Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Speaking notes for Suzanne Legault

Information Commissioner of Canada

ACCESS TO INFORMATION AT THE

CANADIAN BROADCASTING CORPORATION

Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics (ETHI)

March 21, 2011

CHECK AGAINST DELIVERY

Thank you, Mr. Chairman. I am pleased to appear before you today to assist the Committee in its study of access to information at the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).

My remarks will address the recent report cards contained in the Special Report entitled Open Outlook, Open Access. I will also briefly speak to my office's experience with the CBC in investigative matters.

Before I discuss these two issues, I would like to thank the Committee for the follow-up it did on last year's report cards. The Report and the work of the Committee in this regard ensure that federal institutions are held accountable for their performance in complying with the Act.

In this year's report card exercise, which covers the 2009-2010 reporting period, I continued the study of delays in responding to access to information requests as set out in the Three-Year Plan for Report Cards. The exercise included eight institutions that became subject to the Access to Information Act in 2007 under the Federal Accountability Act. Five institutions are Crown corporations, including the CBC, which operate in a largely private sector environment with varying combinations of commercial and public policy objectives. The other three are agents of Parliament. All new institutions that received five or more complaints since they became subject to the Act were selected.

I am delighted to report some excellent results for the majority of the institutions in this year's cohort. Six of the eight institutions performed better than average. Canada Post and the CBC, however, are not part of that group. This year's report cards confirm that, with the right tools, resources and attitude, compliance with the Act is achievable.

As noted in this Committee's 12th Report, the purpose of the report cards is not to chastise institutions. The process is a tool at my disposal to affect greater compliance with the requirements of the act. It allows me to see compliance issues in their full context and to recommend meaningful solutions .

With this in mind, my office undertook a report card on the performance of the CBC and made four recommendations to the institution on ways to improve their compliance with the Act. Right from the start in September 2007, CBC struggled to respond to access requests due to an initial downpour of requests in the first few months that it became subject to the Act. Subsequently, my Office received 534 complaints against the CBC between September 2007 and April 2008 which represented 22% of all complaints registered by my Office that year. Most of these complaints were delay related. In fact, since 2007, the CBC has consistently been in the top three institutions against which complaints are filed with my Office.

The CBC received an F rating because of the delays in processing access requests, the high deemed refusal rate and the long average completion time. These delays were largely due to the backlog of requests CBC carried over from the previous years. We noted, however, that they were also the reflection of long retrieval, review and approval processes.

Towards the end of 2009-2010, we saw signs of improvement in CBC's performance, in terms of backlog reduction and a shorter response time for new requests. As a result, the number of delay complaints registered by my office has decreased this year.

Mr. Chair, prior to coming here today, I surveyed some of my investigative staff to get their views on the CBC's performance in the current reporting period. They felt that the CBC has made efforts to improve the effectiveness of their internal processes and to provide more timely responses to requesters. Most notably, they indicated that there is good collaboration with the new ATIP Director at the CBC.

Beyond improvements on administrative aspects of access requests, however, the picture is not as encouraging. I noted in my special report that, as a result of the legislative changes introduced by the FedAA, the Act now has an increased level of complexity that causes uncertainty in the legal interpretation of these new limitations. For example, under section 68.1, the Act does not apply to any information that is under the control of the CBC that relates to its journalistic, creative or programming activities other than information that relates to its general administration. Consequently, my office deals with more complaints against new institutions and is involved in more litigation.

The CBC has refused to provide investigators in my office with records which it claims are excluded by s. 68.1 of the Act. This approach differs from that taken by Atomic Energy of Canada Limited which provides my Office with all information it claims is excluded under section 68.2. I fundamentally believe, Mr. Chair that an independent review of the records or information withheld by CBC is essential to ensure that the exclusion has been properly applied. The scope of my investigative powers in relation to the refusal to disclose records by CBC under section 68.1 has led to litigation.

In the first instance, the Federal Court ruled in favour of such an independent review by my Office. The Court explained that I must have the authority to determine, in an objective and independent fashion, if the records fall under the ambit of the exception and if they qualify for exclusion. This decision is currently before the Federal Court of Appeal which limits my ability to make further comment. However, I note that due to this ongoing litigation my office has suspended investigations of more than 180 refusal complaints relating to section 68.1. Some of these complaints go as far back as 2007.

Mr. Chair, the delays caused by this litigation have had a significant impact on the ability of the public to obtain public sector information in a timely way. And I am concerned that there may be further delays once these legal proceedings are over. Based on my own office's experience in investigating some of our old complaints, we have seen instances where an institution's access request processing file is incomplete, responsive records are often difficult to find and retrieve, electronic information sometimes has been deleted, and personnel knowledgeable about the requested information are no longer available.

Therefore, I would suggest that a best practice, for institutions where access to information requests are subject to litigation, is to ensure that the search, retrieval and processing of the responsive records are completed and held in abeyance until all proceedings are completed. This will ensure that no further delays occur after the end of litigation.

I urge this Committee to do what it can to ensure that the recommendations made to the CBC in its report card are implemented and that the impact of the delay resulting from the ongoing litigation is minimized.

Thank you.

I would be pleased to answer your questions.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Discours

Année


Notes pour une allocution de Suzanne Legault

Commissaire à l'information du Canada

ACCÈS À L'INFORMATION À LA

SOCIÉTÉ RADIO‑CANADA

Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique (ETHI)

Le 21 mars 2011

LA VERSION PRONONCÉE FAIT FOI

Merci, M. le président. Je suis heureuse de comparaître devant vous aujourd'hui pour aider le Comité à examiner la question de l'accès à l'information à la Société Radio‑Canada (SRC).

J'aborderai la question des récentes fiches de rendement contenues dans le rapport spécial intitulé Le libre accès : une question d'ouverture. De plus, je parlerai brièvement de notre expérience avec la SRC dans le cadre de nos enquêtes.

Avant d'aborder ces deux points, je tiens à remercier le Comité d'avoir fait le suivi concernant les fiches de rendement de l'année dernière. Le rapport et le travail réalisé par le Comité à ce chapitre font en sorte que les institutions fédérales sont responsables de leur conformité avec la Loi.

Dans le cadre de l'exercice sur les fiches de rendement de cette année, qui couvrait la période de référence 2009‑2010, j'ai continué d'étudier le problème des retards dans les réponses données aux demandes d'accès à l'information, comme il était prévu dans le plan triennal pour les fiches de rendement. Cet exercice portait sur huit institutions qui ont été assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information en 2007 en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité. Cinq d'entre elles, dont la SRC, sont des sociétés d'État qui mènent leurs activités dans un environnement essentiellement privé, mais elles poursuivent des objectifs stratégiques qui sont à la fois commerciaux et publics. Les trois autres sont des agents du Parlement. Nous avons choisi d'évaluer toutes les institutions récemment assujetties à la Loi qui ont fait l'objet de cinq plaintes ou plus.

J'ai le grand plaisir de signaler que la majorité des huit institutions évaluées cette année ont obtenu d'excellents résultats : six d'entre elles sont supérieures à la moyenne. Cependant, il en va tout autrement pour Postes Canada et la SRC. Les fiches de rendement de cette année confirment qu'avec les bons outils, des ressources suffisantes et la bonne attitude, il est possible de se conformer à la Loi.

Comme il est mentionné dans le 12e rapport du Comité, les fiches de rendement ne servent pas à critiquer les institutions. Il s'agit d'un processus à ma disposition pour assurer un plus grand respect des exigences de la Loi. Il me permet d'examiner les problèmes de conformité dans leur contexte et de proposer des solutions constructives.

Dans cet esprit, le Commissariat a préparé la fiche de rendement de la SRC et a formulé quatre recommandations pour que l'institution se conforme mieux à la Loi. Dès le début de septembre 2007, la SRC a eu du mal à répondre aux demandes d'accès, car elle en a reçu une très grande quantité au cours des premiers mois où elle était assujettie à la Loi. Par la suite, le Commissariat a reçu 534 plaintes contre la SRC entre septembre 2007 et avril 2008, ce qui représente 22 % de toutes les plaintes reçues cette année‑là. La plupart d'entre elles portent sur les délais. Depuis 2007, la SRC fait constamment partie des trois institutions contre lesquelles le Commissariat reçoit le plus grand nombre de plaintes.

La SRC a reçu un F en raison des retards dans le traitement des demandes, du taux élevé de présomption de refus et du long délai de réponse moyen. Ces retards s'expliquent en grande partie par l'arriéré de demandes que la SRC a reportées des années précédentes. Nous avons toutefois remarqué qu'ils sont aussi causés par un long processus de recherche, d'examen et d'approbation.

Vers la fin de 2009‑2010, des signes montraient que le rendement de la SRC s'améliorait puisque l'arriéré diminuait et que le délai de traitement des nouvelles demandes était plus court. Le Commissariat a ainsi reçu moins de plaintes de retard cette année.

M. le président, avant d'être ici aujourd'hui, j'ai sondé certains de mes enquêteurs sur le rendement de la SRC pour l'année en cours. Ils considèrent que la Société a fait des efforts pour améliorer l'efficacité de ses processus internes et fournir des réponses plus rapidement aux demandeurs. Ils ont surtout souligné la bonne collaboration avec le nouveau directeur responsable de l'accès à l'information à la SRC.

Par contre, hormis l'amélioration des aspects administratifs du traitement des demandes d'accès à l'information, la situation n'est pas très encourageante. J'ai signalé dans mon rapport spécial que la Loi sur la responsabilité fédérale a provoqué des changements législatifs qui compliquent la Loi et amène une certaine incertitude concernant l'interprétation juridique des nouvelles restrictions. Par exemple, en vertu de l'article 68.1, la Loi ne s'applique pas aux renseignements qui relèvent de la Société Radio‑Canada et qui se rapportent à ses activités de journalisme, de création ou de programmation, à l'exception des renseignements qui ont trait à son administration. Le Commissariat reçoit donc plus de plaintes contre les nouvelles institutions et est impliqué dans plus de litiges.

La SRC a refusé de remettre aux enquêteurs du Commissariat les documents qui sont exclus, selon elle, par l'article 68.1 de la Loi. Cette démarche contraste avec celle adoptée par Énergie atomique du Canada limitée, qui nous fournit tous les renseignements qu'elle considère être exclus par l'article 68.2. Je pense sincèrement, M. le président, qu'un examen indépendant de l'information ou des documents détenus par la SRC est nécessaire pour veiller à ce que l'exclusion soit appliquée adéquatement. L'étendue de mes pouvoirs d'enquête liée au refus de la SRC de communiquer les documents en application de l'article 68.1 a mené à un litige.

En première instance, la Cour fédérale s'est prononcée en faveur d'un tel examen indépendant réalisé par le Commissariat. Elle a expliqué que je dois avoir compétence afin de déterminer de façon objective et indépendante si les documents tombent sous le coup de l'exemption et s'ils peuvent ou non être exclus à juste titre. La Cour d'appel fédérale examine actuellement cette décision, ce qui m'empêche de formuler d'autres commentaires à ce sujet. Le litige en cours a forcé le Commissariat à suspendre les enquêtes sur plus de 180 plaintes de refus relatives à l'article 68.1. Certaines d'entre elles remontent à 2007.

M. le président, les retards entraînés par ce litige ont considérablement affecté la capacité du public à obtenir de l'information du secteur public en temps opportun, et je crains qu'il y ait d'autres retards lorsque ces procédures judiciaires seront terminées. L'expérience acquise par le Commissariat au cours de ses enquêtes sur des plaintes les plus anciennes montre que, parfois, le dossier de traitement des demandes d'accès des institutions est incomplet, les documents pertinents sont difficiles à localiser et à récupérer, l'information électronique a été supprimée et les employés connaissant bien l'information demandée ne sont plus disponibles.

Je propose donc une pratique exemplaire : les institutions dont les demandes d'accès sont touchées par un litige devraient s'assurer que les documents pertinents soient cherchés, récupérés et traités, puis conservés en suspens jusqu'à la fin des procédures. On éviterait ainsi tout retard supplémentaire à la fin du litige.

J'encourage vivement le Comité à veiller au respect et à la mise en œuvre des recommandations formulées dans la fiche de rendement de la SRC et à s'assurer que les retards découlant du litige en cours soient limités autant que possible.

Merci.

Je serai heureuse de répondre à vos questions.