Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Information Commissioner reports limited gains for transparency as a result of the Federal Accountability Act

Ottawa, March 10, 2011 - The Information Commissioner of Canada, Suzanne Legault, today reported that new exemptions and exclusions to access to information legislation ushered in by the Federal Accountability Act (Fed AA) have resulted in limited gains for overall transparency in Canada's federal institutions. While the FedAA made more institutions subject the Access to Information Act, the accompanying limitations introduced a higher level of complexity that ultimately fetter Canadians' access rights.

"The Access to Information Act is a law of general application that must rest on strong foundations to be effective," said Legault. "This means broad coverage, narrow limitations and a strong compliance model to ensure timely, accurate and complete responses to access requests." She added that "the FedAA introduced a piecemeal approach to amending the Access to Information Act rather than following guiding principles that respect its basic tenets and a modern access to information regime".

The Commissioner's comments were made following the tabling of the special report in Parliament today, entitled, "Open Outlook, Open Access". The special report studied the access to information performance of eight institutions that became subject to the Act as a result of the Federal Accountability Act. Five Crown corporations and three Agents of Parliament-including her own office (assessed by an independent third party)-were the subjects of this year's report.

The Commissioner reported that six of the eight institutions studied had a strong performance, which the report attributes to an open outlook on transparency at the highest levels of leadership, which in turn establishes the right tools, resources and attitudes towards access to information throughout the institution. Her office, however, assessed Canada Post Corporation with a red alert, and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation with an F grade. Significant internal delays and drawn-out review and approval processes resulted in average response times of 190 days and 158 days, respectively. The access to information law prescribes 30 days for federal institutions subject to the Act to respond to requests.

―30―

For media enquiries, please contact :

Thérèse Boisclair
613-943-4368

A full copy of the report is available here

2009-2010 Ratings by institution

Institution

Letter

grade

Overall

performance rating

National Arts Centre Corporation

A

Outstanding

Office of the Auditor General

A

Outstanding

Office of the Information Commissioner*

A

Outstanding

Office of the Privacy Commissioner

A

Outstanding

Atomic Energy Canada Limited

B+

Above average

VIA Rail Canada Inc.

B

Above average

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation

F

Unsatisfactory

Canada Post Corporation

Off chart

Red alert

*The performance of the Office of the Information Commissioner was assessed by the Information Commissioner ad hoc.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Communiqués de presse

Année


La commissaire à l'information rapporte que la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité a donné lieu à des gains limités en matière de transparence

Ottawa, le 10 mars 2011 -La commissaire à l'information du Canada, Suzanne Legault, annonçait aujourd'hui que les nouvelles exceptions et exclusions touchant la législation sur l'accès à l'information découlant de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité ont donné lieu à des gains limités en matière de transparence globale dans les institutions fédérales du Canada. Bien que la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité fasse en sorte que davantage d'institutions soient assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, les limites qu'elle établit présentent un degré de complexité qui entrave, ultimement, les droits d'accès des Canadiens.

« La Loi sur l'accès à l'information est une loi d'application générale qui doit s'appuyer sur de solides fondations pour être efficace », a déclaré Mme Legault. « Cela signifie un champ d'application large, des limitations étroites et un solide modèle de conformité pour garantir que les demandes d'accès soient suivies de réponses rapides, exactes et complètes. » Elle a ajouté que « la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité a instauré une approche fragmentée de la modification de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information au lieu d'appliquer des principes directeurs respectant ses fondements et un accès moderne à un régime d'accès à l'information ».

La commissaire a fait ces observations après avoir déposé, aujourd'hui, un rapport spécial au Parlement intitulé « Le libre accès : une question d'ouverture ». Ce rapport examinait le rendement en matière d'accès à l'information de huit institutions ayant été assujetties à la Loi suite de l'adoption de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité. Cinq sociétés d'État et trois agents du Parlement - y compris son propre Commissariat (évalué par un tiers indépendant) - ont fait l'objet du rapport de cette année.

La commissaire a signalé que six des huit institutions examinées démontraient un solide rendement, que le rapport attribue à une perspective favorable à la transparence au niveau de la haute direction, qui se ressent dans l'ensemble de l'institution par l'établissement des bons outils, l'affectation des ressources nécessaires et l'adoption d'une attitude positive à l'égard de l'accès à l'information. Toutefois, le Commissariat a donné l'alerte rouge à la Société canadienne des postes et la note F à la Société Radio‑Canada. D'importants délais internes, de même que de longs processus d'examen et d'approbation ont donné lieu à des temps de traitement moyen des demandes de 190 jours et de 158 jours, respectivement. La Loi sur l'accès à l'information accorde 30 jours aux institutions fédérales assujetties à la Loi pour répondre aux demandes.

―30―

Pour toute demande des médias, prière de communiquer avec :

Thérèse Boisclair
613‑943‑4368

Un exemplaire complet du rapport est disponible ici

Rendement des institutions en 2009‑2010

Institution

Note

Rendement global

Société du Centre national des Arts

A

Exceptionnel

Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada

A

Exceptionnel

Commissariat à l'information du Canada*

A

Exceptionnel

Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada

A

Exceptionnel

Énergie atomique du Canada limitée

B+

Supérieur à la moyenne

VIA Rail Canada Inc.

B

Supérieur à la moyenne

Société Radio‑Canada

F

Insatisfaisant

Société canadienne des postes

Hors norme

Alerte rouge

*Le rendement du Commissariat à l'information a été évalué par le commissaire à l'information ad hoc.