Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

7th International Conference of Information Commissioners

The 7th International Conference of Information Commissioners



Welcome to the 7th International Conference of Information Commissioners!

Suzanne Legault - Commissioner

I am delighted that my Office, along with the Canadian Bar Association will be hosting the 7th International Conference of Information Commissioners in Ottawa, Canada on October 4th - 5th, 2011.

I also invite you to participate in the Canadian Bar Association's 2nd Annual Privacy and Access Law Symposium taking place on October 3 rd, 2011. This day will be of great interest for those of you who are also responsible for protecting and promoting the privacy rights of individuals. Their program and guest speakers will no doubt set the stage for further fascinating discussions during the ICIC.

The title for this year's conference is Access to Information: A Pillar of Democracy.

The conference will aim to provide the community of international commissioners, practitioners and advocates with a forum to exchange ideas for the advancement of access to information, in hopes that it will enhance your ability to deliver on your mandates.

This year's conference will focus on three key themes:

  • A - Building Access to Information Regimes: International Benchmarking

  • Sessions will explore the features of various international models of access to information. Topics will range from how conventional exemption schemes are devised and applied to the impact of "radical access" tactics such as WikiLeaks.

  • B - Beyond Access: Convergence of Freedom of Information, Proactive Disclosure and Open Government

  • Access to official information is rapidly being transformed from a reactive to a proactive mode. Panels will discuss how to engage citizens in the promotion of an optimal access regime that exploits the benefits and inherent synergies of both conventional and progressive systems.

  • C - Impact of Technology on Freedom of Information

  • Popular demand for open data poses significant challenges for existing technological infrastructures. Experts will describe how technology can be deployed in support of freedom of information and how these initiatives contribute to innovation and economic development.

Your participation will be vital to the success of this conference. I hope you will find the program stimulating, and that you will engage in thought-provoking discussions with your international counterparts and world-renowned experts. This important event will provide an excellent platform to share information and contribute to forces of change at home and worldwide for greater freedom of information.

It will be my pleasure welcoming you to our nation's capital in October. The fall season brings beautiful, vibrant autumn leaves in Eastern Canada, and I have no doubt that you will enjoy the exhilarating canvas of colour.

Suzanne Legault - Information Commissioner of Canada

Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

La 7ième Conférence internationale des commissaires à l'information

7eme Conférence international des commissaires à l'information



Bienvenue à la 7e Conférence internationale des commissaires à l’information!

Suzanne Legault - Commissioner

Je suis ravie que le Commissariat à l’information du Canada, de concert avec l’Association du Barreau canadien, soyons l’hôte de la 7e Conférence internationale des commissaires à l’information (CICI), qui se tiendra à Ottawa, Canada, les 4 et 5 octobre 2011.

Je vous invite également à assister à la Seconde conférence annuelle sur le droit à la vie privée et le droit de l’accès à l’information présentée par l'Association du Barreau canadien le 3 octobre 2011. Cette journée sera d'un grand intérêt pour ceux et celles d'entre vous qui sont également responsables de la protection et la promotion des droits à la vie privée des individus. Leur programme et leurs conférenciers sauront sans nul doute ouvrir la voie à de nouvelles discussions fascinantes lors de la CICI.

Cette année, la Conférence s’intitule : L’accès à l’information : un pilier de la démocratie.

La Conférence visera à donner l’occasion à la communauté internationale des commissaires, des spécialistes et des défenseurs de l’accès à l’information d’échanger leurs idées, dans le but de faire avancer l’accès à l’information et dans l’espoir que cela vous aidera à remplir vos mandats.

Les trois principaux thèmes de la Conférence de cette année seront les suivants :

  • A – Établir des régimes d’accès à l’information : analyse comparative internationale

  • Pendant les séances, les participants examineront les caractéristiques des divers modèles internationaux d’accès à l’information. Les sujets traités iront de l’élaboration des exceptions courantes et leur application aux répercussions des tactiques d’« accès radical » telles que WikiLeaks.

  • B – Au-delà de l’accès : convergence de l’accès à l’information, de la divulgation proactive et de la transparence gouvernementale

  • L’accès aux renseignements officiels passe rapidement d’un mode réactif à un mode proactif. Les panelistes discuteront des façons de mobiliser les citoyens à faire la promotion d’un régime d’accès optimal, qui tire profit des avantages et des synergies inhérentes aux systèmes classique et progressif.

  • C - Impact of Technology on Freedom of Information

  • La popularité de la demande pour avoir accès à des données ouvertes pose d’importants défis sur le plan des infrastructures technologiques existantes. Des experts décriront comment la technologie peut être mise au service de l’accès à l’information et comment ces diverses initiatives contribuent à l’innovation et au développement économique.

Votre participation sera essentielle au succès de cette conférence. J’espère que vous trouverez le programme stimulant et que vous prendrez part à des discussions inspirantes avec vos homologues internationaux et les experts de renommée internationale. Cet important rassemblement constituera une excellente plateforme pour échanger de l’information et contribuer au vent de changements qui se déploient dans votre pays et à l’international pour accroître l’accès à l’information.

Il me fera grand plaisir de vous accueillir dans notre capitale nationale en octobre prochain. Les paysages automnaux de l’Est du Canada sont tout à fait magnifiques, et je suis convaincue que vous tomberez sous le charme de la féérie des couleurs qui vous attend.

La commissaire à l’information du Canada,

Suzanne Legault - Information Commissioner of Canada

Suzanne Legault