A letter from the Information Commissioner of Canada to the Chair of the Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs concerning C-51, An Act to amend the Witness Protection Program Act and another Act.

 

June 12, 2013

The Honourable Bob Runciman, Senator
Chair, Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs
Senate of Canada
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0A4

 

Dear Senator Runciman:

Thank you for providing me with the opportunity to share my views with the Committee in the course of its review of the Bill C-51, An Act to amend the Witness Protection Program Act and to make a consequential amendment to another Act.

The Access to Information Act (the Act) establishes a quasi-constitutional right of access to government information subject to specific and limited exemptions.  The Act also provides that decisions to withhold information should be the subject of independent review. A well-recognized principle for access to information laws is the presumption in favour of disclosure which can only be overturned in limited circumstances. These limitations are enumerated in the Act and interpreted narrowly so as to uphold access to information principles while safeguarding sensitive information.

Like my predecessors, I am in favour of exemptions that are discretionary, subject to an injury test, limited in time and subject to a public interest override.  These types of exemptions balance the potential injury with the purposes of the Act.  Exemption provisions along these lines exist in the context of international affairs, national defence and the suppression of hostile activities as well as the law enforcement context: section 15 and 16 of the Act. 

Bill C-51 proposes two measures which are of concern to me.

First, clause 12 of Bill C-51 which amends section 11 of the Witness Protection Program Act (WPPA) expands the type of information which shall not be disclosed. For example, this prohibition includes information about covert operational methods used to provide protection as well as covert administrative methods used to support the provision of protection.

Second, clause 22 of Bill C-51 proposes to add section 11 of the WPPA to Schedule IIof the Access to Information Act which would make the information identified therein subject to the mandatory, class based exemption found in section 24 of the Act.

The combined effect of these proposed amendments will, in my opinion, reduce government transparency unnecessarily by expanding the scope of information that is susceptible to being withheld and by making that information the subject of a mandatory, non-injury based and unlimited in time exemption.

As you know, the Witness Protection Program (WPP) has been in existence since 1984.  It was formalized in 1996 by the enactment of the WPPA.  Since its inception in 1984, the information about the WPP held by the RCMP has been subject to the Access to Information Act.

In my view, the past 29 years demonstrates that the existing provisions in the Act are sufficient to protect the information produced and collected by the WPP

First, the exemption in section 17 relates to the disclosure of information that could reasonably be expected to threaten the safety of individuals. This section applies to most of the information covered by clause 11 of the bill: location of a protected person, change of identity, means and methods used to protect witnesses, and identity and role of persons who provide protection. Section 17 is specifically designed for this type of information. 

Second, section 19, which protects personal information, is also appropriate to protect several of the types of information in question.

Third, section 16 can apply to information regarding the WPP when it is related to an investigation or investigative techniques or when it could be used to reveal the identity of a confidential source of information. Furthermore, section 16(1)(a) can be applied by specified investigative bodies.

Finally, subsection 10(2) of the Act gives an institution the discretion to neither confirm nor deny the existence of information when necessary.

The inclusion of statutory provisions in Schedule II, and the resulting expansion of the mandatory class based exemption found in section 24, has, in my opinion, resulted in the erosion of the right of access.  It has done so by requiring government institutions to consider more than one statute in their decision-making process and making it more difficult for requesters to understand and exercise their access rights. The number of provisions included in Schedule II has increased. When the Act was passed 30 years ago, 33 statutes were listed in Schedule II. Today, it contains 56 statutes.

The expansion of the confidentiality requirement in section 11 and its inclusion in Annex II will therefore, in my view, unnecessarily limit access to information about the WPP

I trust that this information will be of assistance in your deliberations and I remain at the disposal of the committee.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

c.c.: Shaila Anwar, Clerk, Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Une lettre de la Commissaire à l'information du Canada au Président du Comité sénatorial des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles concernant le projet de loi C-51, Loi modifiant la Loi sur le programme de protection des témoins et une autre loi.

 

Le 12 juin 2013

L'honorable Bob Runciman, sénateur
Président, Comité sénatorial des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles
Sénat du Canada
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0A4

 

Monsieur le Sénateur,

Je vous remercie de m’offrir la possibilité de partager mes points de vue avec le comité dans le cadre de cet examen du projet de loi C-51 : Loi modifiant la Loi sur le programme de protection des témoins et une autre loi en conséquence.

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information (Loi) offre aux Canadiens un droit quasi-constitutionnel d’accès à l’information gouvernementale assujetti à des exceptions spécifiques et limitées. La Loi prescrit également que les décisions de ne pas divulguer de l’information devraient être assujetties à un examen indépendant. Un principe bien connu des lois en matière d’accès à l’information est la présomption pour la divulgation qui peut seulement être renversée dans des circonstances limitées. Ces limites sont strictement énumérées dans la Loi et interprétées de façon étroite pour confirmer les principes de l'accès à l’information tout en protégeant les renseignements sensibles.

Tout comme mes prédécesseurs, je suis en faveur d’exceptions qui sont discrétionnaires, assujetties à une preuve de préjudice, d’une durée déterminée et assujetties à une dérogation dans l’intérêt du public. Ce type d’exceptions soupèse le risque de préjudice avec les objets de la Loi. De telles exceptions existent sous les articles 15 et 16 de la Loi en matière d’affaires internationales, de défense nationale, de la suppression d’activités hostiles et d’enquêtes.

Deux mesures proposées par le projet de loi C-51 me préoccupent particulièrement.

Tout d’abord, l’article 12 du projet de loi C-51 qui modifie l’article 11 de la Loi sur le programme de protection des témoins (LPPT)élargi le type d’information qui doit être protégé ou non divulgué. Par exemple, l’interdiction porte sur les méthodes opérationnelles secrètes qui sont utilisées pour fournir de la protection et les méthodes administratives secrètes qui sont utilisées pour aider à fournir de la protection.

En second lieu, l’article 22 du projet de loi C-51 propose d’ajouter l’article 11 de la LPPT à l’annexe II de l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cette inclusion aurait pour effet de rendre cette information sujette à une exception obligatoire et objective sous l’article 24 de la Loi.

Les effets cumulatifs des modifications proposées réduiront inutilement, selon moi, la transparence gouvernementale en élargissant l’étendue de la protection de l’information et en assujettissant cette information à une exception obligatoire, sans preuve de préjudice et illimitée dans le temps.

Comme vous le savez, le programme de protection des témoins existe depuis 1984. Il a été formalisé en 1996 par l’adoption de la LPPT. Depuis sa création, l’information relative au programme détenue par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada était assujettie à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Je suis d’avis que les exceptions actuelles de la Loi protègent de façon appropriée tous les renseignements produits et recueillis par ce programme, et ce depuis 29 ans.

D’abord, l’article 17 de la Loi vise les renseignements dont la divulgation risquerait vraisemblablement de nuire à la sécurité des individus. Cet article s’applique à la majeure partie de l’information visée par l’article 11 du projet de loi : lieu où se trouve une personne protégée, changement d’identité, moyens et méthodes de protection, l’identité ou le rôle des personnes fournissant de la protection. En fait, l’article 17 est conçu expressément pour ce type de renseignements. 

L’article 19, qui protège les renseignements personnels, est aussi approprié pour protéger plusieurs des renseignements en cause.

Ensuite, l’article 16 peut s’appliquer aux renseignements concernant le programme de protection des témoins lorsque cela est relié à une enquête, des techniques d’enquêtes ou qui permettraient de remonter à une source de renseignements confidentielle. Aussi, l’alinéa 16(1)a) peut être utilisé par les organismes d’enquête déterminés.

Et finalement, l’alinéa 10(2) stipule qu’une institution a la discrétion, au besoin, de refuser de confirmer ou infirmer l’existence même de l’information.

L’ajout d’interdictions fondées sur d’autres lois à l’annexe II et, par conséquent, la portée plus grande de l’exception sous l’article 24 ont, selon moi, permis l’érosion progressive du droit général à l’accès. Ce mécanisme requiert des institutions gouvernementales de tenir compte de plus d’une disposition dans leur processus décisionnel et du coup, il devient plus difficile pour les citoyens de comprendre et d’exercer leur droit d’accès à l’information. Le nombre de dispositions législatives est en augmentation. Quand la Loi a été adoptée, il y a 30 ans, 33 lois étaient énumérées à l’annexe II. Aujourd’hui, elle en compte 56.

Le prolongement des obligations de confidentialité à l’article 11 du projet de loi et son ajout à l’annexe II de la Loi limitent inutilement l’accès à l’information quant au programme de protection des témoins.

J’espère que cette information vous aidera dans vos délibérations et je demeure à la disposition du Comité.

Veuillez agréer mes salutations distinguées,

La commissaire à l’information du Canada,

Suzanne Legault

c.c. : Shaila Anwar, Greffier du Comité sénatorial des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles