Triage of complaints

The Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) is handling its caseload by using a triage process. It involves an assessment of complaints received that can be resolved either quickly by way of an early resolution process or by assigning a priority level.

Following an internal audit, the triage process has been streamlined to improve client service.

Early Resolution

The OIC will investigate and complete all administrative complaints within 90 calendar days of their being registered. These types of complaints involve delays which are considered deemed refusals, time extensions, fees and miscellaneous matters.

Early resolution may also be attempted for refusal complaints. The OIC will contact the complainant to determine if early resolution is possible.

The types of refusal complaints that will be considered for early resolution include:

  • exclusion complaints involving published material (section 68);
  • missing records and incomplete response complaints when the matter concerns a misdirected request and/or sufficient justification is evident;
  • mandatory exemption complaints, such as personal information;
  • discretionary exemption complaints where the volume of records involved is low (e.g. fewer than 20 pages), or where the body of records, although voluminous, are similar or routine in nature and do not require extensive analysis. In these cases, all of the necessary material must be available in order to undertake an analysis.

 Priority Complaints

There may be circumstances where a complaint will be given priority because it is urgent or may have a significant impact on Canadians. For instance, cases considered urgent will be those dealing with life, liberty or security of individuals, loss of economic rights or legal remedies, and possible destruction of records.

Cases considered to have a significant impact will be those dealing with widespread public or parliamentary interest, systemic issues, precedent-setting cases, public safety and national security, and government accountability issues.

The OIC will monitor performance systematically to ensure that these cases progress towards resolution in a timely manner.

This simplified triage process will be reviewed in 12 months in consultation with institutions and complainants.

Last updated: October 1st 2009

Directives sur les pratiques

Triage des plaintes

Pour gérer le volume de travail, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (Commissariat) fait appel à un processus de triage. Celui-ci comporte une évaluation des plaintes reçues qui peuvent être réglées par un processus de résolution rapide ou selon un niveau de priorité attribué.

À la suite d’une vérification interne, le processus de triage a été simplifié pour améliorer le service à la clientèle.

Résolution rapide

Le Commissariat fera enquête sur les plaintes administratives et les réglera dans les 90 jours civils suivant leur enregistrement. Les plaintes de ce type portent sur des retards qui constituent des présomptions de refus, sur des prorogations de délai, sur les frais et sur diverses autres questions.

La résolution rapide peut également être entreprise pour les plaintes concernant un refus. Le Commissariat communiquera avec le plaignant pour déterminer s’il est possible d’avoir recours à la résolution rapide.

Les types de plaintes de refus qui pourront être traitées par le biais de la résolution rapide sont notamment :

  • Les plaintes relatives aux exclusions qui comportent des documents publiés (article 68);
  • Les plaintes concernant des documents manquants et des réponses incomplètes quand elles portent sur une demande mal dirigée et/ou si une justification suffisante est évidente;
  • Les plaintes relatives à des exceptions obligatoires, comme les renseignements personnels;
  • es plaintes relatives à des exceptions discrétionnaires lorsque le volume de documents concerné est faible (p. ex., moins de 20 pages) ou lorsque tous les documents, bien que volumineux, sont similaires ou de routine et n’exigent pas une analyse approfondie. Dans ces cas, tous les documents nécessaires doivent être disponibles afin de pouvoir entreprendre une analyse.

Plaintes prioritaires

Dans certaines circonstances, une plainte sera jugée prioritaire si elle comporte une certaine urgence ou si elle peut avoir des répercussions appréciables pour les Canadiens. Par exemple, seront jugés urgents les dossiers qui portent sur la vie, la liberté ou la sécurité des gens, la perte de droits économiques ou de recours judiciaires, et la destruction possible de documents.

Seront considérés comme ayant des répercussions appréciables les dossiers qui présentent un grand intérêt pour le public ou le Parlement, qui touchent des problèmes systémiques, qui peuvent mener à des précédents, qui portent sur la sécurité publique et nationale, ainsi que sur la responsabilité du gouvernement.

Le Commissariat fera un suivi systématique pour veiller à ce que ces dossiers soient réglés en temps opportun.

Ce processus de triage simplifié sera revu dans 12 mois en consultation avec les institutions et les plaignants.