Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Information Commissioner of Canada, Robert Marleau, announces that the Honourable Peter de C. Cory has accepted the mandate of ad hoc Information Commissioner.

The Information Commissioner of Canada, Robert Marleau, announces that the Honourable Peter de C. Cory has accepted the mandate of ad hoc Information Commissioner.

On April 1, 2007, the Office of the Information Commissioner became subject to the Access to Information Act and is listed in Schedule I thereof. As a result, an alternative mechanism is required to deal with potential complaints against the Information Commissioner. The appointment of a former judge preserves the integrity and the independence of the process and ensures that all complaints are properly addressed.

The ad hoc Commissioner's mandate is to receive and independently investigate any complaints, referred to at section 30 of the Act, against the Information Commissioner arising from access requests made to the Information Commissioner's Office.

The ad hoc Information Commissioner is delegated the same functions and powers as the Information Commissioner with regard to conducting investigations and making recommendations.

The honourable Peter de C. Cory, a former judge of the Supreme Court of Canada, is a distinguished international jurist. In addition, he has held various positions as commissioner, such as Commissioner to study the qualifications, salary and pensions of Military Judges and Commissioner to investigate the reasons for the wrongful conviction of Thomas Sophonow for murder and to fix the compensation payable to him arising from his wrongful conviction and imprisonment. In June 2004, the honourable Justice de C. Cory was appointed Chancellor of York University. He possesses the requisite expertise to accomplish the functions of ad hoc Commissioner

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Communiqués de presse

Année

Le Commissaire à l'information, M. Robert Marleau, annonce que l'honorable Peter de C. Cory a accepté le mandat de Commissaire à l'information ad hoc.

Le Commissaire à l'information, M. Robert Marleau, annonce que l'honorable Peter de C. Cory a accepté le mandat de Commissaire à l'information ad hoc.

Comme vous le savez, le Commissariat à l'information est assujetti à la Loi sur l'accès  l'information et inscrit à l'Annexe I, depuis le 1er avril 2007. Par conséquent, un mécanisme alternatif est requis pour le traitement de plaintes éventuelles contre le Commissariat à l'information. La nomination d'un juge à la retraite permet de maintenir l'intégrité et l'indépendance du processus et permet de ne l'activer qu'au besoin, s'assurant ainsi que le mécanisme est abordable pour les contribuables.

Le mandat du Commissaire ad hoc est de recevoir et de faire enquête sur les plaintes énoncées à l'article 30 de la Loi à l'égard de demandes d'accès adressées au Commissariat à l'information.

Le Commissaire ad hoc possède les mêmes pouvoirs et obligations que le Commissaire à l'information pour mener les enquêtes et faire rapport de ses recommandations.
 

L'honorable Peter de C. Cory, ancien juge à la Cour Suprême du Canada est un éminent juriste, de réputation internationale. De plus, il a occupé divers postes de commissaires entre autre, Commissaire afin d'étudier les compétences, la rémunération et la pension des juges militaires et Commissaire en vue de mener une enquête sur les raisons qui ont entraîné la condamnation injustifiée pour meurtre de Thomas Sophonow et de fixer l'indemnité à lui verser à la suite de sa condamnation et de son emprisonnement injustifiés. Aussi, l'honorable Peter de C. Cory a été nommé chancelier de l'Université York en juin 2004. Il possède l'expertise requise pour assumer les fonctions de Commissaire ad hoc.