Top Stories

Long-gun Registry – application for constitutional challenge

Long-gun Registry - application for constitutional challenge

UPDATE: On September 24, 2015, the Information Commissioner filed supplementary records to the Ontario Superior Court of Justice in her application challenging the constitutionality of the Ending the Long-gun Registry Act (ELRA) as amended by Bill C-59. These include two expert affidavits and a letter from the Ontario Provincial Police confirming that, given the retroactive aspect of the ELRA, which removes any criminal liability, no investigation will be conducted.


The Information Commissioner filed, on June 22, 2015, an application challenging the constitutionality of the Ending the Long-gun Registry Act as amended by Division 18 of Bill C-59. On June 23, 2015, the application made to the Superior Court of Ontario was transferred to the Divisional Court by Justice Hackland of the Superior Court of Ontario.

Read more on the Information Commissioner's application for judicial review against the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness in relation to the investigation into an access to information request for the Long-gun Registry.

The Federal Court issued a preservation order on June 22, 2015 which ordered that the virtual copy of the remaining data of the Long-gun Registry be preserved and that the hard drive be delivered to the court by 10 a.m. on June 23, 2015.

The Information Commissioner issued a statement regarding the preservation order where she stated that "This order is an essential milestone to protect the rights conferred by the Access to Information Act until the end of the proceedings."

For more information on the Information Commissioner's investigation, please consult the Commissioner's report Investigation into an Access to Information Request for the Long-gun Registry.

Les grands titres

Registre des armes d’épaule – demande de contestation constitutionnelle

Registre des armes d’épaule – demande de contestation constitutionnelle

MISE À JOUR : Le 24 septembre 2015, le commissaire à l'information a déposé des dossiers supplémentaires à la Cour supérieure de justice de l'Ontario dans sa demande visant à contester la constitutionnalité de la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule (LARA) telle que modifiée par le projet de loi C-59. Ceux-ci comprennent deux affidavits d'experts et une lettre de la Police provinciale de l'Ontario confirmant que, compte tenu des aspects rétroactifs de la LARA qui enlève toute responsabilité criminelle, aucune enquête ne sera menée.


Le 22 juin 2015, la commissaire à l’information a déposé une demande contestant la constitutionnalité de la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule tel que modifiée par la Division 18 du projet de loi C-59. Le 23 juin 2015, la demande faite à la Cour supérieure de l’Ontario a été transférée à la Cour divisionnaire par le juge Hackland de la Cour supérieure de l’Ontario.

Lisez plus sur la demande en contrôle judiciaire de la commissaire à l'information contre le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile en ce qui concerne l’enquête sur une demande d'accès à l'information pour le Registre des armes d'épaule.

La cour fédérale a émis une ordonnance de conservation le 22 juin 2015 ordonnant que la copie des données restantes du Registre des armes d'épaule soit conservée et que le disque dur soit livré à la Cour au plus tard à 10 h, le 23 juin 2015. 

La commissaire à l'information a émis une déclaration concernant l'ordonnance de conservation où elle a dit que « Cette ordonnance est une étape essentielle pour protéger les droits conférés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information jusqu’à la fin des procédures ».

Pour plus de renseignements sur l'enquête de la commissaire à l'information, veuillez consulter le rapport de la commissaire Enquête sur une demande d’accès à l’information concernant le registre des armes d’épaule