About the legislation

The Access to Information Act, which took effect on July 1, 1983, provides a right of access to information in records under the control of a government institution. Canada was one of the first countries in the world to offer such protection to its citizens.

The Act reflects three principles: that government information should be available to the public; that necessary exceptions to the right of access should be limited and specific; and that decisions on the disclosure of government information should be reviewed independently of government.

The Supreme Court of Canada has described the Act as a pillar of our democracy. In 1997, Justice Gérard Vincent La Forest said, on behalf of the entire Supreme Court: “The overarching purpose of access to information legislation is to facilitate democracy by helping to ensure that citizens have the information required to participate meaningfully in the democratic process and that politicians and bureaucrats remain accountable to the citizenry."

Please consult the official version of the Access to Information Act on the Justice Canada website.

À propos de la Loi


La Loi sur l’accès à l’information, qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 1983, confirme le droit d’accès aux documents de l’administration fédérale. Le Canada a été l’un des premiers pays au monde à offrir une telle protection à ses citoyens.

La Loi reflète trois principes : le public a le droit de consulter les documents de l’administration fédérale, les exceptions indispensables à ce droit sont précises et limitées, et les décisions quant à la communication sont susceptibles de recours indépendants du pouvoir exécutif.

La Cour suprême du Canada considère la Loi comme un pilier de notre démocratie. En 1997, le juge Gérard Vincent La Forest a déclaré au nom de toute la Cour suprême : « La loi en matière d’accès à l’information a donc pour objet général de favoriser la démocratie, ce qu’elle fait de manières connexes. Elle aide à garantir, en premier lieu, que les citoyens possèdent l’information nécessaire pour participer utilement au processus démocratique, et, en second lieu, que les politiciens et bureaucrates demeurent comptables envers l’ensemble de la population. »

Prière de consulter la version officielle de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information sur le site Web de Justice Canada.