Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Information Commissioner works to improve timely access and full disclosure: annual report

Ottawa, June 16, 2011 -Information Commissioner of Canada, Suzanne Legault's first annual report, tabled in Parliament today, highlights her continuous efforts to reverse declining trends in timeliness and disclosure across the access to information regime in federal government institutions.

"When I became Commissioner last June, I was determined to make a difference in the way and the extent to which Canadians have access to government information," said Ms. Legault. "I have used all the powers and tools at my disposal to effectively investigate and resolve complaints about how federal institutions handle requests under the Access to Information Act (the Act)," she added.

These powers and tools include issuing subpoenas for records, reporting the results of investigations directly to the heads of institutions, conducting examinations under oath-notably in cases of alleged interference with the access to information process-and assessing the performance of select institutions new to the Act.

According to the report, the Office of the Information Commissioner continued to improve its own performance by closing more than 2,000 complaint files for the second consecutive year. This success results from increased process efficiencies, agile case management and collaboration with institutions

The report also summarizes noteworthy investigations and important legal cases that have raised issues of significance for the interpretation of the Act and access to information in general.

-30-

The report, Paving the access ramp to transparency: Annual report 2010-2011, is available on the OIC website at: www.oic-ci.gc.ca/eng/rp-pr_ar-ra.aspx.

For media enquiries, please contact:

Thérèse Boisclair
Director of Communications and Parliamentary Affairs
613-943-4368

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Communiqués de presse

Année


La commissaire à l'information travaille à améliorer l'accès rapide et la divulgation complète de l'information : rapport annuel

Ottawa, le 16 juin 2011 - Le premier rapport annuel de la commissaire à l'information du Canada, Suzanne Legault, déposé au Parlement aujourd'hui, souligne ses efforts continus visant à renverser les tendances à la baisse en matière de délais et de divulgation dans le régime d'accès à l'information des institutions gouvernementales fédérales.

« Lorsque je suis devenue commissaire en juin dernier, j'avais la ferme intention d'influencer les moyens et la portée par lesquels les Canadiens ont accès à l'information gouvernementale. J'ai utilisé tous les pouvoirs et les outils à ma disposition pour enquêter efficacement et résoudre les plaintes concernant la façon dont les institutions traitent les demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (la Loi) », a indiqué Mme Legault.

Ces pouvoirs et outils comprennent l'assignation à produire des documents, la présentation des conclusions de l'enquête directement aux responsables des institutions, la tenue d'audiences sous serment - notamment pour les cas d'allégation d'ingérence dans le processus d'accès à l'information - et l'évaluation du rendement de certaines institutions qui sont assujetties à la Loi depuis peu.

Selon le rapport, le Commissariat à l'information a continué d'améliorer son rendement en fermant plus de 2 000 dossiers de plainte pour une deuxième année consécutive. Cette réussite est attribuable à l'efficacité accrue des processus, à une gestion agile des dossiers et à la collaboration avec les institutions.

Le rapport résume également des enquêtes dignes de mention et des affaires judicaires importantes, qui ont soulevé des questions d'intérêt en ce qui concerne l'interprétation de la Loi et l'accès à l'information en général.

-30-

Vous pouvez consulter le rapport, intitulé La voie d'accès à une plus grande transparence : rapport annuel 2010‑2011, sur le site Web du Commissariat à l'adresse suivante : www.oic-ci.gc.ca/fra/rp-pr_ar-ra.aspx.

Pour les demandes de renseignements de la part des médias, veuillez joindre :

Thérèse Boisclair
Directrice de la Direction des communications et des affaires parlementaires
613-943-4368