Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Right to Know Week 2010

Accessing Democracy

Thursday, September 30, 2010
Carleton University Senate Room,

Robertson Hall, 1125 Colonel By Drive
10:00 a.m. to noon 

Introductory Remarks
Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

CHECK AGAINST DELIVERY 

  • Thank you, Dean ApSimon, for your kind words of introduction. This is an unusual treat for me because today, I get to spend the whole day here at Carleton University with you and with an amazing set of panellists for an event, and a week, that is close to my heart: the Right to Know Week. Today’s presentations reflect how access to information can bring together people from diverse backgrounds and disciplines to discuss this fundamental right, as well as the concept of open government.

  • This year marks the 5th Right to Know Week in Canada. For this occasion, Canadians all around the country are organizing activities to raise citizens’ awareness of their right to access government information. Freedom of information activists around the world are also promoting this right and campaigning for more open, democratic societies and citizen engagement.

  • Last June, Parliament conferred upon me the honour of serving this country as Information Commissioner. During the summer months, I spent some time reflecting on the challenges and the opportunities that our fast-evolving environment has created for access to information. I feel both humbled and excited about what this entails for my role and that of my Office. I am grateful for the opportunity to share some of these thoughts with you today.

  • Access to information is a fundamental tenet of our democracies. At the very least, citizens have the right to know what use is being made of their tax dollars. Access to government information fosters good governance, accountability and transparency from public institutions. It informs debates, which in turn contribute to evidence-based decisions and policy development. Stanley Tromp, an international expert on freedom of information, has shown how valuable the Alberta legislation has been in recent years. He summarized 50 news articles on his website, which were derived from access to information requests and which shed light on important public issues.

  • Currently, the way our access to information regime works is fundamentally traditional and reactive. Access is granted only after someone makes a formal request for the information.Yet, in journalism as in science, timely access and timely sharing of information are critical. Any information delayed quickly becomes outdated and loses its relevance. As in business, delayed information means missed opportunities. Information drives our global, knowledge-based economies. Like entrepreneurs, academics and scientists need timely access to our whole range of public sector information if we want to foster a competitive edge for Canada.

  • This is the fundamental reason behind my Office’s renewed goal and efforts to ensure compliance with access legislation through timely and efficient investigations into complaints and issues. In doing so, we are positioning ourselves to become a centre of excellence and expertise in matters of access and transparency for the benefits of all Canadian citizens and organizations.

  • On this note, I would like to refer to a Federal Court decision which was just announced last week. It was a ground-breaking case involving the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and the Information Commissioner. In September 2007, the CBC was made subject to the access legislation, with the exception of certain information relating to, according to section 68.1, “journalistic, creative or programming activities.” In the following two years, the CBC received numerous access requests, several of which were denied under s.68.1. As a result, 16 complaints were filed and investigated by my Office, during which we asked the CBC to produce the responsive records. CBC refused and initiated a legal proceeding with the Federal Court. It challenged the Commissioner’s authority to summon records excluded under s.68.1 and, de facto, halted our investigations. In the end, the Court ruled in our favour, confirming the importance of my role as the first level of review to protect the rights of information requesters and complainants.

  • Today, technology affords public institutions the opportunity to do much more than “reactive transparency.” And young citizens like yourselves expect far more than being passive recipients of information. Every day we learn about new initiatives that transform data into useful applications. These initiatives range from a website that tells you how your Member of Parliament has voted on specific issues, to IPhone Apps that show you where the traffic on the Queensway is. Technology developments and creative communities are putting increasing pressure on our government to become more forthcoming with information. This makes perfect business sense. Increasing access to public data can fuel unforeseen economic and social benefits. After all, government data is a public asset to be leveraged by citizens, businesses, and communities, including the academic and research community.

  • This is why on September 1st, I invited my provincial and territorial counterparts to join forces in adopting an Open Government resolution. This resolution urges all levels of government across Canada to commit to greater disclosure of public information. Among other things, it calls for ongoing consultations with the public to identify high-value data and disclose them in open, accessible and reusable formats, at little or no charge. This of course, with due consideration given to privacy, confidentiality, security and copyright issues.

  • In 1983, Canada was the eighth country in the world to adopt a law providing a right of access to government information. In over a quarter century, this legislation has never been revised to keep pace with more progressive standards at home and abroad. It still reflects a reactive and paper-based mode of disclosure that is very much at odds with today’s electronic environment.

  • In the late 1990s, the objective of government policy was to become “known around the world as the government most connected to its citizens” through the Government Online initiative. Today, Web 2.0 is changing the way we can collaborate and share information. Yet, only a modest number of departments already provide open access to some of their data, or interact directly with the public using social media.

  • Our government must strive to keep pace with technology. It must regain its leadership role by modernizing our access legislation. Working to restore a leading access to information regime will be one of my primary goals as Information Commissioner. 

  • Public institutions must also embrace collaborative technologies and transition to a participatory style of government. This is critical to remain responsive to citizens’ needs and expectations. It is also crucial to harness the refreshing ideas and energy that members of your generation have to offer. I made the experience myself on Monday, while hosting the inaugural chat session on the Right to Know collaborative website.

  • Your generation has experienced unprecedented access to literature and culture. You are now equipped with cutting-edge communications technology. I can’t help but think: this is the generation that will redefine yet again the information age. You have the right to demand easy and broad access to government information. Because government information is your information. It belongs to you.

  • But this right comes with a hefty responsibility, particularly for those in journalism and communications. The WikiLeaks phenomenon of Internet disclosures, in particular, has highlighted the increasing requirements for accountability that come with freedom of expression in the electronic age. [As public sector management scholar David Zussman argues in the September issue of the Canadian Government Executive] In addition, the proliferation of new media has allowed many new players to provide alternative sources of information and interpretation. At times, this new reality has led to a decline in the quality of media reporting, due to competitive pressures. Yet this has a profound impact on the way in which Canadians learn about their world. Therefore, those in the industry have the responsibility to “ensure that quality standards apply to all of those who try to influence public opinion”—including bloggers and alternative voices.

  • Achieving a leading access to information regime is a collective undertaking. As information commissioner, one of my objectives is to tap into stakeholders’ experience and expertise—such as yours—mobilize everyone and create synergies. Yesterday, to celebrate such engagement, I launched the Grace-Pépin Award on behalf of all my colleague commissioners across the country. This award will be given annually as part of the Right to Know Week. It will acknowledge exceptional contributions to promoting and supporting the principles of transparency, accountability and the right to access government information. Maybe one of you will earn that honour in the years to come…For now, I hope you will all share in my vision and join me on our common path to greater transparency, innovation and participatory democracy.

  • In closing, I wish to convey my most sincere appreciation to Professor Kazmierski, for organizing this conference and for being such a great advocate of government transparency.

  • I hope you have great success in your deliberations and I look forward to hearing your views and ideas throughout the day.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Discours

Année


Semaine du droit à l’information 2010

Accès à la démocratie

Le jeudi 30 septembre 2010
Université Carleton, Senate Room,

Robertson Hall, 1125, promenade Colonel By
De 10 h à 12 h 

Mot d’ouverture
Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l’information du Canada

PRIORITÉ AU DISCOURS PRONONCÉ 

  • Monsieur le Doyen, merci de votre aimable présentation. C’est un plaisir pour moi de passer la journée ici à l’Université Carleton avec vous et ce groupe impressionnant de panélistes dans le cadre d’un événement, en fait, d’une semaine qui m’est très chère : la Semaine du droit à l’information. Les présentations d’aujourd’hui reflètent la façon dont l’accès à l’information peut rapprocher les gens de divers milieux et disciplines pour discuter de ce droit fondamental, ainsi que de la notion de transparence gouvernementale.

  • Cette année, nous célébrons la 5e Semaine du droit à l’information au Canada. Pour l’occasion, des Canadiens aux quatre coins du pays organisent des activités pour sensibiliser les citoyens au droit d’accéder à l’information gouvernementale. Partout dans le monde, des militants défendent la liberté d’information et font campagne en faveur de sociétés démocratiques plus transparentes qui favorisent la participation des citoyens.

  • Au mois de juin dernier, le Parlement m’a conféré l’honneur de servir ce pays en me désignant commissaire à l’information. Au cours de l’été, j’ai réfléchi aux défis et aux possibilités que le dynamisme de notre environnement présente pour l’accès à l’information. Je me sens à la fois humble et emballée face à ce que cela suppose pour mon rôle et celui du Commissariat. Je vous remercie de me donner l’occasion aujourd’hui de vous faire part de certaines de mes observations.

  • L’accès à l’information est un principe fondamental de nos démocraties. Les citoyens sont certainement en droit de savoir à quoi servent leurs impôts. L’accès à l’information gouvernementale favorise la saine gestion publique, la responsabilisation et la transparence des institutions publiques. Cette information éclaire les débats et permet de prendre des décisions et d’élaborer des politiques fondées sur les faits. Stanley Tromp, spécialiste international en matière d’accès à l’information, a démontré la valeur de la législation de l’Alberta au cours des dernières années. Sur son site Web, il résume 50 articles de nouvelles qui résultent de demandes d’accès et qui ont mis à jour d’importantes questions d’intérêt public.

  • Notre régime d’accès à l’information actuel est essentiellement traditionnel et réactif. On permet l’accès à l’information seulement si quelqu’un fait une demande d’accès formelle. Mais en journalisme tout comme en sciences, l’accès et le partage d’information en temps utile sont d’une importance cruciale. Toute information tardive est rapidement dépassée et perd de sa pertinence. Comme en affaires, une information différée signifie une occasion ratée. L’information est le moteur de notre économie mondiale axée sur le savoir. Comme les entrepreneurs, les universitaires et les scientifiques doivent pouvoir accéder rapidement à la vaste gamme des données du secteur public si nous voulons renforcer la position concurrentielle du Canada.

  • C’est ce qui motive l’objectif et les efforts renouvelés de mon Commissariat à veiller au respect de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en enquêtant sur les plaintes et les enjeux de façon prompte et efficace. Nous nous proposons ainsi de devenir un centre d’excellence et d’expertise sur toutes les questions d’accès et de transparence pour le bénéfice de tous les citoyens et organisations au Canada.

  • À ce propos, j’aimerais glisser un mot sur une décision déterminante de la Cour fédérale, annoncée la semaine dernière, concernant un litige qui opposait la Société Radio-Canada et le Commissariat à l’information. Depuis septembre 2007, la SRC est assujettie à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, sauf en ce qui a trait à certains renseignements se rapportant aux « activités de journalisme, de création et de programmation », aux termes de l’article 68.1. Au cours des deux années suivantes, la SRC a reçu de nombreuses demandes d’accès, dont plusieurs ont été refusées en vertu de l’article 68.1. Par conséquent, 16 plaintes ont été déposées au Commissariat et ont fait l’objet d’enquêtes au cours desquelles nous avons demandé à la SRC de fournir les documents visés par les demandes. La SRC a refusé et a entamé une poursuite judiciaire auprès de la Cour fédérale. Elle contestait l’autorité de la commissaire d’exiger des documents exclus selon l’article 68.1, ce qui a de fait suspendu nos enquêtes. La Cour nous a finalement donné gain de cause, confirmant l’importance de mon rôle comme premier niveau de vérification pour protéger les droits des plaignants et demandeurs d’accès.

  • Aujourd’hui, la technologie permet aux institutions publiques d’offrir bien plus qu’une « transparence réactive ». Et les jeunes citoyens que vous êtes ne veulent plus recevoir passivement l’information. Chaque jour, on entend parler de nouvelles initiatives qui visent à transformer les données en de nouvelles applications. Il peut s’agir d’un site Web qui vous indique comment votre député a voté sur une question donnée, ou encore d’une application iPhone qui vous informe des bouchons de circulation sur le Queensway. Le développement de la technologie et les communautés créatives pressent le gouvernement d’être plus ouvert à la communication. C’est tout à fait sensé sur le plan administratif. L’accès amélioré aux données publiques peut rapporter des bénéfices sociaux et économiques imprévus. Après tout, les données du gouvernement sont des biens publics qui peuvent servir directement aux citoyens, aux entreprises et aux communautés, y compris les universités et les milieux de la recherche.

  • Voilà pourquoi, le 1er septembre, j’ai invité mes homologues provinciaux et territoriaux à se joindre à moi pour adopter une résolution sur la transparence gouvernementale. Cette résolution incite tous les niveaux de gouvernement au Canada à s’engager à accroître la divulgation de l’information du domaine public. La résolution recommande, entre autres, qu’il y ait un dialogue permanent avec le public pour identifier les données de grande valeur en vue de les diffuser dans des formats ouverts, accessibles et réutilisables, gratuitement ou à peu de frais. Évidemment, cela doit être fait en tenant compte des questions de protection de la vie privée, de confidentialité, de sécurité et de droit d’auteur.

  • En 1983, le Canada était le huitième pays à adopter une loi prévoyant un droit d’accès à l’information gouvernementale. En 25 ans, à l’exception des modifications entraînées par la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité, la Loi sur l’accès n’a jamais été révisée pour tenir compte de l’évolution des normes tant au pays qu’à l’étranger. Elle propose toujours un mode de communication réactif et « sur papier », aux antipodes de l’ère électronique dans laquelle nous vivons aujourd’hui.

  • À la fin des années 1990, l’initiative du gouvernement en direct avait pour but de nous faire connaître dans le monde entier comme « le gouvernement le mieux branché avec ses citoyens ». Aujourd’hui, le Web 2.0 change notre manière de collaborer et de transmettre l’information. Mais seuls quelques ministères offrent un accès libre à certaines de leurs données, ou dialoguent directement avec les citoyens au moyen des médias sociaux.

  • Notre gouvernement doit s’efforcer de suivre la cadence de la technologie. Il doit retrouver son rôle de chef de file en modernisant notre Loi sur l’accès à l’information. L’un de mes principaux objectifs comme commissaire à l’information est de rétablir un régime exemplaire d’accès à l’information.

  • Les institutions publiques doivent également faire fond sur les technologies collaboratives et évoluer vers un mode de gouvernement participatif. Cela leur permettra de rester à l’écoute des attentes et des besoins des citoyens. Cela est également crucial pour pouvoir profiter des nouvelles idées et de l’énergie revigorante des membres de votre génération. J’en ai moi-même fait l’expérience lundi en animant la première séance de clavardage sur le site Web du Droit à l’information.

  • Votre génération jouit d’un accès sans précédent à la littérature et à la culture. Vous profitez d’une technologie des communications à la fine pointe. Je ne peux m’empêcher de penser que vous êtes la génération qui redéfinira, encore une fois, l’ère de l’information. Vous avez le droit d’exiger de pouvoir accéder facilement à une vaste quantité de données gouvernementales. Parce que l’information du gouvernement, c’est votre information. Elle vous appartient.

  • Mais ce droit entraîne son lot de responsabilités, notamment pour ceux et celles qui œuvrent dans les domaines du journalisme et des communications. Le phénomène Wikileaks de publication sur Internet, entre autres, a fait ressortir la nécessité accrue d’une responsabilisation de la liberté d’expression à l’ère électronique. Comme le distingué chercheur en gestion publique David Zussman l’affirme dans le numéro de septembre de Canadian Government Executive, la prolifération des nouveaux médias permet à d’autres joueurs d’offrir de nouvelles sources d’information et d’interprétation. Cela menace parfois la qualité de ce qui se retrouve dans les médias, en raison des pressions concurrentielles. Et cela a d’importantes répercussions sur la façon dont les Canadiens en viennent à perçoivent le monde qui les entoure. Ainsi, les gens de l’industrie doivent s’assurer que tous ceux qui tentent d’influencer l’opinion publique respectent certaines normes de qualité, y compris les blogueurs et les sources alternatives d’information.

  • Le rétablissement d’un régime exemplaire d’accès à l’information est une tâche collective. Comme commissaire à l’information, l’un de mes objectifs est de profiter de l’expérience et de l’expertise des parties intéressées – comme la vôtre –, et de mobiliser les gens pour créer une synergie. Hier, pour célébrer un tel engagement, j’ai fait le lancement du Prix Grace-Pépin au nom de mes homologues canadiens. Ce prix sera attribué annuellement dans le cadre de la Semaine du droit à l’information pour souligner les contributions exceptionnelles à la promotion et au soutien des principes de transparence, de responsabilisation et d’accès à l’information gouvernementale. L’un ou l’une d’entre vous aura peut-être l’honneur de recevoir ce prix dans les prochaines années… Pour l’instant, j’espère que vous partagerez ma vision et que vous vous joindrez à moi pour favoriser la transparence, l’innovation et la participation des citoyens.

  • En terminant, j’aimerais remercier chaleureusement le professeur Kazmierski d’avoir organisé cette conférence, et de défendre si ardemment le droit à la transparence gouvernementale.

  • J’ai bien hâte d’entendre vos opinions et vos idées, et je vous souhaite de bons débats!