Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Speaking notes for Suzanne Legault Information Commissioner of Canada
ACCESS TO INFORMATION DISPUTE AND THE RESULTING COURT ACTIONS CONCERNING CBC
Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics (ETHI)
October 25, 2011
CHECK AGAINST DELIVERY

Thank you Madam Chair.

My remarks this morning will be brief. I will address three issues. First, I will review the origin and the current status of the ongoing court case involving the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (Corporation, CBC) and the Information Commissioner. Second, I will review the Corporation's performance under the Access to Information Act (Act). Third, I will review the situation in other jurisdictions as it relates to their public broadcasters and suggest possible changes to our own Act should the Committee wish to review the current legislative text as part of its deliberations.

But first let me introduce Emily McCarthy. Ms. McCarthy is our General Counsel and is currently acting as Assistant Commissioner, Complaints Resolution and Compliance.

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation vs Information Commissioner

The origin of the dispute between my office and the Corporation dates back to 2009. My Office was investigating complaints regarding CBC's refusal to disclose records based on section 68.1. As you know, s. 68.1 provides an exclusion from the Act for information relating to CBC's creative, programming or journalistic activities however there is an exception to this exclusion for information relating to the general administration.

In the course of our investigations, we asked the CBC to provide us with information that had been withheld so that we could assess whether its decision on disclosure was justified or whether the withheld information fell within the exception to the exclusion. The CBC refused to provide the relevant information and so my office issued a production order to the CBC in relation to certain complaints.

That same day, the Corporation initiated a judicial review application under s. 18 of the Federal Courts Act challenging my Office's authority to obtain records they claimed were excluded under s. 68.1

The Federal Court dismissed the CBC's application for judicial review and the CBC appealed that decision. The Federal Court of Appeal heard the appeal on October 18th 2011 and has taken the matter under reserve which, as you are aware, limits my ability to comment further on the case.

Given the court process, my Office has, up to now, suspended the investigation of 196 refusal complaints in which CBC has relied on section 68.1. Some of these complaints date back to 2007. Given the age of some of these complaints I raised a concern with this Committee in March 2011 that the failure to retrieve responsive records could have a negative impact on Canadians' right to access information.

I can report that, since our last appearance on this matter, CBC has assured my Office that it has started retrieving the records responsive to the complaints that have been put on hold, but it is still not confirmed that the CBC has identified and retrieved the responsive records in all cases.

Canada Broadcasting Corporation's performance under the Act

Madam Chair I have tabled with the Committee a brief statistical overview of the CBC's performance since it became subject to the Act.

In sum, I can safely say that the CBC's performance has improved since it became subject to the Act in 2007, but I still have serious concerns.

Let me explain.

Since it became subject to the Act, the CBC has received about 1450 requests for information. Of those, close to 1100 have resulted in complaints to my office. However, as you can see from the document I handed to the Committee, the number of complaints relative to the number of requests has been declining steadily year over year.

Last year our Special Report highlighted that the CBC took an average of 158 days to process access to information requests and had a deemed refusal rate of close to 60%. Although we have not verified this information yet, the CBC is reporting significant improvements on these numbers in its most recent annual report to Parliament for an average of 57 days and a deemed refusal rate of 22% in the last fiscal year.

Notwithstanding this progress in performance, I still have some serious concerns. In addition to the cases currently on hold pending the outcome of the litigation, my office still has close to 180 ongoing investigations with the CBC. It is my observation at this time that the current level of resourcing in CBC's access to information office is not sufficient to address the investigations of these complaints with my staff. If there is no change to the current resource levels this situation will likely be aggravated once the investigations into the 196 "on hold complaints" begin.

I am also very concerned with Guidelines for the interpretation of s. 68.1, recently published by the CBC. The Guidelines state that an access to information request may be refused on its face, by the person with the delegated authority, if this person concludes that the requested information is excluded from the application of the Act by virtue of s. 68.1 on the sole basis of the wording of the actual access to information request. In my view, individuals with delegated authority to make decisions as to whether or not information falls within the exclusion found at s. 68.1 must personally review the responsive records to make a valid decision under the Act, including appropriate severances, as required, to maximize disclosure.

It is therefore encouraging that the most recent statistics indicate that the CBC's performance is gradually improving. However, if the reason for the improved response time to requests is that CBC is not retrieving and processing records in accordance with the Act, as the recently published Guidelines suggest, then the decrease in response time may not reflect an improvement in performance. That said, my office has not yet had the opportunity to discuss the Guidelines with CBC officials. I plan to do so shortly. We will also follow up on the performance of the CBC next fiscal year as part of our Report Cards process.

International benchmarking and suggestions for change

Madam Chair I have also tabled with the Committee a review of the freedom of information laws in Australia, Ireland and the United Kingdom as they relate to the coverage of public broadcasters. I have also included in that document suggestions for change should the Committee be interested in looking at our own Act.

In a nutshell, the situation in the jurisdictions reviewed is that public broadcasters are subject to the freedom of information legislation, that programming and journalistic records are covered by way of exclusions to their respective legislations, the oversight bodies have the power to review the records to determine the application of the exclusion, and they can order disclosure.

I have also included possible changes to our own Act because, as Information Commissioner and as previous Information Commissioners have also advocated, I believe that exceptions to the application of the Act should be limited and specific and that such exceptions should be injury based. The wording of exceptions should be clear and objective, which is consistent with the existing provisions of the Act.

Injury based exemptions require that a public institution establish a reasonable expectation of harm and support that claim with specific evidence. A discretionary exemption ensures that the public interest in obtaining access to the requested information will be considered by the head of a public institution even where the information otherwise qualifies for exemption.

Madam Chair, I believe these suggested changes would be consistent with the purposes underlying the Act and would protect CBC's journalistic and programming independence.

Madam Chair, I thank you for the privilege of appearing before the Committee. I will be pleased to respond to your questions.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Discours

Année


Notes pour l'allocution de Suzanne Legault

Commissaire à l'information du Canada

CONFLIT RELATIF À L'ACCÈS À L'INFORMATION ET DES POURSUITES CONCERNANT RADIO-CANADA QUI EN DÉCOULENT

Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique (ETHI)

Le 25 octobre 2011

LA VERSION PRONONCÉE FAIT FOI

Merci, madame la présidente.

Mon propos de ce matin sera bref. Je traiterai de trois points. En premier lieu, je reviendrai sur l'origine et l'état actuel de l'affaire judiciaire opposant la Société Radio-Canada (Société, SRC) et la commissaire à l'information. Je parlerai ensuite de la performance de la Société pour ce qui est de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (Loi). Et en troisième lieu, j'exposerai la situation des radiodiffuseurs publics dans d'autres secteurs de compétence et proposerai certains changements possibles à notre Loi pour le cas où le Comité souhaiterait revoir le texte législatif actuel dans le cadre de ses délibérations.

Mais permettez-moi d'abord de présenter Emily McCarthy. Mme McCarthy, notre avocat général, fait actuellement fonction de commissaire adjointe, Conformité et règlement des plaintes.

Société Radio-Canada c. c ommissaire à l'information

Le différend entre le Commissariat à l'accès à l'information et la Société remonte à 2009. Le Commissariat faisait enquête sur des plaintes contre la SRC, qui refusait de communiquer des documents en invoquant l'article 68.1. Comme vous le savez, l'art. 68.1 soustrait à l'application de la Loi les renseignements qui se rapportent aux activités de création, de programmation ou de journalisme de la SRC, à l'exception des renseignements qui ont trait à son administration.

Dans le cadre de nos enquêtes, nous avons demandé à la SRC de nous fournir des renseignements qu'elle avait refusé de communiquer afin de nous permettre de voir si sa décision sur la communication se justifiait ou si les renseignements refusés étaient couverts par l'exception à l'exclusion. La SRC a refusé de nous fournir les renseignements en question, si bien que le Commissariat a émis une ordonnance de communication à la SRC relativement à certaines plaintes.

Le même jour, la Société a demandé un contrôle judiciaire en vertu de l'art. 18 de la Loi sur les Cours fédérales pour contester le pouvoir du Commissariat d'obtenir des documents qu'elle disait exclus en vertu de l'art. 68.1

La Cour fédérale a rejeté la demande de contrôle judiciaire de la SRC, qui en a appelé de cette décision. La Cour d'appel fédérale a entendu l'appel le 18 octobre 2011 et a mis l'affaire en délibéré, ce qui, comme vous le savez, limite ma capacité de la commenter.

Étant donné le processus judiciaire, le Commissariat a, jusqu'ici, suspendu l'enquête sur 196 plaintes de refus où la SRC a invoqué l'article 68.1. Certaines de ces plaintes remontent à 2007. Étant donné leur âge, en mars 2011, j'ai saisi votre Comité de ma crainte que l'incapacité de récupérer les documents pertinents puisse avoir des répercussions négatives sur le droit d'accès à l'information des Canadiens.

Je peux vous informer que, depuis notre dernière comparution sur la question, la SRC a assuré le Commissariat qu'elle a commencé à récupérer les documents pertinents pour répondre aux plaintes qui ont été mises en suspens, mais il n'est toujours pas confirmé que la SRC a localisé et récupéré les documents pertinents dans tous les cas.

La performance de la Société Radio-Canada en vertu de la Loi

Madame la présidente, j'ai déposé auprès du Comité un bref aperçu statistique de la performance de la SRC depuis qu'elle est assujettie à la Loi.

En somme, je peux dire sans risquer de me tromper que la performance de la SRC s'est améliorée depuis son assujettissement à la Loi en 2007, mais je conserve de sérieuses réserves.

Je m'explique.

Depuis qu'elle est assujettie à la Loi, la SRC a reçu environ 1 450 demandes d'information. Près de 1 100 de ces demandes ont donné lieu à des plaintes au Commissariat. Cependant, comme vous pouvez le voir dans le document que j'ai remis au Comité, le nombre de plaintes par rapport au nombre de demandes n'a pas cessé de diminuer d'année en année.

L'an dernier, notre Rapport spécial a mis en lumière que la SRC a mis, en moyenne, 158 jours pour traiter les demandes d'accès à l'information et avait un taux de présomption de refus de près de 60 % . Nous n'avons pas encore vérifié cette information, mais la SRC fait état d'importantes améliorations de ces chiffres dans son dernier rapport annuel au Parlement , où elle parle d'une moyenne de 57 jours et d'un taux de présomption de refus de 22 % pour le dernier exercice.

Malgré ces progrès, je garde de sérieuses réserves. En plus des cas actuellement en attente de règlement du litige, le Commissariat a encore près de 180 enquêtes en cours à la SRC. Je suis d'avis, à ce stade­ci, que le niveau actuel de ressources au bureau d'accès à l'information de la SRC n'est pas suffisant pour gérer les enquêtes sur ces plaintes avec mon personnel. À moins d'un changement des niveaux actuels de ressources, la situation risque de s'aggraver lorsque débuteront les enquêtes sur les 196 « plaintes en suspens ».

Je suis aussi très préoccupée par les Lignes directrices pour l'interprétation de l'art. 68.1, que la SRC a publiées récemment. Les Lignes directrices précisent qu'une demande d'accès peut être refusée à sa face même, par la personne qui détient le pouvoir délégué, si cette personne conclut, à la seule lecture de la demande d'accès à l'information, qu'un renseignement est manifestement exclus de l'application de la Loi en vertu de l'art. 68.1. À mon avis, les personnes qui ont le pouvoir délégué de décider si l'information est ou pas couverte par l'exclusion prévue à l'art. 68.1 doivent examiner personnellement les documents pertinents pour prendre une décision valide selon la Loi, y compris sur les prélèvements à faire, s'il y a lieu, pour maximiser la communication.

Il est donc encourageant de voir que les dernières statistiques révèlent une amélioration graduelle de la performance de la SRC. Cependant, si la raison de l'amélioration des délais de réponse aux demandes est que la SRC ne récupère pas et ne traite pas les documents conformément à la Loi, comme permettent de le croire les Lignes directrices publiées récemment, alors l'abrégement des délais de réponse ne reflète peut-être pas une amélioration de la performance. Cela dit, le Commissariat n'a pas encore eu l'occasion de discuter des Lignes directrices avec les responsables de la SRC. Je compte le faire sous peu. Nous ferons également un suivi de la performance de la SRC au cours du prochain exercice dans le cadre de nos fiches de rendement.

Comparaisons internationales et suggestions d'amélioration

Madame la présidente, j'ai aussi déposé auprès du Comité une revue de la législation sur l' accès à l'information en Australie , en Irlande et au Royaume-Uni en ce qui a trait à l'assujettissement des radiodiffuseurs publics. J'ai aussi mis dans ce document certaines suggestions de changement pour le cas où le Comité souhaiterait se pencher sur notre Loi.

En un mot, la situation dans les pays observés est que les radiodiffuseurs publics sont soumis à la législation sur l' accès à l'information , que les activités de programmation et de journalisme sont couvertes par voie d'exclusions dans leurs lois respectives, que les organismes de surveillance ont le pouvoir d'examiner les documents pour vérifier l'application de l'exclusion, et qu'ils peuvent en ordonner la communication.

J'ai aussi inclus certains changements possibles à notre Loi parce que, à titre de commissaire à l'information et comme mes prédécesseurs l'ont aussi préconisé, je crois que les exceptions à l'application de la Loi doivent être limitées et spécifiques et qu'elles doivent reposer sur le préjudice probable. Le libellé des exceptions devrait être clair et objectif, ce qui est compatible avec les dispositions existantes de la Loi.

Les exceptions fondées sur le préjudice probable exigent que l'institution publique établisse une attente raisonnable de préjudice, en s'appuyant sur des données précises. Une exemption discrétionnaire fait en sorte que le responsable de l'institution publique tiendra compte de l'intérêt public pour la communication de l'accès à l'information demandée, même là où l'information est par ailleurs admissible à l'exemption.

Madame la présidente, je crois que les changements que je suggère seraient compatibles avec les objets qui sous-tendent la Loi et protégeraient l'indépendance de la SRC en matière de journalisme et de programmation.

Madame la présidente, je vous remercie du privilège que vous m'avez donné de comparaître devant le Comité. C'est avec plaisir que je répondrai à vos questions.