Pursuant to section 39 of the Access to Information Act, the Information Commissioner is reporting her findings in relation to her self-initiated investigation into the processing of eight access to information or consultation requests received by Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) between July 22, 2008, and January 19, 2010. This investigation concerned the possibility of interference in the processing of these requests.Footnote 1

The attached Report of Facts and Findings (Appendix A) serves as the Commissioner’s findings of fact in this investigation. Appendix A also contains detailed summaries of the activities surrounding the five requests that form the basis of this report.

Background

On April 1, 2010, the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics undertook a study of allegations of systemic political interference with access to information requests. In April and May 2010, the Committee summoned a number of witnesses from various federal departments in order to study these allegations.Footnote 2

On May 13, 2010, the Committee approved a motion that ordered PWGSC to provide the Committee with all email correspondence from July 2008 to January 19, 2010, between Mr. Sébastien Togneri, then Director of Parliamentary Affairs in the office of Minister Christian Paradis, and officials in the PWGSC Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Directorate, including the ATIP Director.Footnote 3 The motion also requested all email correspondence between Mr. Togneri and his then colleague, Ms. Jillian Andrews, and between Mr. Togneri and Ms. Isabelle Bouchard, then a member of the Prime Minister’s Office staff.

In September 2010, then PWGSC Minister, the Honourable Rona Ambrose, provided the Clerk of the Committee with some of the requested correspondence. To the Commissioner’s knowledge, records of correspondence between members of her predecessor’s staff, as well as between ministerial staff and a member of staff in the Prime Minister’s Office were not provided to the Committee.

On October 1, 2010, Minister Ambrose provided the same correspondence to the Information Commissioner. Upon review of the correspondence, the Commissioner was satisfied that, pursuant to subsection 30(3) of the Act, reasonable grounds existed to investigate whether there had been interference in the processing and responses to requests or in the requesting or obtaining of records during the period of July 22, 2008, and January 19, 2010.Footnote 4

On October 8, 2010, the Commissioner initiated a complaint against PWGSC and issued a Summary of Complaint to the department wherein she identified eight requests that she intended to investigate. The Commissioner subsequently sent two amended summaries to PWGSC, which included an additional seven requests to be investigated. In total, 15 files were examined by the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC).

Footnotes

Footnote 1

For the purposes of this report, the term “request” or “requests” includes both access to information and consultation requests.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

This study was initiated during the Commissioner's investigation of another instance in which political interference was alleged (OIC file 3209-00718). The Commissioner reported the results of that investigation in March 2011 in a special report to Parliament.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Motion text: That the committee orders the Department of Public Works and Government Services Canada to provide it with all email correspondence from July 2008 to January 19, 2010 between Sébastien Togneri and officials who work or worked within the Access to Information Branch of Public Works and Government Services Canada. The committee also orders all email correspondence from July 2008 to January 19, 2010 between Sébastien Togneri and Tom Makichuk, all email correspondence from July 2008 to January 19, 2010 between Sébastien Togneri and Jillian Andrews, and all email correspondence from July 2008 to January 19, 2010 between Sébastien Togneri and Isabelle Bouchard. And requests that said material be delivered to the committee within 5 days.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The scope of “political interference” is discussed in the Commissioner's previous special report on interference.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Conformément à l’article 39 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi), la commissaire à l’information présente les constatations qu’elle a faites dans le cadre de l’enquête qu’elle a menée sur le traitement de huit demandes d’accès à l’information ou demandes de consultation reçues par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) entre le 22 juillet 2008 et le 19 janvier 2010. Cette enquête portait sur l’ingérence possible dans le traitement de ces demandes d’accès ou de consultation.Note de bas de page 1

Le rapport final des faits et des constatations ci-joint (Annexe A) présente les constatations de faits de cette enquête. L'annexe A contient également des résumés détaillés des activités reliées aux cinq demandes traitées dans ce rapport.

Contexte

Le 1er avril 2010, le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique de la Chambre des communes (le Comité) a entrepris une étude concernant les allégations d’ingérence politique systémique dans les demandes d’accès. En avril et en mai 2010, le Comité a convoqué un certain nombre de témoins provenant de divers ministères fédéraux afin de se pencher sur ces allégations.Note de bas de page 2

Le 13 mai 2010, le Comité a approuvé une motionNote de bas de page 3 qui ordonnait à TPSGC de remettre au Comité tous les échanges de courriels survenus de juillet 2008 au 19 janvier 2010 entre M. Sébastien Togneri, directeur des Affaires parlementaires au Cabinet du ministre Christian Paradis à l’époque, et les agents de la Direction de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) de TPSGC, y compris le directeur de celle-ci. Cette motion exigeait également tous les courriels échangés entre M. Togneri et son ancienne collègue, Mme Jillian Andrews, et entre M. Togneri et Mme Isabelle Bouchard, ancienne membre du Cabinet du premier ministre.

En septembre 2010, l’honorable Rona Ambrose, alors ministre de TPSGC, a fourni au greffier du Comité une partie de la correspondance demandée. À la connaissance de la commissaire, les dossiers de correspondance entre les membres du personnel du ministre de l’époque, et entre le personnel ministériel et le Cabinet du premier ministre n’ont pas été fournis.

Le 1er octobre 2010, la ministre Ambrose a remis la même correspondance à la commissaire à l’information. Après l’examen de la correspondance, la commissaire était convaincue de l’existence de motifs raisonnables, en vertu du paragraphe 30(3) de la Loi, justifiant la tenue d’une enquête afin de déterminer s’il y avait de l’ingérence dans la façon de traiter les demandes d’accès et de consultation, et dans la façon d’y répondre, ou dans les demandes relatives à l’obtention de documents au cours de la période s’échelonnant du 22 juillet 2008 au 19 janvier 2010.Note de bas de page 4

Le 8 octobre 2010, la commissaire a déposé une plainte contre TPSGC et a présenté au ministère un sommaire de la plainte dans lequel elle indiquait les huit demandes d’accès ou de consultation qu’elle avait l’intention d’examiner. Elle a ensuite envoyé à TPSGC deux sommaires modifiés qui comprenaient sept autres demandes d’accès ou de consultation qui feraient l’objet d’une enquête. Au total, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (le Commissariat) a examiné quinze dossiers.

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Aux fins de la présente lettre, le terme « demande » ou « demandes » comprend les demandes d’accès et de consultation.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Cette étude a été entreprise dans le cadre d’une enquête menée par la commissaire à propos d’un autre cas d’allégation d’ingérence politique : dossier du Commissariat nº 3209-00718. Les résultats de cette enquête ont été présentés en mars 2011 dans un rapport spécial au Parlement.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Libellé de la motion : Que le comité ordonne au ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux de lui fournir tous les courriels échangés du mois de juillet 2008 au 19 janvier 2010 entre Sébastien Togneri et les fonctionnaires qui ont travaillé à la Direction de l’accès à l’information du ministère des Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux. Que le comité ordonne également qu’on lui remette les documents suivants : tous les courriels échangés du mois de juillet 2008 au 19 janvier 2010 entre Togneri et Tom Makichuk ; tous les courriels échangés du mois de juillet 2008 au 19 janvier 2010 entre Togneri et Jillian Andrews ; de même que tous les courriels échangés du mois de juillet 2008 au 19 janvier 2010 entre Togneri et Isabelle Bouchard. Enfin, que le comité demande que tous les documents précités lui soient remis dans les 5 jours.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3 referrer

Note de bas de page 4

La portée d’« ingérence politique » est abordée à la partie I du rapport spécial sur l’ingérence rédigé par la commissaire.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4 referrer