Information Commissioner’s guidance

Process: Timeframe for filing a complaint

Updated November 6, 2018

Under section 31 of the Access to Information Act, requesters may file a complaint with the Information Commissioner about how an institution handled an access to information request up to 60 days after one of the following occurs:

  • the requester receives a notice under section 7 that the institution refuses to grant access to the requested records (this includes time extension notices; see section 9);
  • the requester receives some or all of the requested records; or
  • the requester becomes aware that other grounds for a complaint exist.

Requesters may also submit a delay complaint when the institution has not responded within 30 days after it received the request, and when no time extension has been claimed by the institution.

In most circumstances, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) does not accept complaints it receives after the 60-day time period has expired and notifies requesters accordingly. However, the Information Commissioner may initiate on her own behalf a complaint submitted late in exceptional circumstances, such when the matter deals with life, liberty or security of individuals, or when the results are likely to have a significant impact on Canadians.

Determining the 60-day timeframe

To determine whether a complaint was filed on time, the OIC verifies the date that the requester received the institution’s response (this includes time extension notices). It is important that institutions document when they formally respond to requests, since that is often the starting point for the 60-day time period. The OIC may also take into account proof of receipt of the response by the requester, documentation in the institution’s file confirming the delivery date of the response, or postmarks or other transmission dates on documents.

Orientation de la commissaire À l’information

Délai de dépôt  d’une plainte

Mise à jour le 24 septembre 2018

En vertu de l’article 31 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, les demandeurs peuvent déposer auprès de la commissaire à l’information une plainte sur la façon dont une institution a traité une demande d’accès à l’information dans les 60 jours suivant l’une des situations suivantes :

  • le demandeur reçoit un avis en vertu de  l’article 7  le notifiant  que l’institution refuse de donner communication des documents demandés (y compris les avis de prorogation de délai — voir l’article 9);
  • le demandeur reçoit les documents demandés en tout ou en partie;
  • le demandeur apprend qu’il existe d’autres motifs de plainte.

Les demandeurs peuvent également déposer une plainte pour retard si l’institution n’a pas répondu dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de la demande d’accès, et si aucune prorogation de délai n’a été demandée.

Dans la plupart des cas, le Commissariat n’accepte pas les plaintes qu’il reçoit après l’expiration du délai de 60 jours et avise les demandeurs en conséquence. Toutefois, la commissaire à l’information peut, en son nom propre, déposer une plainte tardive dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, par exemple lorsque l’affaire porte sur le droit à la vie, la liberté ou la sécurité des personnes, ou lorsque les résultats sont susceptibles d’avoir une incidence importante sur les Canadiens.

Détermination du délai de 60 jours

Pour établir si une plainte a été déposée à temps, le Commissariat vérifie la date à laquelle le demandeur a reçu la réponse de l’institution (ce qui comprend un avis de prorogation du délai). Il est important que les institutions consignent le moment où elles répondent officiellement aux demandes, car c’est souvent le point de départ de la période de 60 jours. Le Commissariat peut également tenir compte de la preuve de la réception de la réponse par le demandeur, des documents versés au dossier de l’institution confirmant la date de livraison de la réponse, du cachet de la poste ou d’autres dates de transmission des documents.