercussions on the Quebec government administration and Quebec society.

For a few years now, not a week has gone by without talk, here or elsewhere, about some new jurisdiction that has ratified a law recognizing the right to access government information or a new open government initiative. Indeed, nearly 90 countries now have a legislative framework permitting some degree of access to government information.

Australia, Great Britain, the United States, Canada, and the cities of Vancouver, Edmonton, Ottawa, Toronto, and now Montreal and Quebec City have launched open government initiatives. Last week in Brasilia, Ms Hillary Rodham-Clinton announced that 73 countries are now members of the “Open Government Partnership,” which is presently co-managed by the United States and Brazil. We are being told that the digital transparency and information-sharing movement is now under way, and that data openness is an important democratic and civic issue1

As my Indian colleague Shekhar Singh, for whom I have great admiration, so aptly put it: “Transparency is an idea whose time has come.”

A return to sources

Since you have launched your conference’s debate on the balance between privacy and the open society, allow me to remind you that, as early as the 18th century, Jeremy Bentham, the famous lawyer and philosopher, made himself the advocate of total transparency as the solution to public accountability and morality. One of the achievements of his utopianism, which was considered dangerous at the time, was the idea that parliamentary debates should be conducted in public. The governments of his time however, took the position that public parliamentary debate would be damaging to national security.

So this principle of openness has been around for at least three centuries. However, technological breakthroughs have transformed the relationship between state and citizen. In 2012, the information held by governments is regarded as a national resource. It ought to be disclosed promptly and proactively. The citizen expects a dialogue based on collaboration with the government. As ours is a knowledge-based economy, this increased collaboration has the potential to promote innovation. In a context of budgetary restraint, this increased collaboration has the potential to make program and service delivery more efficient. Open government compounds the obligation to be accountable and inspires confidence in government. These are among the many promises of open government.

But in fact, I would suggest to you that the development of an open government, a government 2.0, a democracy 2.0, in fact, is more dependent on the health of democratic institutions and our political leadership than on technological breakthroughs.

On this point, the thoughts of Information Commissioner John Grace remain just as relevant today as they were when the Information Highway was being built in the 1990s:

Some government data bases may be newly, marvellously and universally accessible. More, certainly, should be. But no technology devised by man or woman can make governments fess up or make unnecessary the arts of investigation, persuasion and mediation practised by any information commissioner's office. No technology, after all, is much likely to be permitted by governments to expose governments' vulnerable dark side. The good stuff—information truly politically empowering: the mix-ups, foul-ups, cover-ups, the options, advice, evaluations and trade-offs—will always be fought over because governments will always resist.

Access legislation is essential

Access to information legislation will therefore always remain a vital tool in a context of open government.

Among the great successes of access to information was the coming into force in 2005 of the British statute that made it possible for Ben Leapman and other Sunday Telegraph journalists to bring to light the abusive spending of a certain number of parliamentarians.

Many members of Parliament had claimed amounts for the purchase of furniture and TV sets, for repairs, for interest on loans, and so forth. One member even claimed $2,900 to offer his ducks a “floating island.”

The denouement of this case was long and tortuous. During the court action, members even tried to amend the British statute to escape being subject to it. In the end, the Speaker of the House was forced to resign. Many members were not re-elected. Substantial sums were reimbursed to taxpayers. Certain charges of fraud were laid.

In India, a study by a number of Yale University researchers established that making an access to information request is just as effective as a bribe to obtain services to which citizens are entitled from the public service. Construction in villages suffered a major reversal in Rajasthan when all the funds spent for the work and for supplies were disclosed on the walls of the houses.

Canada

Access to information has also won some decisive battles. In at least three major cases, access requests have led to commissions of inquiry which have served to shed light on important issues or breaches and to bring about necessary corrections.

In 1997, in the contaminated blood bank case dating back to the 1970s, the Krever commission of inquiry submitted 50 recommendations, giving rise among other things to the creation of a system for controlling blood transfusions. The inquiry also confirmed that certain documents had been deliberately destroyed in violation of the public’s right of access. Justice Krever declared that “the public must have access to information concerning the policy, management and operations of the blood supply system and be represented in decision making …“2

Also in 1997, the Commission of Inquiry into the Deployment of Canadian Forces in Somalia submitted its final report.3 This inquiry was triggered by the murder of a young Somalian at the hands of Canadian soldiers and by allegations that essential information requested by a journalist had been held back or falsified.

The conclusions of these two inquiries led in March 1999 to the addition of sanctions to section 67.1 of the Access to Information Act. Henceforth, anyone who destroys, alters, falsifies or conceals a record, or who directs anyone to do the same, is liable to a term of imprisonment of up to two years or a fine of up to $10,000.

Ten years later, another access to information request was to lead to the famous sponsorship scandal. The Gomery Commission was charged with investigating allegations of corruption in the management of the federal sponsorship and advertising program. Justice Gomery determined that senior officials and ministers do not always respect the spirit of the law, are tardy in responding to access to information requests, and neglect to document decisions. His final report reminded us that”an appropriate access to information regime is a key part of the transparency that is an essential element of modern public administration”.4

The sponsorship scandal led to the defeat of the government and to elections on the theme of accountability and transparency.

Last year, we closed an investigation into allegations of political interference at the Department of Public Works. In this case, I concluded that a member of the minister’s office did indeed impede the disclosure of documents by ordering certain public servants to take up the document for disclosure that had been prepared by access professionals for disclosure and to release only part of it. This case was referred to the RCMP.

An effective, modern access statute is therefore one of the cornerstones of an open government.

In 2013 the federal Access to Information Act will be 30 years old. Since 1977 there have been about 30 attempts—all fruitless—to reform or modernize it. A good many jurisdictions have adopted access to information regimes that are more progressive or more modern than ours. And yet Canada was one of the precursors. The Centre for Law and Democracy ranked our statute 40th in its comparative international analysis.

Our investigations in recent years have demonstrated not only the obsolescence of the statute, but also a number of deficiencies in it which may well impede or hamper the development of a truly open government that is receptive to the needs of its citizens and its economy and in step with other administrations.

We have therefore initiated a detailed review of all of the provisions of the Act, comparing them to other jurisdictional territories. We are going to consult stakeholders on certain specific issues, and then compile the results in preparation for a report to Parliament. The process will be announced at the appropriate time, and I invite all of you to take part in it.

Other conditions must also be present to facilitate an open government.

In September 2010, the information and privacy commissioners proposed a strategy to facilitate the transition from reactive to proactive disclosure. This strategy is based on five major principles:

  • a clear commitment on the part of government authorities and ongoing public consultations;
  • free or minimal-cost dissemination of data that is comprehensible and machine-readable;
  • respect for privacy, security imperatives, official languages and copyright; and
  • reflection of these principles in legislation and policy.

In January 2012 the commissioners were back at work, this time sending a joint letter to the president of the Treasury Board. We made a number of recommendations to him for developing the federal action plan required by the international partnership, including modernization of the federal access law and its administration. Among other things, this letter urges the federal government to learn more about the advances being made in other countries.

Commitment of access professionals

Of course, all of you here today as access to information professionals are called upon to play a critical role in the development of open government. You yourselves will have to demonstrate openness and innovation. Your greatest asset will be your ability to influence decisions and processes in the area of information disclosure and management. Your greatest contribution will be to facilitate ad hoc disclosure as well as the proactive dissemination of institutional information.

Conclusion

In summary, with the support of the new communication technologies, open government is proposing to increase the quantity and accessibility of digital data so as to promote citizen participation in the development of government policies and programs and to foster the socio-economic development of society. As Fabien Deglise put it so well in Le Devoir, digital data might then indeed become the oil of the 21st century … but if you will allow me to expand on that thought, in my view, access to information shall always remain the key tool for the optimum extraction of that oil to the benefit of Canadians.

2. Final Report of the Commission of Inquiry on the Blood System in Canada (Krever Commission), 1997 http://epe.lac-bac.gc.ca/100/200/301/hcan-scan/commission_blood_final_rep-e/index.html

3. Report of the Somalia Commission of Inquiry, http://publications.gc.ca/site/eng/9.646634/publication.html

4. Commission of Inquiry into the Sponsorship Program and Advertising Activities, “Restoring Accountability,” Final Report, 2006, http://epe.lac-bac.gc.ca/100/206/301/pco-bcp/commissions/sponsorship-ef/06-03-06/www.gomery.ca/en/phase2report/index.asp

Allocution de Suzanne Legault, commissaire à l’information du Canada Congrès de l’Association sur l’accès et la protection de l’information (AAPI)

Québec (Québec)
Le 25 avril 2012

La version prononcée fait foi

Bonjour à tous. C’est toujours un grand plaisir de venir à Québec. Mesdames Corriveau, David, et Girard, permettez-moi de vous remercier sincèrement de votre invitation. J’ai beaucoup d’admiration pour le travail accompli par l’Association sur l’accès et la protection de l’information. M. Gautrin et Madame Dussault, je suivrai de près les recommandations du rapport et les répercussions sur l’administration du gouvernement québécois et la société québécoise.

Depuis quelques années, pas une semaine ne s’écoule sans qu’ici ou ailleurs, on ne parle d’une nouvelle juridiction qui a entériné une loi reconnaissant le droit d’accès à l’information gouvernementale ou d’une nouvelle initiative de gouvernement ouvert. En effet, près de 90 pays ont maintenant un cadre législatif permettant un certain accès à l’information gouvernementale. Par ailleurs, l’Australie, la Grande-Bretagne, les États-Unis, le Canada, les villes de Vancouver, Edmonton, Ottawa, Toronto, et maintenant Montréal et Québec ont lancé des initiatives de gouvernement ouvert. La semaine dernière à Brasilia, Madame Hillary Rodham-Clinton annonçait que 73 pays font maintenant partie de l’initiative du “Open Government Partnership”, présentement cogérée par les États-Unis et le Brésil. On nous dit que le mouvement de la transparence par le numérique et du partage d’informations est maintenant lancé. « L'ouverture des données représente un enjeu démocratique et civique important ». 1

Comme l’a si bien dit mon collègue indien Shekhar Singh, pour qui j’ai beaucoup d’admiration: “Transparency is an idea whose time has come” ou plutôt “ la transparence est une idée à laquelle, nous devons maintenant porter attention ”.

Retour aux sources

Puisque vous avez engagé le débat de votre conférence sur l’équilibre entre société ouverte et vie privée, permettez-moi de vous rappeler que, déjà au 18e siècle, Jeremy Bentham, l’avocat et philosophe renommé, se faisait l’avocat de la complète transparence comme la solution à l’imputabilité et a la moralité de la population. Une des réalisations de son utopisme, qui était à l'époque considérée comme dangereuse, étant l’idée que les débats parlementaires devraient se faire en public. Les gouvernements de l’époque avaient d’ailleurs pris la position qu’un débat parlementaire public serait dommageable à la sécurité nationale.

Ce principe d’ouverture existe donc au moins depuis trois siècles. Cependant, les percées technologiques sont venues transformer la relation entre l’état et le citoyen. En 2012, l’information détenue par les gouvernements est considérée comme une ressource nationale. Cette information se doit d’être divulguée de manière rapide et proactive. Le citoyen s’attend à un dialogue axe sur la collaboration avec le gouvernement. Notre économie étant basée sur le savoir, cette collaboration accrue a le potentiel de promouvoir l’innovation. Dans un contexte de contrainte budgétaire, cette collaboration accrue a le potentiel de rendre plus efficiente la prestation des programmes et services. Le gouvernement ouvert améliore l’obligation de rendre compte et inspire confiance dans le gouvernement. Voici les promesses nombreuses du gouvernement ouvert.

Mais en fait, je vous suggère que le développement d’un gouvernement ouvert, d’un gouvernement 2.0, d’une démocratie 2.0, en fait, sont davantage tributaires de la santé des institutions démocratiques et du leadership politique, que des percées technologiques.

À cet égard, les réflexions du commissaire à l’information John Grace demeurent toutes aussi pertinentes aujourd’hui qu’elles l’étaient lors de la construction de l’autoroute de l’information dans les années 90.

« Certaines bases de données de l’état deviendront peut être, o merveilles, universellement accessibles. Il faudrait certainement que davantage le soient. Mais aucune technologie conçue par l’homme ou par la femme ne forcera les gouvernements à se déboutonner ni ne rendra inutile les arts de l’enquête, de la persuasion, de la médiation que pratiquent les bureaux des commissaires a l’information. Il n’y a guère de chance, après tout, que les gouvernements laissent une technologie quelconque lever le voile sur leurs faiblesses. Il faudra toujours se battre pour obtenir l’information vraiment intéressante – celle qui peut avoir des effets véritables sur le plan politique : les embrouilles, gâchis et dissimulations; les options, conseils, évaluations et compromis – parce que les administrations publiques opposeront toujours une résistance. »

Les lois d’accès sont essentielles

Les lois d’accès à l’information demeureront donc toujours un levier essentiel dans un contexte de gouvernement ouvert.

Parmi les grands succès de l’accès à l’information, l’entrée en vigueur de la loi britannique en 2005 a permis à Ben Leapman et d’autres journalistes du Sunday Telegraph de mettre à jour les dépenses abusives d’un certain nombre de parlementaires.

Plusieurs députés avaient réclamé des sommes pour l’achat de meubles et téléviseurs, pour des réparations, pour les intérêts sur des prêts, etc. Un député avait même réclamé 2 900 $ pour offrir une « île flottante » à ses canards.

Le dénouement de cette affaire a été long et tortueux. Durant le processus judiciaire, les députés ont même tenté de modifier la loi britannique pour se soustraire à son application. En bout de ligne, le président de la Chambre a été forcé de démissionner. Plusieurs députés n’ont pas été réélus. Des sommes importantes ont été remboursées aux contribuables. Certaines accusations de fraude ont été portées.

En Inde, une étude de chercheurs de l’université Yale a établi que faire une demande d’accès à l’information est tout aussi efficace qu’un pot de vin pour obtenir les services auxquels on a droit de la fonction publique. La construction dans les villages a subi un revirement important au Rajasthan quand toutes les sommes dépensées pour les travaux et fournitures sont divulgués sur les murs des maisons.

Canada

L’accès à l’information a également remporté des batailles décisives. Dans au moins trois grands dossiers, des demandes d’accès ont mené à des commissions d’enquête, qui ont permis de mettre à jour des enjeux ou des manquements importants et d’apporter les correctifs nécessaires.

En 1997, dans l’affaire des banques de sang contaminé remontant aux années 1970, la commission d’enquête Krever a déposé 50 recommandations, qui ont donné lieu notamment à la création d’un système de contrôle des transfusions sanguines. L’enquête a aussi confirmé que des documents avaient été volontairement détruits pour contrevenir au droit d’accès du public. Le juge Krever a déclaré que « Le public doit avoir accès à l’information concernant la politique, la gestion et les opérations du système d’approvisionnement en sang et être représenté dans la prise de décision… ».2

Également en 1997, la Commission d’enquête sur le déploiement des forces canadiennes en Somalie déposait son rapport final.3 Cette enquête avait été déclenchée par le meurtre d’un jeune Somalien aux mains de soldats canadiens et par des allégations selon lesquelles des renseignements essentiels demandés par un journaliste avaient été retenus ou falsifiés.

Les conclusions de ces deux enquêtes ont abouti, en mars 1999,  à l’ajout de sanctions à l'article 67.1 de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Désormais, toute personne qui détruit, modifie, falsifie ou cache un document, ou qui ordonne à quelqu'un de le faire est passible d’une amende pouvant aller jusqu’à 10,000$ ou d’une peine de prison de deux ans ou moins.

Dix ans plus tard, une autre demande d’accès à l’information allait mener au fameux scandale des commandites. La commission Gomery a été chargée d’enquêter sur des allégations de corruption dans la gestion du programme fédéral de commandites et de publicité. Le juge Gomery a établi que des hauts fonctionnaires et ministres ne respectent pas toujours l’esprit de la loi, tardent à répondre aux demandes d’accès à l’information et négligent de documenter les décisions. Son rapport final rappelle que « l’existence d’un régime adéquat d’accès à l’information est l’une des conditions indispensables à l’instauration de la transparence qui est essentielle dans une administration publique moderne.»4

Le scandale des commandites a mené à la défaite du gouvernement et à des élections sur le thème de la reddition de comptes et de la transparence.

L’an dernier, nous avons terminé une enquête relativement à des allégations d’ingérence politique au ministère de travaux publics. Dans ce dossier, j’ai conclu qu’effectivement un membre du cabinet du ministre avait entravé la divulgation de documents en ordonnant à des fonctionnaires de reprendre le document à divulguer qui avait été préparé par les professionnels de l’accès pour divulgation et en leur ordonnant de n’en divulguer qu’une partie. Ce dossier a été référé à la GRC.

Une loi d’accès efficace et moderne est donc une des pierres angulaires d’un gouvernement ouvert.

En 2013, la Loi fédérale sur l’accès à l’information aura 30 ans. Depuis 1977, on compte une trentaine de tentatives—infructueuses—visant à la réformer ou à la moderniser. Un grand nombre de juridictions se sont dotées de régimes d’accès à l’information plus progressistes ou plus modernes que le nôtre. Et pourtant le Canada était parmi les précurseurs. L’organisme Law and Democracy a rangé notre loi au 40e rang dans son analyse comparative internationale.

Nos enquêtes, ces dernières années, ont fait ressortir non seulement la vétusté de la loi, mais également un certain nombre de lacunes qui risquent de freiner, voire d’entraver le développement d’un véritable gouvernement ouvert, réceptif aux besoins de ses citoyens, de son économie et au diapason des autres administrations.

Nous avons donc amorcé un examen détaillé de l’ensemble des dispositions de la loi par comparaison à d’autres territoires de compétence. Nous allons consulter les intervenants sur certaines questions précises, puis mettre les résultats en commun en préparation d’un rapport au parlement. Le processus sera annoncé au moment venu, et je vous invite tous à y prendre part.

D’autres conditions doivent aussi être présentes pour faciliter un gouvernement ouvert.

En septembre 2010, les commissaires à l’information et à la vie privée ont proposé une stratégie pour favoriser la transition d’un mode de divulgation réactif à proactif. Cette stratégie s’appuie sur 5 grands principes :

  • un engagement clair de la part des autorités gouvernementales, la consultation continue du public;
  • la diffusion gratuite ou à peu de frais de données compréhensibles et lisibles par machine;
  • le respect de la vie privée, des impératifs de sécurité, des langues officielles et des droits d’auteurs; et
  • le reflet de ces principes dans les lois et les politiques.

En janvier 2012, les commissaires ont récidivé cette fois avec une lettre conjointe adressée au président du Conseil du trésor. Nous lui avons fait un certain nombre de recommandations en vue de l’élaboration du plan d’action fédéral exigé par le partenariat international, incluant la modernisation de la loi fédérale d’accès et de son administration. La lettre incite entre autres le gouvernement fédéral de s’instruire des avances des autres pays.

Engagement des professionnels de l’accès

Et bien sur, vous tous ici comme professionnels de l’accès à l’information êtes appelés a jouer un rôle crucial dans l’élaboration du gouvernement ouvert. Vous devrez vous-mêmes faire preuve d’ouverture et d’innovation. Votre plus grand atout sera votre capacité d’influencer les décisions et les processus en matière de divulgation et de gestion de l’information. Votre plus grande contribution sera de faciliter la divulgation ponctuelle tout comme la diffusion proactive des renseignements institutionnels.

Conclusion

En somme, en s’appuyant sur les nouvelles technologies de communication, le gouvernement ouvert propose d’augmenter la quantité et l’accessibilité des données numériques afin de favoriser la participation des citoyens au développement des politiques et programmes du gouvernement et de favoriser le développement socio-économique de la société. Comme le disait si bien Fabien Deglise dans le Devoir, les données numériques pourraient donc effectivement devenir le pétrole du XXIe siècle… mais si vous me permettez d’ajouter a cette pensée, à mon avis, l’accès à l’information demeurera toujours l’outil essentiel permettant d’en assurer l’extraction optimale au profit des Canadiens et des Canadiennes.

2 Rapport final de la Commission d'enquête sur l'approvisionnement en sang au Canada (Commission Krever), 1997 http://epe.lac-bac.gc.ca/100/200/301/hcan-scan/commission_blood_final_rep-f/index.html

3 Rapport de la Commission d’enquête sur la Somalie, http://www.dnd.ca/somalia/somaliaf.htm

4 Commission d’enquête sur le programme des commandites et des activités publicitaires, « Rétablir l’imputabilité», Rapport final, 2006, http://epe.lac-bac.gc.ca/100/206/301/pco-bcp/commissions/sponsorship-ef/06-03-06/www.gomery.ca/fr/phase2report/index.asp