Letter to the Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security on Bill C-44

 

November 28, 2014

The Honourable Daryl Kramp, M.P.
Chair, Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security
House of Commons
Ottawa ON K1A 0A6

 

Dear Mr. Kramp:

I would like to share my views with the Committee in the course of its review of Bill C-44,An Act to amend the Canadian Security Intelligence Service Act and other Acts, otherwise known as the Protection of Canada from Terrorists Act

My comments will be limited to how the proposed amendments may impact my oversight and the amount of information which could be subject to disclosure under the Access to Information Act (the Act).

First, I am concerned that there is the possibility that the Bill will limit my ability to investigate. The Bill prohibits persons from disclosing the identity of a human source or any information from which the identity of the human source could be inferred in a proceeding before a court, or to a person or body with the jurisdiction to compel the production of information (proposed section 18.1).

For over 30 years, information commissioners have had the power to compel persons to produce such documents and things as they deem requisite in order to fully investigate and consider a complaint, including information about a confidential human source.Footnote 1

Moreover, there is no evidence to support the need for a limitation on this power. I am unaware of any instance where the identity of a confidential source of information was revealed as a result of an investigation by my office.

My second concern relates to what information is subject to disclosure under the Act. Bill C-44 broadens the scope of confidentiality protections given to human sources by extending coverage to individuals who are likely to provide information to the Canadian Security Intelligence Service.Footnote 2 This is a change from the previous section of the Canadian Security Intelligence Service Act, which referred only to those who were or are confidential sources of information.Footnote 3 The Bill makes a corresponding amendment to Schedule II of the Act to reflect the broader protection offered to human sources of information.

Finally, I am also concerned that this broader protection is being implemented through the use of Schedule II of the Act. Doing so results in a mandatory, class based exemption for the identified information. On numerous occasions I have objected to expanding protections provided by Schedule II of the Act because, in my opinion, it leads to an erosion of the right of access.Footnote 4

The combined effect of the possible limitation on my investigations and the expanded protection for human sources is that there is a potential for abuse by institutions without recourse to effective oversight.

Before closing, I wish to reiterate the recommendations my fellow information and privacy commissioners of Canada made in a joint statement issued on October 19th, 2014.Footnote 5 In this statement, we recommended that any new legislative proposal granting additional powers for intelligence and law enforcement agencies must be evidence-based, made in dialogue with Canadians and with effective oversight ensured.

I trust that this information will be of assistance in your deliberations and I remain at the disposal of the committee.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

c.c.:   Leif-Erik Aune
Clerk, House of Commons
Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security

Footnotes

Footnote 1

As per s. 36(1)(a) of the Act. In addition, s. 36(2) of the Act also provides that notwithstanding any Act of Parliament, no record may be withheld during an investigation on any grounds.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

See the definition of “human source” in the Bill.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

section 18(1)(a).

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

See letter to the Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional affairs on Bill C-51,  Safer Witnesses Act and speaking notes from the 2013 Access and Privacy Conference. Office of the Information Commissioner, Letter from Suzanne Legault to Senator Bob Runciman on Bill C-51, An Act to amend the Witness Protection Program Act and to make a consequential amendment to another Act, June 12, 2013 and Office of the Information Commissioner. “A Canadian Vision for Access to Information.”  June 13, 2013. < http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/eng/media-room-salle-media_speeches-discours_2013_4.aspx >.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Office of the Information Commissioner. “Statement of the Privacy and Information Commissioners of Canada on National Security and Law Enforcement Measures.”October 29, 2014. < http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/eng/communique-de-presse-news-releases-2014_5.aspx >.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Date modified:

Lettre au Comité permanent de la sécurité publique et nationale sur le projet de loi C-44

 

Le 28 novembre 2014

 

L’honorable Daryl Kramp, député
Président, Comité permanent de la sécurité publique et nationale
Chambre des communes
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0A6

 

Monsieur,

J’aimerais partager mon point de vue avec le comité dans le cadre de son examen du projet de loi C-44, Loi modifiant la Loi sur le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité et d’autres lois, aussi connue sous le nom la Loi sur la protection du Canada contre les terroristes.

Mes commentaires seront limités à l’impact possible des modifications proposées sur mon rôle de surveillance et sur la quantité d’information qui pourrait être divulguée sous la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi).

Premièrement, je suis préoccupée par la possibilité que le projet de loi limite ma capacité à enquêter. Le projet de loi interdit aux personnes de divulguer l’identité d’une source humaine ou toute information à partir de laquelle l’identité de la source humaine permettrait d’être découverte dans une procédure devant un tribunal, ou à une personne ou un organisme possédant l’autorité de contraindre la production d’information (section 18.1 proposée).

Depuis plus de 30 ans, les commissaires à l’information ont le pouvoir d’exiger la production de pièces et choses qu'ils jugent nécessaires pour enquêter et considérer pleinement une plainte, y compris les informations au sujet d’une source humaine confidentielle.Note de bas de page 1

Par ailleurs, aucune preuve ne soutient le besoin de limiter ce pouvoir. À ma connaissance, il n’existe aucun cas où l’identité d’une source confidentielle d’information a été dévoilée à la suite d’une enquête du Commissariat.

Ma seconde préoccupation porte sur quelle information peut être divulguée en vertu de la Loi. Le projet de loi C-44 élargit le caractère confidentiel des sources humaines en protégeant également les individus qui sont susceptibles de fournir des informations au Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité.Note de bas de page 2 Ceci est un changement par rapport à la section précédente de la Loi sur le service canadien du renseignement de sécurité, qui fait uniquement référence à ceux et celles qui ont été ou qui sont des sources confidentielles d’information.Note de bas de page 3 Le projet de loi fait une modification correspondante à l’Annexe II de la Loi afin de refléter la protection élargie offerte aux sources humaines d’information. 

Finalement, je suis également préoccupée de la mise en œuvre de cette protection accrue par un ajout à cette annexe. L’information ciblée par cet ajout sera sujette à une exception de nature obligatoire et de catégorie. Je me suis opposée à de nombreuses reprises à ces ajouts car, à mon avis, ils mènent à une érosion du droit d'accès.Note de bas de page 4

De par l’effet combiné des limites possibles à mes enquêtes et de la protection accrue pour les sources humaines, il y aura, selon moi, un risque potentiel d’abus par les institutions sans avoir en place une surveillance efficace.

Avant de terminer, je tiens à réitérer les recommandations des commissaires à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée du Canada publiées dans une déclaration conjointe le 19 octobre 2014.Note de bas de page 5 Dans cette déclaration, nous avons recommandé que toute nouvelle proposition législative accordant des pouvoirs supplémentaires aux agences de renseignement et d'application de la loi doive être fondée sur des preuves, en concertation avec les Canadiens et avec l’assurance d’une surveillance efficace.

J’espère que ces renseignements aideront le Comité dans ses délibérations et je demeure à l’entière disposition du Comité.

Veuillez accepter, Monsieur le Président, l’expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l’information du Canada

c.c.:   Leif-Erik Aune
Greffier, Chambre des communes
Comité permanent de la sécurité publique et nationale

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Selon l’article 36(1)a) de la Loi. De plus, l’article 36(2) de la Loi prévoit aussi que, nonobstant toute loi du Parlement , aucun document ne peut être refusé lors d'une enquête sur n’importe quel motif.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Voir la définition de « source humaine » dans le projet de loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

article 18(1)a).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Voir la lettre au comité du sénat sur les Affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles sur le projet de loi C-51, Loi améliorant la sécurité des témoins et les notes d’allocution de la Conférence sur l’accès et la vie privée de 2013. Commissariat à l’information, Lettre de Suzanne Legault au sénateur Bob Runciman sur le projet de loi C-51, Loi modifiant la Loi sur le programme de protection des témoins et une autre loi en conséquence, le 12 juin 2013 et Commissariat à l’information. « Une vision canadienne pour l'accès à l'information ». Le 13 juin 2013 http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/fra/media-room-salle-media_speeches-discours_2013_4.aspx.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Commissariat à l’information. Office of the Information Commissioner. “Statement of the Privacy and Information Commissioners of Canada on National Security and Law Enforcement Measures.” October 29, 2014. « Déclaration des commissaires canadiens à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée au sujet des mesures de sécurité nationale et d’application des lois ». Le 29 octobre 2014 http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/fra/communique-de-presse-news-releases-2014_5.aspx.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5