NEWS RELEASE

The federal Access to Information Act turns 30!

Ottawa , July 6, 2012 –The Access to Information Act received Royal Assent 30 years ago, on July 7, 1982. At that time, Canada was one of the few nations to open its doors to transparency in government.

In the early years of the Access to Information Act, the Supreme Court of Canada recognized that the fundamental purpose of the Act is to facilitate democracy, by allowing citizens to participate meaningfully in the democratic process and by holding the government to account. In the 30 years since, Canadians have exercised these rights.  

However, while Canada was a trailblazer in government transparency three decades ago, today, the Access to Information Act would benefit from an assessment with other, more progressive, freedom of information laws around the World.

There have been many attempts to reform the Access to Information Act. “Our investigations have demonstrated a number of deficiencies in the law which hampers the development of a truly open government,” said Suzanne Legault, Information Commissioner of Canada.

In the coming months, the Office of the Information Commissioner will engage in a dialogue with the public and stakeholders on the modernization of the Access to Information Act.  This will launch a detailed review by the Commissioner of the Act’s provisions, including a comparative analysis of other jurisdictions, with a view to making recommendations to Parliament on possible improvements to the Act.

Canadians expect to benefit from access rights that are equivalent or superior to those in other jurisdictions. “A strong freedom of information law is a necessary step towards sustainable transparency and accountability,” said the Information Commissioner.

-30-

Media requests:

For any media requests, please contact:

Josée Villeneuve
Director of Public Affairs
Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada
Tel: (613) 947-2223
Email:josee.villeneuve@oic-ci.gc.ca

COMMUNIQUÉ

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information fédérale célèbre son 30e anniversaire!

Ottawa, le 6 juillet 2012 – La Loi sur l’accès à l’information a reçu la sanction royale il y a trente ans, soit le 7 juillet 1982. À cette époque, le Canada était l’un des rares pays à ouvrir ses portes à la transparence au sein du gouvernement.

Au cours des premières années de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, la Cour suprême du Canada a reconnu que l’objectif fondamental de la Loi était de faciliter la démocratie en permettant aux citoyens de participer de façon significative au processus démocratique et en tenant le gouvernement responsable de ses décisions. Dans les 30 années qui ont suivi, les Canadiennes et les Canadiens ont exercé ces droits.

Néanmoins, alors que le Canada faisait office de pionnier il y a trois décennies, il profiterait aujourd’hui d’une évaluation eu égard à d’autres lois sur l’accès à l’information plus avancées.

On compte plusieurs tentatives visant à réformer la Loi sur l’accès à l’information de façon approfondie. « Nos enquêtes ont démontré que la loi comporte un certain nombre de lacunes qui entravent la mise en place d’un gouvernement véritablement ouvert », a déclaré Suzanne Legault, commissaire à l’information du Canada.

Au cours des prochains mois, le Commissariat à l’information engagera un dialogue avec le public et les intervenants au sujet de la modernisation de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cette consultation servira de tremplin à un examen détaillé par la commissaire des dispositions de la Loi, notamment par une comparaison avec d’autres juridictions, en vue de faire des recommandations au Parlement sur des améliorations possibles à la Loi.

Les Canadiens s’attendent à avoir des droits d’accès équivalents ou supérieurs à ceux des autres juridictions. « Une loi solide en matière d’accès à l’information est une étape nécessaire vers une transparence durable et une responsabilité accrue », a déclaré la commissaire à l’information.

-30-

Demandes des médias :

Francine Charbonneau
Conseillère principale en communications
Commissariat à l’information du Canada
613-947-2311