Important notices

Privacy  

The Government of Canada and the Office of the Information Commissioner are committed to providing visitors with websites that respect their privacy. This page summarizes the privacy policy and practices on the Office of the Information Commissioner website.

  • Our website does not automatically gather any specific personal information from you, such as your name, phone number or e-mail address. We would only obtain this type of information if you supply it by sending us a letter or reaching us by telephone
  • We employ software programs to monitor network traffic for two reasons: to help us assess whether our site is meeting users' needs, and to identify unauthorized attempts to upload or change information, or otherwise cause damage. This software receives and records the Internet Protocol (IP) address of the computer that has contacted our website, the date and time of the visit and the pages visited. We make no attempt to link these addresses with the identity of individuals visiting our site unless an attempt to damage the site has been detected.

Questions or comments regarding this policy, or the administration of the Privacy Act in the Office of the Information Commissioner may be directed to us by e-mail to general@oic-ci.gc.ca. If you are not satisfied with our response to your privacy concern, you may wish to contact the Office of the Privacy Commissioner.

Copyright/Permission to reproduce

Materials on this website were produced and/or compiled by the Office of the Information Commissioner to provide Canadians with direct access to information about the programs and services offered by the Government of Canada.

The materials are covered by the provisions of the Copyright Act, by Canadian laws, policies, regulations and international agreements. Such provisions serve to identify the information source and, in specific instances, to prohibit reproduction of materials without written permission.

Non-commercial reproduction

Information on this website has been posted with the intent that it be readily available for personal and public non-commercial use and may be reproduced, in part or in whole and by any means, without charge or further permission from the Office of the Information Commissioner. We ask only that:

  • users exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced;

  • the Office of the Information Commissioner be identified as the source department; and

  • the reproduction not be represented as an official version of the materials reproduced, nor as having been made, in affiliation with or with the endorsement of the Office of the Information Commissioner.

Commercial reproduction

Reproduction of multiple copies of materials on this site, in whole or in part, for the purposes of commercial redistribution is prohibited except with written permission from the Government of Canada's copyright administrator, Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC). Through the permission granting process, PWGSC helps ensure that individuals/organizations wishing to reproduce Government of Canada materials for commercial purposes have access to the most accurate, up-to-date versions. To obtain permission to reproduce materials on this site for commercial purposes please contact:

Public Works and Government Services Canada
Canadian Government Publishing Directorate
350 Albert Street, 4th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0S5

Or email: Copyright.Droitdauteur@pwgsc.gc.ca

Third-party materials

Some of the materials and graphical elements found on this website are subject to copyrights held by other organizations. In such cases, some restrictions on the reproduction of materials or graphical elements may apply and it may be necessary to seek permission from the rights holder prior to reproducing the material. To obtain information concerning copyright ownership and restrictions on reproduction on this site, please contact:

Public Works and Government Services Canada
Canadian Government Publishing Directorate
350 Albert Street, 4th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0S5

Or email: Copyright.Droitdauteur@pwgsc.gc.ca >

Currency of content

The 'Last Updated' date that appears at the bottom of every page is the date that the information was originally posted to the website, or the date that the web page was revised. It does not always reflect the date that the information appearing on the page was traditionally published in paper form. The date the information was originally issued may appear in the document.

Official languages

The Office of the Information Commissioner respects the Official Languages Act, and is committed to ensuring all information on this site is available in both French and English. However, users should be aware that some information from external sources may be available only in the language in which it was provided.

Avis importants

Confidentialité  

Le gouvernement du Canada et le Commissariat à l’information du Canada s’engagent à fournir des sites Web qui respectent la vie privée de leurs visiteurs. Cette page offre un résumé de la politique et des pratiques de protection de la vie privée en vigueur sur le site Web du Commissariat.

  • Le site Web du Commissariat ne recueille pas automatiquement de renseignements précis à votre égard comme votre nom, votre numéro de téléphone ou votre adresse électronique. Nous ne pouvons obtenir ces renseignements que si vous nous les fournissez en nous envoyant une lettre ou en nous téléphonant.

  • Le Commissariat utilise un logiciel qui surveille la transmission des données sur le réseau pour deux raisons : déterminer si son site répond aux besoins des utilisateurs et déceler toute tentative non autorisée de téléchargement ou de modification des renseignements, ou de causer des dommages de quelque autre façon. Ce logiciel reçoit et inscrit le protocole Internet (PI) de l’ordinateur qui est entré en communication avec notre site Web, la date et l’heure de la visite et les pages consultées. Nous n’essayons pas d’établir de liens entre ces PI et l’identité des personnes qui visitent notre site, à moins que nous n’ayons décelé une manœuvre visant à endommager le site.

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires au sujet de cette politique ou de la façon dont le Commissariat à l’information applique la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, n’hésitez pas à vous adresser au Commissariat par courriel à general@oic-ci.gc.ca. Si notre réponse à vos préoccupations au sujet de la protection des renseignements personnels ne vous satisfait pas, vous pouvez communiquer avec le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée.

Droits d’auteur ou de copie  

Les documents affichés dans le présent site Web ont été produits ou rassemblés par le Commissariat à l’information pour offrir aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens un accès direct à l’information sur les programmes et les services offerts par le gouvernement du Canada.

Ces documents sont protégés en vertu de laLoi sur le droit d’auteur, des lois, des politiques et des règlements du Canada, ainsi que des accords internationaux. Ces dispositions permettent de connaître la source de l’information et, dans certains cas, d’interdire la reproduction de documents sans permission écrite.

Copie non commerciale  

L’information contenue dans le présent site y a été affichée afin d’être facilement disponible pour une utilisation personnelle ou publique non commerciale et de pouvoir être copiée, en tout ou en partie et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sans frais ou autre permission du Commissariat à l’information. Nous demandons seulement :

  • que l’utilisateur fasse preuve de diligence raisonnable en s’assurant de l’exactitude des documents copiés;

  • que le Commissariat à l’information soit identifié comme le ministère source;

  • que la copie ne soit pas présentée comme une version officielle des documents copiés, ni comme une copie faite en affiliation avec le Commissariat à l’information ou avec son aval.

Copie commerciale  

La copie multiple de documents publiés sur le présent site, en tout ou en partie, pour la diffusion commerciale est interdite sauf avec la permission écrite de l’administrateur des droits d’auteur du gouvernement du Canada et de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC). En autorisant la copie, TPSGC s’assure que les personnes ou les organismes qui désirent copier des documents du gouvernement du Canada à des fins commerciales ont accès aux versions les plus exactes et à jour. Pour obtenir la permission de copier les documents publiés sur le présent site à des fins commerciales, veuillez communiquer avec :

Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada

Direction des éditions du gouvernement du Canada

350, rue Albert, 4e étage

Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0S5

Par courriel : Copyright.Droitdauteur@pwgsc.gc.ca

Documents d’une tierce partie  

Certains documents et éléments graphiques présents sur ce site Web sont assujettis aux droits d’auteur d’autres organismes. Dans de tels cas, certaines restrictions sur la reproduction de documents ou d’éléments graphiques peuvent s’appliquer, et il peut être nécessaire d’obtenir l’autorisation du détenteur des droits d’auteur avant de reproduire les documents. Pour obtenir de l’information sur la propriété et les restrictions des droits d’auteur concernant la reproduction dans le présent site, veuillez communiquer avec :

Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada

Direction des éditions du gouvernement du Canada

350, rue Albert, 4e étage

Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0S5

Par courriel : Copyright.Droitdauteur@pwgsc.gc.ca

Actualité du contenu  

La date de mise à jour, qui apparaît au bas de chaque page, est celle à laquelle l’information a été affichée initialement sur le site Web ou révisée pour la dernière fois. Ce n’est pas nécessairement la date de publication sur papier de cette information. Le document renferme normalement la date à laquelle son contenu a été créé.

Langues officielles  

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada respecte la Loi sur les langues officielles et promet de s’assurer que toute l’information qui se trouve dans le présent site est offerte en français et en anglais. Cependant, les utilisateurs doivent comprendre que l’information provenant de sources externes peut n’être offerte que dans la langue dans laquelle elle a été fournie.