Top Stories

Long-gun Registry – preservation order

Long-gun Registry – preservation order

On June 3, 2015, the Information Commissioner filed a motion to obtain a preservation order in Information Commissioner of Canada v Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness (T-785-15) to prevent the destruction of the records in question in the ongoing matter. The order is to require the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness to either deliver the records in question to the Registry of the Federal Court or to prohibit the Minister from destroying the records.

On June 26, 2015, Justice Martineau of the Federal Court issued reasons for its order of June 22, 2015 which ordered that the virtual copy of the remaining data of the Long-gun Registry be preserved and that the hard drive be delivered to the court by 10 a.m. on June 23, 2015. In its reasons, Justice Martineau endorsed his Federal Court colleague that the “Information Commissioner is one of the custodians of our democracy” (see Bronskill v Canadian Heritage). He also stated that “the public interest flowing from the exercise of any such rights of access and intervention by the Information Commissioner to enforce government accountability outweighs any public interest invoked by the Minister to pre-emptively destroy the records at issue before the matter is heard by the Court.” The full decision is available here.

The Information Commissioner issued a statement regarding the preservation order where she stated that "This order is an essential milestone to protect the rights conferred by the Access to Information Act until the end of the proceedings." 

Read more on the Information Commissioner's application for judicial review against the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness in relation to the investigation into an access to information request for the Long-gun Registry.

The Information Commissioner also filed an application challenging the constitutionality of the Ending the Long-gun Registry Act as amended by Bill C-59.

For more information on the Information Commissioner's investigation, please consult the Commissioner's report Investigation into an Access to Information Request for the Long-gun Registry.

Les grands titres

Registre des armes d’épaule – ordonnance de conservation

Le 3 juin 2015, la commissaire à l'information a déposé une requête pour obtenir une ordonnance de conservation dans Commissaire à l’information c Ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile (T-785-15), pour empêcher la destruction des dossiers en question. La requête vise à ordonner au ministre de la Sécurité publique et Protection civile de livrer les dossiers en question au greffe de la Cour fédérale ou lui interdire de les détruire.

Le 26 juin 2015, le juge Martineau de la Cour fédérale a publié les motifs de l’ordonnance qu’il a émise le 22 juin, ordonnant que la copie des données restantes du Registre des armes d'épaule soit conservée et que le disque dur soit livré à la Cour au plus tard à 10 h, le 23 juin 2015. Dans ses motifs, le juge Martineau appuie les propos de son collègue de la Cour fédérale que « Le Commissaire à l’information est véritablement l’un des gardiens de notre démocratie » (voir Bronskill c Patrimoine canadien). Il a aussi déclaré que « l’intérêt public qui découle de l’exercice de ces droits d’accès et de l’intervention de la Commissaire à l’information en vue d’accroitre la responsabilisation du gouvernement l’emporte sur tout intérêt public invoqué par le ministre de détruire de manière préventive les documents en cause avant que la Cour n’ait entendu l’affaire ». La décision complète est disponible ici.

La commissaire à l'information a émis une déclaration concernant l'ordonnance de conservation où elle a dit que « Cette ordonnance est une étape essentielle pour protéger les droits conférés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information jusqu’à la fin des procédures ». 

Lisez plus sur la demande en contrôle judiciaire de la commissaire à l'information contre le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile en ce qui concerne l’enquête sur une demande d'accès à l'information pour le Registre des armes d'épaule.

La commissaire à l’information a également déposé une demande contestant la constitutionalité de la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule tel que modifiée par la Division 18 du projet de loi C-59.

Pour plus de renseignements sur l'enquête de la commissaire à l'information, veuillez consulter le rapport de la commissaire Enquête sur une demande d’accès à l’information concernant le registre des armes d’épaule