Appendix A: Findings

Based on all of the above, the Commissioner has made the following findings:

  1. Members of the Minister’s staff, who had no delegated authority under the Act, were improperly involved in the processing of access and consultation requests during the time period under examination.
  2. Information identified for review at the weekly access meetings (such as the information in “high profile” or “interesting” requests) was only released once the Minister’s Office signalled that it was satisfied with the information being disclosed.
  3. Identifying requests for review during weekly access meetings increased the risk of delay and interference in the processing of these requests and of reduced disclosure of information.
  4. PWGSC had inadequate practices to ensure that proper communication channels with the Minister’s Office were followed, thereby allowing direct communications between departmental staff and ministerial staff members to occur.
  5. Ministerial staff members failed to follow the proper communication channels, set out in Accountable Government (2008), when they communicated directly with departmental staff members in the ATIP Directorate.
  6. PWGSC’s zero-tolerance policy was not always respected when members of the Minister’s staff became involved in the review process, since their involvement increased the response time of requests.
  7. The involvement by the Minister’s Director of Parliamentary Affairs in the processing of five separate access and consultation requests and his directions to members of the ATIP Directorate in those five requests constitute improper involvement with requesters’ right of access.
  8. The involvement by the Minister’s Policy Advisor in the processing of a consultation request, his directions to members of the ATIP Directorate and his interactions with Health Canada ministerial staff members, constitute improper involvement with the requester’s right to access (file AC-2009-00039).
  9. The involvement by the Minister’s Special Assistant in the processing of an access request and her directions to the members of the ATIP Directorate in that request constitute improper involvement with the requester’s right to access (file A-2008-00519).
  10. The involvement of the Minister’s Director of Parliamentary Affairs, the Minister’s Policy Advisor, and the Minister’s Special Assistant in five access files contributed to delay in responding to requests (or in the case of consultations, providing recommendations to the institution) because an issue remained unresolved with the Minister’s Office (file A-2009-00033) or the Minister’s Office either did not sign the Notice of Release or Notice of Reply within the allocated time in the following four files:

    File A-2009-00169: The Notice of Release was signed by the ATIP Directorate on September 22, 2009. As per the “zero-tolerance policy,” all levels of review were required to sign the notice no later than September 30, 2009. The notice arrived in the Minister’s Office on September 29, 2009. The Minister’s Office signed the notice on October 19, 2009. In total, the file was in the Minister’s Office 14 working days.

    File A-2008-00588: The Notice of Release was signed by the ATIP Directorate on June 29, 2009. As per the “zero-tolerance policy,” all levels of review were required to sign the notice no later than July 8, 2009. The notice arrived in the Minister’s Office on July 10, 2009—that is, two days beyond the time allocated for review. The Minister’s Office signed the notice on August 4, 2009. In total, the file was in the Minister’s Office 17 working days.

    File AC-2009-00039: The Notice of Reply was signed by the ATIP Directorate on July 6, 2009. As per the “zero-tolerance policy,” all levels of review were required to sign the notice no later than July 14, 2009. The notice arrived in the Minister’s Office on July 10, 2009. The Minister’s Office signed the notice on July 20, 2009. In total, the file was in the Minister’s Office six working days.

    File A-2008-00519: The Notice of Release was signed by the ATIP Directorate on July 23, 2009. As per the “zero-tolerance policy,” all levels of review were required to sign the notice no later than July 31, 2009. The notice arrived in the Minister’s Office on July 24, 2009. The Minister’s Office signed the notice on August 5, 2009. In total, the file was in the Minister’s Office eight working days.

    The delays occasioned by these reviews, conducted by persons without delegation under the Act, were contrary to the legislative duty to provide access to information in a timely manner, as set out in subsection 4(2.1) of the Act.

Annexe A : Constatations

D’après tous les éléments susmentionnés, la commissaire a fait les constatations suivantes :

  1. Pendant la période visée par l’enquête, les membres du Cabinet du ministre, qui ne possédaient pas de pouvoirs délégués en vertu de la Loi, ont participé de manière inappropriée au traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information et de consultation.
  2. L’information devant être examinée qui a été ciblée lors des réunions hebdomadaires sur l’accès à l’information (comme les renseignements des demandes à « profil élevé » ou « intéressantes ») n’a été divulguée qu’après que le Cabinet du ministre eut signalé qu’il approuvait la divulgation de l’information.
  3. La détermination des demandes devant être examinées lors des réunions hebdomadaires sur l’accès à l’information a augmenté le risque de retard et d’ingérence dans le traitement de ces demandes, et le risque d’une divulgation réduite de l’information.
  4. Les pratiques de TPSGC étaient inadéquates pour assurer que les voies de communication appropriées étaient suivies au sein du Cabinet du ministre, ce qui a permis des communications directes entre le personnel du Ministère et les membres du personnel du Ministère.
  5. Les membres du personnel du ministre n’ont pas suivi les voies de communication établies à cette fin dans le guide Pour un gouvernement responsable de 2008, lorsqu’ils communiquaient directement avec les membres du personnel ministériel au sein de la Direction de l’AIPRP.
  6. La politique de tolérance zéro de TPSGC n’a pas toujours été suivie lorsque des membres du personnel du ministre ont pris part au processus d’examen, car leur participation a entraîné la prorogation du délai de réponse aux demandes.
  7. La participation du directeur des Affaires parlementaires du ministre au traitement de cinq demandes distinctes d’accès à l’information et de consultation, et les directives qu’il a données aux membres de la Direction de l’AIPRP dans le cadre de ces cinq demandes constituent une participation inappropriée dans le droit d’accès du demandeur.
  8. La participation du conseiller en politiques du ministre au traitement d’une demande de consultation, les directives qu’il a données aux membres de la Direction de l’AIPRP et ses communications avec les membres du personnel du ministre de Santé Canada constituent une participation inappropriée dans le droit d’accès du demandeur (dossier AC-2009-00039).
  9. La participation de l’assistante spéciale du ministre au traitement d’une demande d’accès et les directives qu’elle a données aux membres de la Direction de l’AIPRP dans le cadre de cette demande constituent une participation inappropriée dans le droit d’accès du demandeur (dossier A-2008-00519).
  10. La participation du directeur des Affaires parlementaires du ministre, du conseiller en politiques du ministre et de l’assistante spéciale du ministre aux cinq dossiers d’accès à l’information a contribué aux retards dans la réponse aux demandes (ou dans le cas des demandes de consultation, dans la formulation de recommandations à l’institution) parce qu’une question soulevée par le Cabinet du ministre (dossier A-2009-00033) n’a pas été résolue ou que le Cabinet n’a pas signé l’Avis de communication ou l’Avis de réponse dans les délais prévus dans les quatre dossiers suivants :

    Dossier A-2009-00169 : L’Avis de communication a été signé le 22 septembre 2009 par la Direction de l’AIPRP. Conformément à la « politique de tolérance zéro », les responsables de tous les niveaux d’examen devaient signer l’Avis au plus tard le 30 septembre 2009. Le Cabinet du ministre a reçu l’Avis le 29 septembre 2009. Le Cabinet du ministre a signé l’Avis le 19 octobre 2009. En tout, le dossier a été conservé durant quatorze jours ouvrables par le Cabinet du ministre.

    Dossier A-2008-00588 : L’Avis de communication a été signé le 29 juin 2009 par la Direction de l’AIPRP. Conformément à la « politique de tolérance zéro », les responsables de tous les niveaux d’examen devaient signer l’Avis au plus tard le 8 juillet 2009. Le Cabinet du ministre a reçu l’Avis le 10 juillet 2009, soit deux jours après le délai prévu pour l’examen. Le Cabinet du ministre a signé l’Avis le 4 août 2009. En tout, le dossier a été conservé durant 17 jours ouvrables par le Cabinet du ministre.

    Dossier AC-2009-00039 : L’Avis de réponse a été signé le 6 juillet 2009 par la Direction de l’AIPRP. Conformément à la « politique de tolérance zéro », les responsables de tous les niveaux d’examen devaient signer l’Avis au plus tard le 14 juillet 2009. Le Cabinet du ministre a reçu l’Avis le 10 juillet 2009. Le Cabinet du ministre a signé l’Avis le 20 juillet 2009. En tout, le dossier a été conservé durant six jours ouvrables par le Cabinet du ministre.

    Dossier A-2008-00519 : L’Avis de communication a été signé le 23 juillet 2009 par la Direction de l’AIPRP. Conformément à la « politique de tolérance zéro », les responsables de tous les niveaux d’examen devaient signer l’Avis au plus tard le 31 juillet 2009. Le Cabinet du ministre a reçu l’Avis le 24 juillet 2009. Le Cabinet du ministre a signé l’Avis le 5 août 2009. En tout, le dossier a été conservé durant huit jours ouvrables par le Cabinet du ministre.

    Le retard accusé dans le cadre de cet examen mené par des personnes ne possédant pas de pouvoirs délégués en vertu de la Loi va à l’encontre de l’obligation de fournir un accès à l’information en temps opportun, comme il est établi dans le paragraphe 4(2.1) de la Loi.