Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canadian Newspaper Association Complaint

Background

The Canadian Newspaper Association (CNA) requested that the Office of the Information Commissioner investigate the existence of secret rules in the federal public service for processing media requests for information under the Access to Information Act which amount to systematic discrimination and result in unfair and unjustifiable delays in the processing of media requests. The complaint did not identify any specific access request, but raised the prospect of there being systemic issues with the handling of media requests which have a serious impact on the media’s right of access to information under the control of federal government institutions.

Investigation

The CNA’s complaint of September 2005, related to access requests made by members of the media to all government institutions over an unspecified time period. After our preliminary assessment of the matter, and in consultation with the CNA, 21 government institutions were selected to become the subjects of this investigation regarding their processing of access requests over the time period between April 1, 2003 and March 31, 2005. (see Appendix A for the institutions involved).

We examined two issues in our investigation. First, whether the processing of access requests by the media was subject to secret rules or to some other form of systematic discriminatory treatment specifically directed at media requests. Second, whether the processing of access requests by the media was subject to unfair and unjustifiable delays. In our view, the first issue required a comparative review of the process for the handling of media requests in each government institution selected to be part of this investigation, while the second issue was best dealt with on the basis of statistical analysis.

In investigating the complaint, we took a broad view of what was being alleged and did not narrowly, or legalistically, interpret it. We did not restrict our focus to the words "secret" or "rules" and investigated in a broader sense the possible existence of "policies" or "practices", even if they did not amount to "rules." Likewise, we did not restrict ourselves to rules, policies or practices that were clandestine or secret, but also investigated any that were open or widely acknowledged.

Representations

In accordance with the Access to Information Act, we received a series of representations from the 21 federal institutions involved as well as the CNA. We used these in making our assessments as to what the evidence meant, which facts we should find and what conclusions we should draw.

Findings

While we were unable to conclude on the basis of our investigation that there exists "secret rules" or a government-wide systematic practice specifically directed against each media request, or the media in general, we did conclude that there was some merit to the second part of the CNA’s complaint about unfair and unjustifiable delays.

Our conclusions are that access requests that are labeled as "sensitive", "of interest", "amber light" or with some other label indicating a need for "special handling", whether they are made by the media or any other group, are subjected in most government institutions we investigated to unwarranted delays in processing. The media is not singled out but is a part of a wider problem affecting other groups as well, including Parliamentarians, organizations, academics and lawyers.

Recommendations

In order to resolve this complaint, we made the following recommendations to the President of the Treasury Board and to the heads of the other 20 government institutions involved:

  1. that, subject to section 9 of the Act, any government institution which categorizes or labels access requests in any way, and which may lead to any form of special handling, shall undertake not to delay the processing of these requests;
  2. that the President of the Treasury Board undertake a study of how the institutions which categorize or label access requests for special handling, with no detriment to the timely processing of access requests, organize the process, with a view to issuing Best Practices to all government institutions; and
  3. that the Treasury Board Secretariat, as it identifies areas for which they will be collecting statistics starting in fiscal year 2009-2010, include statistics from all government institutions which would allow the monitoring of this system of categorization of access requests and how it affects response times to requests.

The President of Treasury Board and the heads of all 21 institutions agreed to follow our recommendations. We will follow up with the Treasury Board Secretariat and the other institutions on their progress in implementing our recommendations. We will report our findings and results to Parliament, the government institutions and the public in a subsequent report.

Appendix A

Government institutions involved in investigation of cna complaint

  • Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
  • Canada Border Services Agency
  • Canada Revenue Agency
  • Canada Firearms Centre
  • Citizenship and Immigration Canada
  • Environment Canada
  • Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Foreign Affairs and International Trade
  • Health Canada
  • Human Resources and Skills Development Canada
  • Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
  • Industry Canada
  • Justice Canada
  • Library and Archives Canada
  • National Defence
  • Privy Council Office
  • Public Works and Government Services Canada
  • Royal Canadian Mounted Police
  • Statistics Canada
  • Transport Canada
  • Treasury Board Secretariat

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Enquêtes systémiques

Plainte déposée par l’Association canadienne des journaux

Contexte

L’Association canadienne des journaux(ACJ) a demandé au Commissariat à l’information d’enquêter sur l’existence de règles secrètes dans la fonction publique fédérale pour le traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information des médias en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, pratique qui équivaut à une discrimination systématique et entraîne des retards injustes et injustifiés dans le traitement des demandes des médias. La plainte ne portait pas sur une demande en particulier, mais soulevait la possibilité de problèmes systémiques dans le traitement des demandes des médias, situation qui a une grave incidence sur le droit d’accès des médias à l’information sous le control des institutions fédérales.

Enquête

La plainte déposée par l’ACJ en septembre 2005 se rapportait aux demandes d’accès à l’information déposées par des membres des médias auprès de toutes les institutions fédérales au cours d’une période de temps indéterminée. Après notre évaluation préliminaire de la question, et en consultation avec l’ACJ, nous avons choisi 21 institutions fédérales dont le traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information serait analysé entre le 1er avril 2003 et le 31 mars 2005. (Voir l’annexe A la liste des institutions.)

Nous avons examiné deux questions pendant notre enquête. Nous avons d’abord cherché à savoir si le traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information des médias étaient assujetti à des règles secrètes ou à quelque autre forme de discrimination systématique ciblant plus particulièrement les demandes des médias et, ensuite, si ce traitement était assujetti à des retards injustes et injustifiés. À notre avis, la première question exigeait un examen comparatif de la procédure suivie dans le traitement des demandes des médias dans chaque institution fédérale sélectionnée dans le cadre de cette enquête, tandis qu’une analyse statistique permettait de bien approfondir la deuxième question.

En enquêtant sur la plainte, nous avons envisagé les faits présumés dans leur ensemble et ne les avons pas interprétés de façon restrictive ni légaliste. Nous n’avons pas limité notre attention aux mots « secrets » ou « règles »; plutôt, nous avons enquêté dans un sens plus large sur l'existence possible de « politiques » ou de « pratiques », même si ces termes n’équivalent pas à celui de « règles ». Dans la même manière, nous ne nous sommes pas attardés qu’aux règles, politiques ou pratiques clandestines ou secrètes, mais avons aussi analysé toutes celles qui étaient transparentes ou largement reconnues.

Observations

Conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, nous avons reçu une série d’observations de la part de chacune des 21 institutions fédérales visées, de même que de celle de l’ACJ dans le cadre de nos évaluations quant à la signification de la preuve, aux faits que nous devrions établir et aux conclusions qu’il nous faudrait tirer.

Constatations

Bien que notre enquête n’ait pas prouvé l’existence de « règles secrètes » ou d’une pratique systématique à l’échelle fédérale visant précisément chaque demande des médias, ou les médias en général, nous avons conclu au fondement de la deuxième partie de la plainte de l’ACJ concernant les retards injustes et injustifiés.

Nos conclusions sont que les demandes d’accès à l’information émanant des médias ainsi que d’autres groupes qui sont étiquetées ou classifiées comme « délicates » , « présentant un intérêt » , « alerte orange » ou toute autre étiquette entraînant un traitement particulier sont assujetties, dans la plupart des institutions sur lesquelles nous avons enquêté, à des retards injustifiés dans leur traitement. Les médias ne font pas l’objet de distinctions, mais sont inclus dans un problème plus vaste qui touche aussi d’autres groupes, tels que les agents du Parlement ainsi que les avocats.

Recommandations

En vue de régler cette plainte, nous avons émis les recommandations suivantes à l’intention du président du Conseil du Trésor et des responsables des 20 autres institutions fédérales visées :

  1. que, conformément à l’article 9 de la Loi, les institutions fédérales qui classifient ou étiquettent les demandes de communication de quelque façon que ce soit et dont la classification en question est susceptible de mener à un traitement spécial, s’engagent à ne pas retarder le traitement des demandes en question;
  2. que le président du Conseil du Trésor mène une revue sur la façon dont les institutions qui classifient ou étiquettent les demandes de communication en vue d’un traitement particulier, sans que cela n’entrave un traitement rapide des demandes, organisent le processus dans le but de fournir des pratiques exemplaires à toutes les institutions fédérales;
  3. que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, pendant qu’il relève des domaines pour lesquels il réunira des statistiques dès l’exercice 2009-2010, inclue des statistiques de toutes les institutions fédérales qui permettraient la surveillance de ce système de classification des demandes de communication et l’évaluation de son incidence sur les temps de traitement.

Le président du Conseil du Trésor et les responsables de toutes les 21 institutions ont accepté de suivre nos recommandations. Nous effectuerons un suivi auprès du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et d’autres institutions afin de mesurer l’avancement de la mise en œuvre de nos recommandations. Nous présenterons nos constatations et résultats au Parlement, aux institutions fédérales ainsi qu’au public dans le cadre d’un rapport subséquent.

 

Annexe A

LISTE DES INSTITUTIONS FÉDÉRALES CONCERNÉS DANS L’ENQUÊTE DE LA PLAINTE DE L’ACJ


Agence de promotion économique du Canada Atlantique
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Agence du revenu du Canada
Centre des armes à feu du Canada
Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada
Environnement Canada
Pêches et Océans Canada
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international
Santé Canada
Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences
Affaires indienne et du Nord canadien
Industrie Canada
Justice Canada
Bibliothèque et Archives du Canada
Défense nationale
Bureau du Conseil privé
Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux du Canada
Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Statistique Canada
Transports Canada
Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada