Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Federal Court judgement on intelligence files of Thomas C. Douglas

Ottawa , August 11, 2011 - The Federal Court today delivered its judgement in a dispute over the disclosure of intelligence files relating to Thomas C. Douglas, former premier of Saskatchewan, founder of Canada's social democratic movement and the father of Medicare.

The Court's decision is of great interest and importance. It provides useful guidance to my Office and to all government institutions on the sound application of the national security exemption under the Access to Information Act.

Information Commissioner Suzanne Legault said: "This decision will no doubt, lead to the release of more information to Canadians who have a right to know about their national history, all the while, ensuring the safety of our country".

For a copy of the Federal Court decision, please click here.

- 30 -

For media enquiries:

Thérèse Boisclair
Director of Communications and Parliamentary Affairs
Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada
Tél.: 613-943-4368
therese.boisclair@oic-ci.gc.ca

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Communiqués de presse

Année


La décision de la Cour fédérale concernant les renseignements sur Thomas C. Douglas

Ottawa, le 11 août 2011 - Aujourd'hui, la Cour fédérale a rendu sa décision dans le litige entourant ​​la divulgation des renseignements sur Thomas C. Douglas, ancien premier ministre de la Saskatchewan, fondateur du mouvement social-démocrate canadien et père de l'assurance-santé.

La décision de la Cour est digne d'intérêt et revêt beaucoup d'importance. Elle fournit des indications utiles tant au Commissariat qu'à toutes les institutions gouvernementales sur l'application et l'interprétation adéquate de l'exception sur la sécurité de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

La commissaire à l'information du Canada, Suzanne Legault, a déclaré : « Cette décision conduira sans aucun doute à la communication de plus d'information aux Canadiens, qui ont le droit de connaitre leur histoire nationale, et ce, tout en assurant la sécurité de notre pays ».

Pour obtenir une copie de la décision de la Cour fédérale, veuillez cliquer ici.

- 30 -

Pour les demandes de renseignements de la part des médias, veuillez joindre :

Thérèse Boisclair
Directrice des communications et affaires parlementaires
Commissariat à l'information du Canada
Tél. : 613-943-4368
therese.boisclair@oic-ci.gc.ca