Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Information Commissioner of Canada pleased with ETHI Committee recommendations

Ottawa, June 19, 2009 – The Information Commissioner of Canada, Robert Marleau, sincerely thanks the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics for its continuous support and collaboration towards Access to Information Act (ATIA) reform.

The Committee announced its recommendations in a report, tabled yesterday in Parliament, entitled The Access to Information Act: First Steps Towards Renewal.

“I am grateful that the Committee studied seriously my 12 recommendations and consulted with academics and practitioners,” said Mr. Marleau. “Although the recommendations are quick fixes, they will, without any doubt, address the most pressing matters,” he added.

 Mr. Marleau remains adamant that to keep moving forward, strong, concerted leadership is required from all quarters and all levels to change a transparency adverse culture. As he stated in his 2008-2009 Annual Report, Parliamentarians remain critical players, as they continue to press the government for legislative reform.

 For a copy of the Committee’s full report, including Information Commissioner Robert Marleau’s 12 recommendations, please visit: http://www2.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?Language=E&Mode=1&Parl=40&Ses=2&DocId=3999593&File=0

 For media enquiries, please contact:

Thérèse Boisclair

 613-943-4368

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Communiqués de presse

Année


Le commissaire à l’information du Canada est satisfait des recommandations du Comité ETHI

Ottawa, le 19 juin 2009 – Le commissaire à l’information du Canada, Robert Marleau, remercie sincèrement le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique (ETHI) pour son appui continu et sa collaboration en vue de la réforme de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Le Comité a annoncé ses recommandations dans un rapport présenté hier au Parlement sous le titre La loi sur l’accès à l’information : premiers pas vers un renouvellement.

« Je désire exprimer ma gratitude au Comité pour avoir minutieusement examiné nos 12 recommandations en collaboration avec des experts et professionnels de l’accès à l’information », a déclaré M. Marleau. « Même s’il s’agit de solutions toutes simples, ces recommandations permettront assurément de remédier aux problèmes les plus urgents. »

Le commissaire a réitéré sa conviction selon laquelle, pour aller de l’avant, tous les intéressés, à tous les niveaux, doivent faire preuve d’un leadership fort et concerté pour pouvoir changer une culture opposée à la transparence. Comme il l’a indiqué dans son rapport annuel de 2008-2009, les parlementaires jouent un rôle des plus crucial en incitant le gouvernement à procéder à une réforme législative.