REMARKS BY THE INFORMATION COMMISSIONER OF CANADA SENATE COMMITTEE ON BANKING, TRADE AND COMMERCE REVIEW OF THE PROCEEDS OF CRIME (MONEY LAUNDERING) AND TERRORIST FINANCING ACT (S.C. 2000, C. 17), PURSUANT TO SECTION 72 OF THE SAID ACT

THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 16, 2012

CHECK AGAINST DELIVERY

Dear Mr. Chairman,

Thank you for your invitation to speak before your committee as part of your review of the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act.

First, since this is my first time appearing before your committee, allow me to briefly describe the nature of my role.  The Information Commissioner position is a senior officer of Parliament appointed under the Access to Information Act.  I began my seven-year mandate on June 30, 2010, after being acting commissioner for one year.  A large part of my mandate involves investigating complaints submitted by individuals and organizations who feel that federal institutions have not respected their rights under the Act. 

I am supported in my duties by the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada, an independent government agency created in 1983 under the Access to Information Act to foster the resolution of public complaints regarding access to government information.

As part of our investigations, we can use mediation and suasion to facilitate dispute resolution. We refer cases to the Federal Court of Canada and intervene in cases that involve key legal principles.

In preparing for my appearance this morning, I looked over the comments of my predecessor during the review of the bill in 2000 and those of the Assistant Commissioner at the time of the statutory review in 2006.  During those appearances, Mr. Reid and Mr. Leadbeater expressed their concerns to the committee about what are, today, paragraphs 55(1)(a), (d) and (e) of the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act and the mechanism through which those provisions were passed, leading Commissioner Reid to describe them as creating a “black hole” in the machinery of government.

Those paragraphs exclude from the application of the Access to Information Act any mandatory or voluntary statements pertaining to financial operations connected with the commission of an offence involving money-laundering or the financing of terrorist activities. They also exclude any information prepared by the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) from information it receives regarding suspicious transactions.

The mechanism used for adopting the paragraphs that I just mentioned is provided for in section 24 of the Access to Information Act. Section 24 excludes provisions in other legislation from the application of the Act.The exceptions incorporated through this section have increased in number over the past few years. When the Act was passed in 1983, 33 pieces of legislation were entered in Schedule II, which contains the list of exceptions. In 2000, there were 50 pieces of legislation entered in Schedule II and today, it contains 60 pieces of legislation. As I mentioned previously: “Section 24 is essentially a back door way of eroding access to information.”

Like my predecessors, I have concerns about paragraphs 55(1)(a), (d) and (e) of the legislation that is the subject of your review. The paragraphs in question result in the exclusion of documents requested mandatorily, irrespective of harm, the public interest or the passage of time. Even so, it is important to remember that the Access to Information Act, is based on fundamental principles namely that federal government information should be available to the public and that any exception to that right must be specific and limited.

The Access to Information Act contains exceptions to ensure that information is protected. There are exceptions pertaining to, among other things, national security, information obtained confidentially here and abroad, information on investigating techniques, and the protection of personal information. The Act even allows an agency to be excused from disclosing the existence of a document.

Moreover, it is enlightening to note that section 24 of the legislation that includes the aforementioned paragraphs has, to my knowledge, been cited only three times by FINTRAC since it was created.

Mr. Chairman, on the surface, I am of the view that the Access to Information Act contains the exceptions needed for protecting the information gathered by FINTRAC and that paragraphs 55(1)(a), (d) and (e) do not seem warranted to me. However, if the committee, after its deliberations, deems it appropriate to keep the existing exceptions to the disclosure of information pertaining to FINTRAC, I recommend that those exceptions be specified and incorporated directly into the Access to Information Act to maintain the integrity of the legislative framework and ensure that people requesting access have a clear idea of their rights.

Thank you for your attention. I will now be pleased to answer your questions.

ALLOCUTION DE LA COMMISSAIRE À L’INFORMATION DU CANADA COMITÉ SÉNATORIAL DES BANQUES ET DU COMMERCE EXAMEN SUR LA LOI SUR LE RECYCLAGE DES PRODUITS DE LA CRIMINALITÉ ET LE FINANCEMENT DES ACTIVITÉS TERRORISTES (L.C. 2000, CH. 17), CONFORMÉMENT À L’ARTICLE 72 DE CETTE LOI

LE JEUDI 16 FÉVRIER 2012

L'ALLOCUTION PRONONCÉE FAIT FOI

Monsieur le Président,

Je vous remercie pour votre invitation à témoigner devant votre comité dans le cadre de votre examen de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes.

Dans un premier temps, puisqu’il s’agit de ma première comparution devant votre comité, permettez-moi de vous décrire brièvement la nature du rôle que j’occupe.  Le poste de Commissaire à l'information en est un de haut fonctionnaire du Parlement nommé en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.  J'ai amorcé mon mandat de sept ans le 30 juin 2010, après avoir été commissaire intérimaire pendant un an.  Une large part de mon mandat est d’enquêter sur les plaintes déposées par les particuliers et les organisations qui estiment que les institutions fédérales n'ont pas respecté les droits qui leurs sont conférés par la Loi

Je suis appuyée dans mes fonctions par le Commissariat à l'information du Canada, un organisme gouvernemental indépendant créé en 1983 en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information pour favoriser le règlement des plaintes du public concernant l'accès à l'information gouvernemental.

Dans le cadre de nos enquêtes, nous avons recours à la médiation et à la persuasion pour faciliter le règlement des différends. Nous renvoyons à la Cour fédérale du Canada et intervenons dans les affaires qui soulèvent d'importants principes de droit.

En préparation de ma comparution ce matin, j’ai révisé les propos de mon prédécesseur lors de l’étude du projet loi en 2000 et ceux du sous-commissaire lors de la révision statutaire de 2006.  Lors de ces comparutions Messieurs Reid et Leadbeater ont fait part au comité de leurs préoccupations vis-à-vis ce qui sont aujourd’hui les alinéas 55(1) (a) (d) et (e) de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes et le mécanisme par lequel ces dispositions sont adoptées, poussant le Commissaire Reid à les décrire comme créant un « trou noir » dans l’appareil gouvernemental.

Ces alinéas écartent de l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information toutes les déclarations obligatoires ou volontaires relatives à des opérations financières qui sont liées à la perpétration d’une infraction de recyclage des produits de la criminalité ou de financement des activités terroristes. Ils écartent également tous renseignements préparés par le Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE) à partir des renseignements reçus par celui-ci concernant des transactions douteuses.

Le mécanisme utilisé pour adopter les alinéas que je viens de mentionner est celui prévu à l’article 24 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. L’article 24 permet d’exclure de l’application de la loi des dispositions d’autres lois.Les exceptions incorporées par le biais de cet article se sont multipliées au cours des dernières années. Lorsque la loi a été adoptée en 1983, 33 lois étaient inscrites à l’annexe II où se retrouve la liste des exceptions. En 2000, on retrouvait 50 lois inscrites à l’annexe II et aujourd’hui, on y retrouve 60 lois. Comme je l’ai déjà mentionnée: « Section 24 is essentially a back door way of eroding access to information. »

À l’instar des mes prédécesseurs, j’ai des préoccupations face aux alinéas 55(1) (a) (d) et (e) de la loi faisant l’objet de votre étude. Ces alinéas résultent en l’exclusion des documents demandés d’une manière obligatoire, sans égard au préjudice, à l’intérêt public ou au passage du temps.  Pourtant, il est important de se rappeler que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information est basée sur des principes fondamentaux tel le droit du public à la communication des documents de l’administration fédérale et que toute exception à ce droit doit d’être précise et limitée.

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information contient déjà des exceptions pour assurer la protection des renseignements. Il existe des exceptions relatives, entre autres, à la sécurité nationale, aux renseignements obtenus de façon confidentielle ici et à l’étranger, aux renseignements relatifs à des techniques d’enquêtes ainsi qu’à la protection des renseignements personnels. La loi permet même à un organisme de dispenser de divulguer l’existence d’un document.

Par ailleurs, il est instructif de constater que l’article 24 de la loi qui incorpore les alinéas mentionnés précédemment n’a été invoqué, à ma connaissance, qu’à trois reprises par CANAFE depuis sa création.

Monsieur le président, à prime abord, je suis d’avis que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information possède les exceptions nécessaires pour protéger les informations recueillies par CANAFE et que les alinéas 55(1) (a) (d) et (e) ne me semblent pas justifiés. Cependant, si le comité après ses délibérations, juge approprié de maintenir les exceptions existantes à la divulgation de renseignements relatifs à CANAFE, je recommande que ces exceptions soient spécifiées et incorporées directement dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information afin de préserver l’intégrité du cadre législatif et de s’assurer que les demandeurs d’accès aient une vision claire de leurs droits.

Je vous remercie de votre attention. Il me fera maintenant plaisir de répondre à vos questions.