Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Push or Pull: Liberating Government Information

Wednesday, September 29, 2010
Barney Danson Theatre, Canadian War Museum
10:00 a.m. − noon

Introductory Remarks
Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

CHECK AGAINST DELIVERY

  • Good morning. It is with great pleasure that I welcome you to this second day of seminal discussions organized as part of Canada’s fifth Right to Know Week. Welcome to everyone here in Ottawa, and to those of you who are joining us through the Web. I also wish to convey our most sincere appreciation to our panellists, who have generously accepted to share with us their time and expertise. They bring in an impressive body of knowledge and a variety of perspectives on open government.

  • As Canada’s Information Commissioner, I have been looking forward to this week’s events since last June when Parliament bestowed upon me this honour and privilege. During the last few months, I have reflected on the tasks at hand. In consultation with key stakeholders, I have defined how I and my Office can best serve the right to know of Canadians, including the right to a timely access to government information.

  • Candidly, I must say I feel humbled by the responsibility that this entails and the work that needs to be done. But I am also excited about the opportunities we have to make significant leaps forward through concerted collaborative action for the benefits of Canadians. Today’s discussions will allow me to share some of these thoughts with you.

  • As an example of successful collaboration, one only needs to look at the increasing number of activities that are taking place this week throughout the country. They range from seminars and public discussions to skills testing competitions and “Access Networking Socials.” They all serve to raise awareness of the public’s right of access to government information and to foster an understanding of the impact of technology. A first this year: provincial and territorial information commissioners and I have been engaging directly with Canadians through online chat sessions.

  • Our times−and technology, in particular−present us with an exciting opportunity to redefine the social contract between government and citizens. Every day we learn of new and exciting applications in every jurisdiction that are having a profound impact on how governments can more proactively deliver information. An increasing number of countries are embracing the concept of open government. The United States, the United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand have been at the forefront of this movement. These countries have recognized the potential of open government to stimulate participation, innovation and socioeconomic growth.

  • In 1983, Canada was the eighth country to adopt a law providing a right of access to government information. In over a quarter century, this legislation has never been revised to keep pace with more progressive standards at home and abroad. It still reflects a reactive and paper-based mode of disclosure that is at odds with today’s electronic environment.

  • In the late 1990s, the objective of government policy was to become “known around the world as the government most connected to its citizens” through the Government Online initiative. Today, Web 2.0 is changing the way organizations collaborate and share information internally. Some departments already provide open access to some of their data. On a more modest scale, some interact directly with the public using social media.

  • I am pleased to note that in August, at a presentation in Mexico, our federal Chief Information Officer enumerated a Government of Canada Open Data Five Point Plan. The plan refers to:

    • Building a public facing GC Data Portal;

    • Increasing access to federal data;

    • Exploring policy regarding open data and web practices;

    • Improving the GC Data Portal; and

    • Developing a long term open data strategy and milestones.

  • But our government must strive to keep pace with technology. It must regain its leadership role by modernizing our access legislation. It must also embrace collaborative technologies and transition to a participatory style of government. This is critical to remain responsive to citizens’ needs and expectations. Working to restore a leading access to information regime will be one of my primary goals as Information Commissioner.

  • On September 1st, I invited my provincial and territorial counterparts to join forces in adopting a resolution endorsing and promoting the principles of open government. The resolution urges governments to enhance transparency and accountability and to demonstrate their commitment to a culture of openness. Among other things, it calls on governments to consult with the public on an ongoing basis to identify high-value data sources to disclose in open, accessible and reusable formats, at little or no charge. This of course, with due consideration given to privacy, confidentiality, security and copyright issues.

  • While covering last week’s plenary session of the UN General Assembly, David Akin−a well known proponent of access to information−instantly tweeted a quote from Peru’s President Perez, stating that “Information is the fundamental energy moving the economy and political change.” For this very same reason, when information is delayed, then it loses its relevance and usefulness, and the source becomes less accountable.

  • This is the fundamental reason behind my Office’s renewed goal and efforts to ensure compliance with access legislation through efficient, fair and confidential investigations into complaints and issues. I am committed to providing the leadership, and mustering the level of professional excellence and expertise that will effectively contribute to the modernization of our access regime. This will serve to reverse the declining trends in timely government disclosure of information.

  • On this path, our success will be proportional to the engagement and combined synergies of all stakeholders. I am proud to launch this year, on behalf of all my colleague Commissioners across the country, an annual award named after both the late Information Commissioner John Grace and Monsieur Marcel Pépin, founding president of the Commission d’accès à l’information du Québec. The Grace-Pépin Award will be given annually as part of Right to Know Week. It will acknowledge exceptional contributions to promoting and supporting the principles of transparency, accountability and the right to access government information.

  • We are honoured to have among us today Ms. Ruth Grace, four of their children−Elizabeth Grace-Tremblay, Christopher Grace, John Grace and Ellen Grace-Meredith−as well as Mr. Grace’s sister, Diana Lebrun.

  • Mr. Pépin’s relatives are also honouring us with their presence: his wife, Mrs. Denise Amyot, their son Jean-François as well as his sister, Mrs. Ghislaine Pépin-Moranger.

  • Thank you for being here, as we commemorate these two great men who have significantly contributed to developing and promoting access to information in Canada. The award that we are launching today will allow future generations to celebrate their dedication and impassioned defence of one of our most fundamental democratic rights.

  • In closing, a word about the power of influence through collaboration. I read recently that great ideas−like our goals of openness and transparency−require passionate stewardship, stakeholder buy-in and solid execution to move mountains and inspire thousands. These are the conditions that I intend to nurture over my seven-year mandate to achieve greater transparency in the public interest.

  • For now, let me introduce you to our moderator for this morning’s panel, John Weigelt. As the National Technology Officer for Microsoft Canada, John is responsible for driving the company’s strategic policy and technology efforts. He is the lead public advocate for the use of technology by the private and public sectors.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Discours

Année


Libération de l’information : offre ou demande?

Le mercredi 29 septembre 2010
Musée canadien de la guerre, théâtre Barney-Danson
De 10 h à midi

Mot d’ouverture
Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l’information du Canada

PRIORITÉ AU DISCOURS PRONONCÉ

  • Bonjour. J’ai le grand plaisir de vous souhaiter la bienvenue en cette deuxième journée de discussions des plus stimulantes, organisée dans le cadre de la cinquième Semaine nationale du droit à l’information. Bienvenue à vous tous, ici, à Ottawa, ainsi qu’à ceux et celles qui sont des nôtres grâce au Web. Je souhaite également adresser mes remerciements les plus sincères aux membres de notre panel, qui ont accepté avec générosité de nous faire don de leur temps et de leur expertise. Ils nous feront profiter de leurs vastes connaissances et perspectives en matière de transparence gouvernementale.

  • J’attendais cette semaine avec beaucoup d’impatience depuis le mois de juin, quand le Parlement m’a accordé l’honneur et le privilège de servir le Canada comme commissaire à l’information. Au cours des derniers mois, j’ai réfléchi à la tâche qui m’incombe. En consultation avec les principaux intervenants, j’ai déterminé comment le Commissariat et moi-même pouvons servir au mieux le droit à l’information des Canadiens, y compris le droit d’accéder rapidement à l’information gouvernementale.

  • Je vous avoue que je me sens plutôt humble face à cette responsabilité et au travail à accomplir. Mais je suis également emballée par les possibilités qui se présentent à nous de faire avancer les choses en travaillant de concert au service des Canadiens. Les discussions d’aujourd’hui me permettront de vous faire part de mes réflexions à ce sujet.

  • Pour illustrer le pouvoir de la collaboration, il suffit de songer au nombre croissant d’activités qui se déroulent cette semaine partout au pays. Elles vont de séminaires et discussions publiques à des concours d’habiletés et « activités de réseautage » sur le thème de l’accès à l’information. Toutes ces activités sensibilisent au droit du public d’accéder à l’information gouvernementale et favorisent une meilleure compréhension des retombées technologiques. Pour la première fois cette année, les commissaires provinciaux et territoriaux à l’information et moi-même communiquons directement avec les Canadiens grâce à des séances de clavardage.

  • Notre époque et, notamment, la technologie nous offrent une occasion unique de redéfinir le contrat social qui lie le gouvernement et les citoyens. Tous les jours, ici et là, de nouvelles applications surgissent, laissant entrevoir comment les gouvernements peuvent communiquer l’information de façon plus proactive. Un nombre croissant de pays adoptent le concept de « gouvernement ouvert ». Les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni, l’Australie et la Nouvelle-Zélande sont à l’avant-garde de ce mouvement. Ces pays ont compris que la transparence gouvernementale peut stimuler la participation, l’innovation et la croissance socioéconomique.

  • En 1983, le Canada était le huitième pays à adopter une loi prévoyant un droit d’accès à l’information gouvernementale. Cela fait plus de 25 ans que cette législation n’a pas été revue pour tenir compte de l’évolution des normes tant au pays qu’à l’étranger. Elle reflète toujours un mode de divulgation réactif et sur papier, aux antipodes de l’environnement électronique d’aujourd’hui.

  • À la fin des années 1990, l’initiative Gouvernement en direct avait pour objectif de nous faire connaître dans le monde entier comme « le gouvernement le mieux branché avec ses citoyens ». Aujourd’hui, le Web 2.0 modifie les modalités de collaboration et de communication interne des organisations. Certains ministères accordent déjà le libre accès à certaines de leurs données. À petite échelle, certaines institutions interagissent directement avec le public grâce aux médias sociaux.

  • Je suis heureuse de signaler qu’au mois d’août, lors d’une présentation au Mexique, la dirigeante principale de l’information du gouvernement fédéral a énoncé un plan en cinq points en matière de données ouvertes. Ce plan vise notamment :

    • la création d’un portail de données gouvernementales à l’intention du public;

    • l’amélioration de l’accès aux données gouvernementales;

    • l’examen des modalités d’une politique concernant les données ouvertes et l’utilisation du Web;

    • l’amélioration de l’actuel portail de données du GC;

    • l’élaboration et l’ordonnacement d’une stratégie à long terme en matière de données ouvertes.

  • Notre gouvernement doit cependant mieux suivre le rythme de la technologie. Il doit reprendre son rôle de chef de file en modernisant notre législation sur l’accès à l’information. Il doit également faire fond sur les technologies collaboratives et évoluer vers un mode de gouvernement participatif. Cela lui permettra de demeurer réceptif aux besoins et aux attentes des citoyens. L’un de mes principaux objectifs comme commissaire à l’information vise la restauration d’un régime exemplaire d’accès à l’information.

  • Le 1er septembre, j’ai invité mes homologues provinciaux et territoriaux à se joindre à moi en approuvant une résolution pour appuyer et promouvoir les principes de la transparence gouvernementale. Dans cette résolution, nous demandons instamment aux gouvernements d’améliorer la transparence et la responsabilisation tout en démontrant un engagement en faveur de l’ouverture. Nous incitons les gouvernements à consulter le public de façon continue afin de repérer les sources de données de grande valeur pour ensuite les diffuser dans des formats ouverts, accessibles et réutilisables, gratuitement ou à peu de frais. La diffusion devra naturellement tenir compte des nécessités concernant la protection de la vie privée, la confidentialité, la sécurité et le droit d’auteur.

  • La semaine dernière, pendant qu’il couvrait la session plénière de l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies, David Akin − promoteur bien connu de l’accès à l’information – a transmis en temps réel, dans un microbillet, la citation suivante du président du Pérou, monsieur Perez, que je traduis librement : « L’information est l’énergie fondamentale qui anime le changement économique et politique. » Voilà précisément la raison pour laquelle lorsqu’elle est retardée, l’information perd sa pertinence et son utilité, et sa source devient moins responsable.

  • C’est ce qui a motivé le Commissariat à renouveller son objectif et ses efforts pour veiller au respect de la loi grâce à la tenue d’enquêtes efficaces, justes et confidentielles sur les plaintes et les entraves à l’accès. Je m’engage personnellement à jouer un rôle moteur et à encourager l’excellence professionnelle et l’expertise qui contribueront à moderniser efficacement notre régime d’accès à l’information. C’est ainsi que nous renverserons la tendance au ralentissement de la divulgation de l’information gouvernementale.

  • Dans ce domaine, nos réussites seront proportionnelles à la mobilisation et aux synergies combinées de tous les intervenants. C’est dans cet esprit que je suis fière d’instituer cette année, au nom de mes collègues commissaires de tout le pays, un prix annuel qui porte le nom des regrettés commissaire à l’information John Grace et Marcel Pépin, président et fondateur de la Commission d’accès à l’information du Québec. Le prix Grace-Pépin sera décerné chaque année pendant la Semaine du droit à l’information. Il permettra de souligner les contributions exceptionnelles à la promotion et au soutien des principes de transparence, de responsabilisation et de droit d’accès à l’information gouvernementale.

  • Nous sommes très honorés de compter parmi nous aujourd’hui madame Ruth Grace et quatre de leurs enfants − Elizabeth Grace-Tremblay, Christopher Grace, John Grace et Ellen Grace-Meredith – ainsi que la sœur de monsieur Grace, madame Diana Lebrun.

  • Nous avons le double honneur de pouvoir saluer également madame Denise Amyot, l’épouse de monsieur Pépin, leur fils Jean-François ainsi que la soeur de monsieur Pépin, madame Ghislaine Pépin-Moranger.

  • Merci d’être des nôtres aujourd’hui pour rendre hommage à ces deux grandes personnalités. Ils ont contribué de façon significative au développement et à la promotion de l’accès à l’information au Canada. Le prix que nous instituons aujourd’hui assurera la postérité de leur dévouement et de leur ardeur à défendre d’un de nos droits démocratiques les plus fondamentaux.

  • En terminant, j’aimerais ajouter quelques mots concernant le pouvoir de l’influence par la collaboration. J’ai lu récemment que les idées ambitieuses – comme notre but de transparence – exigent une gestion passionnée, le ralliement des intervenants et une application rigoureuse pour pouvoir déplacer des montagnes et inspirer par milliers. Ce sont ces conditions que j’ai l’intention de créer pendant mon mandat de sept ans, afin d’améliorer la transparence dans l’intérêt du public.

  • Permettez-moi maintenant de vous présenter le facilitateur du panel de ce matin, John Weigelt. Agent national de la technologie de Microsoft Canada, John est chargé d’orienter la politique stratégique de l’entreprise et ses efforts dans le domaine de la technologie. John est également le principal promoteur de l’utilisation de la technologie par les secteurs privé et public.