Future Oriented Financial Statements 2016-2017

 

Future - Oriented Financial Statements of Operations

Unaudited

For the year ending March 31
(in dollars)
Forecast Results
2015-16
Planned Results
2016-17
Expenses
  • Compliance with access to information obligations
  • Internal Services
  • $10,070,065
  • 3,018,787
  • $10,141,172
  • 3,029,181
Net cost of operations $13,088,852 $13,170,353

The accompanying notes form an integral part of these financial statements.

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations

1. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The future-oriented statement of operations is consistent with the information contained in the 2016-2017 Report on Plans and Priorities.

The information in the estimated results for fiscal 2015-16 is based on actual results as at December 31, 2015 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for planned results for 2016-17.

The main assumptions are as follows:

  • (a) The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC) activities will remain substantially the same as for the previous year.

  • (b) Expenses, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical costs, trend analysis and other analytical methodologies. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.

  • (c) Estimated year end information for 2015-16 is used as the opening position for the 2016-17 planned results.

These assumptions are adopted as at December 31, 2015.

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to accurately forecast final results for the remainder of 2015-16 and for 2016-17, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this future-oriented statement of operations the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include:

  • (a) The timing and amounts of acquisitions and disposals of property, plant and equipment may affect gains/losses and amortization expense.

  • (b) Implementation of new collective agreements.

  • (c) The operating budget may be modified through additional initiatives or technical adjustments later in the year.

Once the 2016-2017 Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada will not be updating the forecasts for any changes to appropriations or forecast financial information made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared in accordance with the Treasury Board accounting policies in effect for the 2015-16 fiscal year, which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian generally accepted accounting principles.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

(a) Expenses

Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for the OIC’s operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered including services provided without charges for accommodation, employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and worker’s compensation which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave as well as severance benefits are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.

Expenses also include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including contingent liabilities to the extent the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

4. Parliamentary Authorities

The OIC is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the OIC do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles since authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. Accordingly, the OIC has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

(a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities


(in dollars)
Forecast Results
2015-16
Planned Results
2016-17
Net cost of operation $13,088,852 $13,170,353
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:    
Amortization of tangible capital assets
(293,713) (361,774)
Services provided without charge by other government departments
(1,557,038) (1,557,038)
Decrease (increase) in vacation pay and compensatory leave
112,671 (10,455)
Decrease in employee severance benefits
101,453 0
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities (1,636,627) (1,929,267)
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:    
Acquisitions of tangible capital assets
245,000 50,000
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities 245,000 50,000
Requested authorities $11,697,225 $11,291,086

(b) Authorities requested


(in dollars)
Forecast Results
2015-16
Planned Results
2016-17
Authorities requested     
Vote 1 - Program expenditures
$10,323,672 $9,927,361
Statutory amounts: Contributions to employee benefit plans
1,373,553 1,363,725
Requested authorities $11,697,225 $11,291,086
Date modified:

État financier prospectif 2016-17

 

État des résultats prospectifs

Non vérifié

Pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars
(en dollars)
Résultats projetés
2015-16
Résultats prévus
2016-17
Charges
  • Conformité avec les obligations prévues à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
  • Services internes
  • 10 070 065 $
  • 3 018 787
  • 10 141 172 $
  • 3 029 181
Coût de fonctionnement net 13 088 852 $ 13 170 353 $

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers.

Notes complémentaires à l’état des résultats prospectifs

1. Méthodes et hypothèses importantes

L’état prospectif des résultats a été établi suivant l’information contenue dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités pour 2016-2017.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats estimatifs de l’exercice 2015-16 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 31 décembre 2015 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l’exercice. Des prévisions des résultats prévus ont été faites pour l’exercice 2016-17.

Les principales hypothèses utilisées sont :

  • (a) Les activités du Commissariat resteront, pour l’essentiel, pareilles à celles de l’an dernier.

  • (b) Les charges, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont basées sur les coûts d’origine, une analyse des tendances et d’autres méthodes d’analyse. L’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.

  • (c) L’information estimative de fin d’exercice pour 2015-16 représente la situation financière d’ouverture pour établir les prévisions de 2016-17.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 31 décembre 2015.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir avec exactitude les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l’exercice 2015-16 et pour 2016-17, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et cet écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation de ces états financiers, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l’égard d’événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats réels subséquents. Les estimations et les hypothèses sont évaluées de façon continue et sont fondées sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Parmi les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre les états financiers prospectifs et les états financiers historiques, mentionnons les suivants :

  • (a) Le moment et le montant des acquisitions et des aliénations de biens immobiliers, d’installations de production et d’équipements pourraient influer sur les gains/pertes et les charges d’amortissement.

  • (b) La mise en œuvre de nouvelles conventions collectives.

  • (c) Le budget de fonctionnement pourrait être modifié pour tenir compte de nouvelles initiatives ou ajustements techniques mis en œuvre plus tard au courant de l’exercice.

Une fois que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités pour 2016-2017 est présenté, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada ne mettra pas à jour les prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux crédits ou aux prévisions financières dans les budgets supplémentaires. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

Les états financiers prospectifs ont été préparés conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor en vigueur dans le cadre de l’exercice 2015-16. Ces conventions comptables, énoncé ci-après, correspondent aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l’utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucun écart important par rapport aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes:

(a) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement du Commissariat sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d’accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d’emploi sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d’emploi.

Les charges incluent des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur d’actifs, incluant les passifs éventuels dans la mesure où l’événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable des répercussions peut être établie.

Les charges incluent également l’amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d’acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l’amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l’actif.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

Le Commissariat est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties au Commissariat ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats prospectifs d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires approuvés au cours d’un exercice précédent, de l’exercice en cours ou d’exercices futurs. Par conséquent, les résultats de fonctionnement nets du Commissariat diffèrent suivant qu’ils sont calculés selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

(a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées


(en dollars)
Résultats projetés
2015-16
Résultats prévus
2016-17
Coût de fonctionnement net 13 088 852 $ 13 170 353 $
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :    
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles
(293 713)  (361 774)
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères
(1 557 038)  (1 557 038)
Diminution (augmentation) des indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires
112 671 (10 455)
Diminution des avantages sociaux futurs
101 453 0
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations (1 636 627) (1 929 267)
Rajustement pour les postes qui n’ont pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :    
Acquisition d’immobilisations corporelles
245 000 50 000
Total des postes qui n’ont pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une  incidence sur les autorisations 245 000 50 000
Autorisations demandées 11 697 225 $ 11 291 086 $

(b) Autorisations demandées


(en dollars)
Résultats projetés
2015-16
Résultats prévus
2016-17
Autorisations demandées     
Crédit 1 – Dépenses du Programme
10 323 672 $ 9 927 361 $
Montants législatifs : Cotisations aux régimes d’avantages sociaux
1 373 553 1 363 725
Autorisations demandées  11 697 225 $ 11 291 086 $