Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Information Commissioner provides his views to the Supreme Court of Canada on a matter of constitutional importance.

Ottawa, October 6, 2008 – TheInformation Commissioner of Canada, Robert Marleau, filed his memorandum of arguments to the Supreme Court of Canada in a case dealing with freedom of expression under the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, the public interest in disclosure and the Ontario government refusal to disclose records requested under access to information legislation.

The case involves the Ontario Ministry of Public Safety and Security, the Attorney General of Ontario and the Criminal Lawyers’ Association (CLA). The Ministry takes the position that the Ontario Court of Appeal was wrong in concluding that part of the Ontario Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (Ontario Act) infringes on freedom of expression. On the other hand, the CLAasserts that the Court of Appeal was correct in deciding that the Ontario Act has laid down a rule of secrecy that unjustifiably infringes on its guaranteed freedom of expression.

The Information Commissioner stated that: "This case raises issues that I deem crucial to the proper functioning of this quasi-constitutional access to information scheme because the Supreme Court will be called upon to examine the interplay between constitutional values provided by the Charter of Rights and Freedoms and the statutory right of access to information".

The decision to be made by the Supreme Court of Canada will have an impact on the importance to be given to the public interest as a factor to be taken into consideration in each case when records are requested under an Access to Information legislation and where a government authority is clearly provided with a discretionary power to exempt from disclosure some information based on a statutory exemption.

The Information Commissioner will argue that in the present case, the Ministry’s exercise of discretion has not been scrutinized at any stage. The Information Commissioner submits that the Ministry was required to, but failed to consider, relevant factors including the public interest in disclosure.

The Information Commissioner will suggest that it is appropriate to remit the matter to the Ministry, for the discretion to be exercised once again taking into consideration the following factors:

  • The principle that government information should be available to the public;
  • Charter values, particularly those embodied in freedom of expression;
  • The underlying constitutional principle of democracy;
  • The public interest in disclosure of the requested record;
  • The purpose of the exemption and the extent to which a decision to apply the exemption to refuse disclosure of the record would meet that purpose.

In the Information Commissioner’s view, recognizing the public interest in the disclosure of government held information is necessary to achieve a culture of openness and transparency in government to the benefit of all Canadians.

Case Outline: Background Information

On July 31, 2008, the Information Commissioner of Canada was granted leave to intervene in a case before the Supreme Court of Canada involving the constitutionality of a section of Ontario's freedom of information legislation (Ministry of Public Safety and Security et al. v. Criminal Lawyers' Association, S-32172).

In a criminal trial for a 1983 murder, an Ontario court stayed the proceedings against two accused on Charter grounds, finding that the rights of the accused had been violated as a result of "abusive conduct by state officials" involving deliberate non-recording of evidence and non-disclosure of information.

Following this decision, the Ontario Provincial Police (OPP) was asked to investigate the conduct of the police force involved and the prosecution. It reported that there was no evidence of attempts to obstruct justice but it did not release its report.

The Criminal Lawyers' Association submitted a request under Ontario's freedom of information legislation to the Ministry of Public Safety and Security seeking records concerning the OPP investigation.

The Ministry refused to disclose documents, including the police report, on the basis of three exemptions under the Act.

The issue in the case is whether the public interest override (section 23), which applies only to some exemptions, complies with the guarantee of freedom of expression in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Two judges of the Ontario Court of Appeal found that "s. 23 of the Act infringes s. 2(b) of the Charter by failing to extend the public interest override to the law enforcement and solicitor-client privilege exemptions ... and that this infringement cannot be justified under s. 1 of the Charter." A third judge dissented, finding no Charter violation. The Ministry was granted leave to appeal the decision to the Supreme Court of Canada.

  1. On September 25, 2008, the Information Commissioner filed his Memorandum of fact and law.
  2. The Information Commissioner takes the position that it is not necessary to respond to the stated constitutional questions in this case. On a proper construction of the statutory regime, and a full consideration of the relevant s. 2(b) interests, the constitutional questions simply do not arise.
  3. The exemptions at issue are discretionary, and the exercise of this statutory power is subject to the well-established rule [Roncarelli v. Duplessis, [1959] S.C.R. 121] that official actions must flow from statutory authority clearly granted and properly exercised.
  4. In the case at bar, the Ministry’s exercise of discretion has not been scrutinized at any stage and the Information Commissioner submits that the Ministry was required to but failed to consider relevant factors including the public interest in disclosure. In the circumstances, it is appropriate to remit the matter to the Ministry, for the discretion to be exercised anew taking into consideration the following factors:
    1. The principle that government information should be available to the public;
    2. Charter values, particularly those embodied in freedom of expression;
    3. The underlying constitutional principle of democracy;
    4. The public interest in disclosure of the requested record;
    5. The purpose of the exemption and the extent to which a decision to apply the exemption to refuse disclosure of the record would meet that purpose.
  5. The Information Commissioner makes specific legal submissions on the following three points:
    1. The act of gathering information from a public institution in the circumstances of this case constitutes protected expressive activity under s. 2(b) of the Charter;
    2. When a request engages s. 2(b) rights, in exercising the discretion conferred by the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, the Ministry must ensure that any infringement of s. 2(b) occasioned by the application of a discretionary exemption conforms to the Dagenais/Mentuck test;
    3. Alternatively, Charter values, the purposes of the legislation and the public interest in disclosure are relevant factors that must be considered by the Minister in a reasonable manner in exercising the discretion conferred by the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Communiqués de presse

Année


Le commissaire à l’information fait connaître ses arguments dans une affaire constitutionnelle devant la Cour suprême du Canada

Ottawa, le 6 octobre 2008 – Le commissaire à l’information du Canada, Robert Marleau, a déposé un mémoire devant la Cour suprême du Canada dans un appel qui soulève le droit à la liberté d’expression suivant la Charte canadienne des droits et liberté, l’intérêt public en matière de divulgation d’information et le refus du gouvernement de l’Ontario de communiquer des renseignements demandés en vertu de la loi sur l’accès à l’information.

L’affaire concerne le ministère de la Sûreté et de la Sécurité publique de l’Ontario, le Procureur général de l’Ontario et la Criminal Lawyers’ Association (CLA). Le Ministère est d’avis que la décision de la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario a fait erreur en décidant qu’une partie de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée de l’Ontario porte atteinte à la liberté d’expression. La CLA, par contre, affirme que la Cour d’appel a eu raison de conclure que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privéede l’Ontario a établi une règle du secret, qui porte atteinte de façon injustifiée à la garantie de la liberté d’expression.

Le commissaire à l’information a affirmé: « Cette affaire soulève des questions que j’estime cruciales au bon fonctionnement du cadre quasi constitutionnel de l’accès à l’information, parce que la Cour suprême devra se pencher sur le rapport entre les valeurs constitutionnelles de la Charte canadienne des droits et liberté et le droit d’accès à l’information prévu par la loi» [traduction].

La décision de la Cour suprême du Canada influencera l’importance à accorder à l’intérêt public dans la divulgation d’information comme facteur à considérer dans chaque affaire pour laquelle des documents sont demandés en vertu d’une loi sur l’accès à l’information, et pour laquelle l’instance gouvernementale se voit clairement attribuée le pouvoir discrétionnaire de refuser la communication de certains renseignements en vertu d’une exception prévue à la loi.

Le commissaire à l’information soutient que dans l’affaire qui nous intéresse, l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire par le Ministère n’a fait l’objet d’aucun examen. Le commissaire à l’information fait valoir que le Ministère aurait dû prendre en compte certains facteurs pertinents, dont l’intérêt public dans la divulgation des renseignements.

Le commissaire à l’information croit qu’il serait pertinent de renvoyer l’affaire au Ministère afin qu’il reconsidère l’exercice de son pouvoir discrétionnaire en tenant compte des facteurs suivants :

  • le principe du droit du public à la communication des documents de l’administration gouvernementale;
  • les valeurs de la Charte, notamment celles enchâssées dans la liberté d’expression;
  • le principe constitutionnel fondamental relatif à la démocratie;
  • l’intérêt public dans la divulgation des renseignements demandés;
  • le but de l’exception, et la mesure dans laquelle la décision d’appliquer l’exception pour refuser la communication des documents est conforme à ce but.

De l’avis du Commissaire à l’information, tenir compte de l’intérêt public dans la divulgation d’information s’inscrit dans une culture d’ouverture et de transparence dans l’administration gouvernementale au bénéfice de tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes.

Le 31 juillet 2008, le commissaire à l’information du Canada a obtenu l’autorisation d’intervenir dans un cas porté devant la Cour suprême du Canada touchant la constitutionnalité d’une partie de la loi ontarienne sur l’accès à l’information (Ministère de la Sûreté et de la Sécurité publique et autres c. Criminal Lawyers’ Association, S-32172).

Dans un procès criminel pour un meurtre commis en 1983, une cour ontarienne a suspendu l’instance contre deux accusés en invoquant la Charte, déterminant que les droits des accusés avaient été violés par suite d’un comportement abusif de la part des représentants de l’État, impliquant le non-enregistrement délibéré des preuves et la non-communication de l’information.

À la suite de cette décision, la Police provinciale de l’Ontario (PPO) a été appelée à faire enquête sur le comportement de la police ayant été impliquée et sur celui de la poursuite. La PPO a déclaré qu’il n’existait aucune preuve de tentative d’obstruction à la justice, mais elle n’a pas publié son rapport.

La Criminal Lawyers’ Association a présenté une demande en vertu de la loi sur l’accès à l’information de l’Ontario auprès du ministère de la Sûreté et de la Sécurité publique pour obtenir des documents concernant l’enquête de la PPO.

Le ministère a refusé de communiquer ces documents, y compris le rapport de police, en invoquant trois exceptions en vertu de la Loi.

La question en jeu est de savoir si la primauté de l’intérêt public (article 23), qui s’applique uniquement pour certaines exceptions, est conforme à la garantie de liberté d’expression de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés.

Deux juges de la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario ont conclu que l’article 23 de la Loi portait atteinte à l’article 2b) de la Charte en négligeant d’élargir la portée de la primauté de l’intérêt public aux exceptions relatives à l’application de la loi et au secret professionnel et que cette atteinte ne pouvait être justifiée en vertu de l’article 1 de la Charte. Un troisième juge a exprimé une opinion divergente, à savoir qu’il n’y avait pas de violation de la Charte dans cette affaire. Le Ministère a été autorisé à interjeter appel de cette décision devant la Cour suprême du Canada.

  1. Le 25 septembre 2008, le commissaire à l’information a déposé son mémoire des faits et du droit.
  2. Selon le commissaire à l’information, il n’est pas nécessaire de répondre aux questions constitutionnelles dans cette affaire. En suivant les règles habituelles d’interprétation applicable au régime législatif et en tenant compte de l’ensemble des facteurs pertinents à l’article 2b) de la Charte, les questions constitutionnelles ne se posent pas.
  3. Les exceptions en cause sont discrétionnaires, et l’exercice de ce pouvoir légal est assujetti au principe bien établi selon lequel les actes officiels doivent relever d’un pouvoir clairement conféré par la loi et exercé de façon régulière   [Roncarelli c. Duplessis, [1959] R.C.S. 121].
  4. En l’espèce, l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire du Ministère n’a fait l’objet d’aucun examen et le commissaire fait valoir que le Ministère aurait dû prendre en compte certains facteurs pertinents, dont l’intérêt public dans la divulgation des renseignements. Dans les circonstances, il serait de mise de renvoyer l’affaire au Ministère afin qu’il reconsidère l’exercice de son pouvoir discrétionnaire en tenant compte des facteurs suivants :
    1. le principe du droit du public à la communication des documents de l’administration gouvernementale;
    2. les valeurs de la Charte, notamment celles enchâssées dans la liberté d’expression;
    3. le principe constitutionnel fondamental relatif à la démocratie;
    4. l’intérêt public dans la divulgation des renseignements demandés;
    5. le but de l’exception, et la mesure dans laquelle la décision d’appliquer l’exception pour refuser la communication des documents est conforme à ce but.
  5. Le commissaire à l’information fait valoir des arguments de droit précis au sujet des trois points suivants :
    1. Le fait de recueillir des renseignements d’une institution gouvernementale dans les circonstances de cette affaire constitue une activité expressive qui est protégée en vertu de l’article 2b) de la Charte.
    2. Lorsqu’une demande amène l’application de l’article 2b) de la Charte, l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire conféré par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée, oblige le Ministère à veiller à ce que toute atteinte aux droits protégés par l’article 2b) soit conforme aux critères des arrêts Dagenais/Mentuck.
    3. Alternativement, les valeurs de la Charte, l’objet de la loi et l’intérêt public dans la communication des renseignements sont des facteurs pertinents qui doivent être considérés d’une manière raisonnable par le ministre dans l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire conféré par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée.