Appendix A: The investigation

A preliminary assessment was done of the 15 files originally identified for investigation. The following eight files were selected for more in-depth investigation.

  1. File A-2008-00588 (March 26, 2009): An access request for copies of four briefing notes to the Minister of PWGSC, one of which dealt with a public opinion research project. [translation]
  2. File A-2008-00519 (February 20, 2009): An access request for all records pertaining to changes in PWGSC’s daily activities in preparation for and during the visit of the American President to Canada. [translation]
  3. File A-2009-00169 (June 24, 2009): An access request for copies of specific Question Period (QP) cards prepared for the PWGSC Minister, one of which concerned the issue of visible minorities. [translation]
  4. File A-2009-00042 (April 21, 2009): An access request for information on financial disbursements by the Canadian Government on office furniture through the aboriginal set aside funds in 2007-2008.
  5. File A-2009-00033 (April 27, 2009): An access request for a list of all QP notes created for the Minister from April 13 to April 27, 2009.
  6. File AC-2009-00039 (June 16, 2009): A consultation request from Health Canada pertaining to an access request on the completed Affiliations and Interests Declaration Form for Chrysolite [sic] Expert Panel members.
  7. File AC-2008-00049 (June 6, 2008): A consultation request from the Department of National Defence pertaining to an access request for briefing notes to the Minister on the status of the Cyclone Helicopter Procurement and/or problems with the contractor.
  8. File AC-2009-00056 (July 22, 2009): A consultation request from Library and Archives Canada regarding written reports provided by the Independent Review Monitor appointed to oversee the request for proposals process for the Portrait Gallery of Canada.

This appendix contains summaries of the processing of five requests (namely, A-2008-00519, A-2008-00588, AC-2009-00039, A-2009-00033, and A-2009-00169) that form the basis of this report.

In the context of this investigation, the Information Commissioner determined the procedure to be followed in the performance of her duties and used her formal powers under section 36 of the Act.

A preliminary assessment was done of the 15 files originally identified during the course of our investigation. The Commissioner chose to further investigate the above-noted eight files after analyzing additional records she received from PWGSC in response to the three Orders for the Production of Records that she issued under to sections 34, 36 and 59 of the Act.Footnote 3

The first and second production orders, issued on November 19, 2010, and December 2, 2010, respectively, sought information relating to the 15 files at issue. PWGSC complied with these production orders.

The third production order was issued on December 23, 2010, and sought, among other things, all records of communications to and from the three members of Minister Paradis’ staff involved in this investigation. Records of communication were defined as emails with attachments, back-up emails, and PIN-to-PIN messages. On January 7, 2011, PWGSC responded that it would not produce, as requested, the records of communications to and from the ministerial staff members because it considered these communications not under its control, but rather under the control of the Minister.

The Commissioner wrote to Minister, Rona Ambrose on January 12, 2011, requesting the records identified in her third production order that the department indicated it would not provide. On January 26, 2011, Minister Ambrose informed the Commissioner that her office would assist in providing the requested records. These records were provided on May 9, 2011.

In order to confirm that the Minister provided the Commissioner with everything referred to in the third production order, the Assistant Commissioner issued a letter to the Minister’s Chief of Staff on July 13, 2011, requesting that he sign an affidavit to that effect. On August 22, 2011, the Minister’s Chief of Staff provided the requested affidavit.

In the course of the Commissioner’s investigation, 17 witnesses were summoned to testify under oath. Their names and the positions they held at the time the requests were processed, are as follows:

  1. Caroline Weber, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services, Policy and Communications Branch;
  2. Jacqeline Jodoin, Acting Director General, Executive Secretariat, Corporate Services, Policy and Communications Branch;
  3. Sarah Paquet, Senior General Counsel
  4. Pierre-Marc Mongeau, Assistant Deputy Minister, Parliamentary Precinct Branch;
  5. Sylvie Séguin-Brant, Director General, Executive Secretariat, Corporate Services, Policy and Communications Branch;
  6. Tom Makichuk, Director, Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Directorate;
  7. Katia Dalpé-Charron, Strategic Advisor, Deputy Minister’s Office;
  8. Sheriff Abdou, Departmental Assistant, Office of the Minister;
  9. Rachelle Delage, ATIP Chief, ATIP Directorate;
  10. Julie Lafrance, Acting Manager, ATIP Directorate;
  11. Sylvie Lepage, Acting Manager, ATIP Directorate;
  12. William Hulme, Project Executive/Lead Negotiator/Major Projects, Real Property Branch;
  13. Hélène Paquette, Administrative Assistant, PWGSC Minister’s Office;
  14. Louise Benoit, ATIP Consultant;
  15. Sébastien Togneri, Director of Parliamentary Affairs, PWGSC Minister’s Office;
  16. Jillian Andrews, Special Assistant, PWGSC Minister’s Office; and
  17. Marc Toupin, Policy Advisor, PWGSC Minister’s Office.

Confidentiality orders were issued to protect the integrity of the investigation. The witnesses were advised of their right to retain counsel of their choice. Sixteen of the witnesses chose to be represented by counsel. The witnesses’ testimony was transcribed by a court reporter. Witnesses were also provided with the opportunity to review the transcripts of their testimony. Certain witnesses received notices of potential adverse findings and were given an opportunity to present further evidence and/or representations prior to the finalization of the Preliminary Report of Facts and Findings. Representations were received and considered by the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC).

All witnesses were then given an opportunity to provide further evidence and/or representations in relation to the draft preliminary report. Representations that were received were considered in the preparation of the draft preliminary report.

The Assistant Commissioner wrote to PWGSC’s Deputy Minister to provide PWGSC with an opportunity to make representations under subsection 35(2) of the Act with respect to the preliminary report. She also asked for representations regarding other issues that arose during the investigation. The Deputy Minister provided representations on behalf of the Department. Representations were received and considered by the OIC. In her representations, the Deputy Minister made no correction to or comment on the facts and conclusions set out in the preliminary report provided to PWGSC. Accordingly, that report now constitutes the Commissioner’s Final Report of Fact and Findings.

Footnotes

Footnote 3

Of these eight files, five of them led to the findings of this investigation and are discussed throughout this report. This appendix contains summaries of the facts in these five files (namely, A-2008-00519; A-2008-00588; AC-2009-00039; A-2009-00033; and A-2009-00169).

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Annexe A : Enquête

On a effectué une évaluation préliminaire des quinze dossiers visés initialement par l’enquête. Les huit dossiers suivants ont été sélectionnés en vue d’une enquête plus approfondie :

  1. Dossier A-2008-00588 – 26 mars 2009 – Demande d’accès à l’information au ministre de TPSGC, des copies de quatre notes d’information dont l’une traitait d’un projet de recherche sur l’opinion publique.
  2. Dossier A-2008-00519 – 20 février 2009 – Tous les documents nécessaires pour connaître toutes les modifications à l’ordre habituelle [sic] de vos activités pendant la préparation de la venue du Président américain et pendant sa venue.
  3. Dossier A-2009-00169 – 24 juin 2009 – Demande d’accès à l’information de copies de fiches précises pour une période de questions préparées à l’intention du ministre de TPSGC. Une d’entre elles portait sur la question des minorités visibles.
  4. Dossier A-2009-00042 – 21 avril 2009 – Demande d’accès à l’information d’accès pour obtenir des renseignements relatifs aux montants versés par le gouvernement du Canada en vue d’acquérir du mobilier de bureau au moyen des fonds réservés aux Autochtones durant l’exercice 2007-2008. [traduction]
  5. Dossier A-2009-00033 – 27 avril 2009 – Demande d’accès à l’information d’accès en vue d’obtenir une liste de toutes les notes pour la période des questions rédigées à l’intention du ministre entre le 13 et le 27 avril 2009. [traduction]
  6. Dossier AC-2009-00039 – 16 juin 2009 – Demande de consultation présentée par Santé Canada à l’égard d’une demande d’accès à l’information d’accès concernant le « Formulaire de déclaration d’affiliations et d’intérêts » rempli par les membres du comité consultatif sur le chrysotile. [traduction]
  7. Dossier AC-2008-00049 – 6 juin 2008 – Demande de consultation présentée par la Défense nationale à l’égard d’une demande d’accès à l’information liée à des notes d’information rédigées à l’intention du ministre sur la situation entourant l’acquisition d’hélicoptères Cyclone et les problèmes avec le fournisseur. [traduction]
  8. Dossier AC-2009-00056 – 22 juillet 2009 – Demande de consultation présentée par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada concernant des rapports écrits fournis par le contrôleur indépendant nommé pour superviser la demande visant le processus de demande de propositions relatifs au Musée du portrait du Canada. [traduction]

Cet annexe contient des résumés du traitement des cinq demandes (à savoir A-2008-00519, A-2008-00588, AC-2009-00039, A-2009-00033 et A-2009-00169) qui constituent le fondement du présent rapport.

Dans le contexte de l’enquête, la commissaire à l’information a déterminé la procédure à suivre dans l’exercice de ses fonctions et a utilisé ses pouvoirs officiels en vertu de l’article 36 de la Loi.

On a effectué une évaluation préliminaire des quinze dossiers visés initialement par l’enquête. La commissaire a arrêté son choix sur ces huit dossiersNote de bas de page 3 après avoir analysé d’autres documents reçus de TPSGC en réponse aux trois ordonnances de production de documents qu’elle a données conformément aux articles 34, 36 et 59 de la Loi.

Les première et deuxième ordonnances de production, émises respectivement le 19 novembre et le 2 décembre 2010, exigeaient des renseignements sur les quinze dossiers en cause. TPSGC s’est conformé à ces ordonnances de production.

La troisième ordonnance de production a été émise le 23 décembre 2010 et demandait, entre autres, tous les documents de communication entre les trois membres du personnel du ministre Paradis concernés par l’enquête. Ces documents de communication comprenaient des courriels avec des pièces jointes, des copies de sauvegarde et des messages NIP à NIP. Le 7 janvier 2011, TPSGC a répondu qu’il ne produirait pas les documents de communication demandés entre les membres du personnel du ministre, car il estimait que ces communications relevaient du Cabinet du ministre et non du ministère.

Le 12 janvier 2011, la commissaire a écrit à la ministre Ambrose afin de lui demander de lui transmettre les documents précisés dans la troisième ordonnance de production que le Ministère ne fournissait pas. Le 26 janvier 2011, la ministre Ambrose a informé la commissaire que son cabinet lui fournirait les documents exigés. Ces documents ont été fournis le 9 mai 2011.

Afin de confirmer que la ministre a remis à la commissaire tous les documents énumérés dans la troisième ordonnance de production, la commissaire adjointe a adressé, le 13 juillet 2011, une lettre au chef de cabinet de la ministre lui demandant de signer un affidavit à cet effet. Le chef de cabinet de la ministre a déposé l’affidavit le 22 août 2011.

Au cours de l’enquête, 17 témoins ont été appelés à témoigner sous serment. Les noms de ces personnes et les postes qu’elles occupaient au moment du traitement des demandes sont les suivants :

  1. Caroline Weber, sous-ministre adjointe, Direction générale des services ministériels, des politiques et des communications (DGSMPC)
  2. Jacqeline Jodoin, directrice générale intérimaire, Secrétariat exécutif, DGSMPC
  3. Sarah Paquet, avocate générale principale
  4. Pierre-Marc Mongeau, sous-ministre adjoint, Direction générale de la Cité parlementaire
  5. Sylvie Séguin-Brant, directrice générale, Secrétariat exécutif, DGSMPC
  6. Tom Makichuk, directeur, Direction de l’AIPRP
  7. Katia Dalpé-Charron, conseillère stratégique, Cabinet du sous-ministre
  8. Sheriff Abdou, adjoint ministériel, Cabinet du ministre
  9. Rachelle Delage, chef de l’AIPRP, Direction de l’AIPRP
  10. Julie Lafrance, gestionnaire intérimaire, Direction de l’AIPRP
  11. Sylvie Lepage, gestionnaire intérimaire, Direction de l’AIPRP
  12. William Hulme, directeur de projet, négociateur en chef, Grands projets, Direction générale des biens immobiliers
  13. Hélène Paquette, adjointe administrative, Cabinet du ministre de TPSGC
  14. Louise Benoit, experte-conseil en AIPRP
  15. Sébastien Togneri, directeur des Affaires parlementaires, Cabinet du ministre de TPSGC
  16. Jillian Andrews, adjointe spéciale, Cabinet du ministre de TPSGC
  17. Marc Toupin, conseiller en politiques, Cabinet du ministre de TPSGC

Des ordonnances de confidentialité ont été délivrées afin de protéger l’intégrité de l’enquête. Les témoins ont été avisés de leur droit de retenir les services d’un avocat de leur choix. Seize témoins ont choisi d’être représentés par un avocat. Le témoignage des témoins a été transcrit par un sténographe judiciaire. Les témoins ont également eu l’occasion d’examiner la transcription de leur témoignage. Certains témoins ont reçu des avis d’éventuelles constatations défavorables et se sont vu offrir l’occasion de présenter d’autres éléments de preuve ou observations avant la rédaction du rapport préliminaire des faits et des constatations. Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (le Commissariat) a reçu et examiné les observations.

Tous les témoins ont ensuite eu l’occasion de soumettre d’autres éléments de preuve ou observations relativement à l’ébauche du rapport préliminaire. Les observations reçues ont été examinées lors de la préparation de l’ébauche du rapport préliminaire.

La commissaire adjointe a écrit à la sous-ministre de TPSGC pour lui indiquer que TPSGC pouvait présenter des observations sur le rapport préliminaire en vertu du paragraphe 35(2) de la Loi. Elle a également demandé des observations sur d’autres questions qui ont été soulevées durant l’enquête. La sous-ministre a présenté des observations au nom du Ministère. Le Commissariat a reçu et examiné les observations. Dans les observations, la sous-ministre n’a apporté aucune correction aux faits et aux constatations présentés dans le rapport préliminaire fourni à TPSGC et n’a formulé aucun commentaire à leur égard. Par conséquent, ce rapport constitue maintenant le rapport final des faits et des constatations de la commissaire.

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 3

Cinq de ces huit dossiers ont mené aux constatations de l’enquête et sont abordés dans le présent rapport. Cet annexe contient des résumés des faits entourant ces cinq dossiers (à savoir A-2008-00519, A-2008-00588, AC-2009-00039, A-2009-00033 et A-2009-00169).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3 referrer