Time Extensions under Paragraph 9(1)(c) of the Access to Information Act

Advisory notice

The purpose of this advisory notice is to inform government institutions of the approach the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) takes when evaluating whether time extensions claimed under paragraph 9(1)(c) of the Access to Information Act (the “Act”) are valid.

This notice is also intended to help officials respond to our inquiries during investigations into complaints about deemed refusals when institutions have taken such extensions. A mutual understanding of the criteria we review and the documentation we will require will expedite the investigation process and, thereby, help protect parties’ rights.

Background

Paragraph 9(1)(c) permits institutions to extend the 30-day time period in which to respond to access to information requests in order to consult third parties about the application of the exemption set out in section 20.

Section 3 defines a third party as, “any person, group of persons or organization other than the person who made the request or a government institution.” For a list of government institutions please see Schedule 2 of the Act.

The exemption set out in section 20(1) covers information such as trade secrets, confidential financial, commercial, scientific or technical information, and other information that could prejudice contractual negotiations or otherwise prejudice a third party’s competitive position. Subsections 20(5) and (6) also contain several exceptions to the otherwise mandatory exemption.

Sections 27 and 28 set out a legislated process to follow to consult with third parties, giving time frames for each step.

OIC investigations have brought to light a number of practices that we consider to be inconsistent with the proper use of paragraph 9(1)(c) extensions, with the process for carrying out third-party consultations and with institutions’ obligation to provide timely access to records under the duty to assist (subsection 4(2.1)). Examples of investigations of complaints that gave rise to these concerns can be found in recent annual reports. [ http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/eng/annual-reports-rapports-annuel_2011-2012_6.aspx ] & [ http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/eng/annual-reports-rapports-annuel_2011-2012_7.aspx ]

Properly applying paragraph 9(1)(c)

During investigations into the use of paragraph 9(1)(c) extensions, we focus on whether the institution has complied with the requirements of that provision, as well as with the process and timelines set out in sections 27 and 28, and with its duty-to-assist obligations.

When determining whether a time extension under subsection 9(1) is valid, we first look at whether the institution took the extension within the first 30 days after receiving the request.

Beyond that, we examine whether the institution met two criteria to determine whether a paragraph 9(1)(c) extension is valid:

  • The extension must be for a “reasonable period of time.”
  • The institution must notify, under subsection 27(1), the third party of the request and of the institution’s intention to release information that relates to the third party (as described in section 20).

“Reasonable period of time”

To determine whether an extension is for a “reasonable period of time,” we carry out an objective assessment of whether the length is appropriate in the circumstances. Our assessment is guided by the clear and mandatory timelines for third-party consultations set out in section 28, as follows:

  • A third party must provide to the institution any representations it wishes to make about the request or the information in question within 20 days after a section 27 notice is given.
  • Within 30 days after the notice is given, the institution must decide whether to disclose the information (regardless of whether the third party has responded) and give written notice of that decision to the third party.

When the institution decides to release the requested information, despite any representations from the third party, it must then wait a further 20 days to allow the third party to file an application for judicial review with the Federal Court. If the third party does not file such an application, the institution must, under subsection 28(4), disclose the information at that time. If the third party applies to the Federal Court, disclosure will not be made unless a Court orders release.

Based on this process and the associated legislative timelines, the OIC is of the view that consultations with a third party, once initiated by a subsection 27(1) notice, should take approximately 60 calendar days [1999-2000 annual report http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/eng/rp-pr-ar-ra-archive.aspx], including mailing time. This position guides our assessment during an investigation of any extension an institution takes under paragraph 9(1)(c).

Notification to a third party

Under subsection 27(1), institutions must make every reasonable effort to notify third parties of a request for information related to them when the institution intends to release that information and the head of the institution has reason to believe that it might contain information identified in sections 20(1)(a),(b) or (b.1) or where the head of the institution could reasonably foresee that disclosure might lead to the results described in paragraph 20(1)(c) or (d), such as the third party’s material financial loss or gain. This notice must be given in writing within 30 days after receiving the request.

For the OIC to find an extension under paragraph 9(1)(c) to be valid, an institution must show that it has carried out the third-party notification process properly. In particular, officials will need to show that they have given notice to the third party within the required 30 days or provide documentation to prove they attempted to do so.

Institution notifies third party of request and intention to release information Institution takes paragraph 9(1)(c) extension Deadline for third party to send representation to institution Institution decides whether to release information Deadline for third party to file application for judicial review If no application is filed, institution releases information Mailing time
First 30 days 20 days after notice is given 10 days later 20 days later 10 days
  60-day time extension under paragraph 9(1)(c)
 

However, we acknowledge that under subsection 27(4), an institution may take longer to notify a third party when it has also claimed a time extension under paragraph 9(1)(a) or (b) (or both) for the request. In this situation, the institution must send the notice to the third party before the longest of those extensions expires but must still take the extension within the first 30 days following receipt of the request. Otherwise, we will find the extension invalid.

We also expect that institutions will, where possible, notify all third parties simultaneously in order to comply with their obligation under the duty to assist to provide requesters with timely access to records. In addition, institutions may not grant extensions to third parties to respond to subsection 27(1) notices, negotiate with third parties or make multiple decisions about whether to release the information.

Should we determine that an institution has failed to comply with the requirements of paragraph 9(1)(c) and the timelines set out in sections 27 and 28, we may choose to formalize our investigation. This may entail seeking written representations from the institution under subsection 35(2) and making recommendations to the head of the institution under section 37.

Other matters

Notifying requesters of extensions under paragraph 9(1)(c)

Subsection 9(1) does not require an institution to inform the requester of the number of days it has taken for an extension under paragraph 9(1)(c), as it does with extensions under paragraphs 9(1)(a) and 9(1)(b).

Notice of the extension to the Information Commissioner

Under subsection 9(2), institutions must notify the Information Commissioner of any extension of more than 30 days. It is a best practice to notify us of all paragraph 9(1)(c) extensions, given that they could be for as long as 60 days. Institutions should submit this notice at the same time as they notify the requester. See our advisory notices [9(1)(a) and 9(1)(b)] on notifying us about extensions.

Proper extension to take for third-party consultations

The OIC does not accept the use of an extension under paragraph 9(1)(b) [ http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/eng/inv-inv_not-inv-sum-som-inv-not_sum_2008-2009_2.aspx ] to consult third parties when commercial information [page 19 of the 1999-2000 annual report http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/eng/rp-pr-ar-ra-archive.aspx] as described in subsection 20(1), is involved. Instead, institutions must use paragraph 9(1)(c), which, due to the process set out in sections 27 and 28, balances the rights of requesters and third parties.

Right to complain

Subsection 9(1) requires institutions to notify requesters, as part of the notice of extension, that they have the right to complain to the Commissioner about the extension. Requesters must submit complaints within 60 days after the day they receive the notice. Further direction on this is available on the OIC website.

Prorogations de délai en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)c) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Avis d’information

Le présent avis d’information a pour objet d’informer les institutions fédérales de l’approche utilisée par le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (CI) pour évaluer la validité des prorogations de délai demandées aux termes de l’alinéa 9(1)c) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Le présent avis vise également à aider les fonctionnaires à répondre à nos demandes d’information lors d’enquêtes relatives à des plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus lorsque les institutions ont eu recours à de telles prorogations. Une compréhension mutuelle des critères que nous examinerons et des documents que nous exigerons permettra d’accélérer le processus d’enquête et, par le fait même, contribuera à protéger les droits des parties.

Contexte

L’alinéa 9(1)c) permet aux institutions de proroger le délai de 30 jours accordé pour répondre aux demandes d’accès à l’information afin de consulter des tiers sur l’application de l’exception énoncée à l’article 20.

L’article 3 définit un tiers comme « personne, groupement ou organisation autres que l’auteur de la demande ou qu’une institution fédérale ». Pour la liste des institutions gouvernementales, veuillez voir l’annexe 2 de la Loi.

L’exemption qui figure à l’article 20 porte sur des renseignements, tels que les secrets industriels, les renseignements financiers, commerciaux, scientifiques ou techniques confidentiels et d’autres informations dont la divulgation risquerait d’entraver des négociations menées par un tiers ou de nuire, de quelque autre façon, à sa compétitivité. Les paragraphes 20(5) et (6) renferme également plusieurs exceptions à cette exemption par ailleurs obligatoire.

Les articles 27 et 28 définissent un processus légiféré à suivre pour consulter des tiers et précisent les délais applicables à chacune des étapes.

Les enquêtes du CI ont mis en lumière un certain nombre de pratiques que nous jugeons incompatibles avec l’usage avisé des prorogations prévues à l’alinéa 9(1)c), le processus de consultations des tiers et l’obligation des institutions de prêter assistance, conformément au paragraphe 4(2.1), en assurant un accès en temps opportun aux documents. On peut trouver des exemples d’enquêtes à l’égard de plaintes déposées qui ont donné lieu à ces préoccupations dans les derniers rapports annuels [ http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/fra/annual-reports-rapports-annuel_2011-2012_6.aspx ] & [ http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/fra/annual-reports-rapports-annuel_2011-2012_7.aspx ]

Application correcte de l’alinéa 9(1)c)

Lors des enquêtes menées sur le recours aux prorogations prévues à l’alinéa 9(1)c), nous nous attachons à déterminer si l’institution a respecté les exigences de cette disposition, ainsi que le processus et les délais précisés dans les articles 27 et 28, sans oublier l’obligation qui lui incombe de prêter assistance.

Lorsqu’il s’agit d’établir la validité d’une prorogation de délai en vertu du paragraphe 9(1), nous nous demandons d’abord si l’institution a fait la demande de prorogation dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de la demande.

En outre, pour établir la validité de la prorogation en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)c), nous examinons si l’institution a satisfait à deux critères :

  • La prorogation de délai doit être « d’une période que justifient les circonstances ».
  • L’institution doit, en vertu du paragraphe 27(1), aviser le tiers de la demande et de son intention de communiquer des renseignements qui le concernent (conformément à l’article 20).

« Délai raisonnable »

Afin de déterminer si la prorogation constitue un « délai raisonnable », nous procédons à une évaluation objective de son caractère approprié au vu des circonstances. Notre évaluation s’appuie sur les délais clairs et obligatoires applicables aux consultations des tiers, qui sont définis à l’article 28 comme suit :

  • Un tiers doit présenter à l’institution toutes les observations qu’il juge utiles au sujet de la demande ou de l’information en question dans les 20 jours qui suivent la réception de l’avis transmis aux termes de l’article 27.
  • Dans les 30 jours suivant la transmission de l’avis, l’institution doit prendre une décision quant à la communication de l’information (que le tiers ait répondu ou non) et transmettre un avis écrit de cette décision au tiers.

Lorsque l’institution décide de communiquer les renseignements demandés, en dépit des observations du tiers, elle doit observer un délai supplémentaire de 20 jours afin de permettre à ce dernier d’adresser une demande de contrôle judiciaire à la Cour fédérale. À défaut de la présentation de cette demande par le tiers, l’institution doit divulguer l’information dès l’expiration du délai, conformément au paragraphe 28(4). Si le tiers s’adresse à la Cour fédérale, la divulgation ne sera pas effectuée sauf si la cour ordonne de libérer.

Au regard de ce processus et des délais prescrits qui s’y rapportent, le CI estime que les consultations d’un tiers, une fois l’avis transmis aux termes du paragraphe 27(1), devraient prendre environ 60 jours calendrier [rapport annuel 1999-2000 - http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/fra/rp-pr-ar-ra-archive.aspx], temps d’acheminement postal compris. Nous nous appuyons sur cette opinion lors de notre évaluation d’une enquête de toute prorogation invoquée par une institution en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)c).

Avis transmis à un tiers

En vertu du paragraphe 27(1), les institutions doivent faire tous les efforts raisonnables pour informer les tiers d’une demande de renseignements qui les concerne lorsque l’institution a l’intention de communiquer cette information et le responsable de l'institution a des raisons de croire qu'il pourrait contenir des informations identifiées dans les articles 20(1)a), b) ou b.1) ou lorsque le responsable de l'institution peut raisonnablement prévoir que la divulgation pourrait leur causer des pertes ou des profits financiers appréciables, conformément aux alinéas 20(1) c) ou d). Cet avis doit être donné par écrit dans les 30 jours qui suivent la réception de la demande.

Pour que le CI juge une prorogation valide en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)c), une institution doit montrer qu’elle a correctement suivi le processus de transmission d’avis au tiers. En particulier, les fonctionnaires devront démontrer qu’ils ont transmis l’avis au tiers dans le délai prescrit de 30 jours ou fournir des documents pour prouver qu’ils ont tenté de le faire.

 

L’institution informe le tiers de la demande et de son intention de communiquer des renseignements L’institution invoque une prorogation en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)c) Date limite de présentation d’observations à l’institution par le tiers L’institution décide de communiquer ou non les renseignements Date limite de présentation d’une demande de contrôle judiciaire par le tiers Si aucune demande n’est déposée, l’institution communique les renseignements Temps d’acheminement postal
Premiers 30 jours 20 jours après l’avis 10 jours après 20 jours après 10 jours
  Prorogation de 60 jours en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)c)
 

Toutefois, nous reconnaissons qu’une institution peut, en vertu du paragraphe 27(4), prendre plus de temps pour aviser un tiers dans les cas où elle a également invoqué une prorogation en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) ou b) (ou les deux). Dans cette situation, l’institution est tenue de transmettre l’avis au tiers avant l’expiration de la prorogation la plus longue, ce qui ne l’exempte pas pour autant de demander la prorogation dans les 30 premiers jours suivant la réception de la demande. À défaut de quoi, nous jugerons que la prorogation n’est pas valide.

Nous nous attendons également à ce que les institutions, lorsque réalisable, informent tous les tiers simultanément pour satisfaire à leur obligation de prêter assistance en assurant aux demandeurs un accès en temps opportun aux documents. Qui plus est, les institutions ne peuvent accorder de prorogations à des tiers pour répondre à l’avis prévu au paragraphe 27(1), négocier avec des tiers ou prendre des décisions multiples quant à la communication ou non de renseignements.

Si nous déterminons qu’une institution a omis de remplir les exigences prévues à l’alinéa 9(1)c) et de respecter les délais stipulés aux articles 27 et 28, nous pourrions décider d’officialiser notre enquête. À cette fin, il peut être demandé à l’institution de soumettre des observations écrites en vertu du paragraphe 35(2), et des recommandations peuvent être formulées au responsable de l’institution, conformément à l’article 37.

Autres questions

Avis transmis aux demandeurs concernant les prorogations en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1) c)

Le paragraphe 9(1) n’exige pas d’une institution qu’elle informe le demandeur du nombre de jours demandés dans le cadre d’une prorogation invoquée aux termes de l’alinéa 9(1)c), contrairement aux prorogations applicables en vertu des alinéas 9(1)a) et 9(1)b).

Avis de prorogation transmis au commissaire à l’information

En vertu du paragraphe 9(2), les institutions doivent informer le commissaire à l’information de toute prorogation de délai qui dépasse 30 jours. Nous tenons pour pratique exemplaire le fait de nous informer de toute prorogation invoquée en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)c), étant donné qu’elle pourrait concerner une période allant jusqu’à 60 jours. Les institutions devraient soumettre cet avis en même temps qu’elles avisent le demandeur. Il convient de consulter nos avis d’information [9(1)a) et 9(1)b)] concernant la transmission au Commissariat d’avis de prorogation.

Prorogation convenable demandée à des fins de consultation d’un tiers

Le CI n’admet pas le recours à une prorogation en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)b) [ http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/fra/inv-inv_not-inv-sum-som-inv-not_sum_2008-2009_2.aspx ] pour consulter des tiers lorsque des secrets industriels sont concernés [page 19 du rapport annuel 1999-2000 - http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/fra/rp-pr-ar-ra-archive.aspx], comme le précise le paragraphe 20(1). Les institutions doivent plutôt s’en remettre à l’alinéa 9(1)c) qui, grâce au processus défini aux articles 27 et 28, assure un équilibre entre les droits des demandeurs et des tiers.

Droit de porter plainte

Le paragraphe 9(1) exige que, dans l’avis de prorogation de délai, les institutions avisent la personne qui a fait la demande de son droit de se plaindre de la prorogation du délai auprès du commissaire. Le demandeur doit soumettre sa plainte dans les 60 jours qui suivent la date de la réception de l’avis. Des directives supplémentaires à ce sujet sont disponibles sur le site Web du CI.