MAIN ESTIMATES 2012-2013: VOTES 40 AND 45 UNDER JUSTICE, 15 AND 20 UNDER PARLIAMENT AND 45 UNDER TREASURY BOARD

REMARKS BY THE INFORMATION COMMISSIONER OF CANADA

STANDING COMMITTEE ON ACCESS TO INFORMATION, PRIVACY AND ETHICS

TUESDAY, MARCH 27, 2012

CHECK AGAINST DELIVERY

Thank you, Madam Chair, for inviting me to speak about the Main Estimates of the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada. I am accompanied today by Layla Michaud, my Interim Director General of Corporate Services. Your invitation provides me with a timely opportunity to talk to you about some of our key achievements, challenges and priorities as I begin the third year of my mandate in June.

As detailed in the documents before you, the salary and operating budget for my office in 2012-2013 is $10,348,813 (excluding employee benefit plans).  I have 106 full-time equivalents. Close to 75 percent of my budget is allocated to salaries. Of the remaining 25 percent for Operating and Maintenance costs, a third relates to fixed costs.

Madam Chair, I can assure you that since I became Commissioner, I have worked to do better with less across all our activities.

On the program side, we started three years ago to implement a new way of doing business. We have been guided on this path by the clear direction and focus from the Strategic Plan I adopted at the onset of my mandate. I am encouraged with the results thus far:

  • We made a substantial dent in the inventory of complaints that had built up over the years. We reduced it from 2,500 at the end of 2008-2009 to 1,800 by 2011-2012. 
  • From 1,600 cases, we brought the number of pre-2008 complaints down to 61.
  • There has been a substantial reduction of administrative complaints in our year-end inventory.
  • Six months ago, we started implementing a new strategy for more complex investigations dealing with highly sensitive national security issues. As a result, we expect to close approximately 100 cases. This represents a 33 percent increase over last year.
  • This past year, I have strengthened our legal capacity to assist with formal investigations and litigation. This has also reduced outsourcing costs for legal expertise and professional services.

These are outcomes that we expected and we worked hard to achieve them. They confirm that our business model is sound and that we are heading in the right direction.

Our internal services have been key to facilitating these operational successes. The guidance and assurance provided by our internal audit function, as well as the development of a new case management system have been instrumental in improving our overall performance.

However, more work needs to be done. In completing the tasks at hand, we face significant risks and challenges.

We must refine our strategies to deal with a higher percentage of more complex, refusal complaints. These have steadily increased from 73 percent of the inventory at the end of 2008-2009 to 88 percent currently. Approximately 55 percent (891) can be characterized as follows: they deal with national security issues (385); they involve voluminous and highly technical Canada Revenue Agency files (253); or they result from the Federal Accountability Act (FedAA) extending coverage to the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (253, including 135 cases pertaining to section 68.1) 

The higher percentage of refusal complaints increases the likelihood of time-consuming and formal processes.  They also increase the risk of costly litigation.

Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) statistics for 2010-2011 indicate an increase of 18 percent in the number of access requests received by institutions. Historically, 5-6 percent of requests generate complaints to my office. If this trend materializes, we could be faced with an influx of 2,000 to 2,500 new complaints this coming fiscal year. Moreover, several of the top 10 institutions to receive access requests are also among the top 10 institutions generating complaints. Hence, a potential risk in terms of increased workload.

This risk is compounded by the fact that institutions, in times of restraint, tend to cut in their internal services, which include Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) programs. The risks from such cuts could include failure to meet legal requirements, declining performance and an increase in complaints to my office. This is worrisome to the extent that it could adversely affect Canadians’ fundamental right of access.

Human resources also present another significant element of risk. As a small organization, my office is disproportionately impacted by workforce characteristics. For example, according to our statistics, 31 percent of our investigative workforce will reach pension eligibility within the next three years. 

We also face uncertainty due to the fact that we have to relocate our offices in 2013. Preliminary estimates show that the cost could be as high as $3M. We have yet to secure a source of funding. Relocating also entails other risks in terms of sustained productivity and human resources retention.

Given these risks and challenges, here are some of my main priorities for 2012-2013. First, in terms of governance, there are two key positions that I must stabilize within my office. A selection process is already under way to appoint the Assistant Commissioner, who will be responsible for all investigations and complaints resolution. I must also staff on a permanent basis the position of Director General of Corporate Services.

On the program side, I will continue to streamline our operations with a view to increasing the effectiveness and timeliness of our investigations. Regarding administrative complaints, my goal is to move closer to our target of 85 percent of cases completed within 90 days. The quick resolution of administrative complaints allows us to work more intensively on quickly resolving new refusal cases.

Regarding refusal complaints, my goal is to complete priority cases within six months. We will continue with our strategy for national security cases building on the successes so far. In the spirit of results-based management, I will establish processes and service standards for all types of investigations.

With respect to internal services, implementation of talent management is a key priority. Our talent management program will help us develop, attract and retain talent, thereby mitigating some of our risks. It will also contribute to our strategic objective of creating and maintaining a workplace of choice.

We will continue to streamline internal services to minimize risks and improve service delivery. For example, we are currently exploring different shared services opportunities with other institutions, including Agents of Parliament. As a start, we have undertaken discussions to procure compensation services and staffing monitoring from the Shared Services Unit of Public Works and Government Services Canada.
In closing, I thank you for your continued interest and support. I also wish to acknowledge the unabated commitment and dedication of my staff in this process of continuous improvement as we strive to deliver exemplary service to Canadians.

Thank you, Madam Chair. I will be pleased to answer your questions.

BUDGET PRINCIPAL DES DÉPENSES 2012-2013 : CRÉDITS 40 ET 45 SOUS JUSTICE, 15 ET 20 SOUS PARLEMENT ET 45 SOUS LE CONSEIL DU TRÉSOR

ALLOCUTION DE LA COMMISSAIRE À L’INFORMATION DU CANADA

COMITÉ PERMANENT DE L'ACCÈS À L'INFORMATION, DE LA PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS ET DE L'ÉTHIQUE

LE MARDI 27 MARS 2012

L'ALLOCUTION PRONONCÉE FAIT FOI

Merci, madame la présidente, de m’avoir invitée à parler du Budget principal des dépenses du Commissariat à l’information du Canada. Je suis accompagnée aujourd’hui de Layla Michaud, ma directrice générale par intérim des Services organisationnels. Votre invitation arrive au bon moment pour me permettre de vous parler de certains de nos principaux défis, réalisations et priorités au début de la troisième année de mon mandat qui débutera en juin.

Comme le montrent en détail les documents que vous avez sous les yeux, le budget salarial et de fonctionnement du Commissariat en 2012–2013 est de 10 348 813 $ (sans les régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés). J’ai 106 équivalents temps plein. Près de 75 % de mon budget est affecté aux salaires. Un tiers des 25 % de dépenses de fonctionnement et d’entretien sont des dépenses fixes.

Madame la présidente, je peux vous assurer que, depuis ma nomination au poste de commissaire, je me suis employée à faire mieux avec moins dans toutes nos activités.

Du côté des programmes, nous avons commencé, il y a trois ans, à instituer une nouvelle façon de faire les choses. Nous avons été guidés dans cette voie par l’orientation et l’articulation claires découlant du Plan stratégique que j’ai adopté au début de mon mandat. Je suis encouragée par les résultats obtenus jusqu’ici :

  • Nous avons réduit considérablement l’inventaire des plaintes accumulées au fil des ans. Nous l’avons ramené de 2 500 plaintes à la fin de 2008-2009 à 1 800 en 2011-2012.
  • De 1 600 cas, nous avons ramené à 61 le nombre de plaintes d’avant 2008.
  • Il y a eu une réduction importante du volume de plaintes sur des questions administratives dans notre inventaire de fin d’année.
  • Il y a six mois, nous avons commencé à appliquer une nouvelle stratégie pour les enquêtes plus complexes sur les questions très névralgiques de sécurité nationale. Par conséquent, nous prévoyons fermer une centaine de cas. Cela représente une augmentation de 33 % sur l’année dernière.
  • Au cours de l’année écoulée, j’ai raffermi notre capacité juridique pour faciliter les enquêtes formelles et les poursuites. Cela a aussi permis de réduire nos coûts de sous-traitance pour l’expertise juridique et les services professionnels.

Ce sont là les résultats que nous attendions et nous avons travaillé fort pour les obtenir. Ils confirment que notre modèle d’activité est sain et que nous allons dans la bonne direction.

Nos services internes comptent pour beaucoup dans ces succès opérationnels. Les conseils et l’assurance donnés par notre fonction de vérification interne, de même que l’élaboration d’un nouveau système de gestion des cas, ont contribué à améliorer notre rendement global.

Mais il reste encore du travail à faire. Pour mener nos tâches à bien, nous avons d’importants risques et défis à affronter.

Nous devons raffiner nos stratégies pour traiter un pourcentage plus élevé de plaintes plus complexes pour refus. La proportion n’a pas cessé d’augmenter, passant de 73 % de l’inventaire à la fin de 2008-2009 à 88 % aujourd’hui. Environ 55 % (891) peuvent être caractérisées comme suit : elles concernent des questions de sécurité nationale (385); elles mettent en cause de volumineux dossiers très techniques de l’Agence du revenu du Canada (253); ou elles découlent de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité (LFR), qui assujettit la Société Radio-Canada à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (253 cas, dont 135 se rapportant à l’article 68.1).

Le pourcentage plus élevé de plaintes pour refus augmente la probabilité de longs processus formels. Il augmente aussi le risque de coûteuses poursuites.

Selon les statistiques de 2010–2011 du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT), les institutions ont reçu 18 % de plus de demandes d’accès. Historiquement, 5 % ou 6 % des demandes donnent lieu à des plaintes au Commissariat. Si la tendance se confirme, nous pourrions avoir à composer avec un afflux de 2 000 à 2 500 nouvelles plaintes dans le prochain exercice. En outre, plusieurs des 10 principales institutions à recevoir des demandes d’accès sont aussi parmi les 10 principales institutions qui génèrent des plaintes. Il y a donc risque d’accroissement de la charge de travail.

À ce risque s’ajoute le fait que les institutions, en période de contrainte, ont tendance à réduire leurs services internes, qui comprennent les programmes d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP). Les risques découlant de ces compressions pourraient comprendre l’incapacité de respecter les exigences de la loi, une baisse de rendement et la multiplication des plaintes au Commissariat. Voilà qui est inquiétant, dans la mesure où cela pourrait avoir des effets négatifs sur le droit fondamental des Canadiennes et des Canadiens d’accéder à l’information.

Les ressources humaines présentent aussi un autre important élément de risque. Les caractéristiques de la main-d’œuvre ont un impact disproportionné sur le petit organisme qu’est le Commissariat. Par exemple, selon nos statistiques, 31 % de nos enquêteurs pourront faire valoir leurs droits à la retraite d’ici trois ans.

Nous sommes aussi confrontés à l’incertitude du fait que nous devons réinstaller nos bureaux en 2013. Selon les estimations préliminaires, cela pourrait coûter jusqu’à 3 M$. Nous n’avons pas encore obtenu le financement nécessaire. La réinstallation entraîne aussi d’autres risques au niveau du maintien de la productivité et de la fidélisation des ressources humaines.

Compte tenu de ces risques et de ces défis, voici certaines de mes principales priorités pour 2012–2013. Tout d’abord, au niveau de la gouvernance, il y a deux postes clés que je dois stabiliser au Commissariat. Il y a déjà un processus de sélection en cours pour nommer le commissaire adjoint, qui sera responsable de toutes les enquêtes et de la résolution des plaintes. Je dois aussi pourvoir de façon permanente le poste de directeur général des services organisationnels.

Du côté des programmes, je continuerai de rationaliser nos opérations en vue d’accroître l’efficacité et la rapidité de nos enquêtes. Pour ce qui est des plaintes portant sur des questions administratives, mon objectif est de nous rapprocher de notre cible de 85 % de fermeture des cas dans les 90 jours. Le traitement rapide des plaintes portant sur des questions administratives nous permet de travailler de façon plus intensive à la résolution rapide des nouveaux cas de refus.

En ce qui a trait aux plaintes pour refus, mon objectif est de traiter des cas prioritaires dans les six mois. Nous poursuivrons notre stratégie pour les cas de sécurité nationale en nous appuyant sur les succès obtenus jusqu’ici. Dans l’esprit d’une gestion axée sur les résultats, j’établirai des processus et des normes de service pour tous les types d’enquêtes.

Quant aux services internes, la mise en œuvre de la gestion des talents est une grande priorité. Notre programme de gestion des talents nous aidera à développer, attirer et conserver les talents, et à atténuer de ce fait certains de nos risques. Je contribuerai aussi à notre objectif stratégique de créer et de maintenir un milieu de travail de choix.

Nous continuerons de rationaliser les services internes pour garder les risques au minimum et améliorer notre prestation de services. Par exemple, nous explorons actuellement différentes possibilités de services partagés avec d’autres institutions, y compris des agents du Parlement. Au départ, nous avons engagé des discussions pour acheter nos services de rémunération et de surveillance de la dotation à l’Unité des services partagés de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada.
En terminant, je vous remercie de l’intérêt et de l’appui que vous continuez de nous témoigner. Je tiens aussi à reconnaître l’engagement et le dévouement soutenus de mon personnel dans ce processus d’amélioration continue qui nous incite à assurer un service exemplaire aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens.

Merci, madame la présidente. Je serai heureuse de répondre à vos questions.