Top Stories

Information Commissioner files a notice of application against the Prime Minister of Canada

Information Commissioner files a notice of application against the Prime Minister of Canada

On September 11, 2015, the Information Commissioner of Canada filed a notice of application against the Prime Minister of Canada pursuant to section 42 of the Access to Information Act (Information Commissioner of Canada v. The Prime Minister of Canada, T-1535-15). This court case is in relation to an access to information request for “any records created between March 26, 2013 to present (August 22, 2013) related to Senators Mike Duffy, Mac Harb, Patrick Brazeau and/or Pamela Wallin.”

The case was commenced following an investigation by the Information Commissioner’s office concerning PCO’s refusal to disclose records responsive to the access to information request. As a result of this investigation, the Commissioner concluded that PCO was not justified when refusing access to information responsive to the request and recommended that the Prime Minister disclose a significant amount of additional information. The Privy Council Office, on behalf of the Prime Minister, declined to implement the recommendation.

The court case challenges the Prime Minister’s decision, as head of PCO, to refuse records responsive to the access to information request based on claimed exemptions for “personal information” (s.19(1)), “advice and recommendations” (s.21(1)(a)) and “solicitor-client privilege” (s.23).

In the proceeding, the Commissioner maintains that the Prime Minister erred in relying on these exemptions when refusing access to the requested information. The Commissioner also maintains that where there was discretion to either disclose or withhold information, the Prime Minister failed to demonstrate that this discretion was exercised in a reasonable manner bearing in mind all relevant factors including the public interest in the information’s disclosure. 

This notice of application was filed prior to the 45-day statutory deadline set out in the Access to Information Act.

Les grands titres

La commissaire à l'information du Canada dépose un avis de demande contre le premier ministre du Canada

Le 11 septembre 2015, la commissaire à l'information du Canada a déposé un avis de demande contre le premier ministre du Canada en vertu de l'article 42 de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (Commissaire à l'information du Canada c. Premier ministre du Canada, T-1535-15).  Cette affaire porte sur une demande d'accès à l'information visant « tous les documents créés entre le 26 mars 2013 jusqu’à maintenant (22 août 2013) reliés aux sénateurs Mike Duffy, Mac Harb, Patrick Brazeau et/ou Pamela Wallin ».

Cette instance a été introduite suite à une enquête menée par le bureau de la commissaire sur le refus du Bureau du Conseil privé (BCP) de communiquer des documents répondant à une demande d'accès à l'information.  Suivant cette enquête, la commissaire a conclu que le BCP avait tort de refuser l'accès à l'information en réponse à la demande et a recommandé que le premier ministre divulgue une quantité importante de renseignements supplémentaires. Le BCP, au nom du premier ministre, a refusé de suivre cette recommandation.

Cette affaire remet en question la décision du premier ministre, en tant que chef du BCP, de refuser de communiquer des documents répondant à une demande d'accès à l'information au motif que les informations qu'ils contiennent font l'objet d'exceptions à la Loi en vertu du paragraphe 19(1) (renseignements personnels), et de l'article 21(1)a) (avis et recommandations) et de l'article 23 (secret professionnel des avocats). 

Dans le cadre de cette instance judiciaire, la commissaire soutient que le premier ministre a commis une erreur en se fondant sur ces exceptions pour refuser l'accès à l'information demandée.  La commissaire affirme également que s'il existe un pouvoir discrétionnaire de divulguer ou de refuser de communiquer des renseignements, le premier ministre a omis de démontrer qu'il a exercé ce pouvoir de manière raisonnable, compte tenu de tous les facteurs pertinents, notamment de l'intérêt du public à l'égard de la communication de l'information. 

Cet avis de demande a été déposé avant le délai de 45 jours prévu par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.