Lodging a Complaint

Anyone who feels that an information request was not properly handled by a federal institution may ask the OIC to investigate the issue. Typical reasons for making complaints include processing delays, denial of information, fees required, and official language concerns.

Remember that the OIC is also subject to the ATIA. Anyone who believes that an access request submitted to us was improperly handled is entitled to make a complaint about our handling of an information request. To ensure the integrity of the complaints process, the Commissioner has appointed an outside source – an ad hoc Information Commissioner – to conduct investigations into any complaints about the OIC. 

Complaint Form

 

When may I complain?

You may complain to the Office within 60 days of receiving your answer from the federal institution in question for reasons such as:

  • you believe you were improperly denied the information you requested;
  • the answer to your request is taking too long;
  • the fees are too high;
  • you have not received the information in your official language of choice; or
  • you become aware that other grounds for the complaint exist.
 

How do I complain?

If you wish to lodge a formal complaint under the Access to Information Act, please write to:

Office of the Information Commissioner
30 Victoria Street
Gatineau, Québec K1A 1H3

For security reasons, we cannot accept complaints by email or phone, but can provide general information on the complaint process.

 

Will my identity be protected?

All complaints are investigated confidentially. Your identity will be known only to the staff investigating your complaint and to the officials of the institution to which you made your request, who must respond to the Commissioner's investigation.

 

How does the Information Commissioner deal with my complaint?

Your complaint will be acknowledged and you will be given the assigned investigator's name. He or she may ask you questions and will give you the opportunity to present your point of view. The investigator will also obtain information from the institution and will try to mediate a resolution of your complaint.

Many complaints are settled by clearing up misinterpretations or errors. Bear in mind, however, that the Commissioner may conclude that the institution acted properly.

Before making a finding, the Commissioner considers the results of the investigation, your arguments, as well as those of the government institution and any third party affected by disclosure of the information. The finding is then reported directly to you.

 

Can I go to court if I'm not satisfied?

Once you have received the Commissioner's report, you may apply to the Federal Court of Canada for a review of the institution's decision to deny access to requested information—whether or not the Commissioner supports your complaint. The Commissioner may also decide to take a case involving an important point of law to the Federal Court of Canada, if you agree to it.

Déposer une plainte

Toute personne qui croit que sa demande d’information n’a pas bien été traitée par une institution fédérale peut demander au Commissariat de faire enquête. Les raisons classiques des plaintes sont les retards de traitement, le refus de communication, les frais demandés et les questions liées aux langues officielles.

Rappelez-vous que le Commissariat est également assujetti à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Quiconque croit qu’une demande de communication qui nous a été soumise n’a pas été dûment traitée a le droit de porter plainte à propos du traitement de la demande. Pour garantir l’intégrité du processus d’instruction des plaintes, le commissaire a nommé une source externe, un commissaire à l’information ad hoc, pour enquêter sur les plaintes déposées contre le Commissariat. 

Formulaire de plainte

 

Quand puis-je porter plainte?

  • Vous pouvez déposer une plainte dans les 60 jours suivant la réception de votre réponse de l’institution fédérale, pour les motifs suivants :
  • vous estimez que l’on a indûment refusé de vous communiquer l’information que vous avez demandée;
  • l’institution met trop de temps à répondre à votre demande;
  • les frais sont trop élevés;
  • on ne vous a pas fourni l’information demandée dans la langue officielle de votre choix;
  • vous avez appris que d’autres motifs peuvent justifier votre plainte.
 

Comment déposer ma plainte?

  • Si vous souhaitez déposer une plainte officielle conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, téléchargez le formulaire et écrivez-nous à l’adresse suivante :
    Commissaire à l’information du Canada
    30, rue Victoria
    Gatineau (Québec) K1A 1H3
  • Pour des raisons de sécurité, nous n’acceptons pas les plaintes par courriel ni par téléphone. Cependant, nous pouvons vous fournir de l’information générale sur la procédure à suivre pour déposer une plainte.
 

Mon identité sera-t-elle protégée?

  • Toutes les enquêtes liées aux plaintes sont confidentielles. Votre identité sera connue seulement des employés du Commissariat qui traiteront votre plainte et des responsables de l’institution à qui vous avez adressé votre demande et qui devront répondre à l’enquête du commissaire.
 

Comment le commissaire à l’information traite-t-il ma plainte?

  • Vous recevrez un accusé de réception, et on vous donnera le nom de l’enquêteur à qui votre plainte aura été confiée. L’enquêteur vous posera éventuellement des questions et vous donnera l’occasion d’exprimer votre point de vue. Il obtiendra également de l’information de l’institution et tentera de régler votre plainte par la médiation.
  • De nombreuses plaintes sont réglées simplement en dissipant les malentendus et en corrigeant les erreurs. Il faut cependant se rappeler que le commissaire peut conclure que l’institution a agi de façon appropriée.
  • Avant de tirer une conclusion, le commissaire tient compte des résultats de l’enquête, de vos arguments ainsi que de ceux de l’institution gouvernementale, et de tout tiers touché par la communication de l’information. La conclusion vous sera ensuite communiquée.
 

Puis-je porter ma plainte en cour?

  • Une fois que vous avez reçu le rapport du commissaire, qu’il reconnaisse ou non le bien-fondé de votre plainte, vous pouvez demander à la Cour fédérale du Canada de réviser la décision de l’institution de vous refuser l’accès à l’information demandée. Le commissaire peut décider, avec votre accord, de porter l’affaire devant la Cour fédérale du Canada si elle concerne une importante question de droit.