Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The New Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award

Ottawa, September 29, 2010 — Information Commissioner of Canada, Suzanne Legault, in collaboration with her provincial and territorial counterparts, announced today the creation of the Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award as part of Right to Know Week events, of which this year’s theme is “Openness in the Public Interest.”.

The award was named in honour of John Grace, former Information Commissioner of Canada, and Marcel Pépin, president and founder of the Commission d'accès à l'information du Québec. It will recognize the efforts of an individual, group or organization that contributes in a significant way to promoting and supporting the principles of transparency, accountability and the public’s right to access information held by public institutions. The award will be presented for the first time in 2011 during national Right to Know Week, following a candidate assessment conducted by a selection committee comprising federal, provincial and territorial experts.

For more information about the Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award or the events taking place in the various regions during Right to Know Week, visit the official Right to Know Web site at www.righttoknow.ca.

-30-

Media representatives are asked to contact:

Thérèse Boisclair
Director of Communications
613-943-4368


Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award

Recognizing those who contribute to the promotion of access to information principles

Introduced by the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada in collaboration with the its provincial and territorial counterparts, the Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award is presented in memory of John Grace (1927-2009) and Marcel Pépin (1942-1999), two public figures who contributed significantly to the development and promotion of access to information principles in Canada.

A former Information Commissioner of Canada, Mr. Grace was a journalist, chief editor and vice‑president of the Ottawa Journal. When the newspaper closed, he was appointed as the Commissioner of the Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission. He served as the Privacy Commissioner of Canada before being named the Information Commissioner of Canada. Independent minded and full of integrity, Mr. Grace always stood up for his beliefs in matters concerning privacy and government transparency and accountability.

President and founder of the Commission d'accès à l'information du Québec, Mr. Pépin also started out as a journalist at Le Droit (Gatineau-Ottawa), La Presse (Montreal) and Le Soleil (Québec). He was part of the Paré Commission, which prompted the National Assembly to adopt the Act respecting Access to documents held by public bodies and the Protection of personal information. Mr. Pépin subsequently helped create the Commission d'accès à l'information du Québec, of which he became president. After his first term, he returned to journalism, taking over radio information services and becoming vice-president of the French Network and then director of the CBC French Network. A passionate policy maker, he was a strong advocate of freedom of information as the foundation of democracy.

Award recipients should demonstrate an exceptional contribution to the promotion and support of the principles of transparency, accountability and the public’s right to access information held by public institutions. In this way, the Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award will continue the efforts of these two great men to promote the right to know.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Communiqués de presse

Année


Communiqué de presse

Le nouveau Prix Grace-Pépin de l’accès à l’information

Ottawa, le 29 septembre 2010 – Suzanne Legault, la commissaire à l’information du Canada, en collaboration avec ses homologues des provinces et territoires, a annoncé aujourd’hui la création du « Prix Grace-Pépin de l’accès à l’information », dans le cadre des activités de la Semaine du droit à l’information, qui met l’accent, cette année, sur La transparence dans l’intérêt public.

Ce prix a été nommé en mémoire de M. John Grace, ancien commissaire à l’information du Canada, et de M. Marcel Pépin, président-fondateur de la Commission d'accès à l'information du Québec. Il soulignera les activités d‘un individu, d’un groupe ou d’un organisme ayant grandement contribué à promouvoir et à appuyer les principes de transparence, de reddition des comptes et du droit du public à accéder à l’information détenue par les institutions publiques. Le prix sera remis pour la première fois lors de la Semaine nationale du droit à l’information 2011, suivant une évaluation de candidatures effectuée par un comité de sélection composé d’experts fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le « Prix Grace-Pépin de l’accès à l’information » ou concernant les événements qui se déroulent lors de la Semaine du droit à l’information dans les différentes régions du Canada, consultez le site officiel du droit à l’information : www.droitalinformation.ca.

-30-

Les médias sont priés d’adresser leurs demandes d’information à :

Thérèse Boisclair
Directrice des Communications
613-943-4368


Le Prix Grace-Pépin de l’accès à l’information

Hommage à ceux et celles qui font la promotion des principes d’accès à l’information  

Institué par le Commissariat à l’information du Canada, en collaboration avec ses homologues des provinces et territoires, le « Prix Grace-Pépin de l’accès à l’information » est décerné en mémoire de M. John Grace (1927-2009) et de M. Marcel Pépin (1942-1999). Ces deux personnalités publiques ont contribué de façon significative au développement et à la promotion des principes d’accès à l’information au Canada.

Ancien commissaire à l’information du Canada, M. Grace a été journaliste, rédacteur en chef et vice-président du Ottawa Journal. À la fermeture du journal, il s’est vu confier la présidence du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes. Il a ensuite dirigé le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada, avant d’être nommé à la tête du Commissariat à l’information du Canada. Intègre et indépendant d’esprit, il a toujours su défendre ses convictions, que ce soit en matière de protection de la vie privée ou de transparence et de responsabilité gouvernementales.   

Président-fondateur de la Commission d'accès à l'information du Québec, M. Pépin a également amorcé sa carrière comme journaliste pour les journaux Le Droit (Gatineau-Ottawa), La Presse (Montréal) et Le Soleil (Québec). Il a participé à la Commission Paré, qui a incité l'Assemblée nationale du Québec à adopter la Loi sur l'accès aux documents des organismes publics et sur la protection des renseignements personnels. M. Pépin a ensuite collaboré à la création de la Commission d'accès à l'information du Québec, dont il est devenu président. Au terme de son premier mandat, il est revenu au milieu journalistique en se voyant confier la responsabilité des services d’information radio, puis la vice-présidence de la radio française et, ensuite, la direction du réseau français de la Société Radio-Canada. Passionné de politique, il a été un ardent défenseur de la liberté d’information comme fondement de la démocratie. 

Les lauréats et lauréates devront démontrer une contribution exceptionnelle à la promotion et au soutien des principes de transparence, de reddition des comptes et du droit du public à accéder à l’information détenue par les institutions publiques. Le « Prix Grace-Pépin de l’accès à l’information » assurera ainsi la postérité des efforts que ces deux grands hommes ont déployés en faveur du droit à l’information.