Appendix A: Background

On April 1, 2010, the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics undertook a study of allegations of systemic political interference with access to information requests. In April and May 2010, the Committee summoned a number of witnesses from various federal departments in order to study these allegations.

On May 13, 2010, the Committee approved a motion that ordered Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) to provide the Committee with all email correspondence from July 2008 to January 19, 2010 between Mr. Sébastien Togneri, then Director of Parliamentary Affairs in the Minister’s Office, and officials in the PWGSC Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Directorate, including the ATIP Director.Footnote 1 The motion also requested all email correspondence between Mr. Togneri and his then colleague, Ms. Jillian Andrews, and between Mr. Togneri and Ms. Isabelle Bouchard, then a member of the Prime Minister’s Office staff.

In September 2010, PWGSC Minister, the Honourable Rona Ambrose, responded to the Committee motion and provided the Clerk of the Committee with the requested correspondence between members of her predecessor’s staff and departmental officials. To the Commissioner’s knowledge, the requested records of correspondence between members of the then PWGSC Minister’s staff and of the Prime Minister’s Office staff were not provided to the Committee.

On October 1, 2010, then PWGSC Minister Rona Ambrose, on behalf of former Minister Paradis, provided the same correspondence to the Information Commissioner that she gave the Committee. Upon review, the Commissioner was satisfied that reasonable grounds existed, pursuant to subsection 30(3) of the Access to Information Act (the Act),to investigate whether there was interference in the processing and responses to access to information and consultation requests or in the requesting or obtaining of records during the period of July 22, 2008, and January 19, 2010.

On October 8, 2010, the Commissioner initiated a complaint against PWGSC and issued a Summary of Complaint to the department wherein she identified eight access and consultation requests that she would investigate.Footnote 2 She subsequently sent two amended summaries to PWGSC, which included an additional seven requests to be investigated. In total, 15 requests were examined by the Commissioner.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Motion text: That the committee orders the Department of Public Works and Government Services Canada to provide it with all email correspondence from July 2008 to January 19, 2010 between Sébastien Togneri and officials who work or worked within the Access to Information Branch of Public Works and Government Services Canada. The committee also orders all email correspondence from July 2008 to January 19, 2010 between Sébastien Togneri and Tom Makichuk, all email correspondence from July 2008 to January 19, 2010 between Sébastien Togneri and Jillian Andrews, and all email correspondence from July 2008 to January 19, 2010 between Sébastien Togneri and Isabelle Bouchard. And requests that said material be delivered to the committee within 5 days.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

For the purposes of this report, the term “request” or “requests” includes both access requests received by PWGSC and consultation requests from other government institutions.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Annexe A : Contexte

Le 1er avril 2010, le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique de la Chambre des Communes a entrepris une étude des allégations d’ingérence politique systémique dans les demandes d’accès à l’information. En avril et en mai 2010, le Comité a convoqué un certain nombre de témoins provenant de divers ministères fédéraux afin de se pencher sur ces allégations.

Le 13 mai 2010, le Comité a approuvé une motionNote de bas de page 1 qui ordonnait à Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) de lui remettre tous les échanges de courriels survenus de juillet 2008 au 19 janvier 2010 entre M. Sébastien Togneri, directeur des Affaires parlementaires au Cabinet du ministre à l’époque, et les agents de la Direction de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) de TPSGC, y compris le directeur de celle-ci.Cette motion exigeait également tous les courriels échangés entre M. Togneri et son ancienne collègue, Mme Jillian Andrews, ainsi que ceux échangés entre M. Togneri et Mme Isabelle Bouchard, ancienne membre du Cabinet du premier ministre.

En septembre 2010, la ministre de TPSGC, l’honorable Rona Ambrose, a répondu à la motion présentée par le Comité en remettant au commis du Comité la correspondance demandée entre des membres du personnel de son prédécesseur et des fonctionnaires ministériels. À la connaissance de la commissaire, les échanges de courriels exigés entre des membres du personnel du ministre de TPSGC de l’époque et des membres du Cabinet du premier ministre n’ont pas été fournis au Comité.

Le 1er octobre 2010, la ministre Rona Ambrose, au nom de l’ancien ministre de TPSGC, l’honorable Christian Paradis, a remis à la commissaire à l’information les mêmes documents que ceux qu’elle avait donnés au Comité. Après l’examen du dossier, la commissaire était convaincue de l’existence de motifs raisonnables, en vertu du paragraphe 30(3) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi), justifiant une enquête visant à déterminer s’il y avait de l’ingérence dans la façon de traiter les demandes d’accès à l’information et de consultation et d’y répondre, ou portant sur toute autre question relative aux demandes ou à l’obtention de documents au cours de la période s’échelonnant entre le 22 juillet 2008 et le 19 janvier 2010.

Le 8 octobre 2010, la commissaire a déposé une plainte contre TPSGC et a présenté au Ministère un sommaire de la plainte dans lequel elle indiquait les huit demandes d’accès à l’information et de consultationNote de bas de page 2 qui feraient l’objet d’une enquête de sa part. Par la suite, elle a envoyé à TPSGC deux sommaires modifiés qui comprenaient sept autres demandes qui feraient l’objet de l’enquête. Au total, la commissaire a donc examiné quinze demandes.

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Libellé de la motion : Que le comité ordonne au ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux de lui fournir tous les courriels échangés du mois de juillet 2008 au 19 janvier 2010 entre Sébastien Togneri et les fonctionnaires qui ont travaillé à la Direction de l’accès à l’information du ministère des Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux. Que le comité ordonne également qu’on lui remette les documents suivants : tous les courriels échangés du mois de juillet 2008 au 19 janvier 2010 entre Togneri et Tom Makichuk ; tous les courriels échangés du mois de juillet 2008 au 19 janvier 2010 entre Togneri et Jillian Andrews ; de même que tous les courriels échangés du mois de juillet 2008 au 19 janvier 2010 entre Togneri et Isabelle Bouchard. Enfin, que le comité demande que tous les documents précités lui soient remis dans les 5 jours.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Dans le présent rapport, le terme « demande » ou « demandes » comprend les demandes d’accès à l’information reçues par TPSGC et les demandes de consultation d’autres institutions gouvernementales.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2 referrer