Appendix A: Access to information and consultation requests and the PWGSC ATIP Directorate

The ATIP Directorate at PWGSC is responsible for administering the Access to Information Act and managing all activities involving access and consultation requests received by PWGSC. Until June 2011, the ATIP Directorate was part of the Corporate Services, Policy and Communications Branch, at which time the branch was renamed the Corporate Services and Strategic Policy Branch to reflect the fact that the branch’s communications function was removed.

In 2009, a transition occurred at the senior levels of the Corporate Services, Policy and Communications Branch. In July and August 2009, the positions of Director General, Executive Secretariat, and ATIP Director were filled on a permanent basis. Prior to that, and for the remainder of that year, management positions within the ATIP Directorate were often acting appointments.

During the time period under investigation, the PWGSC Minister, the Honourable Christian Paradis, delegated his authority to make decisions regarding access and consultation requests to the Deputy Minister of PWGSC, the Director General, Executive Secretariat, the ATIP Director, and some managers within the ATIP Directorate.

The departmental officials interviewed in the course of this investigation were all aware that the delegated authority for access matters rested with the ATIP Directorate. One senior official stated that she did not exercise her delegation while acting in the position of Director General for the branch. Another senior official, the ATIP Director, testified that he was unaware, when the access and consultation requests at issue were being processed, that members of Minister Paradis’ staff, in particular the Director of Parliamentary Affairs, did not also have delegated authority with respect to access matters.

Members of the Minister’s staff involved in this investigation all testified that they knew they did not have delegated authority with respect to access matters and that they were also aware that the ATIP Directorate was the decision-making authority.

Weekly access meetings and “tagging” of access and consultation requests for review

The purpose of these meetings was to identify access and consultation requests needing communication products, such as media lines. The ATIP Directorate solicited the input of meeting participants to identify those requests that would undergo review by senior management prior to the requested information being released. Those requests were designated, or “tagged,” as some witnesses stated, either “high profile” or “interesting.”

Prior to Minister Paradis’ appointment in 2008, only representatives from PWGSC’s ATIP Directorate, its Communications Directorate, the Deputy Minister’s Office and, occasionally, offices of primary interest (OPI) attended the weekly access meetings. Members of the Minister’s staff began attending these meetings when Minister Paradis was appointed.

In the time period under investigation, the Deputy Minister’s Strategic Advisor attended the weekly access meetings on behalf of the Deputy Minister’s Office. The Director of Parliamentary Affairs attended on behalf of the Minister’s Office. Both officials played an active role in identifying requests that would be reviewed by senior management. The Deputy Minister’s Strategic Advisor, for her part, would identify requests for review when the subject matter of the request required media lines or other communication products. The evidence showed that as a general rule, the Deputy Minister’s Office did not want to review requests for which records were previously disclosed, since a communications strategy already existed.

The evidence demonstrated that the Director of Parliamentary Affairs would identify requests for review based on the subject matter and source of requests. He testified that he wanted to see requests from the media, political parties or the public (i.e. sources) and requests pertaining to issues management (i.e. subject). In cases in which information that was the subject of the request had been previously released, he would ask to review requests made by the media or a political party.

The evidence also shows that, during the time period under investigation, when the source of a request was not identified, such as with a consultation request, the ATIP Directorate attempted to obtain this information. Witnesses testified that the ATIP Directorate generally called consulting departments to obtain the source of requests.

Beginning in the fall of 2009, the Director General, Executive Secretariat (of the Corporate Services, Policy and Communications Branch), and/or other PWGSC senior managers started attending the weekly access meetings (see “Measures taken by a manager with delegated authority to end the direct interaction between ATIP officials and the Minister’s Office”).

Review of requests by PWGSC senior management

During the time period under investigation, access and consultation requests designated as “interesting” or “high profile” during weekly access meetings underwent a review process by senior management, occasionally referred to by departmental witnesses as the “purple folder process.” This term stemmed from the colour of the file folder on which the Notice of Release or Notice of Reply was attached and in which the responsive records and the proposed response letter to requesters were contained.

The Notice of Release or Notice of Reply read as follows:

Access to Information Request – Interesting – High Profile:

  • 1) Enclosed, for your information, is a copy of the proposed letter of final reply along with the records.
  • 2) Please review the document to ensure that you are aware of and prepared for any potential impact on the Department that may result from the disclosure of this material.
  • 3) Note that the ATIP Directorate intends to respond to this request 6 working days after the date of this notice”.Footnote 4 [emphasis original]

In the middle of the notice, the ATIP Directorate set out its decision regarding disclosure of the requested records, in a section titled “ATIP Directorate’s decision on the disclosure of records.”

For the requests identified for review, once the ATIP Directorate completed the notice and signed it to indicate its decision to release the information, the folder was sent to the appropriate Assistant Deputy Minister (OPI) for his or her signature. From there, a representative from the Deputy Minister’s Office signed the form. Lastly, the folder was sent to a representative from the Minister’s Office for signature. Obtaining signatures confirmed that the various levels of review were aware of forthcoming disclosures and could prepare themselves accordingly.

Since as early as 1995, representatives from the Deputy Minister’s Office and Minister’s Office were involved in the process of signing notices for the requests identified for review. The ATIP Directorate would await their signatures before releasing the requested information. It did so even though it had the delegated authority to release information without these signatures.

Minister’s office signature on a Notice of Release or Notice of Reply

PWGSC officials testified that both before Minister Paradis’ arrival as PWGSC Minister and during his time there, they could not recall a single instance when information was disclosed before obtaining a signature from the Minister’s Office.

The departmental officials interviewed as part of the investigation testified that awaiting a signature on the Notice of Release or Notice of Reply by the Minister’s Office is what led to delays in releasing information. Officials reported that the ATIP Directorate would not release information until a signature from the Minister’s Office was obtained, even when doing so resulted in PWGSC failing to comply with its zero-tolerance policy that was implemented to minimize delays. The documentary evidence obtained in the course of this investigation shows that information was released only after the Minister’s Office signed the Notice of Release or Notice of Reply, which one official described as “the blessing.” [translation] Obtaining a signature was considered as an approval of sorts for information to be released.

For their part, ministerial staff members testified that they could not recall any situation in which information was released before the Minister’s Office signed the Notice of Release or Notice of Reply. One ministerial staff member stated, “I’m not aware of a situation where they [the ATIP Directorate] would have released something without the Minister’s Office knowing about it.”

Senior departmental officials and ATIP officials who were interviewed agreed that the Notice of Release or Notice of Reply served as an informational document only.

Both the Director of Parliamentary Affairs and the Special Assistant in the Minister’s Office agreed that the notices were not a solicitation for input from the Minister’s Office or designed to solicit their questions about the ATIP Directorate’s decision to release information. However, the Director of Parliamentary Affairs testified that it was his understanding that signing the notices was “to approve the release of the access to information request.” When questioned further about this statement, he explained that the process of obtaining a signature on the notices “was here when I started.” Ministerial staff members later confirmed the Director of Parliamentary Affairs’ statement by indicating that requiring signatures on the notices indicated that the Minister’s Office was called upon by the department to “approve” the release, and that this was a pre-existing system created and operated by the department.

PWGSC’s zero-tolerance policy or practice

In July 2008, what was commonly called the “zero-tolerance policy” was implemented at PWGSC to minimize delays in releasing information reviewed by all levels of senior management. The policy, which was communicated in the Notice of Release or Notice of Reply, required that information be released six working days after the date of the notice. In practical terms, this meant that each level of senior management had two working days to review the information and to sign the notice. The information was to be released within six working days, even if the time had expired to obtain all the signatures.

In the course of this investigation, witnesses questioned whether the zero-tolerance policy was in fact a “policy.” One departmental witness testified that the zero-tolerance policy was more of a departmental “practice” to disclose information six working days after the ATIP Directorate signed the notice. This same official testified that he had never actually seen the policy. His testimony reflects the evidence given by another senior official, who stated being unaware that such a policy existed during the period of time under investigation. Our office requested a copy of the zero-tolerance policy to confirm its existence.

On June 23, 2011, PWGSC informed us that “no such document exists.”Footnote 5

The zero-tolerance policy was to have been formally implemented in 2008 in response to the OIC report card on PWGSC, published in our special report to Parliament, 2007–2008 Report Cards on Systemic Issues Affecting Access to Information in Canada. PWGSC’s action plan identified procedures that were intended to ensure no delays would occur in the processing of requests identified for review. The zero-tolerance policy was also to be incorporated in PWGSC’s policy on ATIP in March 2009 and is reflected in the wording of the Notice of Release or Notice of Reply.

The evidence shows that the zero-tolerance policy was not always followed at PWGSC. Of the five files that were investigated in more detail (summaries), four responses were not released on time by the ATIP Directorate because the Notice of Release or Notice of Reply had not been signed by all levels of review within the six days mandated by PWGSC’s zero-tolerance policy. One notice was signed late by the Deputy Minister’s Office and the four other files were signed late by the Minister’s Office.

The evidence also shows that in instances in which the file under review was returned to the ATIP Directorate with the Notice of Release or Notice of Reply duly signed, the Directorate still did not release the requested information when an issue raised by the Minister’s Office had not been resolved. In four of the files that were investigated, the ATIP Directorate released the information only after an issue with the Minister’s Office was resolved, even though the Notice of Release or Notice of Reply had already been signed and returned to the ATIP Directorate. This delayed the responses to requests, even though the ATIP Directorate had already decided that the information should be released (see “ATIP Directorate’s approach to dealing with ministerial staff members on access-related matters”).

Monitoring of access and consultation requests in the review process

During the time period under investigation, the ATIP Directorate conducted regular follow-ups of access and consultation requests that were part of the review process. Several mechanisms were in place to disclose the information to the requester six working days after the date of the Notice of Release or Notice of Reply, including the preparation of weekly status reports tracking the location of files in the review process. These reports, which indicated the location of files at each stage of the review process, were electronically distributed to ATIP officials, departmental senior managers, members of the Minister’s staff and others.

Another monitoring mechanism was the weekly access meeting during which ATIP officials conducted verbal follow-ups of files in the review process. In addition, ATIP officials contacted departmental officials by phone and email to locate files in the review process. The documentary evidence shows that the ATIP Directorate conducted regular follow-ups of access and consultation files in the review process.

Footnotes

Footnote 3

Of these eight files, five of them led to the findings of this investigation and are discussed throughout this report. This appendix contains summaries of the facts in these five files (namely, A-2008-00519; A-2008-00588; AC-2009-00039; A-2009-00033; and A-2009-00169).

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The OIC received a hard copy of the notice during the investigation. For the purposes of this report, we refer to PWGSC’s practice or process of disclosing information responsive to requests within six working days after the date of the Notice of Release or Notice of Reply as its “zero-tolerance policy.”

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Moreover, the OIC was advised that PWGSC’s zero-tolerance policy of responding to requests six working days after the date of the Notice of Release or Notice of Reply was replaced, in 2010, with a new process for senior management review, which was outlined in PWGSC’s response to our previous interference investigation in which it was involved. Under the amended process, PWGSC indicates that senior management has a total of four days to review proposed disclosure packages (as opposed to six days under the previous policy). PWGSC indicates that, after four days, the requested information is disclosed, “without exception,” and that the process is discussed at the senior management table to preempt any “drift.”

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Annexe A : Demandes d’accès à l’information et de consultation et la direction de l’AIPRP de TPSGC

La Direction de l’AIPRP de TPSGC est responsable de l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la gestion de toutes les activités relatives aux demandes d’accès à l’information et de consultation que TPSGC reçoit. La Direction de l’AIPRP a fait partie de la Direction générale des services ministériels, des politiques et des communications (DGSMPC) jusqu’en juin 2011, moment auquel cette dernière a été renommée Direction générale des services ministériels et des politiques stratégiques afin de tenir compte de la suppression de sa fonction de communication.

En 2009, une transition s’est effectuée aux échelons supérieurs de la DGSMPC. En juillet et en août 2009, les postes de directeur général du Secrétariat exécutif et de directeur de la Direction de l’AIPRP ont été pourvus de façon permanente. Avant cela, et pour le reste de cette année-là, les postes de gestion au sein de la Direction de l’AIPRP étaient souvent occupés par intérim.

Pendant la période visée par l’enquête, le ministre nommé, l’honorable Christian Paradis, a délégué son pouvoir de prise de décisions concernant les demandes d’accès à l’information et de consultation au sous-ministre de TPSGC, au directeur général du Secrétariat exécutif, au directeur de la Direction de l’AIPRP et à certains gestionnaires de celle-ci.

Tous les fonctionnaires ministériels interrogés au cours de l’enquête savaient que les pouvoirs délégués concernant les questions relatives à l’accès à l’information revenaient à la Direction de l’AIPRP. Une fonctionnaire de la haute direction a mentionné qu’elle n’avait pas exercé ses pouvoirs délégués pendant le temps où elle a occupé les fonctions de directrice générale intérimaire de la Direction générale. Un autre cadre supérieur, le directeur de la Direction de l’AIPRP, a déclaré qu’il ne savait pas, au moment du traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information et de consultation en cause, que les membres du personnel du ministre Paradis, en particulier le directeur des Affaires parlementaires, ne détenaient pas de pouvoirs délégués concernant les questions relatives à l’accès à l’information.

Les membres du personnel du ministre visés par l’enquête ont tous déclaré qu’ils savaient qu’ils ne détenaient pas de pouvoirs délégués concernant les questions relatives à l’accès à l’information et qu’ils étaient également au courant que les décisions prises à cet effet revenaient à la Direction de l’AIPRP.

Réunions hebdomadaires sur l’accès à l’information et « désignation » (tagging) des demandes d’accès à l’information et de consultation aux fins d’examen

L’objectif de ces réunions était de déterminer les demandes d’accès à l’information et de consultation qui nécessitaient des produits de communication, comme des infocapsules. La Direction de l’AIPRP a sollicité les commentaires des participants aux réunions pour cibler les demandes qui feraient l’objet d’un examen par la haute direction avant que les renseignements demandés soient communiqués. Ces demandes ont été « désignées » (tagged), ou étiquetées, comme certains témoins l’ont formulé, de « profil élevé »  ou « intéressante ».

Avant la nomination du ministre Paradis en 2008, seuls des représentants de la Direction de l’AIPRP, de la Direction des communications, du Cabinet du sous-ministre et, à l’occasion, du bureau de première responsabilité (BRP) assistaient aux réunions. Les membres du personnel du ministre ont commencé à assister à ces réunions uniquement après la nomination du ministre Paradis.

Pendant la période visée par l’enquête, la conseillère stratégique du sous-ministre a assisté aux réunions hebdomadaires sur l’accès à l’information pour le compte du Cabinet du sous-ministre, et le directeur des Affaires parlementaires du ministre y a assisté au nom du Cabinet du ministre. Les deux fonctionnaires ont joué un rôle actif dans la détermination des demandes qui seraient examinées par la haute direction. Pour sa part, la conseillère stratégique du sous-ministre ciblait les demandes à examiner pour lesquelles le sujet de la demande nécessitait le recours aux infocapsules ou à d’autres produits de communication. Les éléments de preuve ont révélé que le Cabinet du sous-ministre ne souhaitait généralement pas examiner les demandes pour lesquelles des documents avaient précédemment été communiqués, car une stratégie de communication existait déjà.

Il a été prouvé que le directeur des Affaires parlementaires du ministre déterminait les demandes à examiner en fonction du sujet et de la source des demandes. Il a déclaré qu’il souhaitait voir des demandes des médias, des partis politiques et du public (c.-à-d. sources) ainsi que des demandes portant sur la gestion des problèmes (c.-à-d. sujet). Dans les cas où des renseignements sur le sujet d’une demande avaient déjà été communiqués, il demandait à examiner les demandes présentées par les médias ou un parti politique.

Les éléments de preuve ont également démontré que, pendant la période visée par l’enquête, lorsque la source d’une demande n’était pas indiquée, comme c’est le cas avec une demande de consultation, la Direction de l’AIPRP tentait d’obtenir les renseignements. Des témoins ont déclaré que la Direction de l’AIPRP appelait généralement les ministères demandant une consultation pour obtenir la source des demandes d’accès.

À compter de l’automne 2009, le directeur général (Secrétariat exécutif de la DGSMPC) et d’autres cadres supérieurs de TPSGC ont commencé à assister aux réunions hebdomadaires sur l’accès à l’information (voir la section intitulée « Mesures prises par un gestionnaire qui détient des pouvoirs délégués pour mettre fin aux communications directes entre la Direction de l’AIPRP et des membres du personnel ministériel »).

Examen des demandes d’accès à l’information par la haute direction de TPSGC

Pendant la période visée par l’enquête, les demandes d’accès à l’information et de consultation désignées comme étant « intéressante » ou « profil élevé » au cours des réunions hebdomadaires sur l’accès à l’information ont été assujetties à un processus d’examen par la haute direction, occasionnellement appelé « processus des dossiers mauves » (purple folder process) par les témoins ministériels. Ce terme découle de la couleur du dossier auquel est joint l’Avis de communication ou l’Avis de réponse et dans lequel se trouvent les documents pertinents et la lettre de réponse proposée aux demandeurs.

L’Avis de communication ou l’Avis de réponse indiquait ce qui:

Demande d’accès à l’information – Intéressante – Profil élevé :

  • 1) Ci-joint, pour votre information, une copie de la lettre de réponse finale proposée de même que les documents.
  • 2) Veuillez prendre connaissance du document afin de vous assurer que vous êtes au fait de toute répercussion éventuelle, pour le Ministère, de la divulgation de ce document, et que vous êtes prêt à réagir en conséquence.
  • 3) Veuillez noter que la Direction de l’AIPRP a l’intention de répondre à la présente demande six jours ouvrables suivant la date du présent avis.Note de bas de page 4 [souligné dans la version originale] [traduction]

La décision de la Direction de l’AIPRP sur la divulgation des documents demandés était énoncée dans le milieu de l’Avis, à la section intitulée « Décision de la Direction de l’AIPRP sur la divulgation des documents ».

Dans le cas des demandes devant être examinées, après que la Direction de l’AIPRP ait rempli l’Avis de communication ou l’Avis de réponse et l’ait signé pour indiquer qu’elle approuvait la communication des renseignements, le dossier était envoyé au Cabinet du sous-ministre adjoint concerné pour qu’il appose sa signature. Ensuite, un représentant du Cabinet du sous-ministre signait le dossier. Enfin, le dossier étais envoyé à un représentant du Cabinet du ministre pour qu’il appose sa signature. L’obtention de ces signatures confirmait que les responsables de l’examen de divers niveaux étaient conscients de la divulgation à venir et qu’ils pouvaient se préparer en conséquence.

Depuis au moins 1995, des représentants du Cabinet du sous-ministre et du Cabinet du ministre participent au processus de signature des avis pour les demandes devant être examinées. La Direction de l’AIPRP attendait d’obtenir les signatures avant de communiquer les renseignements demandés, et ce, même si elle détenait les pouvoirs délégués qui lui permettaient de les communiquer avant d’obtenir les signatures.

Signature du Cabinet du ministre sur l’Avis de communication ou l’Avis de réponse

Les fonctionnaires de TPSGC ont déclaré que, avant l’arrivée du ministre Paradis et pendant la durée des fonctions de celui-ci, ils ne se souvenaient pas d’un seul cas où ils auraient communiqué des renseignements sans avoir obtenu une signature du Cabinet du ministre.

Les fonctionnaires du Ministère que nous avons interrogés ont déclaré que l’attente d’une signature du Cabinet du ministre sur l’Avis de communication ou l’Avis de réponse est ce qui avait entraîné des retards dans la communication des renseignements. Les fonctionnaires ont également indiqué que la Direction de l’AIPRP se refusait à communiquer tout renseignement tant qu’une signature du Cabinet du ministre n’avait pas été obtenue, même si cela empêchait TPSGC de se conformer à sa politique de tolérance zéro, qui avait été mise en œuvre dans le but de réduire au minimum les retards. La preuve documentaire probants obtenus au cours de l’enquête ont démontré que les renseignements n’étaient communiqués qu’une fois que le Cabinet du ministre avait signé l’Avis de communication ou l’Avis de réponse, ce qu’un fonctionnaire a décrit comme la « bénédiction ». L’obtention d’une signature était considérée comme l’approbation en quelque sorte de la communication des renseignements.

Pour leur part, les membres du personnel du ministre ont déclaré qu’ils ne se souvenaient pas d’un seul cas où ils auraient communiqué des renseignements sans que le Cabinet du ministre ait d’abord signé l’Avis de communication ou l’Avis de réponse. Un membre du personnel du ministre « a affirmé qu’il ne connaissait pas de cas où la Direction de l’AIPRP aurait communiqué des renseignements sans que le Cabinet du ministre soit au courant. » [traduction]

Les cadres supérieurs du Ministère et les fonctionnaires de l’AIPRP qui ont été interrogés ont convenu que l’Avis de communication ou l’Avis de réponse ne servait que de documents d’information seulement.

Le directeur des Affaires parlementaires et le conseiller spécial du Cabinet du ministre ont convenu que les avis n’étaient pas une sollicitation de commentaires du Cabinet du ministre et ne visaient pas à susciter des questions au sujet de la décision de la Direction de l’AIPRP de communiquer des renseignements. Néanmoins, le directeur des Affaires parlementaires a déclaré qu’il estimait que la signature des avis consistait « à approuver la publication des demandes d’accès à l’information. » Lorsqu’on lui a demandé d’expliquer sa déclaration, il a précisé que le processus d’obtention d’une signature sur les avis « était en place quand il est entré en service. » [traduction] Les membres du personnel du ministre ont par la suite confirmé cette déclaration; ils ont affirmé que l’obtention d’une signature sur les avis indiquait que le Cabinet du ministre avait été appelé à « approuver » [traduction] la communication de renseignements par le Ministère, et qu’il s’agissait d’un système préexistant qui avait été créé par le Ministère et qui était exploité par celui-ci.

Pratique ou politique de tolérance zéro de TPSGC

En juillet 2008, TPSGC a mis en œuvre ce que l’on appelle communément la « politique de tolérance zéro » pour réduire au minimum les retards dans la communication des renseignements examinés par tous les niveaux de la haute direction. La politique, qui a été communiquée dans l’Avis de communication ou l’Avis de réponse, exige que les renseignements soient communiqués six jours ouvrables suivant la date de l’Avis. En pratique, cela signifie que chaque niveau de la haute direction dispose de deux jours ouvrables pour examiner les renseignements et signer l’Avis. Les renseignements devaient être communiqués dans un délai de six jours ouvrables, même si les signatures n’avaient pas toutes été obtenues.

Au cours de cette enquête, des témoins se sont demandé si la politique de tolérance zéro était de fait une « politique ». Un témoin du Ministère a déclaré que la politique de tolérance zéro était davantage une « pratique » du Ministère de divulgation de renseignements dans les six jours ouvrables suivant la signature de l’Avis par la Direction de l’AIPRP. Ce même fonctionnaire a ajouté qu’il n’avait jamais vu ladite politique. Son témoignage concorde avec la preuve donnée par un autre cadre supérieur, qui a déclaré qu’il ignorait l’existence de cette politique pendant la période visée par l’enquête. Nous avons demandé une copie de la politique de tolérance zéro pour confirmer son existence.

Le 23 juin 2011, TPSGC nous a indiqué que « ce document n’existait pas. »Note de bas de page 5 [traduction]

La politique de tolérance zéro était censée être officiellement mise en œuvre en 2008 en réaction à notre fiche de rendement sur TPSGC, publiée dans notre rapport spécial au Parlement intitulé « Fiches de rendement 2007-2008 et problèmes systémiques influant sur l’accès à l’information au Canada ». Dans le plan d’action de TPSGC, on a cerné les procédures qui visaient à faire en sorte qu’aucun retard ne se produise dans le traitement des demandes devant être examinées. De plus, la politique de tolérance zéro devait être intégrée dans la politique sur l’AIPRP de TPSGC en mars 2009, et est prise en compte dans le libellé de l’Avis de communication ou l’Avis de réponse.

Les éléments de preuve ont révélé que la politique de tolérance zéro n’était pas toujours respectée au sein de TPSGC. Parmi les cinq dossiers qui ont fait l’objet d’une enquête plus détaillée (résumés), quatre réponses n’ont pas été données à temps par la Direction de l’AIPRP parce que l’Avis de communication ou l’Avis de réponse n’avait pas été signé par les responsables de l’examen de tous les niveaux dans les six jours prescrits par la politique de tolérance zéro de TPSGC. Un dossier a été signé en retard par le Cabinet du sous-ministre, tandis que les quatre autres dossiers ont été signés en retard par le Cabinet du ministre.

Les éléments de preuve ont également démontré que, même lorsque le dossier examiné était renvoyé à la Direction de l’AIPRP avec l’Avis de communication ou l’Avis de réponse dûment signé, la Direction ne communiquait pas les renseignements demandés si une question soulevée par le Cabinet du ministre restait en suspens. Dans le cas de quatre des dossiers qui ont fait l’objet d’une enquête, la Direction de l’AIPRP n’avait communiqué les renseignements que lorsqu’une question soulevée par le Cabinet du ministre avait été résolue, même si l’Avis de communication ou l’Avis de réponse avait déjà été signé et renvoyé à la Direction de l’AIPRP. Cela a retardé la réponse aux demandes, même si la Direction de l’AIPRP avait déjà décidé de communiquer les renseignements (voir la section intitulée « Approche de la Direction de l’AIPRP à l’égard du traitement des questions relatives à l’accès à l’information avec des membres du personnel du ministre »).

Contrôle des demandes d’accès à l’information et de consultation dans le processus d’examen

Pendant la période visée par l’enquête, la Direction de l’AIPRP a assuré un suivi régulier des demandes d’accès à l’information et de consultation assujetties au processus d’examen. Plusieurs mécanismes avaient été mis en place pour divulguer des renseignements au demandeur dans les six jours ouvrables suivant la date de l’Avis de communication ou de l’Avis de réponse, y compris la préparation de rapports d’étape permettant d’assurer le suivi de l’emplacement des dossiers dans le cadre du processus d’examen. Ces rapports, qui précisaient l’emplacement des dossiers à chaque étape du processus d’examen, étaient envoyés par voie électronique notamment aux fonctionnaires de l’AIPRP, aux cadres supérieurs du Ministère et aux membres du personnel du ministre.

Parmi les autres mécanismes de contrôle, mentionnons les réunions hebdomadaires sur l’accès à l’information au cours desquelles les fonctionnaires de l’AIPRP procèdent à un suivi verbal des dossiers dans le cadre du processus d’examen. En outre, les fonctionnaires de l’AIPRP ont communiqué par téléphone ou par courriel avec les fonctionnaires ministériels pour connaître l’emplacement des dossiers dans le cadre du processus d’examen. La preuve documentaire a révélé que la Direction de l’AIPRP avait assuré un suivi régulier des demandes d’accès à l’information et de consultation assujetties au processus d’examen.

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 4

Le Commissariat a reçu une copie papier de l’Avis au cours de l’enquête. Dans le présent rapport, la pratique ou le processus de TPSGC concernant la divulgation de renseignements pertinents pour les demandes dans les six jours ouvrables suivant la date de l’Avis de communication (ou de l’Avis de réponse) est appelée la « politique de tolérance zéro ».

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4 referrer

Note de bas de page 5

En outre, nous avons été informés que la politique de tolérance zéro de TPSGC, qui consiste à répondre aux demandes dans les six jours ouvrables suivant la date de l’Avis de communication (ou de l’Avis de réponse), avait été remplacée en 2010 par un nouveau processus d’examen par la haute direction, qui a été décrit dans la réponse de TPSGC à notre enquête précédente sur un cas d’ingérence qui l’impliquait. TPSGC a indiqué que dans le cadre du processus modifié, la haute direction dispose de quatre jours pour examiner les documents dont la divulgation est proposée (comparativement à six jours en vertu de la politique précédente). Il a également indiqué qu’après quatre jours, les renseignements demandés sont divulgués, « sans exception », et que le processus fait l’objet de discussions au sein de la haute direction pour prévenir toute « dérive ».

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5 referrer