Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Information Commissioner appeals a federal court decision that limits the scope of the Access to Information Act

OTTAWA, July 21, 2008 - The Information Commissioner has appealed a Federal Court decision today that substantially restricts the way the Access to Information Act is applied to records generated or obtained by ministers in carrying out the work of their departments.

The decision concerns an important principle of law in defining whether records in ministers’ offices that relate to the administration of the department, such as agendas, notes, emails and other documents,  come ‘under the control of a government institution’ and are subject to the Access to Information Act.

"It is important that the law be clarified to avoid limiting the scope of the legislation.” said Assistant Information Commissioner, Suzanne Legault. “As public officers, ministers and their staff need to be accountable in disclosing information relating to a minister’s administration of their department.”

The court ruled that records in ministers’ offices are not subject to disclosure under the Act, apart from certain records deemed to be under the department’s control. The criterion set by the court for establishing which records fall into this category is that they can be requested and obtained by the Deputy Minister or by senior officials to deal with departmental matters. The Information Commissioner’s position is that this criterion leaves the determination of which records come under the control of the department open to interpretation and could severely limit the scope of the Access to Information Act.  In the Commissioner’s view, a record generated or obtained by a Minister, or on his behalf, relating to the administration of their department, is subject to the Act regardless of where the record is located.

The Office of the Information Commissioner first filed applications to the Federal Court in 2005 in cases against the Prime Minister, the Minister of National Defence, the Minister of Transport and the Commissioner of the RCMP. On June 19, 2008 the federal court decided in favour of the Commissioner to release the documents requested in the case of the RCMP but ruled against disclosing a number of specific records requested from the Privy Council Office, the Department of National Defence and the Department of Transport.


For media enquiries, please contact:
Nadine Welter
Senior Communications Officer
(613) 996-6955

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Communiqués de presse

Année


Le Commissaire à l’information interjette appel d’une décision de la Cour fédérale qui limite la portée de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

OTTAWA, le 21 juillet 2008 – Le Commissaire à l’information a aujourd’hui interjeté appel d’une décision de la Cour fédérale qui limite considérablement la façon dont la Loi sur l’accès à l’information s’applique aux documents créés ou obtenus par un ministre relativement à l’administration de son ministère.

La décision touche un important principe de droit quant à savoir si les documents qui se trouvent dans les cabinets des ministres et qui concernent l’administration du ministère, comme les ordres du jour, les notes, les courriels et autres documents, « relèvent d’une institution fédérale » et sont assujettis à la Loi.

« Il est important que les règles de droit soient clarifiées afin d’éviter de limiter la portée de la législation », a déclaré Suzanne Legault, Commissaire adjointe à l’information. « Comme officiers publics, les ministres et leur personnel doivent se montrer responsables en divulguant les renseignements relatifs à l’administration d’un ministère par le ministre responsable. »

La Cour a statué que les documents dans les cabinets des ministres sont exclus de l’application de la Loi, à l’exception de certains documents qui sont réputés être sous le contrôle du ministère. La Cour a établi que le critère pour déterminer quels documents font partie de cette catégorie dépend de la réponse à la question de savoir si le sous-ministre ou les hauts fonctionnaires peuvent demander et obtenir ces documents pour traiter des questions ministérielles. Le Commissaire à l’information est d’avis que ce critère rend la détermination des documents sous le contrôle du ministère sujette à l’arbitraire et qu’il pourrait fortement limiter la portée de la Loi. Selon le Commissaire, un document produit ou obtenu par un ministre ou en son nom et ayant trait à l’administration du ministère est assujetti à la Loi, peu importe où il se trouve.

Le Commissariat à l’information a d’abord déposé des demandes à la Cour fédérale en 2005, dans des affaires contre le Premier ministre, le ministre de la Défense nationale, le ministre des Transports et le commissaire de la GRC. Le 19 juin 2008, la Cour fédérale a donné gain de cause au Commissaire pour la divulgation des documents demandés dans le cas de la GRC, mais a statué contre la divulgation de plusieurs documents précis ayant fait l’objet de demandes d’accès à l’information auprès du Bureau du Conseil privé, du Ministère de la Défense nationale et du Ministère des Transports.


Pour toute demande par les médias, veuillez communiquer avec :
Nadine Welter
Agente principale en communications
613-996-6955

Pour toute question générale, veuillez visiter notre site Web au www.oic-ci.gc.ca ou communiquer avec un représentant à l’adresse suivante :
Commissariat à l’information du Canada
613-995-2410
Sans frais : 1-800-267-0441
ATS (pour malentendants) : 613-947-0388