ADVISORY NOTICE

Special Delegation Investigative Strategy

The Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) has initiated a strategy to streamline the process of investigating "special delegation" complaints. Special delegation complaints involve the application of subsections 13(1)(a), 13(1)(b) and/or 15 of the Access to Information Act.  We are currently focusing on the investigation of complaints involving the application of subsection 15(1).  The goals of this approach are two-fold:

  • to investigate special delegation files efficiently and effectively in a consistent manner, in accordance with jurisprudence, that promotes access to information where disclosure would not injure the public interest; and,
  • to create an environment of open dialog between the OIC and government institutions that promotes the timely resolution of complaints.

Senior and experienced OIC investigators have been specially designated to conduct these investigations using a portfolio approach, with a focus on institutions with the greatest number of special delegation investigations.  The intention is to minimize the number of contact points and administrative delays, and to promote consistency and strong working relationships.

Process – what institutions can expect:

1. Intake stage

At the intake stage of the investigation, institutions will be provided with an email requesting the records and detailing the relevant test to be met under subsection 15(1).  Institutions will be asked to provide, within twenty (20) working days of the institution's receipt of the notice of complaint:

  1. the institutional processing file and relevant records (working copies);
  2. which of the three harms listed in the subsection (i.e., the conduct of international affairs, harm to the defence of Canada, or harm to the detection, prevention or suppression of subversive or hostile activities) is relevant to the current complaint and, if applicable, which paragraph the institution is relying on (i.e., s. 15(1)(a)-(i));
  3. evidence regarding how disclosure of the withheld information could reasonably be expected to be injurious to the identified harm, with respect to all portions exempted from disclosure that are the subject of the complaint;
  4. how the institution exercised its discretion to withhold certain portions of information under subsection 15(1) (i.e., evidence that the institution considered all relevant factors for and against disclosure); and
  5. the institution's rationale for all other claimed exemptions, as applicable in the requester's complaint.

2. Investigation stage

Investigators will create an exemption analysis table setting out the withheld portions of the records in each special delegation file and the results of any investigative research into the public availability of the withheld information at the time of the decision.

This table will be provided to the government institution with a request that it:

  1. provide specific evidence of the injury which it reasonably expects would have resulted from the disclosure of the information; and
  2. demonstrate how it exercised the discretion provided in ss. 15(1), in accordance with existing jurisprudence.

If the OIC does not agree with the government institution's analysis, we will, after further discussions with the institution, seek further representations as per paragraph 35(2)(b) of the Act.  The complainant will also be given an opportunity to submit representations.

It is anticipated that the streamlining process will result in more frequent requests for formal representations under paragraph 35(2)(b).  The intent is to investigate in the most efficient manner to ensure that the rights of requesters to timely and complete disclosure are respected.

Because we are focusing our current efforts on decreasing the backlog of older files, institutions can expect that older files will move quickly to paragraph 35(2)(b) letters, as it is assumed that mediation avenues have been exhausted at this point.  However, a comprehensive mediation process will be incorporated into the investigation of newer complaints received by the OIC.

Avis d'information

Stratégie d'enquête relative aux délégations spéciales

Le Commissariat à l'information (CI) a lancé une stratégie visant à simplifier le processus d'enquête sur les plaintes relatives à la « délégation spéciale ». Ces plaintes concernent l'application des alinéas 13(1)a), 13(1)b) ou l'article 15 de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Actuellement, nous mettons l'accent sur le processus d'enquête des plaintes concernant l'application du paragraphe 15(1) de la Loi. Cette démarche vise deux objectifs :  

  • Enquêter sur les dossiers de délégation spéciale d'une façon efficace, efficiente et uniforme, conformément à la jurisprudence et qui fasse la promotion de l'accès à l'information lorsque la divulgation ne porterait pas de préjudice à l'intérêt public. 
  • Créer un environnement de dialogue ouvert entre le CI et les institutions fédérales ciblées, de façon à favoriser la résolution des plaintes en temps opportun.

Des enquêteurs principaux et expérimentés du CI ont été nommés spécialement pour mener ces enquêtes en faisant appel à la méthode du portefeuille, en mettant l'accent sur les institutions où on retrouve le plus grand nombre d'enquêtes sur les délégations spéciales. Notre but est de minimiser le nombre de points de contact et les retards administratifs, et aussi de favoriser l'uniformité et de bonnes relations de travail.

Processus – attentes possibles des institutions :

1. Étape de réception initiale

Lors de l'évaluation initiale de l'enquête, les institutions recevront un courriel demandant les documents et expliquant en détail les conditions pertinentes devant être remplies selon le paragraphe 15(1). On demandera aux institutions de fournir, dans les vingt (20) jours ouvrables suivant la réception de l'avis de la plainte, les détails suivants :

  1. Le dossier administratif et les documents pertinents à la demande (copie de travail); 
  2. Lequel des trois préjudices indiqués dans le paragraphe (p. ex., préjudice à la conduite des affaires internationales, préjudice à la défense du Canada ou préjudice à la détection, à la prévention ou à la répression d'activités hostiles ou subversives) est pertinent pour la plainte en question et, le cas échéant, sur quel paragraphe s'appuie l'institution (p. ex., 15(1)a) à i)); 
  3. Preuve quant à savoir de quelle manière la divulgation des informations retenues pourrait raisonnablement nuire au préjudice identifié, en ce qui concerne toutes les parties exemptes de toute divulgation qui font l'objet de la plainte; 
  4. La manière dont l'institution a exercé son pouvoir discrétionnaire pour empêcher la divulgation de certaines parties des informations, selon le paragraphe 15(1) (c.-à-d., preuve que l'institution a examiné tous les facteurs pertinents pour et contre la divulgation);  
  5. La justification de l'institution pour toutes les autres exceptions déclarées, le cas échéant dans la plainte du demandeur.

2. Étape de l'enquête

Les enquêteurs créeront ensuite un tableau (analyse des exceptions) indiquant les portions d'information prélevées des documents pour chaque dossier et des résultats de toute recherche concernant la diffusion publique des renseignements retenus au moment de la décision.

Ce tableau sera remis à l'institution avec une demande à l'effet d'apporter les précisions suivantes :  

  1. Fournir des preuves évidentes du préjudice qui est vraisemblablement attendu si les renseignements sont divulgués;  
  2. Dans le cas du paragraphe 15(1), de démontrer de quelle manière, elle a exercé son pouvoir discrétionnaire, conformément à la jurisprudence existante.  

Si le CI n'accepte pas l'analyse de l'institution, après discussion avec l'institution, nous lui fournirons la possibilité de faire d'autres observations, conformément à l'alinéa 35(2)b) de la Loi. Le plaignant aura également la possibilité de présenter des observations.

On prévoit que le processus de simplification entraînera des demandes plus fréquentes de représentations officielles selon l'alinéa 35(2)b). Le but est de mener une enquête de la manière la plus efficace, afin d'assurer le respect des droits des demandeurs d'obtenir une divulgation complète et en temps opportun.

Comme nous concentrons actuellement nos efforts à la diminution de l'arrérage des dossiers plus anciens, les institutions doivent s'attendre à ce que lesdits dossiers soient traités plus rapidement conformément aux prescriptions de l'alinéa 35(2)b), car on suppose que toutes les possibilités de médiation auront été épuisées depuis. Toutefois, un processus de médiation complet sera intégré dans l'enquête des plaintes plus récentes reçues par le CI.