Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

CANADA ENDORSES AN INTERNATIONAL RESOLUTION ON ACCESS TO INFORMATION

OTTAWA, October 5, 2011 – Information Commissioners of 23 countries, including Canada, today endorsed in principle a resolution that calls on governments to enshrine the right to information in national laws and to put in place effective appeal mechanisms.  The resolution was endorsed at the International Conference of Information Commissioners, which is taking place in Ottawa this week. 

The resolution was developed by Germany ’s Federal Commissioner of Data Protection and Freedom of Information, Berlin ’s Data Protection and Information Commissioner, and the Information Commissioner for Slovenia .

“I fully support this resolution and applaude my colleagues from Germany, Berlin and Slovenia for taking the lead in drafting it,” said Suzanne Legault, Information Commissioner of Canada.  “This type of collaboration among Information Commissioners is key to advancing transparency as a pillar of democracy here and around the world.”

The resolution states that government transparency makes it possible for citizens to understand and participate in the decision-making processes of their governments and is a deterrent to corruption.  It urges all countries to develop strong freedom of information laws that truly enable citizens to exercise their right to know.  The resolution also calls on governments to make greater use of the Internet to make information available in a proactive way.

Canada’s Information Commissioner is hosting this week’s International Conference of Information Commissioners in collaboration with the Canadian Bar Association.

- 30 –

Attachments:

Resolution

List of countries

Media requests:

Thérèse Boisclair
Director Strategic Communications and Parliamentary Affairs
613-943-4368

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Communiqués de presse


LE CANADA APPROUVE UNE RÉSOLUTION CONCERNANT L’ACCÈS À L’INFORMATION

OTTAWA, le 5 octobre 2011 – Aujourd’hui, les commissaires à l'information de 23 pays, dont le Canada, ont approuvé en principe une résolution qui invite les gouvernements enchâsser le droit à l’information dans les lois nationales et à mettre en place des mécanismes de recours efficaces. La résolution a été approuvée à la Conférence internationale des commissaires à l'information, qui se déroule cettte semaine à Ottawa.

La résolution a été élaborée par le Commissaire fédéral allemand à la protection des données et  au droit à l'information, le Commissaire à la protection des données et à l'information de Berlin, et la Commissaire à l'information de la Slovénie.

« J’appuie sans réserve cette résolution et je félicite mes collègues de l'Allemagne, de Berlin et de la Slovanie d’avoir pris l’initiative de la rédiger, a déclaré Suzanne Legault, la commissaire à l'information du Canada. Une telle collaboration entre les commissaires à l'information est essentielle pour faire avancer la  transparence comme pilier de la démocratie dans notre pays et partout ailleurs dans le monde. »

Selon les termes de la résolution, la transparence du gouvernement permet aux citoyens de comprendre les processus de prise de décisions de leur gouvernement et d’y participer, et elle constitue un moyen de dissuasion contre la corruption. La résolution exhorte tous les pays à élaborer une solide législation sur l’accès à l’information qui permet vraiment aux citoyens d'exercer leur droit de savoir.  Elle invite aussi les gouvernements à utiliser davantage Internet pour divulguer  l'information de manière proactive.

La Commissaire à l'information du Canada et l'Association du Barreau canadien sont les hôtes de la Conférence internationale des commissaires à l'information de cette semaine.

- 30 –

Pièces jointes :

Résolution

Liste des pays signataires

Demandes des médias :

Thérèse Boisclair
Directrice, Communications stratégiques et affaires parlementaires
613-943-4368