Top Stories

Long-gun Registry — application for judicial review

On May 14, 2015, the Information Commissioner filed an application for judicial review against the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness pursuant to section 42 of the Access to Information Act (Act) in relation to the investigation into an access to information request for the Long-gun Registry. This application is made with the consent of the complainant.

The investigation by the Office of the Information Commissioner determined that the institution’s response to the request for the records contained in the Long-gun Registry was incomplete. The Information Commissioner recommended to:

  • process the information relating to the registration of non-restricted firearms in the province of Quebec (64 fields identified in the course of the Commissioner’s investigation) and include this information, subject to applicable exemptions, in a new response to the requester.
  • process all images of the registration and transfer applications that still exist within the Canadian Firearm Information System (CFIS) pertaining to non-restricted firearms and include this information in a new response, subject to applicable exemptions, to the requester; and
  • preserve these records until the conclusion of the Commissioner’s investigation and any related proceedings.

The Minister of Public Safety refused to implement the first two recommendations. As such, the Commissioner brought the matter before the Federal Court.

On June 3, 2015, the Information Commissioner also filed a motion to obtain a preservation order in this case to prevent the destruction of the records in question in the ongoing matter. The order is to require the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness to either deliver the records in question to the Registry of the Federal Court or to prohibit the Minister from destroying the records.

On June 26, 2015, Justice Martineau of the Federal Court issued reasons for its order of June 22, 2015 (T-785-15) which ordered that the virtual copy of the remaining data of the Long-gun Registry be preserved and that the hard drive be delivered to the court by 10 a.m. on June 23, 2015. In its reasons, Justice Martineau endorsed his Federal Court colleague that the “Information Commissioner is one of the custodians of our democracy” (see Bronskill v. Canadian Heritage). He also stated that “the public interest flowing from the exercise of any such rights of access and intervention by the Information Commissioner to enforce government accountability outweighs any public interest invoked by the Minister to pre-emptively destroy the records at issue before the matter is heard by the Court.”

The Information Commissioner issued a statement regarding the preservation order where she stated that "This order is an essential milestone to protect the rights conferred by the Access to Information Act until the end of the proceedings."

The Information Commissioner also filed an application challenging the constitutionality of the Ending the Long-gun Registry Act as amended by Bill C-59.

For more information on the Information Commissioner's investigation, please consult the Commissioner's report Investigation into an Access to Information Request for the Long-gun Registry.

Les grands titres

Registre des armes d'épaule — demande en contrôle judiciaire

Le 14 mai 2015, la commissaire à l'information a déposé une demande en contrôle judiciaire contre le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile en vertu de l'article 42 de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (la Loi) en ce qui concerne l’enquête sur une demande d'accès à l'information pour le Registre des armes d'épaule. Cette demande en contrôle judiciaire est faite avec le consentement du plaignant.

L'enquête menée par le Commissariat à l'information a déterminé que la réponse de l'institution à la demande pour les dossiers contenus dans le Registre des armes d'épaule était incomplète. La commissaire à l'information a recommandé de :

  • traiter l’information relative à l'enregistrement des armes à feu sans restriction dans la province de Québec (64 champs identifiés au cours de l’enquête de la commissaire) et inclure cette information, sous réserve des exceptions applicables, dans une nouvelle réponse au demandeur;
  • traiter toutes les images de l'enregistrement et les applications de transfert qui existent encore au sein du Système canadien d'information sur des armes à feu (SCIRAF) relatives aux armes à feu sans restriction et d'inclure cette information dans une nouvelle réponse, sous réserve des dispenses applicables, au demandeur;
  • préserver ces dossiers jusqu'à la conclusion de l’enquête de la commissaire et des procédures connexes.

Le ministre de la Sécurité publique a refusé de mettre en œuvre les deux premières recommandations. Par conséquent, la commissaire a porté l'affaire devant la Cour fédérale (lien en anglais seulement).

Le 3 juin 2015, la commissaire à l'information a également déposé une requête pour obtenir une ordonnance de conservation dans cette affaire, pour empêcher la destruction des dossiers en question. La requête vise à ordonner au ministre de la Sécurité publique et Protection civile de livrer les dossiers en question au greffe de la Cour fédérale ou lui interdire de les détruire.

Le 26 juin 2015, le juge Martineau de la Cour fédérale a publié les motifs de l’ordonnance qu’il a émise le 22 juin dernier (T-785-15), ordonnant que la copie des données restantes du Registre des armes d'épaule soit conservée et que le disque dur soit livré à la Cour au plus tard à 10 h, le 23 juin 2015. Dans ses motifs, le juge Martineau appuie les propos de son collègue de la Cour fédérale que « la commissaire à l’information est véritablement l’un des gardiens de notre démocratie » (voir Bronskill c. Patrimoine canadien). Il a aussi déclaré que « l'intérêt public qui découle de l'exercice de ces droits d'accès et de l'intervention de la commissaire à l'information pour assurer l'imputabilité du gouvernement l'emporte sur tout intérêt public invoqué par le ministre en ce qui a trait à la destruction préemtive des documents pertinents avant que l'affaire soit entendue par la Cour » [traduction].

La commissaire à l'information a émis une déclaration concernant l'ordonnance de conservation où elle a dit que « Cette ordonnance est une étape essentielle pour protéger les droits conférés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information jusqu’à la fin des procédures ». 

La commissaire à l’information a également déposé une demande contestant la constitutionalité de la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule tel que modifiée par la Division 18 du projet de loi C-59. 

Pour plus de renseignements sur l'enquête de la commissaire à l'information, veuillez consulter le rapport de la commissaire Enquête sur une demande d’accès à l’information concernant le registre des armes d’épaule